DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “neural network trainer configured to be trained..configured to generate…” in claim 1.
The “neural network trainer” has been interpreted to correspond to a processor, as set forth in paragraph [0109] of Applicant’s PG-Pub 2025/0152244, along with the algorithm/steps for performing the functions as set forth in the specification, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 ,11, 19 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, in line 5, “image” should be changed to --- images ---.
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 9 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
In claim 11, line 2, --- detect --- should be added before “adjustment”.
In claim 19, in line 5, “image” should be changed to --- images ---.
In claim 29, line 2, --- detect --- should be added before “adjustment”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutmann et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0312625) in view of Blau (US Pub No. 2022/0028113) and Parasuraman et al. (“Training Convolutional Neural Networks (CNN) for Counterfeit IC Detection by the Use of Simulated X-Ray Images”, 2021).
With regards to claims 1 and 19, Gutmann et al. disclose an automatic feature matching method and system for orthopedic fixators, comprising:
a frame generator (“computing devices”) configured to generate a simulation of an orthopedic fixator system (i.e. “fixation apparatus”) (paragraph [0110], referring to the operations/sub-operations being performed by one or more computing devices; paragraph [0107], referring to the “Treatment Simulation tab 1121 causing interface 1100 to display a graphic representation (i.e. simulation) 1150 of the position and orientation of the first and the second anatomical structure segments and the rings of the fixation apparatus”; Figure 11);
an artificial X-ray generator (“computing devices”) configured to generate a plurality of artificial X-ray images (i.e. “simulated images”, 1501-A, 1501-B) including the generated simulation of the orthopedic fixator system in the plurality of artificial X-ray image (paragraph [0110], referring to the operations/sub-operations being performed by one or more computing devices; paragraphs [0111]-[0112], referring to the display of images 1501-A and 1501-B using one or more graphical user interfaces of a computing system, wherein the images 1501-A and 1501-B are simulated images (as opposed to actual x-rays) which are images of a fixator (1510) including fixator ring (1511), distal fixator ring (1512), fixator struts (1513) and twelve hinges (1541); Figures 14, 15A-25);
detect orthopedic fixator system features based on the plurality of artificial X-ray images (Abstract; paragraph [0126], referring to size characteristics of the hinges of the fixator in the first image being determined by the software by performing an automated image analysis (e.g., using a Hough transformation) on the first image, wherein the software may reasonably assume that the size characteristics of the hinges should be the same or similar in the first and second images; paragraphs [0128]-[0137]; Figure 14).
However, though Guttman et al. do disclose that orthopedic fixator system features are detected based on the plurality of artificial X-ray images, Guttman et al. do not specifically disclose that the detection of the orthopedic fixator system features is performed by having the plurality of artificial X-ray images be labelled and that the system further comprises a neural network training data including the plurality of labelled artificial X-ray images and a neural network trainer configured to be trained based on the plurality of labeled artificial X-ray images, wherein the neural network trainer is configured to generate a frame detection neural network that is configured to detect the orthopedic fixator system features in real X-ray images input into the frame detection neural network.
Blau discloses classifying a first object in an X-ray projection image using artificial intelligence, wherein the object may correspond to an anatomical structure (i.e. bone), a nail, a bone plate or a bone screw, or a surgical tool like a sleeve, k-wire or aiming device (Abstract; paragraphs [0012], [0020]). A deep neural net (DNN) may be utilized for a classification of the object in an X-ray projection image (paragraphs [0031]-[0032]). A neural net may be trained on the basis of simulated X-ray images, wherein a first neural net may be trained to evaluate X-ray image data so as to classify an anatomical structure in the 2D projection image, whereas a second neural net may be trained to detect the location of that structure in the 2D projection image (paragraphs [0035]-[0036], note that the neural net corresponds to a neural network, wherein simulated/artificial X-ray images are used to train the neural network and wherein the neural network is configured to detect fixator system features (i.e. nail, surgical tool like an aiming device) in real X-ray images (i.e. 2D projection image) input into the neural network). The use of artificial intelligence simplifies product development, is more cost-effective and allows an operating room workflow that more closely resembles the typical workflow (paragraph [0015]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the system of Guttman et al. further comprise a neural network training data including the plurality of labelled artificial X-ray images and a neural network trainer configured to be trained based on the plurality of labeled artificial X-ray images, wherein the neural network trainer is configured to generate a frame detection neural network that is configured to detect the orthopedic fixator system features in real X-ray images input into the frame detection neural network, as taught by Blau, in order to implement the object (i.e. orthopedic fixator system features) detection using artificial intelligence, thereby simplifying product development, save cost and allow an operating room workflow that more closely resembles the typical workflow (paragraph [0015]).
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the detection of the orthopedic fixator system features is performed by having the plurality of artificial X-ray images be labelled, wherein the training data includes the plurality of “labelled” artificial X-ray images.
Parasuraman et al. disclose the use of a virtual X-ray simulation tool to generate synthetic (i.e. artificial) radiographic images of a component under test and validate its effectiveness as training data for the convolutional neural network in identifying a counterfeit component (Abstract). CNN is a method in deep learning that has shown significant achievement in the image recognition task, wherein the CNN is trained with synthetic X-ray images which are known/labeled as authentic or counterfeit (Abstract; pg. 5, Section 3.4 and 4.1, referring to the training of CNN with a synthetic dataset set which is divided into authentic images and counterfeit images, which implicitly requires labeling the images as such; further see pg. 6, Section 5. Conclusions, referring to generating a synthetic annotated/labeled dataset for training a neural network). A CNN trained with synthetic images provided a maximum prediction accuracy of 99.6%, thus providing an increase in prediction accuracy and precision compared to a network trained with actual X-rays (Abstract; pg. 6, Section 5. Conclusions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the detection of the orthopedic fixator system features of the above combined references be performed by having the plurality of artificial X-ray images be labelled, wherein the training data includes the plurality of “labelled” artificial X-ray images, as taught by Parasuraman, in order to provide an increase in prediction accuracy and precision in classification of images (Abstract; pg. 6, Section 5. Conclusions).
With regards to claims 2 and 20, Gutmann et al. disclose that the frame generator randomly selects orthopedic fixator parameters and configurations based upon clinical data (paragraph [0107], referring to the one or more graphical representations of the position and orientation of the first and second anatomical structure segments and the rings of the fixation apparatus may include day-by-day graphical representations of the position and orientation of the first and second anatomical structure segments and the rings of the fixation apparatus throughout treatment for the anatomical structure deformity, thereby resulting in a random selection of fixator parameters and configurations associated).
With regards to claims 3 and 21, Gutmann et al. disclose that the frame generator further generates anatomy elements connected to the generated orthopedic fixator (paragraph [0107], referring to the one or more graphic representations of the position and orientation of the first and second anatomical structure segments; see Figure 11).
With regards to claims 4 and 22, Gutmann et al. disclose that the artificial X-ray generator generates multiple X-rays of the generated orthopedic frame using different aspects and X-ray parameters (paragraphs [0111]-[0112], referring to the images 1501A and 1501B corresponding to an anteroposterior (AP) view image and a lateral (LAT) view image, respectively, and thus associated with different aspects and X-ray parameters).
With regards to claims 5-6 and 23-24, the above combined references disclose that the system further comprises labeled clinical images and datasets of orthopedic fixators, wherein the neural network training data includes the labeled clinical images of orthopedic fixators (see Parasuraman, pg. 5, Section 3.4, referring to the CNN being further trained with available actual X-ray images of labeled authentic and counterfeit components, wherein in the above combined references, said “actual X-ray images” would comprise of the actual X-ray images of Gutmann et al, which comprise of clinical images and datasets of orthopedic fixators (see Gutmann et al., paragraph [0112], referring non-simulated images, such as x-rays captured using an imager may be used, which show an actual fixator that is physically attached to an actual anatomical structure segment).
With regards to claims 7-9 and 25-27, Parasuraman et al. disclose that at least a subset of the labelled clinical images of orthopedic fixators are used by the neural network trainer to validate and test the frame detection neural network (Abstract, pg. 5, Sections 3.4, 4, 4.1, referring to the virtual X-ray simulation tool being used to generate synthetic radiographic images to test and validate its effectiveness as training data for the convolutional neural network; Figure 7).
With regards to claims 10 and 28, Gutmann et al. disclose that the generated frame detection neural network is configured to detect hinges and their positions in the images input into the frame detection neural network (paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0113]-[0114], referring to detecting hinge locations and their positions in the images; Figures 14A,B).
With regards to claims 11 and 29, Gutmann et al. disclose that the generated frame detection neural network is configured to [detect] adjustment members (i.e. fixator rings) in the images input into the frame detection neural network (paragraph [0039], referring to the fixator rings corresponding to adjustment members; paragraph [0114], referring to the software using the indicated hinge locations to determine locations of the fixator rings in the images; Figure 14).
With regards to claims 12 and 30, Gutmann et al. disclose that the generated frame detection neural network is configured to detect hinges and adjustment members (i.e. fixator rings) in the images input into the frame detection neural network (paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0113]-[0114], referring to detecting hinge locations and their positions in the images; paragraph [0039], referring to the fixator rings corresponding to adjustment members; paragraph [0114], referring to the software using the indicated hinge locations to determine locations of the fixator rings in the images; Figures 14A,B).
With regards to claims 13 and 31, Blau discloses that the generated frame detection neural network is configured to detect a full frame of the orthopedic fixator in the images input into the frame detection neural network (paragraphs [0035]-[0036], referring to the neural network may receive a simulated image as its input and then return a refined image, which would correspond to a full frame of the orthopedic fixator in the above combined refrences).
With regards to claims 14 and 32, Gutmann et al. disclose that the generated frame detection neural network is configured to detect features (i.e. hinge, fixator rings) in two images (i.e. 1501-A, 1501-B) input into the frame detection neural network (paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0113]-[0114], referring to detecting hinge locations and their positions in the images; paragraph [0039], referring to the fixator rings corresponding to adjustment members; paragraph [0114], referring to the software using the indicated hinge locations to determine locations of the fixator rings in the images; Figures 14A,B).
With regards to claims 15 and 33, Parasuraman et al. disclose that the system further comprises an image processor configured to apply image processing to one or more of said plurality of labelled artificial X-ray images to generate a plurality of processed labelled artificial X-ray images (pg. 2, left column, 1st paragraph, referring to the synthetic dataset being generated inducing dimensional tolerance by automated variance scaling (i.e. image processing) of the part cross-section, to create diversity to the synthetic dataset); wherein the network training data further includes the plurality of processed labelled artificial X-ray images, and the neural network trainer is configured to be trained based on the plurality of labelled artificial X-ray images and/or the plurality of processed labelled artificial X-ray images (pg. 5, Sections 3.4, 4.1, referring to the CNN being trained using the synthetic data set dividing into a training dataset of identified/labeled authentic and counterfeit images).
With regards to claims 16 and 34, Parasuraman et al. disclose that the image processor is configured to apply image processing including at least one of blurring, aspect ratio, noise, annotations, brightness, contrast, rotation, scaling, translation, color, and cropping (pg. 2, left column, 1st paragraph, referring to the synthetic dataset being generated inducing dimensional tolerance by automated variance scaling (i.e. image processing) of the part cross-section, to create diversity to the synthetic dataset).
With regards to claims 17 and 35, Blau discloses that the neural network trainer generates one or more trained models configured to detect orthopedic fixators in an image (paragraph [0036], referring to the first neural net being trained to evaluate X-ray image data so as to classify an anatomical structure in the 2D projection image, wherein a second neural net may be trained to detect the location of that structure in the 2D projection image, and thus the “first neural net” corresponds to the trained model).
With regards to claims 18 and 36, Blau discloses that the trained model is used to train a new model for detecting orthopedic fixators using a new neural network training dataset (paragraph [0036], referring to the first neural net being trained to evaluate X-ray image data so as to classify an anatomical structure in the 2D projection image, wherein a second neural net may be trained to detect the location of that structure in the 2D projection image, and a third net may be trained to determine the 3D location of that structure with respect to a coordinate system, and thus the “second neural net” corresponds to the “new model”).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798