CTNF 18/928,248 CTNF 101002 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 5 and 11, examiner is unsure where the laser beam comes from as the invention does not acknowledge being a laser printer. Examiner is also unsure how the joining surface absorbs the laser beam and how the joining member is to transmit the laser beam? Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 20220288936 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches A liquid receiving device (Figure 1 displays the “wiping module 22” described in paragraph [0031].) comprising: a receiving unit configured to receive a liquid from an ejecting unit configured to eject the liquid (Figure 1 displays the “wiping portion 51” described in paragraph [0035]); and a joining member joined to the receiving unit (Figure 3 displays the “arm portion 73B” and “abutting portion 73C” that joins the “wiping portion 51” to the “guide rail 53D” and “timing belt 53C” of the “wiper driving mechanism 53” respectively as described in paragraphs [0045] and [0055].), wherein the receiving unit includes a reception wall configured to receive the liquid (Figure 4 displays the “storage portion 72A” described in paragraph [0046]), and a circumference wall extending from the reception wall (Figure 3 displays the “movement support portion 73” described in paragraph [0045]), wherein the circumference wall defines a reception port through which the liquid discharged from the ejecting unit passes (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “storage support portion 72” is mounted inside the “mounting portion 73A” and therefore defines and outlines the opened port of the “storage support portion 72” that allows the printing liquid to be discharged into the “wiping portion 51”.), and includes a joining surface joined to the joining member (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “mounting portion 73A”, the “arm portion 73B”, and the “abutting portion 73C” are all connected and are a part of the “movement support portion 73”.), and the joining member extends along the circumference wall (Figure 3 displays how the “arm portion 73B” extends along the “movement support portion 73”.), and includes a protruding portion extending inward from the circumference wall (Figure 3 displays the “plurality of protrusions 73D” that are protruding in the “direction along the X axis”, which is pointed inward of the “abutting portion 73C”, as described in paragraph [0045].). Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches the liquid receiving device according to claim 1, Sato further discloses wherein the reception port opens in an inclined direction inclined with respect to a horizontal direction and a vertical direction (Figure 20 displays the “wiping portion 51” at an incline with respect to the horizontal direction in the “XY plane” as described in paragraph [0168].). Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches the liquid receiving device according to claim 1, Sato further discloses wherein a portion of the joining member that comes into contact with the joining surface is made of a material that is same as a material of the joining surface (Figure 3 displays how the “73” is one continuous mold and therefore is made of the same material.). Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches the liquid receiving device according to claim 4, as best understood by the examiner, Sato further discloses wherein the joining surface absorbs a laser beam (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “mounting portion 73A”, the “arm portion 73B”, and the “abutting portion 73C” are all connected and are a part of the “movement support portion 73”. As best understood by the examiner, Sato discloses the claimed limitation as the “laser beam” limitation is rejected under a 112(b) rejection as seen above.), and the joining member transmits the laser beam (Figure 3 displays the “arm portion 73B” and “abutting portion 73C” that joins the “wiping portion 51” to the “guide rail 53D” and “timing belt 53C” of the “wiper driving mechanism 53” respectively as described in paragraphs [0045] and [0055]. As best understood by the examiner, Sato discloses the claimed limitation as the “laser beam” limitation is rejected under a 112(b) rejection as seen above.). Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches a liquid ejecting device (Figure 1 displays the “liquid discharging apparatus 10” described in paragraph [0030].) comprising: an ejecting unit (Figure 1 displays a “discharge module 20” that includes a “liquid discharge head 21”described in paragraph [0031].) that includes a nozzle surface in which a nozzle opens and is configured to eject a liquid from the nozzle (Paragraph [0032] describes how the “discharge head 21” includes the “nozzle surface 21A” where the printing liquid is discharged.); and a wiping unit configured to wipe the nozzle surface (Figure 1 displays the “wiping module 22”), wherein the wiping unit includes a blade that comes into contact with the nozzle surface (Figure 3 displays the “wiping member 71” described in paragraph [0050]), a receiving unit configured to support the blade (Figure 3 displays the “wiping portion 51” that supports the “wiping member 71” described in paragraph [0044].), and a joining member joined to the receiving unit (Figure 3 displays the “arm portion 73B” and “abutting portion 73C” that joins the “wiping portion 51” to the “guide rail 53D” and “timing belt 53C” of the “wiper driving mechanism 53” respectively as described in paragraphs [0045] and [0055].), the receiving unit includes a reception wall configured to receive the liquid (Figure 4 displays the “storage portion 72A” as described in paragraph [0046]), and a circumference wall extending from the reception wall (Figure 3 displays the “movement support portion 73” as described in paragraph [0045]), the circumference wall defines a reception port through which the liquid discharged from the ejecting unit passes (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “storage support portion 72” is mounted inside the “mounting portion 73A” and therefore defines and outlines the opened port of the “storage support portion 72” that allows the printing liquid to be discharged into the “wiping portion 51”.), and includes a joining surface joined to the joining member, the blade extends in a protruding manner from the reception port, and the joining member extends along the circumference wall, and includes a protruding portion extending inward from the circumference wall (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “mounting portion 73A”, the “arm portion 73B”, and the “abutting portion 73C” are all connected and are a part of the “movement support portion 73”. Figure 3 further displays how the “arm portion 73B” extends along the “movement support portion 73”. Figure 3 displays the “plurality of protrusions 73D” that are protruding in the “direction along the X axis”, which is pointed inward of the “abutting portion 73C”, as described in paragraph [0045].). Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches the liquid ejecting device according to claim 7, Sato further discloses wherein the reception port opens in an inclined direction inclined with respect to a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and the nozzle surface faces the reception port (Figure 20 displays the “wiping portion 51” at an incline with respect to the horizontal direction in the “XY plane” as described in paragraph [0168]. Figure 20 further displays the “nozzle surface 21A” facing the reception port of the “wiping portion 51”.). Regarding claim 10, Sato teaches the liquid ejecting device according to claim 7, Sato further discloses wherein a portion of the joining member that comes into contact with the joining surface is made of a material that is same as a material of the joining surface (Figure 3 displays how the “73” is one continuous mold and therefore is made of the same material.). Regarding claim 11, Sato teaches the liquid receiving device according to claim 10, as best understood by the examiner, Sato further discloses wherein the joining surface absorbs a laser beam (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “mounting portion 73A”, the “arm portion 73B”, and the “abutting portion 73C” are all connected and are a part of the “movement support portion 73”. As best understood by the examiner, Sato discloses the claimed limitation as the “laser beam” limitation is rejected under a 112(b) rejection as seen above.), and the joining member transmits the laser beam(Figure 3 displays the “arm portion 73B” and “abutting portion 73C” that joins the “wiping portion 51” to the “guide rail 53D” and “timing belt 53C” of the “wiper driving mechanism 53” respectively as described in paragraphs [0045] and [0055]. As best understood by the examiner, Sato discloses the claimed limitation as the “laser beam” limitation is rejected under a 112(b) rejection as seen above.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20220288936 A1) as applied to claim s 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10 above, and further in view of Mano (US 20150035900 A1) . Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches the liquid receiving device according to claim 2, Sato further discloses further comprising a lead-out portion through which the liquid is led out from the receiving unit (Figure 4 displays the “discharge portion 72C” that can discharge the printing liquid outside as described in paragraph [0037]), Sato fails to teach wherein the lead-out portion is positioned in a lower portion of the receiving unit. However, Mano teaches wherein the lead-out portion is positioned in a lower portion of the receiving unit (Figure 2 displays the downwardly protruding “first protrusion 35” that has a “discharge passage 35a” to discharge ink from the “cap 30” as described in paragraph [0050].). Sato and Mano are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a liquid ejecting apparatus and wiping unit. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid receiving device taught by Sato to also apply wherein the lead-out portion is positioned in a lower portion of the receiving unit taught by Mano. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing thickened ink to be suction downward into a waste ink tank (Mano, paragraph [0052]). Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches the liquid ejecting device according to claim 7, Sato further discloses further comprising a lead-out portion through which the liquid is led out from the receiving unit (Figure 4 displays the “discharge portion 72C” that can discharge the printing liquid outside as described in paragraph [0037]), Sato fails to teach wherein the lead-out portion is positioned in a lower portion of the receiving unit. However, Mano teaches wherein the lead-out portion is positioned in a lower portion of the receiving unit (Figure 2 displays the downwardly protruding “first protrusion 35” that includes a “discharge passage 35a” to discharge ink from the “cap 30” as described in paragraph [0050]). Sato and Mano are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a liquid ejecting apparatus and wiping unit. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid receiving device taught by Sato to also apply wherein the lead-out portion is positioned in a lower portion of the receiving unit taught by Mano. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing thickened ink to be suction downward into a waste ink tank (Mano, paragraph [0052]). Regarding claim 14, Sato teaches the liquid ejecting device according to claim 13, further comprising: Sato fails to teach a connection portion that is connected to the lead-out portion when the wiping unit is located at a predetermined position; and a suction unit configured to suck the liquid inside the receiving unit through the connection portion. However, Mano teaches a connection portion that is connected to the lead-out portion when the wiping unit is located at a predetermined position (Figure 2 displays the “discharge tube 36” attached to the “first protrusion 35” at a predetermined position as described in paragraph [0050].); and a suction unit configured to suck the liquid inside the receiving unit through the connection portion (Figure 2 displays the opposite end of the “discharge tube 36” is connected to the “tube pump 38” that suctions the ink from the “cap 30” as described in paragraph [0063].). Sato and Mano are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a liquid ejecting apparatus and wiping unit. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid receiving device taught by Sato to also apply a connection portion that is connected to the lead-out portion when the wiping unit is located at a predetermined position; and a suction unit configured to suck the liquid inside the receiving unit through the connection portion. taught by Mano. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing thickened ink to be suction downward into a waste ink tank (Mano, paragraph [0052]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6, 9, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 6, the reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 6 is the inclusion of “wherein in the reception port, an area of a portion that does not overlap the joining member is larger than an area of a portion that overlaps the joining member. ” Regarding claim 9, the reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 6 is the inclusion of “wherein the nozzle is one of a plurality of nozzles, a plurality of nozzle arrays are formed on the nozzle surface with the plurality of nozzles arranged, the wiping unit is positioned to overlap the nozzle surface at a position at which the wiping unit starts wiping as viewed in the inclined direction, and the joining member includes an extending portion at the position at which the wiping unit starts the wiping as viewed in the inclined direction, the extending portion extending between the nozzle arrays .” Regarding claim 12, the reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 6 is the inclusion of “wherein in the reception port, an area of a portion that does not overlap the joining member is larger than an area of a portion that overlaps the joining member.” Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Takanashi et al. (US 20220040979 A1) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA DEPHENIA QUINN whose telephone number is (571)272-6375. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 6:30 - 4:00 CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853 /RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/928,248 Page 13 Art Unit: 2853