Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 recites the limitation "the locking coupling shaft." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since there are a pair of locking coupling shafts. Claims 2-10 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2021/0107433 A1) hereinafter KIM.
Regarding Claim 1 KIM teaches an adapter (30) for connecting a wiper blade (20) to a wiper arm (10), the adapter (30) comprising: a body (31, 32) coupled to the wiper blade (20), wherein the wiper arm (10) is detachably connected to the body (31, 32); and a locking cap (32) pivotally coupled to a front of the body (31, 32), wherein the body (31, 32) has: a blade coupling shaft (3181) rotatably coupled to the wiper blade (20); a pair of locking cap coupling shafts (316) rotatably coupled to the locking cap (32); and a first arm coupling groove (315a)recessed in an outer side surface of the body (31, 32), wherein a portion of the first arm coupling groove (315a) is positioned between the blade coupling shaft (3181) and the locking cap coupling shaft (316) (Fig 1-5).
Regarding Claim 2 KIM teaches wherein the first arm coupling groove (315a) has an L shape having: a vertical portion (see Fig below) extending in an elongate manner vertically from a top to a bottom; and a horizontal portion extending rearwardly from the bottom (See Fig below).
Regarding Claim 3 KIM teaches wherein a rear end of the first arm coupling groove (315a) is above the blade coupling shaft (3181) (Fig 3-5).
Regarding Claim 4 KIM teaches wherein the pair of locking cap coupling shafts (316) respectively protrude inwardly to form surfaces (3161) from both opposing inner side surfaces of the body (31, 32) (Fig 3-5).
Regarding Claim 5 wherein the locking cap (32) has a locking cap holder (see Fig below) into which the pair of locking cap coupling shafts (316) are inserted, wherein the locking cap holder (see Fig below) has a holder partition wall (see Fig below) formed in a center thereof, wherein the holder partition wall (see Fig below) is disposed between the pair of locking cap coupling shafts (316) (Fig 3-5).
Regarding Claim 6 KIM teaches wherein the body (31, 32) has a leg (315b) extending rearwardly, wherein the leg (315b) has a leg protrusion (3151b) formed at a rear end of the leg and protruding laterally, wherein the leg protrusion (3151b) has a leg tip (edge of protrusion 3151b) protruding frontward (Fig 3-5).
Regarding Claim 7 KIM teaches wherein the body (31, 32) has a second arm coupling groove (315a) recessed into an outer side surface of a front of the leg (315b) (Fig 3-5).
Regarding Claim 9 KIM teaches wherein the locking cap (32) has a locking cap button (see Fig below) extending downwardly, wherein the locking cap button (see Fig below) has a button groove (see Fig below) recessed into an outer side surface thereof, wherein the body (31, 32) has a button locker (3161) inserted into the button groove (see Fig below).
Regarding Claim 10 KIM teaches wherein the button locker (3161) is positioned in front of the first arm coupling groove (315a) (Fig 3-5).
Allowable subject matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the above stated 112 rejection and including all the limitations of the base claims and all the intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ABIY TEKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745