Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/25 and 10/28/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3.) Claim(s) 1-7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Langner et al. (US Pub No.: 2022/0383718A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Langner et al. disclose a method (A security system and a method of operating it, Abstract; Claim 1; Paragraphs 0099-0105) comprising:
detecting a signal indicative of an alarm condition at a location (Event sensors can include passive infrared motion sensors, magnetic contact sensors, electric fence voltage monitors, vibration sensors, sound sensors, smoke detectors, radar detection, laser pulse detection and cameras with infrared or thermal lighting capability coupled with for example motions sensors. Each of these will perform its own dedicated function and connects to the controller by means of a data communication connection suitable for the specific type of event sensor. The setup may be such that the controller is enabled to determine an alarm event based on the occurrence of event within the parameters specified for that event sensor type, Paragraphs 0100, 0105);
determining, based on the signal, a type of sensor, from among a plurality of types of sensors with different capabilities, that identified the alarm condition (Event sensors can include passive infrared motion sensors, magnetic contact sensors, electric fence voltage monitors, vibration sensors, sound sensors, smoke detectors, radar detection, laser pulse detection and cameras with infrared or thermal lighting capability coupled with for example motions sensors. Each of these will perform its own dedicated function and connects to the controller by means of a data communication connection suitable for the specific type of event sensor. The setup may be such that the controller is enabled to determine an alarm event based on the occurrence of event within the parameters specified for that event sensor type. The controller to be configured to differentiate between types of alarm events, Paragraphs 0042, 0079, 0100, 0105); and
initiating, based on the type of sensor, a routine to manage the alarm condition (countermeasure), the routine being a sequence of a plurality of actions to address the alarm condition and being one of a first routine or a second routine (different countermeasures depending on an alarm condition), wherein the first routine includes at least one action that is absent from the first second routine (Also connected to the data communication means of the controller is a number of countermeasure devices. These may include for example sound, light or incapacitating gas release modules or a restraining device such as, for example, the commercially available BolaWrap®. The rules to the type of device may for example be rules for cameras, and the parameter for a specific camera may for example be that there should not be any motion or people in the field of view of the camera during specific hours of the day. The controller applies facial recognition to all the data/images it receives from its cameras, to compare it with its stored facial imaging data. If the controller detects a person on the property outside parameters allowed for that person, it implements an associated output stored on the storage means for such an event. The countermeasure device may comprise an oleoresin capsicum spray container concealed in a housing that masks the oleoresin capsicum spray container as light fitting. Once the controller has determined that a person should not be on the property and should be deterred from progressing further into it, the controller monitors the person's progress by means of all available event sensors, including motion sensors, cameras, sound monitoring, and so forth.
When the controller determines that the person is within range of a specific countermeasure device, for example a hidden oleoresin capsicum spray container, it triggers the oleoresin capsicum spray container to spray the person. The normal effect of this is to incapacitate the person, deter his current activities and hopefully motivate the person to leave the property. The countermeasure devices would not be limited to indoor application only. In a more ideal configuration, the controller will monitor both the outside and inside of a monitored property. With a household, the deployment of countermeasure devices ideally will already be used outside the house. This will, for example, allow the system to detect an intruder once an event sensor such as an electric fence or motion detection beam has been triggered. When the controller determines that the intruder is in range of one of these, its oleoresin capsicum spray may be triggered to spray the intruder. By then, an alarm signal would already have been sent to a conventional alarm signal monitoring company to send a response team to the property. The event sensors and countermeasure devices are selected, and their parameters are set up, to complement a specific installation, Paragraphs 0101-0120; Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Langner et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein initiating the routine comprises initiating the first routine based on the type of sensor being an image capture device, or initiating the second routine based on the type of sensor being a presence sensor (As mentioned above, the rules to the type of device may for example be rules for cameras, and the parameter for a specific camera may for example be that there should not be any motion or people in the field of view of the camera during specific hours of the day. The controller applies facial recognition to all the data/images it receives from its cameras, to compare it with its stored facial imaging data. If the controller detects a person on the property outside parameters allowed for that person, it implements an associated output stored on the storage means for such an event. The countermeasure device may comprise an oleoresin capsicum spray container concealed in a housing that masks the oleoresin capsicum spray container as light fitting. Once the controller has determined that a person should not be on the property and should be deterred from progressing further into it, the controller monitors the person's progress by means of all available event sensors, including motion sensors, cameras, sound monitoring, and so forth.
When the controller determines that the person is within range of a specific countermeasure device, for example a hidden oleoresin capsicum spray container, it triggers the oleoresin capsicum spray container to spray the person. The normal effect of this is to incapacitate the person, deter his current activities and hopefully motivate the person to leave the property. The countermeasure devices would not be limited to indoor application only. In a more ideal configuration, the controller will monitor both the outside and inside of a monitored property. With a household, the deployment of countermeasure devices ideally will already be used outside the house. This will, for example, allow the system to detect an intruder once an event sensor such as an electric fence or motion detection beam has been triggered. When the controller determines that the intruder is in range of one of these, its oleoresin capsicum spray may be triggered to spray the intruder. By then, an alarm signal would already have been sent to a conventional alarm signal monitoring company to send a response team to the property. The event sensors and countermeasure devices are selected, and their parameters are set up, to complement a specific installation, Paragraphs 0101-0120; Claim 1).
In regard to Claim 3, Langner et al. disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one action includes establishing a communication session between the image capture device at the location and a computing device that is remote from the location (The controller applies facial recognition to all the data/images it receives from its cameras, to compare it with its stored facial imaging data. If the controller detects a person on the property outside parameters allowed for that person, it implements an associated output stored on the storage means for such an event. Along with triggering one or more countermeasure devices, an alarm signal will typically also be transmitted to a conventional alarm signal monitoring company. They will then be able to dispatch a response team to the property to apprehend the intruder. The system also transmit data to a software application that is operable on a mobile communication device, such as smartphone, tablet, laptop, or computer. This allows a person, for example a homeowner, to receive sensible notifications of what is happening at his home, whether he is away or actually at home, Paragraphs 0108-0110).
With regard to Claim 4, Langner et al. disclose the method of claim 3, wherein establishing the communication session includes establishing a communication session using a web communication service at the image capture device and a monitor interface at the remote computing device (The controller applies facial recognition to all the data/images it receives from its cameras, to compare it with its stored facial imaging data. If the controller detects a person on the property outside parameters allowed for that person, it implements an associated output stored on the storage means for such an event. Along with triggering one or more countermeasure devices, an alarm signal will typically also be transmitted to a conventional alarm signal monitoring company. They will then be able to dispatch a response team to the property to apprehend the intruder. The system also transmit data to a software application that is operable on a mobile communication device, such as smartphone, tablet, laptop, or computer. This allows a person, for example a homeowner, to receive sensible notifications of what is happening at his home, whether he is away or actually at home, Paragraphs 0108-0110).
Regarding Claim 5, Langner et al. disclose the method of claim 4, further comprising: recording video imagery of the location using the image capture device (The controller monitors the area under its surveillance and effectively plots the movement of the person on the property. If the person is moving in a specific direction in view of a camera and, for example through a passage, the controller will proactively monitor the feed from a further camera to continue tracking the person. Ideally cameras will overlap in coverage to enable the controller to continuously keep the person in view, Paragraph 0112).
With regard to Claim 6, Langner et al. disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising: presenting, via the monitor interface and as part of executing the first routine, the video imagery recorded by the image capture device (The controller monitors the area under its surveillance and effectively plots the movement of the person on the property. If the person is moving in a specific direction in view of a camera and, for example through a passage, the controller will proactively monitor the feed from a further camera to continue tracking the person. Ideally cameras will overlap in coverage to enable the controller to continuously keep the person in view. The controller may be configured that if it determines a person that is allowed in the property (i.e. is an authorized or allowed person) is in close proximity of an intruder, the controller won't trigger a countermeasure device to avoid applying the countermeasure also to the allowed person. Alternatively, the controller may issue a warning signal to the allowed person before it deploys the countermeasure device. The warning signal may, for example, be a number of audible beeps, the number of which will be known the allowed person. That person will then know that when the defined number of beeps has finished the countermeasure device will be deployed. This will give the allowed person time to move out of range of the countermeasure device, Paragraph 0112-0113).
In regard to Claim 7, Langner et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one action includes establishing a communication session between a camera at the location and a computing device that is remote from the location (In the instance of a human response unit, there may also be incorporated a human verification aspect, with a monitoring station (such as a security control room) confirming the presence of the alarm event and dispatching the response team. The monitoring station can also be alerted to remotely activate a countermeasure device. The monitoring station may also comprise a software application on a user's mobile communication device, with the user being enabled to activate a countermeasure device remotely. The controller is configured to continuously receive data input from the event sensors, and it also analyses this data continuously. It has stored, on its storage means, rules and parameters associated with each event sensor, according to the type of device and the specific device itself. The rules to the type of device may for example be rules for cameras, and the parameter for a specific camera may for example be that there should not be any motion or people in the field of view of the camera during specific hours of the day, Paragraphs 0102-0103).
Regarding Claim 21, Langner et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the signal comprises a code that identifies the type of sensor; and wherein determining the type of sensor that identified the alarm condition comprises extracting the code from the signal and processing the code to determine the type of sensor (In a typical application, several event sensors will be installed and in communication with the controller. The event sensors can include passive infrared motion sensors, magnetic contact sensors, electric fence voltage monitors, vibration sensors, sound sensors, smoke detectors, radar detection, laser pulse detection and cameras with infrared or thermal lighting capability coupled with for example motions sensors. Each of these will perform its own dedicated function and connects to the controller by means of a data communication connection suitable for the specific type of event sensor. This may include a hard wire data communication cable or a wireless data communication connection through a wireless communication protocol. The controller is configured to continuously receive data input from the event sensors, and it also analyses this data continuously. It has stored, on its storage means, rules and parameters associated with each event sensor, according to the type of device and the specific device itself. The programmed output can vary depending on the type of event, and parameters related to it, Paragraphs 0100-0109).
4.) Allowable Subject Matter
i.)
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
ii.)
Claims 9-12 and 14-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regard to independent Claim 9, the closest prior-art of record fails to teach or reasonably disclose the combination of the limitations to the claim that include, “A device comprising:
a passive infrared (PIR) sensor having a setting configurable to adjust sensitivity of the PIR sensor;
one or more processors configured to
initiate, based on detecting via the communication interface a signal indicating an alarm condition at a location monitored by the image capture device, a first alarm-handling routine,
alter, based on initiating first alarm-handling routine, the setting of the PIR sensor to increase the sensitivity of the PIR sensor,
disable, based on initiating the first alarm-handling routine, use of object detection by the image capture device, and
control the image capture device, based on detection of motion by the PIR sensor, to record the video imagery.”
Dependent Claims 10-12 and 14-15 are also allowed due to their dependence on allowed independent claim 9.
With regard to independent Claim 16, the closest prior-art of record fails to teach or reasonably disclose the combination of the limitations to the claim that include, “A method comprising:
initiating, based on detecting the first indication, a first alarm-handling routine;
transmitting, based on initiating the first alarm-handling routine, instructions to a camera at the location, the instructions causing the camera to:
(i) increase a sensitivity setting of a passive infrared sensor of the camera, and (ii) disable use of object detection by the camera;
detecting a second indication, from the camera, of the alarm condition at the location;
transitioning, based on detecting the second indication, from the first alarm-handling routine to a second alarm-handling routine; and
based on initiating the second alarm-handling routine, causing a communication session to be established between the camera and a remote computing device.”
Dependent Claims 17-20 are also allowed due to their dependence on allowed independent claim 16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638