DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to claims filed on October 27, 2024.
Claims 1-19 are being examined in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 11, 2025, October 13, 2025, and October 19, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,827,658 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 9,827,658 B2, contain every element of claims 1-17 of the instant application and as such anticipate claims 1-17 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a magazine" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 recites “a magazine of a fastening device,” introduced in line 1, thus it is unclear whether “a magazine” recited in claim 3 refers to the same magazine, or a second magazine. Examiner suggests reciting: providing the magazine having a pusher assembly, in line 3.
Claim 19 is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arata et al. (US 2009/0200354 A1, herein Arata).
Regarding claim 1, Arata discloses [0060-0063] a magazine (magazine 30, Fig. 7) for a fastening device (fastener driving tool 1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a pusher assembly (pusher holding device 70, Fig. 7) adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state,
the pusher assembly (70) having a pusher assembly knob (push button 71a and stopper rod 71, Fig. 7) and a pusher (pusher 32 having a feeding claw 32a, Figs. 4 and 7);
the pusher adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (fastener feeding direction P, Fig. 7) toward a nose end of the magazine when the pusher assembly (70) is in the engaged state;
a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] into which the pusher (32, 32a) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32, 32a) to achieve the retracted state;
a detent (L-shaped notch-like engaging recess 74, Fig. 7) adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly (70) in the retracted state; and
the pusher assembly knob (71 a, 71) adapted to reversibly latch (via hook portion 71b, Fig. 7) to the detent (74).
Regarding claim 2, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) has a latch portion (71b) to which the pusher assembly knob (71 a, 71) is reversibly latched when the pusher assembly (70) is in the retracted state.
Regarding claim 3, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) has a detent base end (as shown in an annotated Fig. 7, below) to which the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is reversibly latched when the pusher assembly (70) is in the retracted state.
Fig. 7, Arata, annotated
Regarding claim 5, Arata discloses wherein the pusher assembly (70) comprises a spring (73) located between the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) and the pusher (32).
Please note, regarding the recitation, “the spring allowing the pusher assembly knob to be tilted to achieve an unlatched state from a latched state," is a statement of intended use. Accordingly, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 10, Arata discloses wherein a guide frame (magazine body, 31) comprises the detent (74).
Regarding claim 11, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) is located proximate to a pusher assembly (70) guide path (in the direction of feeding direction, P, as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Arata discloses wherein the pusher assembly (70) is biased by a constant force spring (73, Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, Arata discloses in which the fastening tool (1) is a nailer and the fastener is a nail [0036].
Regarding claim 14, Arata discloses [0060-0063] a fastening device (1), comprising:
a nosepiece adapted to receive a fastener (n) from a magazine (30) (Figs. 1,3);
a power source (i.e. switch lever coupled to a control device for controlling a compressed air as a drive source) [0034-0035] adapted to power a fastener driving mechanism which can drive the fastener into a workpiece when triggered;
a pusher assembly (70) (Fig. 7) adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state;
the pusher assembly (70) having a pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) and a pusher (32, 32a);
the pusher (32, 32a) adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (P) toward the nosepiece when the pusher assembly (70) is in the engaged state;
a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] into which the pusher (32, 32a) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32, 32a) to achieve the retracted state; and
a detent (74) adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly (70) in the retracted state.
Regarding claim 15, Arata discloses wherein the detent (74) has a latch (hook portion 71b, Fig. 7) to which the pusher assembly knob (70) is reversibly latched when the pusher (32, 32a) is in the retracted state.
Regarding claim 18, Arata discloses [0060-0063] a method for loading fasteners into a magazine (magazine 30, Fig. 7) of a fastening device (fastener driving tool 1, Fig. 1), comprising the steps of:
providing the magazine having a pusher assembly (pusher holding device 70, Fig. 7) adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state, the pusher assembly (70) having a pusher assembly knob (push button 71a and stopper rod 71, Fig. 7) connected to a pusher (pusher 32 having a feeding claw 32a, Figs. 4 and 7), the pusher adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (fastener feeding direction P, Fig. 7) [0036] [0040] toward a nose end of the magazine when the pusher assembly (70) is in the engaged state;
providing a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] of the magazine into which the pusher (32, 32a) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (71a, 71) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32, 32a) to achieve the retracted state;
providing a detent (L-shaped notch-like engaging recess 74, Fig. 7) of the magazine adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly (70) in the retracted state, and the pusher assembly knob is adapted to reversibly latch (via hook portion 71b, Fig. 7) to the detent (74);
reversibly retracting the pusher assembly into the retracted state (see annotated Fig. 7, Arata, above);
maintaining the pusher assembly in the retracted state [0040];
feeding one or more fasteners to the track [0040]; and
engaging the pusher assembly from the retracted state into the engaged state [0040].
Regarding claim 19, Arata discloses in which the step of feeding one or more fasteners into the track, further comprises feeding one or more nails into the track [0036] (“fastener stick N consists of a plurality of parallel fasteners n that are joined in series with each other. For example, the fasteners n may be nails.”)
Alternatively, regarding claim 1, Arata discloses [0057-0059] a magazine (magazine 30, Fig. 6) for a fastening device (fastener driving tool 1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a pusher assembly adapted to have an engaged state and a retracted state,
the pusher assembly having a pusher assembly knob (stopper, 61, Fig. 6) and a pusher (pusher, 32);
the pusher adapted to contact a fastener and to impart a force upon the fastener in a direction (fastener feeding direction P, Fig. 7) toward a nose end of the magazine when the pusher assembly is in the engaged state;
the magazine (30) having a recess (31b) (Fig. 4) [0038] into which the pusher (32) is reversibly retracted at least in part when the pusher assembly knob (61) is moved to reversibly retract the pusher (32) to achieve the retracted state; and
a detent (engaging recess, 63, Fig. 6) adapted to reversibly maintain the pusher assembly in the retracted state; and
the pusher assembly knob (61) adapted to reversibly latch to the detent (63).
Regarding claim 6, Arata discloses (i.e. third embodiment, [0057-0059]) the claimed invention, as stated above.
The third embodiment of Arata further teaches wherein the pusher assembly is free of a compressive spring between the pusher assembly knob (61) (Fig. 6) and a portion of the pusher (32).
Regarding claim 7, Arata discloses (i.e. third embodiment, [0057-0059]) the claimed invention as stated above.
The third embodiment of Arata further teaches wherein the pusher assembly knob (61) can be pivoted to release the pusher assembly knob (61) (Fig. 6) from the detent (63) to achieve an unlatched state from a latched state.
Regarding claim 8, Arata discloses (i.e. third embodiment, [0057-0059]) the claimed invention as stated above.
The third embodiment of Arata further teaches a pivot (support shaft, 62) (Fig. 6) about which a pivot stem (61) can move to release the pusher assembly knob from the detent to achieve an unlatched state from a latched state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arata.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Arata discloses (i.e. fourth embodiment, [0060-0063]) the claimed invention as stated above.
The fourth embodiment of Arata does not expressly disclose wherein said detent (74) has a spring latch.
Arata (i.e. second embodiment; [0054-0056]) teaches a detent (engaging member 51, Fig. 5) having a spring latch (i.e. leaf spring) to which the pusher assembly knob is reversibly latched when the pusher assembly is in the retracted state.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time applicant's invention was made, to have modified the detent (74, Fig. 7) as taught by Arata (i.e. fourth embodiment), by incorporating the spring loaded detent (51, Fig. 5) as taught by Arata (i.e. second embodiment). Doing so would provide an alternative rapid, manual means to easily remove clogged fasteners within the fastener driving channel [0056].
Regarding claim 9, Arata discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the pusher assembly knob has a knob clearance of 0.05 mm or greater when the pusher assembly is in an engaged state. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the pusher assembly knob clearance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/Praachi M Pathak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
November 24, 2025