DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1 – 5) in the reply filed on (4 – 13 – 2026) is acknowledged. Consequently, Invention II (Claim(s) 6 – 13) withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s) and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the same reply filed on (4 – 13 – 2026).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 recites the limitation "laminating a film element onto a carrier part". There is already an instance of carrier part being recited within the independent claim (Claim 1) in which the dependent claim 5 relies upon. As such, it is understood that that that the carrier part of claim 5 is different than that of the carrier part in claim 1. Accordingly for the purpose of exanimation it will be understood that the that carrier part of claim 5 is different than that of the carrier part in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by / unpatentable over Rehrl et al. (DE 102016012425 A1, with translation and number provided by US 20200215742 A1, hereinafter Rehrl)Regarding claim 1,
A method for forming and/or laminating a film element on a carrier part, comprising the steps of:
positioning the film element and the carrier part relative to one another so as to form and/or laminate the film element; and
moving the carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room for positioning relative to the film element.
Rehrl teaches the following:
& b.) (Abstract) teaches the aim of the invention is to further develop conventional devices for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element. The device comprises a support frame for gripping the film element relative to a shaping tool or to a component to be laminated. The device being characterized in that grippers are arranged in a multi-axially adjustable manner relative to the support frame in order to adapt the film element more precisely to a contour of the shaping tool or of the component to be laminated. ([0177]) teaches the device 1 for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element 2 (see only FIG. 5 by way of example), which in this case is a film blank 3, forms a film element plane 4 and is part of a laminating station 5 which is not shown here in detail (see only Fig. 5) and of a plant 6 which is also not shown here in detail (see only (Fig. 5) for laminating a component 7 (see only FIG. 5). Namely, the laminating device arranged within a plant, in particular a laminating station 5, comprises a support frame 10 with grippers 12 that are arranged in a multi-axially adjustable manner relative to the support frame 10 in order to grip, adjust and adapt the film precisely to a contour of the component to be laminated. Where the film blank 3 may acts as applicant’s film element and the support frame 10 may acts as applicant’s carrier part. Accordingly, moving the film blank 3 via multiaxial grippers 12 acts and provides for applicant’s moving the film element relative to the support frame 10 / the carrier part. ([0184]) adds that by an outer bearing frame part 20 (shown only partially and only in (Fig.1 in which the support frame 10 is arranged so as to be adjustable at least monoaxially around a spatial axis 16 or bearing axis, i.e., pivotal, so that the film element 2 can be adapted with more precision to the contour 7A of the component 7 to be laminated or of a shaping tool. ([0186]) adding that due to this bearing mechanism, which is substantially formed by the bearing units 22, the support frame 10 at least in this embodiment has a degree of freedom 26, namely for rotation around the spatial axis 21, such that all gripping units 12 with their grippers 11, which are mounted on the support frame 10, can alter their position in space 27 and particularly with respect to the contour 7A of the component 7 to be laminated. Namely, the bearing frame 20 acts as a means for positioning the support frame 10 / carrier part relative to the film bank 3 / film element which are themselves moved by the grippers 12. In summary, positioning the film blank 3 / film element and the support frame 10 / the carrier part relative to one another so as to form and/or laminate the film element and moving the support frame 10 / carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room for positioning relative to the film element is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
arranging the carrier part closer to the film element in at least one of a multi-axial manner a draping room and a laminating room, for positioning relative to the film element.
Rehrl teaches the following:
([0033]) teaches that the device is characterized by an outer frame and an inner frame which are arranged so as to be movable with respect to one another.([0042]) teaches that it is advantageous if the film element plane of the film element is displaceable with respect to a bearing frame part plane of the outer bearing frame part for supporting the support frame. ([0043]) adding that Especially if the film element is only clamped by means of an upper frame part and a lower frame part of the support frame in a simple manner in terms of construction, the film element plane tensioned through the film element can be moved with respect to the bearing frame part plane created by the outer bearing frame part, which allows a more precise adaptation of the film element to the contour of a shaping tool or of a component to be laminated. Namely, that the bearing frame part which is responsible for moving the support frame 10 / the carrier part provides moving the support frame 10 / the carrier part closer to the film element in at least one of a multi-axial manner for positioning relative to the film element.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein further comprising the steps
gripping the film element by grippers and for positioning relative to the carrier part by moving the grippers multi-axially in room relative to the carrier part.
Rehrl teaches the following:
([0177]) teaches the device 1 for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element 2 (see only FIG. 5 by way of example), which in this case is a film blank 3, forms a film element plane 4 and is part of a laminating station 5 which is not shown here in detail (see only Fig. 5) and of a plant 6 which is also not shown here in detail (see only (Fig. 5) for laminating a component 7 (see only FIG. 5). Namely, the laminating device arranged within a plant, in particular a laminating station 5, comprises a support frame 10 with grippers 12 that are arranged in a multi-axially adjustable manner relative to the support frame 10 in order to grip, adjust and adapt the film precisely to a contour of the component to be laminated. In summary, gripping and positioning the film bank 3 / film element with gripping unit 12 relative to the support frame 10 / carrier part by moving the grippers multi-axially in room relative to the carrier part is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
holding and moving the carrier part relative to the film element by means of a multi-axially movable manipulator.
Rehrl teaches the following:
([0028]) teaches that the device is characterized by an outer bearing frame part with respect to which the support frame is arranged so as to be adjustable at least monoaxially, preferably multiaxially, so that the film element can be adapted more precisely to a contour of the shaping tool or the component to be laminated. ([0033]) teaches that the device is characterized by an outer frame and an inner frame which are arranged so as to be movable with respect to one another. ([0044]) teaches that the support frame is adjustable in space with respect to an outer bearing frame part with at least one or more, preferably six, degrees of freedom. ([0185]) teaches that the outer bearing frame part 20 has two bearing units 22 (numbered here only by way of example) with bearing lugs 23 where one bearing journal 24 (numbered only by way of example) each of the support frame 10 is rotatably supported in each lug. Namely, the outer bearing frame 20 provides for holding and moving the support frame 10 / carrier part relative to the film blank 3 / film element by means of a multi-axially movable manipulator. In summary, holding and moving the support frame 10 / carrier part relative to the film blank 3 / film element by means of outer bearing frame part 20 / a multi-axially movable manipulator is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room.
Rehrl teaches the following:
([0028]) teaches that the device is characterized by an outer bearing frame part with respect to which the support frame is arranged so as to be adjustable at least monoaxially, preferably multiaxially, so that the film element can be adapted more precisely to a contour of the shaping tool or the component to be laminated. ([0033]) teaches that the device is characterized by an outer frame and an inner frame which are arranged so as to be movable with respect to one another. ([0044]) teaches that the support frame is adjustable in space with respect to an outer bearing frame part with at least one or more, preferably six, degrees of freedom. ([0185]) teaches that the outer bearing frame part 20 has two bearing units 22 (numbered here only by way of example) with bearing lugs 23 where one bearing journal 24 (numbered only by way of example) each of the support frame 10 is rotatably supported in each lug. Namely, the outer bearing frame 20 provides for holding and moving the support frame 10 / carrier part relative to the film blank 3 / film element by means of a multi-axially movable manipulator. In summary, multi-axially moving the outer bearing frame 20 / carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part is understood to be disclosed.
B.) Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehrl in view of Chun et al. (US 6454557 B1, hereinafter Chun)Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room.
Regarding Claim 5, Rehrl is silent on moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room. In analogous art for a thermoforming machine utilizes two clamping frames to advance cut sheets through heating and forming stations, with the clamping frames returned via an overhead path above the oven in the heating station, (Abstract), Chun suggests details regarding moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room, and in this regard, Chun teaches the following:
(Col. 6, lines 34 – 42) teaches that material is pulled from a roll of sheet material and over a lift table 154, and then cut off. The material overlaps all four edges. The table 154 is driven up to position the sheet S inside the frame A or B with gripper clamping bars open. Namely, a lift table 154 may act as applicant’s moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially. In summary, moving a lift table 154 / carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and / or a laminating room is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element of Rehrl. By modifying the apparatus to comprise a lift table 154, as taught by Chun. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a lift table 154 as it provides for the table 154 to be driven so as to position the sheet S inside the frame A or B with gripper clamping bars open, the grippers are activated to grip the sheet edge and complete loading of the sheet into the frame A or B, (Col. 6, lines 34 – 45).
C.) Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehrl in view of Albin Paterson (US 2759217 A, hereinafter Paterson)Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room.
Regarding Claim 5, Rehrl is silent on moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room. In analogous art for an apparatus for stretching and forming sheet material and, more particularly, to a stretching apparatus for forming thick sheets into thinner sheets, (Abstract), Paterson suggests details regarding moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room, and in this regard, Paterson teaches the following:
(Col. 3, lines 40 – 53) teaches the sheet 34 to be stretched is loaded, as best shown in Fig. 3 of the drawings, on a carriage 68 provided with a sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76. The sheet 34 may be placed on the plate 70 outside of the oven 10 and the carriage 68 then run into position under the stretching apparatus along the rails 76. Thereafter the jacks 72 are actuated in any suitable manner, either pneumatically, hydraulically or otherwise, to elevate the sheet 34 into the plane of the gripping devices 32, the sheet to be received between the gripping devices. Namely, the sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76 may act as applicant’s moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially. In summary, moving the sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76 / carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and / or a laminating room is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element of Rehrl. By modifying the apparatus to comprise a sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76, as taught by Paterson. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76 as it provides for elevating the sheet 34 into the plane of the gripping devices 32, ultimately with the sheet to be received between the gripping devices, (Col. 3, lines 40 – 53).
E.) Claim(s) 1 – 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by / unpatentable over Rehrl Regarding claim 1,
A method for forming and/or laminating a film element on a carrier part, comprising the steps of:
positioning the film element and the carrier part relative to one another so as to form and/or laminate the film element; and
moving the carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room for positioning relative to the film element.
Rehrl teaches the following:
& b.) (Abstract) teaches the aim of the invention is to further develop conventional devices for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element. This aim is achieved, according to the invention, by a device for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element, which device comprises a support frame for gripping the film element relative to a shaping tool or to a component to be laminated. ([0177]) teaches that the in (Fig. 1) only partly shown device 1 for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element 2 (see only Fig.. 5 by way of example), which in this case is a film blank 3, forms a film element plane 4 and is part of a laminating station 5 which is not shown here in detail (see only FIG. 5). ([0190]) teaches that as illustrated in (Figs. 3 – 4) a gripping unit 12 mounted on the support frame 10 is schematically shown, again with a view to its multiaxial adjustability and the degrees of freedom resulting therefrom. ([0198]) adds that for allowing high movability, that is adjustability or displaceability of the respective gripper 11, the device 1 comprises gripper units 12 with the following structure, whose main functions are described in the following by way of example. ([0214]) notes that grippers 11 can, on the one hand, can also be multiaxially adjusted. (Figs. 6 – 8) show various arrangements and positions for the gripper units 12. Namely, multiaxially adjustable gripping unit 12 act as applicant’s carrier part, which is moved multi-axially in at least one of a room, for positioning the adjustable grippers 11 relative to the film blank 3 / film element. In summary, positioning the film blank 3 / film element and the adjustable gripper units 12 / carrier part relative to one another so as to form and/or laminate the film element and moving the adjustable gripping unit 12 / carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room for positioning the adjustable gripping unit 12 relative to the film element is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
arranging the carrier part closer to the film element in at least one of a multi-axial manner a draping room and a laminating room, for positioning relative to the film element.
Paterson teaches the following:
([0029]) notes that the support frame bearing the film element to be stretched at least monoaxially or, preferably, multiaxially is within the bearing frame part. ([0172]) teaches that (Fig. 6) schematically shows a top view of the support frame shown in FIGS. 1 through 5 however, alternatively, with a total of 12 grippers units which are individually controllable and arranged symmetrically in a position with maximum opening. ([0177]) teaches that the in (Fig. 1) only partly shown device 1 for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element 2 (see only FIG. 5 by way of example), which in this case is a film blank 3, forms a film element plane 4 and is part of a laminating station 5 which is not shown here in detail (see only Fig. 5) and of a plant 6. Namely, the multi-axial the gripper units 12/ the carrier part are found to be moved closer to the film blank 3 / film element in at least one of a multi-axial manner for positioning the gripper units 12 / the carrier part relative to the film element.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein further comprising the steps
gripping the film element by grippers and for positioning relative to the carrier part by moving the grippers multi-axially in room relative to the carrier part.
Rehrl teaches the following:
([0214]) teaches that the gripping mechanism described above in particular can be adapted such that by means of the grippers 11, gripping forces 55 can individually be exerted on the film element 2 in order to allow, on the one hand, secure retention of the film element 2, but also a sliding of the element 2 between the gripping area components 53 and 54, if necessary.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
holding and moving the carrier part relative to the film element by means of a multi-axially movable manipulator.
Rehrl teaches the following:
([0206]) teaches that by means of a carriage component 65 (see FIG. 4) comprising two carriage elements 66 and 67 (see FIG. 4), the gripping unit 12 is fastened so as to be able to translate in complementary rails (not shown) of the support frame 10. ([0213]) notes that It is understood that the adjusting units 70 can be controlled by motors in many different ways. ([0214]) teaches that the adjusting units 70 or the drive motors not shown here, respectively, are in direct operative contact with the controller unit 30 which is able to individually control the necessary movements of all grippers 11 and of the support frame 10 via a bus system 71 (only referenced by way of example in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4) such that the film element 2 can be processed, that is, stretched and formed, in the desired manner. Accordingly, the adjusting units 70 controlled by motors in combination with the two carriage elements 66 and 67 and bus system 71 may acts as applicant’s multi-axially movable manipulator provided for holding and moving the gripper units 12 / carrier part relative to the film blank 3 / film element by means of a multi-axially movable manipulator. In summary, holding and moving the gripper units 12 / carrier part relative to the film element by means of a the adjusting units 70 controlled by motors in combination with the two carriage elements 66 and 67 and bus system 71 / multi-axially movable manipulator is understood to be disclosed. Alternatively, ([0029]) teaches by arranging the support frame bearing the film element to be stretched and/or shaped and/or laminated at least monoaxially or, preferably, multiaxially within the bearing frame part, a forming process or laminating process, respectively. ([0042]) teaches that the film element plane of the film element is displaceable with respect to a bearing frame part plane of the outer bearing frame part for supporting the support frame. ([0100]) teaches that the support frame is rotated with respect to a bearing frame part about at least one spatial axis and/or is translated along at least one spatial axis, so as to move the film element to the contour and to adapt the film element more precisely to the contour of the shaping tool or of the component to be laminated. ([0184]) adds an outer bearing frame part 20 (shown only partially and only in FIG. 1) in which the support frame 10 is arranged so as to be adjustable at least monoaxially around a spatial axis 16 or bearing axis, i.e., pivotal, so that the film element 2 can be adapted with more precision to the contour 7A of the component 7 to be laminated or of a shaping tool. Namely, outer bearing frame part 20 may act as applicant’s multi-axially movable manipulator that provides for holding and moving the gripper unit 12 / carrier part relative to the film element by means of a multi-axially movable manipulator. In summary, holding and moving the gripper units 12 / carrier part relative to the film element by means of a outer bearing frame part 20 / multi-axially movable manipulator is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room.
Rehrl teaches the following:
([0206]) teaches that by means of a carriage component 65 (see FIG. 4) comprising two carriage elements 66 and 67 (see FIG. 4), the gripping unit 12 is fastened so as to be able to translate in complementary rails (not shown) of the support frame 10. ([0213]) notes that It is understood that the adjusting units 70 can be controlled by motors in many different ways. ([0214]) teaches that the adjusting units 70 or the drive motors not shown here, respectively, are in direct operative contact with the controller unit 30 which is able to individually control the necessary movements of all grippers 11 and of the support frame 10 via a bus system 71 (only referenced by way of example in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4) such that the film element 2 can be processed, that is, stretched and formed, in the desired manner. Accordingly, the adjusting units 70 controlled by motors in combination with the two carriage elements 66 and 67 and bus system 71 may acts as applicant’s carrier part receptacle providing for moving such that laminating a film onto part multi-axially in at least one of a room transpires. In summary, moving a the adjusting units 70 controlled by motors in combination with the two carriage elements 66 and 67 and bus system 71 / carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a part multi-axially in at least one of a room is understood to be disclosed. Alternatively, ([0029]) teaches by arranging the support frame bearing the film element to be stretched and/or shaped and/or laminated at least monoaxially or, preferably, multiaxially within the bearing frame part, a forming process or laminating process, respectively. ([0042]) teaches that the film element plane of the film element is displaceable with respect to a bearing frame part plane of the outer bearing frame part for supporting the support frame. ([0100]) teaches that the support frame is rotated with respect to a bearing frame part about at least one spatial axis and/or is translated along at least one spatial axis, so as to move the film element to the contour and to adapt the film element more precisely to the contour of the shaping tool or of the component to be laminated. ([0184]) adds an outer bearing frame part 20 (shown only partially and only in FIG. 1) in which the support frame 10 is arranged so as to be adjustable at least monoaxially around a spatial axis 16 or bearing axis, i.e., pivotal, so that the film element 2 can be adapted with more precision to the contour 7A of the component 7 to be laminated or of a shaping tool. Namely, outer bearing frame part 20 may act as applicant’s a carrier part receptacle providing for moving such that laminating a film onto part multi-axially in at least one of a room transpires. In summary, moving the outer bearing frame part 20 / carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a part multi-axially in at least one of a room is understood to be disclosed.
F.) Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehrl and in further view of Chun Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room.
Regarding Claim 5, Rehrl is silent on moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room. In analogous art for a thermoforming machine utilizes two clamping frames to advance cut sheets through heating and forming stations, with the clamping frames returned via an overhead path above the oven in the heating station, (Abstract), Chun suggests details regarding moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room, and in this regard, Chun teaches the following:
(Col. 6, lines 34 – 42) teaches that material is pulled from a roll of sheet material and over a lift table 154, and then cut off. The material overlaps all four edges. The table 154 is driven up to position the sheet S inside the frame A or B with gripper clamping bars open. Namely, a lift table 154 may act as applicant’s moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially. In summary, moving a lift table 154 / carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and / or a laminating room is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element of Rehrl. By modifying the apparatus to comprise a lift table 154, as taught by Chun. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a lift table 154 as it provides for the table 154 to be driven so as to position the sheet S inside the frame A or B with gripper clamping bars open, the grippers are activated to grip the sheet edge and complete loading of the sheet into the frame A or B, (Col. 6, lines 34 – 45).
G.) Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehrl and in view of Paterson Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising the steps of
moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room.
Regarding Claim 5, Rehrl is silent on moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room. In analogous art for an apparatus for stretching and forming sheet material and, more particularly, to a stretching apparatus for forming thick sheets into thinner sheets, (Abstract), Paterson suggests details regarding moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and a laminating room, and in this regard, Paterson teaches the following:
(Col. 3, lines 40 – 53) teaches the sheet 34 to be stretched is loaded, as best shown in Fig. 3 of the drawings, on a carriage 68 provided with a sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76. The sheet 34 may be placed on the plate 70 outside of the oven 10 and the carriage 68 then run into position under the stretching apparatus along the rails 76. Thereafter the jacks 72 are actuated in any suitable manner, either pneumatically, hydraulically or otherwise, to elevate the sheet 34 into the plane of the gripping devices 32, the sheet to be received between the gripping devices. Namely, the sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76 may act as applicant’s moving a carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially. In summary, moving the sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76 / carrier part receptacle of a device for laminating a film element onto a carrier part multi-axially in at least one of a room, a draping room and / or a laminating room is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for stretching and/or shaping and/or applying a lamination of a film element of Rehrl. By modifying the apparatus to comprise a sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76, as taught by Paterson. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a sheet supporting plate 70 mounted on jacks 72, the latter being carried by a Wheeled chassis 74 running on rails 76 as it provides for elevating the sheet 34 into the plane of the gripping devices 32, ultimately with the sheet to be received between the gripping devices, (Col. 3, lines 40 – 53).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kazuo Asano et al. (US 3466706 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A clamping device for securing thermoplastic sheet material in an apparatus for forming articles from such material is formed of a picture frame shaped base member containing a clamping member along each of its sides. Each clamping member contains a plurality of separate resilient clamping elements arranged to be pivotally moved as a unit between a clamped position and a released position. Actuating means are secured to the base member for moving the clamping members between' the clamped and released positions.
Chun et al. (US 6382953 B1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Adjustable clamping frames for rotary thermoforming machine have movable sets of clamp supporting members which are driven by selectively engageable drive units to carry out a size adjustment at a station in the thermoforming machine.
Jack Shuman (US 4018551 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A table for use in plastic forming machines, the table including a plurality of upstanding tubular support members arranged in a predetermined pattern, a plurality of alternately usable platform members.
Dean et al. (US 3914103 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) Improvements in the apparatus for transferring and positioning thermoplastic sheets and for ejecting molded products formed therefrom in a vacuum-forming machine are disclosed.
Mozeika et al. (US 20130015596 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A fabrication system includes a tool-head for manufacturing, a first manipulator and a second manipulator. The first manipulator supports and manipulates an item and is configured to provide six-axes of movement for positioning of the item relative the tool-head.
Richard McCorry (US 5843492 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) Apparatus for compression molding thermoplastic backed carpeting in deep draft molds wherein carpeting is precut into sheets, heated, positioned between the mold parts.
Tomita et al. (US 5863568 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A thermoforming machine for thermoforming thermoplastic sheets wherein molding dies are used to apply pressure to a sheet to be thermoformed.
Ron Bibeau (US 20030017227 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Method and apparatus of forming articles includes a press having a pair of opposite platens. An articulated clamping frame is mounted between the platens, each of which are moveable toward and away from the clamping frame. Material to be formed is clamped into the clamping frames and the articulated clamping frame is wrapped around the die as the die forms the material. The formed article is extracted from the die by moving the clamping frame away from the die.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743