DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 10/27/2024 (16), 12/26/2024, 02/12/2025, 06/15/2025, 08/05/2025, 12/16/2025, 02/23/2026, 04/13/2026, 05/18/2026,07/01/2026, and 09/13/2026 are being considered by the examiner. However, due the large volume of references, Applicant’s help is requested in identifying the most relevant references and passages concerning the claimed subject matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 37 and 47 are objected to because of the following informalities
In claim 37, “visible” should be “visible light.” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 47, “a light source that in the single enclosure” should be “a light source that is in the single enclosure.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9, 13-14, 24-25, and 55 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2001/0025349 to Sharood et al. (“Sharood”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0218099 to Robert C. Newman (“Newman”), U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0247086 to Shih-Yung Chiu (“Chiu”), and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0071053 to Ansari et al. (“Ansari”).
Regarding claim 1:
A method for switching and monitoring an Alternating Current (AC) powered appliance, for use with an in-wall AC power cable that carries an AC power and connected thereto by an outlet or via an outlet opening, and for use with a wireless network (Sharood discloses a retrofit plug 125 that is incorporated in a wireless network 4 and can provide switching and monitoring services. Sharood at pars. [0083]-[0085] and Figs. 1, 2, and 6A-D.), the method comprising:
receiving, the AC power from the in-wall AC power cable by a first AC connector (Sharood at par. [0083] and Figs. 6A-D; plug 125 with connectors 603 and 604.);
connecting, to the appliance by a second AC connector (Sharood at par. [0086] and Figs. 6A-D; plug 125 with connectors 601 and 602.);
generating, by an AC/DC converter, a DC voltage from the AC power (Sharood at par. [0087] and Figs. 6A-D; power supply 650;
switching, the AC power to the appliance, by an electrically actuated switch connected between the first and second AC connectors (Sharood discloses that the “retrofit plug 125 also can include a power-switching device under control of the measure and transmit circuit 620 [and that] [t]he power-switching device enables remote shutdown of the attached appliance [(“switching, the AC power to the appliance”)], for example, through the retrofit plug 125, if a situation occurs that may damage the appliance if operation is continued or if a hazardous condition may result from continued operation.” Sharood at par. [0094]. In addition, Sharood discloses that the power-switching device can provide “variable current flow regulation” (“switching, the AC power to the appliance”). Sharood at par. [0094]. Accordingly, Sharood discloses the claimed “electrically actuated switch.”);
measuring, by a current sensor coupled between the first and second AC connectors, an AC current to the appliance (Sharood discloses a “measure and transmit circuit 620 [(“current sensor”)] is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125.” Sharood at par. [0088] and Figs 6B-D (which show that the measure and transmit circuit 620 measures the current between (“coupled between”) slots 601,602 and slots 603,604).);
communicating, over the wireless network, by an antenna (Sharood discloses that the “plug may operate as a stand-alone unit by equipping the plug with a modem to communicate with an external computer … [and that the] retrofit plug 125 also can be equipped with an RF transceiver so that the plug may be incorporated in a wireless network 4 for monitoring and control of an associated appliance.” Sharood at par. [0085] and Figs. 6C-D; see also par. [0098].);
transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the wireless network, by a wireless transceiver that is coupled to the antenna and that is powered by the DC voltage (Sharood discloses that the “retrofit plug 125 also can be equipped with an RF transceiver [(“wireless transceiver”)] so that the plug may be incorporated in a wireless network 4 for monitoring and control of an associated appliance.” Sharood at par. [0085] and Figs. 6C-D. Sharood also discloses that “the measure and transmit circuit can be upgraded to perform bi-directional communication [(“transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the wireless network”)] by translating between a communications media protocol used by the control server 100 and the appliance's control protocol” and that the “measure and transmit circuit 620 can be programmed to periodically send the measured data to the control server 100 as part of a general monitoring function, such as, for example, energy management and logging functions.” Sharood at pars. [0089]-[0090].);
transmitting, to the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna, the measured AC current (Sharood discloses that the “current draw data [(“measured AC current”)] or power data can be stored by the measure and transmit circuit 620 [and the] measure and transmit circuit 620 can be programmed to periodically send the measured data to the control server 100 as part of a general monitoring function, such as, for example, energy management and logging functions.” Sharood at par. [0090].); and
wherein the electrically actuated switch, the AC/DC converter, the current sensor, the actuator, the antenna, and the wireless transceiver, are housed in a single enclosure (Sharood discloses a retrofit plug 125 that includes the power-switching device (“electrically actuated switch”), the power supply 250 (“AC/DC converter”), current transformer 610 (“current sensor”), and RF transceiver 680 (“antenna” and “wireless transceiver”) that are housed in outer housing 600 (“single enclosure”). Sharood at pars. [0085]-[0088] and [0094] and Figs. 6A-6D.)
In view of Newman:
activating, the electrically actuated switch, for powering the appliance from the AC power, in response to first data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna ([Examiner’s Note: The Board’s decision in Appeal 2020-004104 in parent Application No. 15/992,219 holds that the electrically actuated switch qualifies as an actuator. See Appeal no. 2020-004104 at p. 19. The following analysis is consistent with the Board’s decision in that different components are cited for the claimed “switch” and the claimed “actuator.”]
Sharood discloses that the “power-switching device enables remote shutdown of the attached appliance, for example, through the retrofit plug 125 ….” Sharood at par. [0094]. In addition, Sarood discloses operation of appliances using a touchpad such as, for example, on/off control (“first data”) of attached appliances (e.g., a side lamp). Sharood at par. [0107] and Figs. 7A-C. However, Sharood does not disclose the details of the power-switching device. That is, Sharood does not disclose the component(s) that perform the on/off operation. In the same field of endeavor, remotely controlling power (and thus analogous art), Newman discloses details of a power control circuit that includes a drive circuit 212 and controllably conductive device 210. Newman discloses that “input to the control input will render the controllably conductive device 210 [(“electrically actuated switch”)] conductive or non-conductive….” Newman at par. [0030]. Newman also discloses that the “controllably conductive device 210 may comprise any suitable type of bidirectional switch, such as, for example, a triac, a field-effect transistor (FET) in a rectifier bridge, or two FETs in anti-series connection.” Newman at par. [0030]. Because Sharood discloses performing on/off operations on an attached devices but does not provide any details on the power-switching device, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to look for known circuits that perform on/off functions such as the controllably conductive device found in Newman. Accordingly, one skilled in the would have incorporated Newman’s controllably conductive device into the system of Sharood using known methods to achieve predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.A.);
In view of Chiu:
affecting, by an actuator that is powered by the DC voltage, a physical phenomenon (Sharood discloses that the power-switching device “can permit dimming and variable current flow regulation for remote control of the appliance.” Sharood at par. [0094]. However, Sharood does not disclose the details on how the variable current flow regulation is performed. In the same field of endeavor, controlling power (and thus analogous art), Chiu discloses a phase control circuit 33 (“actuator”) that provides a dimmer function by “adjusting and changing conduction angle of power supply output [(“affecting … a physical phenomenon”)] from the power supply outlet 12 of the portable dimmer socket 10.” Chiu at par. [0019]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the phase control circuit 33 into the system of Sharood in view of Newman in order to provide a “dimmer socket [that] provides both power supply function and dimmer adjustment control function ….” Chiu at Abstract. Because the Sharood, Newman, and Chiu relate to controlling power, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
activating or controlling, the actuator, in response to second data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna (Chiu discloses that “the RF control signal [(“via the antenna”)] transmitted from the wireless transmitter 40 shall comprise a Power On/Off signal and a phase control signal [(“second data”)] to adjust and change conduction angle of power supply output from the power supply outlet 12 ….” Chiu at par. [0021].),
In view of Ansari:
a single enclosure that is addressable in the wireless network using an Internet Protocol (IP) address that is IPv4 or IPv6 type address, and that consists of, comprises, or is integrated with, the outlet or a plug-in module that is pluggable to the outlet (As discussed above, Sharood in view of Newman and Chiu discloses communication over a wireless network. However, Sharood in view of Newman and Chiu do not explicitly disclose the details of the wireless communication. Ansari discloses a wireless communication between devices that use an IP protocol with IPv4 and/or IPv6 addresses. Ansari at pars. [0096] and [0116]. Ansari is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to a problem faced by the inventor, which is how to implement the wireless communication. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. Ansari discloses that it was known to implement an IP protocol with IPv4 and/or IPv6 addressing for communication between devices. The devices would perform the same functions with the IP protocol identifying the end devices for communication. Accordingly, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have IP protocol, as disclosed by Ansari, because It would have yielded predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.A.), and
wherein the wireless network is a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), the antenna is a WLAN antenna, and the wireless transceiver is a WLAN modem (As discussed above, the device of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari is part of a wireless network. Ansari at par. [0096] (disclosing that connectivity between a gateway device and user devices can be implemented “a wireless network interface via a WiFi LAN access point 62 provided, for example, in accordance with the I.E.E.E. 802.11 b/g/n wireless or wireless network communications standard.” Thus, the antennas and transceiver modems in the wireless network facilitate communication a wireless local area network (WLAN).).
Regarding claim 2: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the current sensor comprises an ampermeter, galvanometer, or a hot-wire ampermeter (Sharood discloses that the “measure and transmit circuit 620 is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125 [and that] [o]ther circuitry that could be used to monitor the current drawn by the attached appliance includes a Rogowski coil or a shunt.” Sharood at par. [0088].)
Regarding claim 3: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the current sensor comprises a current clamp, a current probe, a current transformer, or uses a 'Hall effect' (“Sharood discloses that the “measure and transmit circuit 620 is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125.” Sharood at par. [0088].).
Regarding claim 4: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the current sensor is a non-contact or a non-conductive current meter (Sharood discloses that the “measure and transmit circuit 620 is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125 [and that] [o]ther circuitry that could be used to monitor the current drawn by the attached appliance includes a Rogowski coil or a shunt.” Sharood at par. [0088].).
Regarding claim 5: The method according to claim 1, further comprising
measuring, by a wattmeter that is connected between the first and second AC connectors, a magnitude of an active AC power or an electrical energy consumed by the appliance (Sharood discloses the “measure and transmit circuit 620 is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125” and that “if the appliance's load current [e.g., via current transformer 610] is measured, an indication of power can be derived from the square of the load current. Line voltage may be measured and multiplied by the load current to measure true power consumption.” Sharood at pars. [0087]-[0088] and Figs. 6B-D.).
Regarding claim 6: The method according to claim 5,
wherein the wattmeter comprises single or multi-phase AC power or energy meter (Sharood discloses the “measure and transmit circuit 620 is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125” and that “if the appliance's load current [e.g., via current transformer 610] is measured, an indication of power can be derived from the square of the load current. Line voltage may be measured and multiplied by the load current to measure true power consumption.” Sharood at pars. [0087]-[0088] and Figs. 6B-D.).
Regarding claim 7: The method according to claim 5,
wherein the wattmeter comprises a bolometer, or wherein the wattmeter accumulates or averages readings (Sharood discloses that the “current draw data or power data can be stored by the measure and transmit circuit 620 … [and] can be programmed to periodically send the measured data to the control server 100 as part of a general monitoring function, such as, for example, energy management and logging functions.” Sharood at par. [0090].).
Regarding claim 8: The method according to claim 5,
wherein the wattmeter comprises the current sensor, or wherein the wattmeter is based on multiplying a measured voltage and the measured current by the current sensor (Sharood discloses the “measure and transmit circuit 620 is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current [(“current sensor”)] being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125” and that “if the appliance's load current [e.g., via current transformer 610] is measured, an indication of power can be derived from the square of the load current. Line voltage may be measured and multiplied by the load current to measure true power consumption.” Sharood at pars. [0087]-[0088] and Figs. 6B-D.).
Regarding claim 9: The method according to claim 5,
wherein the wattmeter or the current sensor are induction based (Sharood discloses the “measure and transmit circuit 620 is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current [(“induction based”)] being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125.” Sharood at par. [0087].).
Regarding claim 13: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the electrically actuated switch is based on an electrical circuit that comprises an open collector transistor, an open drain transistor, a thyristor, a TRIAC, or an opto-isolator (Newman also discloses that the “controllably conductive device 210 may comprise any suitable type of bidirectional switch, such as, for example, a triac, a field-effect transistor (FET) in a rectifier bridge, or two FETs in anti-series connection.” Newman at par. [0030].).
Regarding claim 14: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the WLAN is according to, is based on, or is compatible with, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11-2012, IEEE 802.11a, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11n, or IEEE 802.11ac standard (Ansari discloses that the wireless network can be “in accordance with the I.E.E.E. 802.11 b/g/n wireless or wireless network communications standard.” Ansari at par. [0096].
Regarding claim 24: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the enclosure is addressable in the wireless network using distinct locally administered addresses or a universally administered digital addresses stored in a volatile or non-volatile memory in the single enclosure, which uniquely identifying the method in the wireless network or in the Internet (Ansari discloses endpoint devices in a wireless network and that each client is uniquely identified with an IP address that has been dynamically assigned by a DHCP server. A Domain Name Server (DNS) client and server combination are used by the IP stack to resolve fully-qualified host or symbolic names, i.e. mapping host names to IP addresses. The gateway device-service management architecture include the ability to store a roster or contact list of distant gateways on either the gateway 10 or within the service management center 50 (e.g. dynamic address table or route table) and utilizing these addresses to maintain the presence and routing information of selected other gateways. Ansari at pars. [0096], [0116], [0162], [0172], [0177].).
Regarding claim 25: The method according to claim 24,
wherein the digital address is autonomously assigned, or wherein the digital address is assigned by another method using DHCP (Ansari discloses endpoint devices in a wireless network and that each client is uniquely identified with an IP address that has been dynamically assigned by a DHCP server. Ansari at pars. [0096] and [0116].).
Regarding claim 55: The method according to claim 1, further comprising
producing, changing, or affecting, by the actuator, a matter structure, properties, composition, process, or reactions (Chiu discloses a phase control circuit 33 (“actuator”) that provides a dimmer function by “adjusting and changing conduction angle of power supply output [(“producing, changing, or affecting, by the actuator, … properties,[…] process, or reactions)] from the power supply outlet 12 of the portable dimmer socket 10.” Chiu at par. [0019].).
Claims 10, 26-28, 34, 44-45, and 47-49 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2011/0170377 to Ferdinand Villegas Legaspi (“Legaspi”).
Regarding claim 10: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the electrically actuated switch is 'normally open' type, 'normally closed' type, or a changeover switch, wherein the electrically actuated switch is 'make-before-break' or 'break-before-make' type, or wherein the electrically actuated switch have two or more poles or two or more throws, and contacts of the electrically actuated switch are arranged as a Single-Pole-Double–Throw (SPDT), Double-Pole-Double–Throw (DPDT), Double-Pole-Single–Throw (DPST), or Single-Pole-Changeover (SPCO) (Sharood, Newman, Chiu, and Ansari does not explicitly disclose the claimed types of switches. However, in the same field of endeavor, controlling power to a device (and thus analogous art), Legaspi discloses that a single pole double throw (SPDT) relay can be used to cut off power to a device. Legaspi at par. [0101]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the SPDT relay into the switch of Sharood, Newman, Chiu, and Ansari in order to cut off power and disable a device “upon occurrence of a safety event.” Legaspi at pars. [0002] and [0101]. Because the references relate to controlling power to devices, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 26: The method according to claim 1, further comprising
providing, by a first sensor in the single enclosure, an output that responds to a physical phenomenon (Sharood, Newman, Chiu, and Ansari does not explicitly disclose a “first sensor.” In the same field of endeavor, controlling power to a device (and thus analogous art), Legaspi discloses a receiver 1800 with a sound wave receiver module 1802 and a motion detector module 1818 (“first sensor”), which detects presence of an individual and sound waves and transmit a corresponding signal (“providing… an output that responds to a physical phenomenon”). The receiver1800 can be incorporated into a plug-in enclosure (similar to the enclosure of Sharood, Newman, Chiu, and Ansari). Legaspi at pars. [0094]-[0096] and [0099] and Figs. 18 and 19. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the sound wave receiver 1900 (1800), including the microphone 1906 (sound wave receiver module 1802) into the plug-in device of Sharood, Newman, Chiu, and Ansari in order to disconnect the attached device based on the sound waves to reduce damage to the device in case of an emergency event. Legaspi at Abstract and par. [0099] (“As discussed above, sound waves may be utilized to disable an appliance, or other device, in the event of an emergency.”) Because the references relate to controlling power to a device, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).)
Regarding claim 27: The method according to claim 26, further comprising
activating the electrically actuated switch in response to the first sensor output (Legaspi discloses that, based on the received sound waves and the motion detector, a relay may be operated to supply power or to disconnect or interrupt “the flow of energy to the appliance or other device.” Legaspi at pars. [0095]-[0096] and [0099]. In the system of Sharood, Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi, the relay will be the “electrically actuated switch.”).
Regarding claim 28: The method according to claim 26, further comprising
transmitting, digital data to the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna, in response to the first sensor output (Sharood discloses that the “measure and transmit circuitry can send messages to the control server 100 in response to events which indicate a state of the appliance 130 requiring some further action (e.g., shut off power).” The state of the applicant will include that the device is disconnected. Accordingly, Sharood, Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi renders obvious the claimed transmitting.
Regarding claim 34. The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises an atmospheric or an environmental sensor (Legaspi discloses a receiver 1800 includes a sound wave receiver module 1802 (“atmospheric sensor”), which will sense air fluctuations in the atmosphere. Legaspi at pars. [0094]-[0095] and [0099].
Regarding claim 44: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises a physiological sensor that responds to parameters associated with a live body (Legaspi discloses that receiver 1800 includes a motion detector module 1818 “for sensing the presence of an individual by continuous movement in an area within a predetermined distance, for example eight (8) feet from the sound wave receiver reset switch” (“physiological sensor that responds to parameters associated with a live body”). Legaspi at par. [0096]. .
Regarding claim 45: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises an electroacoustic sensor that responds to an audible or inaudible sound (Legaspi discloses microphone 1906 (sound wave receiver module 1802) (“electroacoustic sensor”), which will respond to audible or inaudible sound. Legaspi at pars. [0094]-[0095] and [0099].).
Regarding claim 47: The method according to claim 1, further comprising
emitting, by a light source that in the single enclosure and that is powered from the AC power, visible or non-visible light for illumination or indication, wherein the non-visible light is infrared, ultraviolet, X-rays, or gamma rays (Legaspi discloses that the receiver includes a light 1912 for indicating the status of the receiver or the device (e.g., valve) drawing the current. Legaspi at par. [0010]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a light in the system of Sharood, Newman, Chiu, and Ansari in order to indicate if the modified retrofit plug “has shut off the appliance and requires resetting or re-initialization.” Legaspi at par. [0100].).
Regarding claim 48: The method according to claim 47,
wherein the emitting comprises illuminating or indicating in response to digital data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver (The light 1912 indicates the status of the attached device. Legaspi at par. [0100]. Thus. if a device on/off signal is received (e.g., per the “first data” as discussed in claim 1), the light 1912 will indicate the appropriate status of the attached device. Accordingly, Sharood, Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi renders obvious this feature.).
Regarding claim 49: The method according to claim 47,
wherein the emitting comprises illuminating or indicating in response to the measured AC current (Sharood discloses that the “monitoring circuit may measures current drawn by the appliance, and may include a processor that determines an operating state of the appliance based on the measured current.” Sharood at par. [0007]. Accordingly, the indication from light 1912 can be based on “measured AC current.” Accordingly, Sharood, Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi renders obvious this feature.).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2006/0164208 to Schaffzin et al. (“Schaffzin”) and Wikipedia article, https://web.archive.org/web/20111124124657/http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reed_relay (“Reed Relay Article”)).
Regarding claim 11: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the electrically actuated switch is a latching relay or a non-latching type relay (Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari does not explicitly disclose a relay type switch. However, Newman also discloses that the “controllably conductive device 210 may comprise any suitable type of bidirectional switch. Newman at par. [0030]. Schaffzin discloses that a reed relay and a magnet can be used to control power to a device. Schaffzin at par. [0061]. In the configuration shown in Schaffzin, the reed relay is a non-latching relay because the relay will “resume its normal position” once the magnet is removed. Schaffzin is analogous art because it is reasonable pertinent to a problem faced by the inventor, which is to use a reed device to control power to a device. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a reed relay because those skilled in the art understand that the contacts are sealed in a glass tube to protect them from corrosion. Reed Relay Article at p. 1. Because use of reed relays was known, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G. In addition, using a reed relay as the electrically actuated switch would have been a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.B.).
Regarding claim 12: The method according to claim 11,
wherein the relay is a solenoid-based electromagnetic relay that is a reed relay, wherein the relay is solid-state or semiconductor based, or wherein the relay is a Solid State Relay (SSR) (Schaffzin discloses that a reed relay and a magnet can be used to control power to a device. Schaffzin at par. [0061].).
Claims 15-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0173202 to Binder et al. (“Binder”).).
Regarding claim 15: The method according to claim 1, further for use with an additional wireless network, the method further comprising:
communicating, over the additional wireless network, by an additional antenna; transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the additional wireless network, by an additional wireless transceiver that is coupled to the additional antenna and that is powered by the DC voltage (Binder discloses a frequency shifting scheme that uses two antennas (“additional antenna”) that communicate on separate channels or frequency bands (“additional wireless network”). Binder also discloses that the frequency shifting scheme will bridge between in-door and outdoor networks (“additional wireless network”). Binder at Abstract and par. [0051] (“The signal may be a wireless signal, received and transmitted by two antennas, one for each frequency band.”). Binder is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which is to provide wireless communications between devices. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a frequency shifting configuration with two antennas in order to “increase in-door or outdoor coverage, as well as bridging between in-door and outdoor networks.” Because the references relate to providing wireless communication between devices, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.);
activating, the electrically actuated switch, for powering the appliance from the AC power, in response to third data received from the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna; transmitting, to the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna, the measured AC current; and activating or controlling, the actuator, in response to fourth data received from the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna (These elements were analyzed in claim 1 with respect to the “first data” and the “second data” received by the first “antenna.” Because, in the frequency shifting scheme of Binder, the transmitted data signal will be received by both the antennas, the “third data” corresponding to the “first data” and “fourth data” corresponding to the “second data” will be received by the “additional antenna.” The data received by the “additional data” will be processed as described above in claim 1 with respect to the first “antenna.”).
Regarding claim 16: The method according to claim 15,
wherein the additional wireless network is a Wireless Personal Area Network (WPAN), the additional antenna is a WPAN antenna, and the additional wireless transceiver is a WPAN modem (Binder discloses that “[e]ach of the wireless signals or the wireless communication links above may be WPAN, WLAN, WMAN, WAN, BWA, LMDS, MMDS, WiMAX, HIPERMAN, IEEE802.16, Bluetooth, EEE802.15, IEEE802.11 (such as a, b and g), UWB, ZigBee and cellular such as GSM, GPRS, 2.5 G, 3 G, UMTS, DCS, PCS and CDMA.” Binder at par. [0070]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Regarding claim 17: The method according to claim 16,
wherein the WPAN is according to, is based on, or is compatible with, Bluetooth™ or Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.15.1-2005 standard (Binder discloses that “[e]ach of the wireless signals or the wireless communication links above may be WPAN, WLAN, WMAN, WAN, BWA, LMDS, MMDS, WiMAX, HIPERMAN, IEEE802.16, Bluetooth, EEE802.15, IEEE802.11 (such as a, b and g), UWB, ZigBee and cellular such as GSM, GPRS, 2.5 G, 3 G, UMTS, DCS, PCS and CDMA.” Binder at par. [0070]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Regarding claim 18: The method according to claim 16,
wherein the WPAN is according to, is based on, or is compatible with, Zigbee™, IEEE 802.15.4-2003, or Z-Wave™ standard (Binder discloses that “[e]ach of the wireless signals or the wireless communication links above may be WPAN, WLAN, WMAN, WAN, BWA, LMDS, MMDS, WiMAX, HIPERMAN, IEEE802.16, Bluetooth, EEE802.15, IEEE802.11 (such as a, b and g), UWB, ZigBee and cellular such as GSM, GPRS, 2.5 G, 3 G, UMTS, DCS, PCS and CDMA.” Binder at par. [0070]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Regarding claim 19: The method according to claim 15,
wherein the additional wireless network is a cellular telephone network, the additional antenna is a cellular antenna, and the additional wireless transceiver is a cellular modem (Binder discloses that “[e]ach of the wireless signals or the wireless communication links above may be WPAN, WLAN, WMAN, WAN, BWA, LMDS, MMDS, WiMAX, HIPERMAN, IEEE802.16, Bluetooth, EEE802.15, IEEE802.11 (such as a, b and g), UWB, ZigBee and cellular such as GSM, GPRS, 2.5 G, 3 G, UMTS, DCS, PCS and CDMA.” Binder at par. [0070]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Regarding claim 20: The method according to claim 19,
wherein the cellular telephone network is a Third Generation (3G) network that uses Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS), Wideband Code Division Multiple Access (W-CDMA) UMTS, High Speed Packet Access (HSPA), UMTS Time-Division Duplexing (TDD), CDMA2000 1xRTT, Evolution – Data Optimized (EV-DO), Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), or Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE) EDGE-Evolution (Binder discloses that “[e]ach of the wireless signals or the wireless communication links above may be WPAN, WLAN, WMAN, WAN, BWA, LMDS, MMDS, WiMAX, HIPERMAN, IEEE802.16, Bluetooth, EEE802.15, IEEE802.11 (such as a, b and g), UWB, ZigBee and cellular such as GSM, GPRS, 2.5 G, 3 G, UMTS, DCS, PCS and CDMA.” Binder at par. [0070]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Regarding claim 21: The method according to claim 19,
wherein the cellular telephone network is a Fourth Generation (4G) network that uses Evolved High Speed Packet Access (HSPA+), Mobile Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMAX), Long-Term Evolution (LTE), LTE-Advanced, Mobile Broadband Wireless Access (MBWA), or is based on IEEE 802.20-2008 (Binder discloses that “[e]ach of the wireless signals or the wireless communication links above may be WPAN, WLAN, WMAN, WAN, BWA, LMDS, MMDS, WiMAX, HIPERMAN, IEEE802.16, Bluetooth, EEE802.15, IEEE802.11 (such as a, b and g), UWB, ZigBee and cellular such as GSM, GPRS, 2.5 G, 3 G, UMTS, DCS, PCS and CDMA.” Binder at par. [0070]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Regarding claim 22: The method according to claim 15,
wherein the additional wireless network uses an unlicensed radio frequency band (Binder discloses that “[w]hile the invention has been exampled above with regard to using standard IEEE 802.11g technology, signals and components, it will be appreciated that the invention equally applies to any other wireless based technology, using either single or multi carrier signals for implementing either spread spectrum or narrowband, using either unlicensed bands (such as ISM) or licensed spectrum.” Binder at pars. [200] and [0356]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Regarding claim 23: The method according to claim 22,
wherein the unlicensed radio frequency band is an Industrial, Scientific and Medical (ISM) radio band (Binder discloses that “[w]hile the invention has been exampled above with regard to using standard IEEE 802.11g technology, signals and components, it will be appreciated that the invention equally applies to any other wireless based technology, using either single or multi carrier signals for implementing either spread spectrum or narrowband, using either unlicensed bands (such as ISM) or licensed spectrum.” Binder at pars. [200] and [0356]. Thus, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Binder renders obvious the claimed features.).
Claims 29, 32, 35, and 46 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi, and further in view of Motamedi, M. E. "Acoustic sensor technology." 1994 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium Digest (Cat. No. 94CH3389-4). IEEE, 1994 (“Motamedi”).
Regarding claim 29: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor is a piezoelectric sensor that includes single crystal material or a piezoelectric-ceramics and uses a transverse, longitudinal, or shear effect mode of the piezoelectric effect (Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi does not explicitly disclose a piezoelectric sensor. Motamedi discloses a variety of piezoelectric thin film acoustic sensors, including single-crystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) films. Motamedi at p. 522, col. 1. Motamedi is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which is how to make a sensor. MPEP §2141.01(a). It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the piezoelectric thin film technology discloses in Motamedi because it provides: “a. value of electromechanical coupling; b. good adhesion to substrate; c. resistance to environmental effects (e.g., humidity, temperature); d. VLSI process compatible (e.g., deposition methods and etching); e. temperature and acceleration sensitivity; f. cost effectiveness.” Motamedi at p. 522, col. 2. Because the references relate to using sensors, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 32: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises a nanosensor, a crystal, or a semiconductor (Motamedi discloses an acoustic sensor that is includes a single-crystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) film. Motamedi at p. 522, col. 1.).
Regarding claim 35: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises a bulk or surface acoustic sensor (Motamedi discloses that “AlN films are most attractive for high frequency, bulk acoustic resonators and SAW sensors.” Motamedi at p. 522, col. 1.
Regarding claim 46: The method according to claim 45,
wherein the electroacoustic sensor comprises an omnidirectional, unidirectional, or bidirectional microphone (Legaspi discloses a “receiver module may include a microphone for receiving the plurality sound waves from one or more detectors (or other sources) ….” The receiver module can be a directional microphone (Fig. 18). Legaspi at pars. [0010] and [0094]-[0095] and Fig. 18.).
microphone that is based on sensing an incident sound-based motion of a diaphragm or a ribbon, and the microphone consists of, or comprises, a condenser, an electret, a dynamic, a ribbon, a carbon, or a piezoelectric microphone (Motamedi discloses a piezoelectric thin film acoustic sensor (“piezoelectric microphone”) that is includes a single-crystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) film (“diaphragm”). Motamedi at p. 521 (Summary) and p. 522, col. 1.).
Claim 30 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi, and further in view of Japanese Patent Application Publication No. JPH11142234 to Yamaguchi et al. (“Yamaguchi”).
Regarding claim 30: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises multiple sensors arranged as a directional sensor array operative to estimate a number, magnitude, frequency, Direction-Of-Arrival (DOA), distance, or speed of the physical phenomenon impinging the sensor array (Laraspi discloses determining presence of an individual within a predetermined distance, which would imply that a sensor array is used. However, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi does not expressly disclose a sensor array. Yamaguchi discloses use of an array type infrared detection elements arranged in an array (“multiple sensors arranged as a directional sensor array”) to detect a specific human body part having a different operation speed (“estimate … speed of the physical phenomenon impinging the sensor array”) to operate a device. Yamaguchi at pars. [0010]-[0011]. Yamaguchi is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to a problem facing the inventor, which is to determine speed of a physical phenomenon impinging the sensor array in order to control a device. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a sensor array to detect the speed of an individual into the system of Sharood. This is because, along with the presence of an individual, the modified system can incorporate a known “improvement” to system by using the speed of an individual as a means to operate the modified retrofit plug. MPEP §2143.I.C.).
Claim 31 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi, and further in view of Internation Patent Application Publication No. WO9802856 to Keller Hans Juerg (“Juerg”).
Regarding claim 31: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises a thermoelectric sensor that responds to a temperature or to a temperature gradient of an object using conduction, convection, or radiation, and wherein the thermoelectric sensor consists of, or comprises, a Positive Temperature Coefficient (PTC) thermistor, a Negative Temperature Coefficient (NTC) thermistor, a thermocouple, a quartz crystal, or a Resistance Temperature Detector (RTD) (Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, Ansari, and Legaspi discloses a passive infrared (PIR) motion detector. Legaspi at par. [0094]. However, in the same field of endeavor, controlling power to a device (and thus analogous art), Juerg discloses a plug-type device that detects motion of a person for controlling electrical devices that can use thermoelectric or thermistor sensors. Juerg at Abstract and pp. 2 and 4 and Fig. 3. The thermistor will be wither a PTC or NTC. As disclosed in Juerg, for purposes of motion detection, the thermistor is an industry recognized equivalent to the PIR. Accordingly, because their functions are well known in the art, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a thermistor because it would just be a substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.B.).
Claim 50 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2012/0325197 to Legaspi et al. (“Legaspi2”).).
Regarding claim 50: The method according to claim 47,
wherein the light source comprises a lamp, an incandescent lamp, a gas discharge lamp, a fluorescent lamp, a Solid-State Lighting (SSL), a Light Emitting Diode (LED), an Organic LED (OLED), a polymer LED (PLED), or a laser diode (As discussed above, Legaspi discloses a light 1912. However, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Legaspi does not explicitly disclose that claimed light type. Legaspi2 discloses that an indicating light can be a “light emitting diode.” Legaspi2 at par. [0088]. Legaspi2 is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to a problem faced by the inventor, which is what type of device to use as the indicating light. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the LED of Legaspi2 because LEDs can be configured to indicate when a device is “powered On” and when a device is “powered Off.” Legaspi2 at par. [0088]. Because the references relate to providing indicating lights, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G. In addition, using an LED would be a simple substation of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.B.).
Claim 56 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of UK Patent Application Publication No. GB2428579 to Pau et al. (“Pau”).).
Regarding claim 56: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the actuator comprises a thermoelectric actuator and is a heater or a cooler, and the method further comprising affecting, by the actuator, a temperature of a solid, a liquid, or a gas object by conduction, convection, force convention, thermal radiation, or by a transfer of energy by phase changes (Sharood discloses that the appliances can be plugged into the retrofit plug 125. Sharood at pars. [0092] and [0098]. However, although Sharood discloses monitoring and controlling heaters (par. [0091]), Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari does not explicitly disclose controlling and monitoring a heater via the modified retrofit plug. Pau discloses a pluggable mini electric heater that can be controlled using a dimmer switch. Pau at Abstract. In addition, Pau discloses that an application of such an arrangement can be to heat and vaporize oil in a container. Pau at Abstract. As discussed above with respect to claim 1, the actuator of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari can provide variable current flow regulation (i.e., dimmer adjustment) by adjusting the conduction angle of the power an appliance attached to the modified retrofit plug. Accordingly, based on the teachings of Pau, it would have been obvious to “improve” the functioning of the modified retrofit plug by configuring the actuator to vary the current flow regulation (dimming adjustment) to an attached heater. Because the modification uses known techniques, it would yield predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.D.).
Claims 57-59 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 20080012423 to Emile Mimran (“Mimran”).).
Regarding claim 57: The method according to claim 1, further comprising
connecting, by a first connector in the single enclosure, to a device external to the single enclosure (Mimran discloses a “universal serial bus (USB) adaptor device [(“first connector”)] for use in pre-wiring of any office or home in order to have wall outlets and/or floor outlets available for charging of peripheral electronic devices.” Mimram at Abstract. As seen in Figs. 1, 2, and 5, the USB device is integral to the enclosure for the outlet and external devices such as digital camera can be connected (“connecting … to a device external to the single enclosure”) to the USB device. Mimran is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor (controlling power to a device). It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include the USB connector to the modified retrofit plug of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari in order to have “outlets available for charging of peripheral electronic devices.” Mimran at Abstract. Because the references relate to controlling power, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.)
Regarding claim 58: The method according to claim 57,
wherein the first connector consists of, or comprises, a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connector (Mimram discloses a USB connector. Mimram at Abstract and Figs. 1, 2, and 5.).
Regarding claim 59: The method according to claim 57, further comprising
powering, the device, by the DC voltage (Fig. 1 shows that the device will be powered by the DC voltage from the USB connector.).
Claim 1 is alternately rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2001/0025349 to Sharood et al. (“Sharood”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0218099 to Robert C. Newman (“Newman”), U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0247086 to Shih-Yung Chiu (“Chiu”), and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0071053 to Ansari et al. (“Ansari”). Note: In this alternate analysis, the same references are applied as before but the analysis of “first data” and “second data” is different from that given above.
Regarding claim 1:
A method for switching and monitoring an Alternating Current (AC) powered appliance, for use with an in-wall AC power cable that carries an AC power and connected thereto by an outlet or via an outlet opening, and for use with a wireless network (Sharood discloses a plug 125 that is incorporated in a wireless network 4 and can provide switching and monitoring services. Sharood at pars. [0083]-[0085] and Figs. 1, 2, and 6A-D.), the method comprising:
receiving, the AC power from the in-wall AC power cable by a first AC connector (Sharood at par. [0083] and Figs. 6A-D; plug 125 with connectors 603 and 604.);
connecting, to the appliance by a second AC connector (Sharood at par. [0086] and Figs. 6A-D; plug 125 with connectors 601 and 602.);
generating, by an AC/DC converter, a DC voltage from the AC power (Sharood at par. [0087] and Figs. 6A-D; power supply 650;
switching, the AC power to the appliance, by an electrically actuated switch connected between the first and second AC connectors (Sharood discloses that the “retrofit plug 125 also can include a power-switching device under control of the measure and transmit circuit 620 [and that] [t]he power-switching device enables remote shutdown of the attached appliance [(“switching, the AC power to the appliance”)], for example, through the retrofit plug 125, if a situation occurs that may damage the appliance if operation is continued or if a hazardous condition may result from continued operation.” Sharood at par. [0094]. In addition, Sharood discloses that the power-switching device can provide “variable current flow regulation” (“switching, the AC power to the appliance”). Sharood at par. [0094]. Accordingly, Sharood discloses the claimed “electrically actuated switch.”);
measuring, by a current sensor coupled between the first and second AC connectors, an AC current to the appliance (Sharood discloses a “measure and transmit circuit 620 [(“current sensor”)] is connected to a current transformer 610 to measure the current being drawn by the appliance attached to the retrofit plug 125.” Sharood at par. [0088] and Figs 6B-D (which show that the measure and transmit circuit 620 measures the current between (“coupled between”) slots 601,602 and slots 603,604).);
communicating, over the wireless network, by an antenna (Sharood discloses that the “plug may operate as a stand-alone unit by equipping the plug with a modem to communicate with an external computer … [and that the] retrofit plug 125 also can be equipped with an RF transceiver so that the plug may be incorporated in a wireless network 4 for monitoring and control of an associated appliance.” Sharood at par. [0085] and Figs. 6C-D; see also par. [0098].);
transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the wireless network, by a wireless transceiver that is coupled to the antenna and that is powered by the DC voltage (Sharood discloses that the “retrofit plug 125 also can be equipped with an RF transceiver [(“wireless transceiver”)] so that the plug may be incorporated in a wireless network 4 for monitoring and control of an associated appliance.” Sharood at par. [0085] and Figs. 6C-D. Sharood also discloses that “the measure and transmit circuit can be upgraded to perform bi-directional communication [(“transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the wireless network”)] by translating between a communications media protocol used by the control server 100 and the appliance's control protocol” and that the “measure and transmit circuit 620 can be programmed to periodically send the measured data to the control server 100 as part of a general monitoring function, such as, for example, energy management and logging functions.” Sharood at pars. [0089]-[0090].);
transmitting, to the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna, the measured AC current (Sharood discloses that the “current draw data [(“measured AC current”)] or power data can be stored by the measure and transmit circuit 620 [and the] measure and transmit circuit 620 can be programmed to periodically send the measured data to the control server 100 as part of a general monitoring function, such as, for example, energy management and logging functions.” Sharood at par. [0090].); and
wherein the electrically actuated switch, the AC/DC converter, the current sensor, the actuator, the antenna, and the wireless transceiver, are housed in a single enclosure (Sharood discloses a retrofit plug 125 that includes the power-switching device (“electrically actuated switch”), the power supply 250 (“AC/DC converter”), current transformer 610 (“current sensor”), and RF transceiver 680 (“antenna” and “wireless transceiver”) that are housed in outer housing 600 (“single enclosure”). Sharood at pars. [0085]-[0088] and [0094] and Figs. 6A-6D.)
In view of Chiu:
activating, the electrically actuated switch, for powering the appliance from the AC power, in response to first data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna (Sharood discloses that the power-switching device “can permit dimming and variable current flow regulation for remote control of the appliance.” Sharood at par. [0094]. However, Sharood does not disclose the details on how the variable current flow regulation is performed. In the same field of endeavor, controlling power (and thus analogous art), Chiu discloses a phase control circuit 33 (“electrically actuated switch”) that provides a dimmer function (“powering the appliance from the AC power”) by “adjusting and changing conduction angle of power supply output from the power supply outlet 12 of the portable dimmer socket 10.” Chiu at par. [0019]. Chiu discloses that “the RF control signal [(“via the antenna”)] transmitted from the wireless transmitter 40 shall comprise a Power On/Off signal and a phase control signal [(“first data”)] to adjust and change conduction angle of power supply output from the power supply outlet 12 ….” Chiu at par. [0021]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the phase control circuit 33 into the system of Sharood in view of Newman in order to provide a “dimmer socket [that] provides both power supply function and dimmer adjustment control function ….” Chiu at Abstract. Because the Sharood, Newman, and Chiu relate to controlling power, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).;
In view of Newman:
affecting, by an actuator that is powered by the DC voltage, a physical phenomenon (Sharood discloses that the “power-switching device enables remote shutdown of the attached appliance, for example, through the retrofit plug 125 ….” Sharood at par. [0094]. In addition, Sharood discloses operation of appliances using a touchpad such as, for example, on/off control of attached appliances (e.g., a side lamp). Sharood at par. [0107] and Figs. 7A-C. However, Sharood does not disclose the details of the power-switching device. In the same field of endeavor, remotely controlling power (and thus analogous art), Newman discloses details of a power control circuit that includes a drive circuit 212 and controllably conductive device 210. Newman discloses that “input to the control input will render the controllably conductive device 210 [(“actuator”)] conductive or non-conductive, which in turn controls the power supplied to the lighting load 204” (“affecting … a physical phenomenon”). Newman at par. [0030]. Newman also discloses that the “controllably conductive device 210 may comprise any suitable type of bidirectional switch, such as, for example, a triac, a field-effect transistor (FET) in a rectifier bridge, or two FETs in anti-series connection.” Newman at par. [0030]. Because Sharood discloses performing on/off operations on an attached side lamp but does not provide any details on the power-switching device, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to look for known circuits that perform on/off functions such as the controllably conductive device found in Newman. Accordingly, one skilled in the would have incorporated Newman’s controllably conductive device into the system of Sharood using known methods to achieve predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.A.);
activating or controlling, the actuator, in response to second data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna (Sharood discloses operation of appliances using a touchpad such as, for example, on/off control (“second data”), which will be received via RF transceiver 680 (“via the antenna”). Sharood at pars. [0085] and [0107] and Figs. 6B-D, 7A-C and 8.);
In view of Ansari:
a single enclosure that is addressable in the wireless network using an Internet Protocol (IP) address that is IPv4 or IPv6 type address, and that consists of, comprises, or is integrated with, the outlet or a plug-in module that is pluggable to the outlet (As discussed above, Sharood in view of Newman and Chiu discloses communication over a wireless network. However, Sharood in view of Newman and Chiu do not explicitly disclose the details of the wireless communication. Ansari discloses a wireless communication between devices that use an IP protocol with IPv4 and/or IPv6 addresses. Ansari at pars. [0096] and [0116]. Ansari is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to a problem faced by the inventor, which is how to implement the wireless communication. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. Ansari discloses that it was known to implement an IP protocol with IPv4 and/or IPv6 addressing for communication between devices. The devices would perform the same functions with the IP protocol identifying the end devices for communication. Accordingly, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have IP protocol, as disclosed by Ansari, because It would have yielded predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.A.), and
wherein the wireless network is a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), the antenna is a WLAN antenna, and the wireless transceiver is a WLAN modem (As discussed above, the device of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari is part of a wireless network. Ansari at par. [0096] (disclosing that connectivity between a gateway device and user devices can be implemented “a wireless network interface via a WiFi LAN access point 62 provided, for example, in accordance with the I.E.E.E. 802.11 b/g/n wireless or wireless network communications standard.” Thus, the antennas and transceiver modems in the wireless network facilitate communication a wireless local area network (WLAN).).
Claims 26, 37-40, 42-43, and 52 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 20050184867 to Robert Osann (“Osann”).). Note: the following rejections are based on the alternative analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 26: The method according to claim 1, further comprising
providing, by a first sensor in the single enclosure, an output that responds to a physical phenomenon (Sharood, Newman, Chiu, and Ansari does not explicitly disclose the claimed “first sensor.” However, in the same field of endeavor, controlling power to devices (and thus analogous art), Osann discloses that a power plug receptacle assembly can include a video camera (“providing, by a first sensor in the single enclosure, an output that responds to a physical phenomenon”). Osann at par. [0111] and Figs. 5 and 6. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a video camera to the modified retrofit plug of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari in order to provide remote surveillance and control features for a home. Osann at Abstract. Because the references relate to controlling power, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).)
Regarding claim 37: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises a photoelectric sensor that responds to a visible or an invisible light that is infrared, ultraviolet, X-rays, or gamma rays (Osann discloses that the video camera can have a CMOS semiconductor sensor array. Osann at par. [0109].).
Regarding claim 38: The method according to claim 37,
wherein the photoelectric sensor is based on the photoelectric or photovoltaic effect, and comprises a semiconductor component that comprises a photodiode, a phototransistor, or a solar cell (Osann discloses that the video camera can have a CMOS semiconductor sensor array. Osann at par. [0109].).
Regarding claim 39: The method according to claim 37,
wherein the photoelectric sensor is based on Charge-Coupled Method (CCD) element or is based on a Complementary Metal-Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) element (Osann discloses that the video camera can have a CMOS semiconductor sensor array. Osann at par. [0109].).
Regarding claim 40: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises a photosensitive image sensor array that comprises multiple photoelectric sensors for capturing an image and producing electronic image information representing the image, and the method further comprising focusing, a received light, by one or more optical lens, and wherein the image sensor is disposed approximately at an image focal point plane of the one or more optical lens for properly capturing the image (Osann discloses that the “video sensor arrays can be constructed on a standard CMOS semiconductor process” and that the “video camera can be statically mounted and include a wide-angle lens.” Osann at par. [0109].).
Regarding claim 42: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor that responds to an object chemical structure, properties, composition, or reactions (Under a broad but reasonable interpretation (and consistent with Applicant’s specification – see, e.g., claim 30), “first sensor” is being interpreted to include one or more sensors. Osann discloses incorporating sensors such as video, temperature and motion into a single enclosure for monitoring parameters such as temperature in the room or zone in which the enclosure is located. Osann at pars. [0111]-[0115] and [0136]-[0137] and Figs. 5-6. Sharood discloses use of CO, CO2, flammable gas sensors (“electrochemical sensor”) for zone monitoring. Sharood at par. [0228]. Although Sharood does not explicitly disclose that the sensors can be incorporated into a single enclosure, based on the disclosure in Osann, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the electrochemical sensor and the video camera (collectively “first sensor”) into the modified retrofit plug in order to “not only [provide] convenient locations to measure and display electrical power consumption—[but] also provide a convenient means to proliferate” the sensors. Osann at par. [0026]. Because the references relate to arranging components into a single enclosure, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 43: The method according to claim 42,
wherein the electrochemical sensor comprises a pH meter or a gas sensor responding to a presence of radon, hydrogen, oxygen, or Carbon-Monoxide (CO), or wherein the electrochemical sensor is based on optical detection or on ionization and comprises a smoke, a flame, or a fire detector, or is responsive to combustible, flammable, or toxic gas (Sharood discloses use of CO, CO2, flammable gas sensors for zone monitoring. Sharood at par. [0228].).
Regarding claim 52: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the actuator comprises a sounder, and the method further comprising converting, by the sounder, an electrical energy to omnidirectional, unidirectional, or bidirectional pattern emitted, audible or inaudible, sound waves (Sharood discloses a buzzer (“sounder”) to indicate an alarm such as a fire or intrusion detection (Sharood at par. [0110]), but does not disclose that the buzzer can be incorporated into the modified retrofit plug. However, Osann discloses incorporating sensors and indications (e.g., multi-display 14) into a single enclosure for monitoring parameters in the room or zone in which the enclosure is located. Osann at pars. [0111]-[0115] and [0136]-[0137] and Figs. 5-6. Based on the disclosure in Osann, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to improve the modified retrofit plug by incorporate the buzzer in order to provide alarm and alert notification as part of indications for the room or zone monitoring. MPEP §2143.I.C.).
Claims 33 and 54 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2011/0148651 to Hendrickson et al. (“Hendrickson”).). Note: the following rejections are based on the alternative analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 33: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises an eddy-current sensor (Hendrickson discloses electromagnetic sensors that includes eddy current sensors. Hendrickson at par. [0046]. As discussed above (e.g., in claim 42), Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari discloses monitoring a room or a zone using video camera, motion detector, temperature detector, CO detector, CO2 detector, and/or a flammable gas detector. Accordingly, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to further improve the modified retrofit plug of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari by incorporating eddy current sensor of to provide additional sensing features to “enhance or supplement the functionality of the appliance” (Hendrickson at par. [0001]) using known methods to achieve predictable results. MPEP §2134.I.C and G.).
Regarding claim 54: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the actuator comprises a chemical or an electrochemical actuator (Sharood discloses that appliances such as washer and dryer can be monitored via the retrofit plug. Sharood at par. [0237]. Hendrikson a first substance communicating device 12 may be an automatic clothes washer acting as a host for the second substance communicating device 16 (“chemical or an electrochemical actuator”), and second substance communicating device 16 may be an additive dispensing accessory capable of dispensing one or more fabric treatment chemicals, such as detergent, bleach or softener, for use by the automatic clothes washer in the processing of a fabric load. Hendrickson at par. [0090]. In addition, Hendrickson discloses a process control apparatus 28 (“chemical or an electrochemical actuator”) that can be configured to modify properties of one or more consumables or resources such as temperature or a chemical property such as, for example, chemical properties might be changed by controlling a mixture of at least two consumables and/or resources by using a motor and an auger. Hendrickson at par. [0089]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motived to include the electrochemical actuator of Hendrickson into the modified retrofit plug of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari in order to control chemicals such as, for example, the addition of fabric treatment chemicals. Hendrickson at par. [0090]. Because the references relate to control of appliances, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
Claim 36 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2010/0211359 to Neelesh B. Mehta (“Mehta”).). Note: the following rejections are based on the alternative analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 36: The method according to claim 26,
wherein the first sensor comprises a radiation sensor that responds to radioactivity, nuclear radiation, alpha particles, beta particles, or gamma rays, or wherein the first sensor is based on gas ionization (Mehta discloses a sensing unit 302 for monitoring the bio-event of an area, including radiation. Mehta at par. [0029]. As discussed above (e.g., in claim 42), Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari discloses monitoring a room or a zone using video camera, motion detector, temperature detector, CO detector, CO2 detector, and/or a flammable gas detector. Accordingly, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to further improve the modified retrofit plug of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari by incorporating the radiation detector of Meha to provide boi-event monitoring using known methods to achieve predictable results. MPEP §2134.I.C.).
Claim 41 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Osann, and further in view of Wikipedia Article, https://web.archive.org/web/20111021150807/http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_file_format (“Video Article”). Note: the following rejections are based on the alternative analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 41: The method according to claim 40, further comprising
providing, a digital data video signal for according to a digital video format, by an image processor that coupled to the image sensor, wherein the digital video signal carrying digital data video based on the captured images, and wherein the digital video format is TIFF (Tagged Image File Format), RAW format, AVI, DV, MOV, WMV, MP4, DCF (Design Rule for Camera Format), ITU-T H.261, ITU-T H.263, ITU-T H.264, ITU-T CCIR 601, ASF, Exif (Exchangeable Image File Format), or DPOF (Digital Print Order Format) standard (Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu and Ansari, and Osann discloses a video camera, but does not explicitly disclose the video format. However, Video Article renders obvious the claimed file formats. Video Article is analogous art because it is pertinent to a problem facing the inventor, which is to determine what video format to use for the video camera. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use one of the listed video formats because that are the “most popular multi-media containers.” Video Article at p. 2. Because the listed formats are the most popular, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
Claim 51 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 3334340 to James L. Mcconnell (“Mcconnell”).
Regarding claim 51: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the actuator comprises a motion actuator that causes linear or rotary motion, and the method further comprising converting, by a conversion mechanism, to rotary or linear motion based on a screw, a wheel-and-axle, or a cam (Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari discloses an on/off operation for the “actuator,” as discussed above. However, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari “motion actuator that causes linear or rotary motion.” Mcconnell discloses on/off operation of a motor 105 based on cam 103 which operates switch 104 in response to a timer. Mcconnell at col. 3:72-74 and Fig. 5. Mcconnell shows it is well-known to use a motorized cam operated switch to control devices. Mcconnell is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to a problem faced by the inventor, which is to how to perform on/off operations on a device using rotary motion. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. Because the only difference between the system of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari and the claimed invention is the use of an motor-operated cam switch and because Mcconnell shows that a motor-operated cam switch is well-known in the art, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Mcconnell’s motor-operated cam switch into the system of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari using known method that will yield predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.A.)
Claim 53 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5579201 to Vicken H. Karageozian (“Karageozian”). Note: the following rejections are based on the alternative analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 53: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the actuator comprises an electromagnetic coil or an electromagnet, and the method further comprising generating a magnetic or electric field (Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari discloses an on/off operation for the “actuator,” as discussed above. However, Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari does not disclose that the actuator includes “an electromagnetic coil or an electromagnet.” Karageozian discloses on/off operation of a power strip device based on a relay switch 18 which includes coil 60 and contacts 62. Karageozian at col. 5:28-38 and Fig. 4. Karageozian shows that it is well-known to use a relay with a coil and contacts to control devices. Karageozian is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which is how to perform on/off operations on a device using an electromagnetic coil. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. Because the only difference between the system of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari and the claimed invention is the use of an electromagnetic coil and because Karageozian shows that relay with an electromagnetic coil is well-known in the art, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Karageozian’s relay with electromagnetic coil into the system of Sharood in view of Newman, Chiu, and Ansari using known method that will yield predictable results. MPEP §2143.I.A.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 24-25, 20-21, 58, 61, 26-53, 55-57, 62-63, and 65 (listed in a corresponding order) of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,589 in view of Newman or Chiu and further in view of Binder. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar only varying with small differences such as the requirement of a “first data” and “second data” in claim 1 (which is rendered obvious by Newman or Chiu, as discussed above) and the requirement of an “additional antenna” in claim 15 (which is rendered obvious by Binder, as discussed above).
Claim 1 of Present Application
Claim 1 of Patent No. 12,149,589
1. A method for switching and monitoring an Alternating Current (AC) powered appliance, for use with an in-wall AC power cable that carries an AC power and connected thereto by an outlet or via an outlet opening, and for use with a wireless network, the method comprising: receiving, the AC power from the in-wall AC power cable by a first AC connector; connecting, to the appliance by a second AC connector; generating, by an AC/DC converter, a DC voltage from the AC power; switching, the AC power to the appliance, by an electrically actuated switch connected between the first and second AC connectors; measuring, by a current sensor coupled between the first and second AC connectors, an AC current to the appliance; affecting, by an actuator that is powered by the DC voltage, a physical phenomenon; communicating, over the wireless network, by an antenna; transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the wireless network, by a wireless transceiver that is coupled to the antenna and that is powered by the DC voltage; activating, the electrically actuated switch, for powering the appliance from the AC power, in response to first data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna; transmitting, to the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna, the measured AC current; and activating or controlling, the actuator, in response to second data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna, wherein the electrically actuated switch, the AC/DC converter, the current sensor, the actuator, the antenna, and the wireless transceiver, are housed in a single enclosure that is addressable in the wireless network using an Internet Protocol (IP) address that is IPv4 or IPv6 type address, and that consists of, comprises, or is integrated with, the outlet or a plug-in module that is pluggable to the outlet, and wherein the wireless network is a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), the antenna is a WLAN antenna, and the wireless transceiver is a WLAN modem.
1. A device for switching and monitoring an Alternating Current (AC) powered appliance, for use with an in- wall AC power cable that carries an AC power and connected thereto by an outlet or via an outlet opening, and for use with a wireless network, the device comprising: a first AC connector for connecting to the in-wall AC power cable; a second AC connector for connecting the appliance to the AC power cable to be powered by the AC power; an electrically actuated switch connectable between the first and second AC connectors for switching the AC power to the appliance; a current sensor couplable between the first and second AC connectors for measuring an AC current to the appliance; an actuator for affecting a physical phenomenon, an antenna for communication over the wireless network; a wireless transceiver coupled to the antenna for transmitting digital data to, and for receiving digital data from, the wireless network; and a single enclosure housing the electrically actuated switch, the current sensor, the actuator, the antenna, and the wireless transceiver, wherein the electrically actuated switch is coupled to the wireless transceiver for being activated in response to digital data received from the wireless network, wherein the current sensor is coupled to the wireless transceiver for transmitting digital data in response to the measured AC current to the wireless network, wherein the actuator is coupled to the wireless transceiver for being activated or controlled in response to digital data received from the wireless network, wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, a motion actuator, a sounder, an electromagnetic coil or an electromagnet, a chemical or an electrochemical actuator, or a thermoelectric actuator, wherein the device is addressable in the wireless network using an Internet Protocol (IP) address that is IPv4 or IPv6 type address, wherein the device is powered by the AC power when connected to the AC power cable, and wherein the device consists of, comprises, or is integrated with, the outlet or a plug-in module that is pluggable to the outlet.
15. The method according to claim 1, further for use with an additional wireless network, the method further comprising: communicating, over the additional wireless network, by an additional antenna; transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the additional wireless network, by an additional wireless transceiver that is coupled to the additional antenna and that is powered by the DC voltage; activating, the electrically actuated switch, for powering the appliance from the AC power, in response to third data received from the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna; transmitting, to the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna, the measured AC current; and activating or controlling, the actuator, in response to fourth data received from the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna.
Claims 1-59 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 24-25, 20-21, 58, 61, 26-55, 52-54, 56-57, 62-63, and 65 (listed in a corresponding order) of U.S. Patent No. 11,349,925 in view of Newman or Chiu and further in view of Binder. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar with small differences in scope such as the requirement of a “first data” and “second data” in claim 1 (which is rendered obvious by Newman or Chiu, as discussed above) and the requirement of an “additional antenna” in claim 15 (which is rendered obvious by Binder, as discussed above).
Claim 1 of Present Application
Claim 1 of Patent No. 12,149,589
1. A method for switching and monitoring an Alternating Current (AC) powered appliance, for use with an in-wall AC power cable that carries an AC power and connected thereto by an outlet or via an outlet opening, and for use with a wireless network, the method comprising: receiving, the AC power from the in-wall AC power cable by a first AC connector; connecting, to the appliance by a second AC connector; generating, by an AC/DC converter, a DC voltage from the AC power; switching, the AC power to the appliance, by an electrically actuated switch connected between the first and second AC connectors; measuring, by a current sensor coupled between the first and second AC connectors, an AC current to the appliance; affecting, by an actuator that is powered by the DC voltage, a physical phenomenon; communicating, over the wireless network, by an antenna; transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the wireless network, by a wireless transceiver that is coupled to the antenna and that is powered by the DC voltage; activating, the electrically actuated switch, for powering the appliance from the AC power, in response to first data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna; transmitting, to the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna, the measured AC current; and activating or controlling, the actuator, in response to second data received from the wireless network by the wireless transceiver via the antenna, wherein the electrically actuated switch, the AC/DC converter, the current sensor, the actuator, the antenna, and the wireless transceiver, are housed in a single enclosure that is addressable in the wireless network using an Internet Protocol (IP) address that is IPv4 or IPv6 type address, and that consists of, comprises, or is integrated with, the outlet or a plug-in module that is pluggable to the outlet, and wherein the wireless network is a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), the antenna is a WLAN antenna, and the wireless transceiver is a WLAN modem.
1. A device for switching and monitoring an Alternating Current (AC) powered appliance, for use with in- wall AC power cable carrying an AC power and connected thereto by an outlet or via an outlet opening, and for use with a wireless network, the device comprising: a first AC connector for connecting to the in-wall AC power cable; a second AC connector for connecting the appliance to the AC power cable to be powered by the AC power; an electrically actuated switch connectable between the first and second AC connectors for switching the AC power to the appliance; a current sensor couplable between the first and second AC connectors for measuring an AC current to the appliance; an antenna for communication over the wireless network; a wireless transceiver coupled to the antenna for transmitting digital data to, and for receiving digital data from, the wireless network; and a single enclosure housing the electrically actuated switch, the current sensor, the antenna, and the wireless transceiver, wherein the electrically actuated switch is coupled to the wireless transceiver for being activated in response to digital data received from the wireless network, wherein the current sensor is coupled to the wireless transceiver for transmitting digital data in response to the measured AC current to the wireless network, wherein the electrically actuated switch is a latching or a non-latching type relay, wherein the device is powered by the AC power when connected to the AC power cable, and wherein the device is consists of, comprises, or is integrated with, the outlet or a plug-in module that is pluggable to the outlet.
15. The method according to claim 1, further for use with an additional wireless network, the method further comprising: communicating, over the additional wireless network, by an additional antenna; transmitting digital data to, and receiving digital data from, the additional wireless network, by an additional wireless transceiver that is coupled to the additional antenna and that is powered by the DC voltage; activating, the electrically actuated switch, for powering the appliance from the AC power, in response to third data received from the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna; transmitting, to the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna, the measured AC current; and activating or controlling, the actuator, in response to fourth data received from the additional wireless network by the additional wireless transceiver via the additional antenna.
Conclusion
/BHASKAR KAKARLA/Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116