DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (Claim(s) 1 – 8) in the reply filed on (5 – 25 – 2026) is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a piece of prior art relevant to first invention (Claim(s) 1 – 8 would be relevant to the second invention (Claim(s) 9 – 10). This is not found persuasive because a piece of prior art being relevant to a first invention and second invention is not the standard implemented when determining a restriction. Namely, a restriction is deemed proper if….. Accordingly, The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Consequently, (Claim(s) 9 – 10) is / are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the same reply filed on (5 – 25 – 2026).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show
a processing apparatus (not shown) owned by the robot manufacturer itself is communicatively connected to the server 300 through the communication network NW, and
the first tray portion BW1 is provided with a fixing portion (not illustrated) for fixing the workpiece W and although not illustrated, the head chip 3 a is provided with a piezoelectric element that is a drive element and a cavity that accommodates ink for each nozzle n and
the camera 9 is supported by a support body (not illustrated) and captures an image of the workpiece W fixed to the mount portion BW together with the mount portion BW and
a commercial power source (not illustrated) and generates various predetermined potentials as described in the specification.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered, and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of
ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also
commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification
when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term
having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”)
or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a
rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when
the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited
function.
that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation
recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the
recited function.
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as
otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do
not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with
functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the
generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A powder supplier configured to form successive powder beds on the support, as recited in claim 1
A unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part, as recited in claim 7.
A unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based, as recited in claim 8.
pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the
corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and
equivalents thereof.
([0058]) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the powder supplier. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination the powder supply means is understood to be equivalent to the powder supplier.
([0026]) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the unit for evaluating the dimensions.
([0030]) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim
limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112,
sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2)
present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform
the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA
35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a):
Claim(s) 7 – 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites “a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.“ . While the instant application also recites “a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on the number of drops counted or, where appropriate, the number of drops whose passage is detected.” on ([0026]), no more details or structure are given regarding the “a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on the number of drops counted or, where appropriate, the number of drops whose passage is detected.” in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites “a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient.” “ . While the instant application also recites “a unit for calculating the binder saturation of the powder bed based on the number of drops counted (or, where appropriate, the number of drops whose passage is detected), and optionally a drop spreading coefficient.” on ([0030]), no more details or structure are given regarding the “ a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient” in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 7 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.” and “a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient,” in claim(s) 7 & 8, respectively, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. due only reciting the generic placeholder i.e., “a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.” and “a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient.” ) without further structure or details). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez et al. (US 20080252682 A1, hereinafter Hernandez) in view of Barr et al. (US 20040223014 A1, hereinafter Barr)Regarding claim 1,
An indirect additive manufacturing installation for indirect additive manufacturing by projection of binder onto a powder bed, comprising
a support,
a powder supplier configured to form successive powder beds on the support,
a print head configured to selectively project the binder onto each of the successive powder beds, and
a drop meter for counting drops of the binder projected by the print head onto the powder beds,
the drop meter comprising an optical detector configured to optically detect the passage of the drops between the print head and the powder bed.
Hernandez teaches the following:
([0111]) teaches a printhead 220 moves over a powder bed 200 that has been spread over a build surface 165 of the 3D printer (se, for example, FIG. 1). Where the build surface 165 of the 3D printer provides for and acts as applicant’s support.
([0068]) teaches the printer 10 produces three-dimensional objects by depositing alternating layers of build material and binder liquid on a build surface 165 or in a container to print multiple layers that ultimately form the three-dimensional object. ([0119]) teaches that the pattern 129 is created by first spreading a layer of build material on the build surface 165. Where the depositing alternating layers of build material and spreading a layer of build material on the build surface provides for and acts as applicant’s powder supplier configured to form successive powder beds on the support.
([0111]) teaches that the printhead 220 travels above the powder bed 200, the printhead 220 performs a printing operation by depositing droplets 212 of liquid binder on to the powder bed 200 in a predetermined manner, thereby resulting in printed sections 204 and unprinted sections 206 in the powder bed 200. Where the printhead 220 performs a printing operation by depositing droplets 212 of liquid binder on to the powder bed 200 provides for and acts as applicant’s print head configured to selectively project the binder onto each of the successive powder beds.
([0040]) teaches that one approach to identifying a printhead in need of service is to infer the state of the printhead indirectly from the information available about the ongoing printing process. It is common, for example, to perform printhead servicing at intervals based on the time elapsed since last service, the number of droplets dispensed since last service, and the number of layers printed since last service. ([0041]) Accordingly, in one implementation, printhead servicing is performed when the number of droplets printed over previously unprinted powder reaches a predetermined trigger value. ([0042]) teaches that the method includes the steps of acquiring a data value for at least one operational parameter of the printhead and comparing the data value to a threshold value, the relationship of the data value to the threshold value indicative of the condition of the printhead. Where the data value of a predetermined trigger value for droplets dispensed since last service provides for and acts as applicant’s drop meter for counting drops of the binder projected by the print head onto the powder beds.
([0116]) teaches that in one embodiment, the 3D printer could include an imaging system for viewing the printhead face.
Regarding Claim 1, Hernandez is silent on an optical detector configured to optically detect the passage of the drops between the print head and the powder bed. In analogous art for a method which corrects for malfunctioning or inoperable ink ejection elements in print mode, (Abstract), Barr suggests details regarding optical detector configured to optically detect the passage of the drops between the print head and the powder bed, and in this regard, Barr teaches the following:
([0046]) teaches that an optical detection system can detect the presence of malfunctioning ink ejection elements. Optical drop detect circuits can be utilized in ink jet printers for various purposes including testing of the operation of ink ejection elements of a printhead. Optical drops detect circuits typically include a light sensor such as a photo diode which senses the light provided by a light source such as an LED. When a drop is present in the light path between the light sensor and the light source, the output of the light sensor changes since the amount of light sensed by the light sensor is reduced by the presence of the ink drop. The output of the light sensor is typically amplified and analyzed to determine whether an ink drop passed through the light path between the light source and the light sensor. Alternatively, an optical detection system can determine the presence of a drop on the media. Also, an acoustical drop ejection detection method can be used to identify malfunctioning ink ejection elements. Where, the optical drops detection circuit that includes a light sensor such as a photo diode which senses the light provided by a light source such as an LED provides for and acts as applicant’s optical detector configured to optically detect the passage of the drops between the print head and the powder bed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and methods utilized for 3D printing and servicing of the equipment used in the associated 3D printer of Hernandez. By modifying the optical detector comprises at least one of a laser sheet, a scanner and a set of diode as taught by Barr. Highlighting, one would be motivated implement an optical detector that comprises at least one of a laser sheet, a scanner and a set of diode as it provides for testing of the operation of ink ejection elements of a printhead and determine the presence of a drop on the media, ([0048]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop meter is configured to determine the positioning of the drops of the binder projected by the print head onto the powder beds.
Hernandez teaches the following:
([0008]) teaches that the invention relates to apparatus and methods for aligning multiple printheads and apparatus and methods for cleaning the printheads. In one example, the alignment method is an automatic method of determining droplet-positioning errors that is particularly suited to 3D printing. In one example, a test pattern is printed with the printheads to be aligned, assuming that they are perfectly positioned. The resulting image is then scanned to determine the deviation of the images printed from perfect position. The information thus gained is then available to correct the identified errors.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop meter is configured to take as input an activation signal of the print head.
Hernandez teaches the following:
([0041]) teaches that the printhead servicing is performed when the number of droplets printed over previously unprinted powder reaches a predetermined trigger value. Alternatively, a service interval based on the number of droplets dispensed since the last service may be modified to take into account the proportion of the droplets that were printed over previously unprinted powder. Where the number of drops is understood to be a reflection of the number of times the printhead has been activated, which provides for and acts as applicant’s drop meter being configured to take as input an activation signal of the print head.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop meter is configured to take as input an activation signal of the print head.
Regarding Claim 3, Hernandez is silent on the drop meter is configured to take as input an activation signal of the print head. In analogous art as applied above, Barr suggests details regarding the drop meter is configured to take as input an activation signal of the print head, and in this regard, Barr teaches the following:
([0035]) teaches that a print controller 32 controls the carriage and media 14 movements and activates the nozzles 82 for ink drop deposition. ([0046]) teaches that an optical drop detect circuits can be utilized in ink jet printers for various purposes including testing of the operation of ink ejection elements of a printhead. Optical drops detect circuits typically include a light sensor such as a photo diode which senses the light provided by a light source such as an LED. When a drop is present in the light path between the light sensor and the light source, the output of the light sensor changes since the amount of light sensed by the light sensor is reduced by the presence of the ink drop. The output of the light sensor is typically amplified and analyzed to determine whether an ink drop passed through the light path between the light source and the light sensor.([0047]) adds that in accordance with the present invention it is possible to hide print quality defects caused by a malfunctioning ink ejection element by increasing the amount of ink deposited by adjacent ink ejection elements to the ink ejection element that is malfunctioning. The ink deposited by adjacent ink ejection elements is increased to compensate for the amount of ink that should be deposited by the ink ejection element that is malfunctioning. Where the determination of a malfunctioning ink ejection element including compensating by ink deposited by adjacent ink ejection elements that are not malfunctioning provides for and acts as applicant’s input an activation signal of the print head.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and methods utilized for 3D printing and servicing of the equipment used in the associated 3D printer of Hernandez. By modifying the drop meter is configured to take as input an activation signal of the print head, as taught by Barr. Highlighting, one would be motivated implement a drop meter that is configured to take as input an activation signal of the print head as it provides for hiding print quality defects caused by a malfunctioning ink ejection elements, ([0047]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop meter is configured to correct a count carried out from an activation signal of the print head on the basis of the optical detection of the passage of the drops.
Hernandez teaches the following:
([0041]) teaches accordingly, in one implementation, printhead servicing is performed when the number of droplets printed over previously unprinted powder reaches a predetermined trigger value. Alternatively, a service interval based on the number of droplets dispensed since the last service may be modified to take into account the proportion of the droplets that were printed over previously unprinted powder. Noting, that the number of drops is understood to be a reflection of the number of times the printhead has been activated. Where droplets dispensed since the last service being modified to take into account the proportion of the droplets that were printed over previously unprinted powder provides for and acts as applicant’s drop meter being configured to correct a count carried out from an activation signal of the print head on the basis of the optical detection of the passage of the drops.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop meter is configured to correct a count carried out from an activation signal of the print head on the basis of the optical detection of the passage of the drops.
Regarding Claim 4, Hernandez is silent on the drop meter is configured to correct a count carried out from an activation signal of the print head on the basis of the optical detection of the passage of the drops. In analogous art as applied above, Barr suggests details regarding the drop meter is configured to correct a count carried out from an activation signal of the print head on the basis of the optical detection of the passage of the drops, and in this regard, Barr teaches the following:
([0035]) teaches that a print controller 32 controls the carriage and media 14 movements and activates the nozzles 82 for ink drop deposition. ([0046]) teaches that an optical drop detect circuits can be utilized in ink jet printers for various purposes including testing of the operation of ink ejection elements of a printhead. Optical drops detect circuits typically include a light sensor such as a photo diode which senses the light provided by a light source such as an LED. When a drop is present in the light path between the light sensor and the light source, the output of the light sensor changes since the amount of light sensed by the light sensor is reduced by the presence of the ink drop. The output of the light sensor is typically amplified and analyzed to determine whether an ink drop passed through the light path between the light source and the light sensor.([0047]) adds that in accordance with the present invention it is possible to hide print quality defects caused by a malfunctioning ink ejection element by increasing the amount of ink deposited by adjacent ink ejection elements to the ink ejection element that is malfunctioning. The ink deposited by adjacent ink ejection elements is increased to compensate for the amount of ink that should be deposited by the ink ejection element that is malfunctioning. Where the determination of a malfunctioning ink ejection element including compensating by ink deposited by adjacent ink ejection elements that are not malfunctioning provides for and acts as applicant’s drop meter configured to correct a count carried out from an activation signal of the print head on the basis of the optical detection of the passage of the drops.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 3, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the optical detector comprises at least one of a laser sheet, a scanner and a set of diodes.
Hernandez teaches the following:
([0125]) teaches that the highest contrast between the contrast optimization pattern 131 and the contrast-enhancing sublayer 130, the carriage 14 may include a light source 137, for example a light emitting diode (LED), which produces a cone of light 138. Alternatively, the light sources could be a laser or a lamp, and multiple light sources could be utilized
Regarding Claim 5, Hernandez is silent on the optical detector comprises at least one of a laser sheet, a scanner and a set of diodes. In analogous art as applied above, Barr suggests details regarding the optical detector comprises at least one of a laser sheet, a scanner and a set of diodes, and in this regard, Barr teaches the following:
([0046]) teaches that an optical detection system can detect the presence of malfunctioning ink ejection elements. Optical drop detect circuits can be utilized in ink jet printers for various purposes including testing of the operation of ink ejection elements of a printhead. Optical drops detect circuits typically include a light sensor such as a photo diode which senses the light provided by a light source such as an LED. When a drop is present in the light path between the light sensor and the light source, the output of the light sensor changes since the amount of light sensed by the light sensor is reduced by the presence of the ink drop. The output of the light sensor is typically amplified and analyzed to determine whether an ink drop passed through the light path between the light source and the light sensor. Alternatively, an optical detection system can determine the presence of a drop on the media. Also, an acoustical drop ejection detection method can be used to identify malfunctioning ink ejection elements. Where, the optical drops detection circuit that includes a light sensor such as a photo diode which senses the light provided by a light source such as an light emitting diode (LED) provides for and acts as applicant’s optical detector that comprises at least one of a laser sheet, a scanner and a set of diodes.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising a nozzle cleaner configured to clean at least one nozzle of the print head based on a clogging signal emitted by the drop meter.
Hernandez teaches the following:
([0020]) teaches the cleaning station include at least one receptacle for receiving a printhead, at least one nozzle for spraying a cleaning fluid towards a printhead face (or printing surface) of the printhead, and a wiper disposable in close proximity to the printhead face for removing excess cleaning fluid, in some cases without contacting the printhead face. ([0089]) teaches discharge procedure ensures a clean and clog free printhead 20 and printhead face 54 to maintain the highest possible quality three-dimensional printing. In some embodiments, multiple printheads 20 may discharge material at substantially the same time.([0042]) adds that the invention relates to a method of determining a condition of a printhead in use in a three-dimensional printer. The method includes the steps of acquiring a data value for at least one operational parameter of the printhead and comparing the data value to a threshold value, the relationship of the data value to the threshold value indicative of the condition of the printhead. In one embodiment, the method includes the step of initiating a service routine on the printhead if the data value exceeds the threshold value. Where the initiating a service routine on the printhead if the data value exceeds the threshold value provides for and acts as applicant’s clogging signal emitted by the drop meter such that a nozzle cleaner configured to clean at least one nozzle of the print head based on a clogging signal emitted by the drop meter.
B.) Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez in view of Barr in view of Gu et al. (US 20220281177 A1, hereinafter Gu)
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Comprising a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.
Regarding Claim 7, Hernandez as modified by Barr is silent on a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted. In analogous art for an additive manufacturing to perform three-dimensional printing, (Abstract), Gu suggests details regarding a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted, and in this regard, Gu teaches the following:
([0035]) teaches a real-time monitoring and refining platform uses convolutional neural networks (CNN), which is a commonly used deep learning algorithm with images as input. CNN transforms an image to an array of numbers that represent the image's category. The model that describes the mapping is trained and used to predict results for new unseen images. ([0076]) teaches provide development of a multi-scale framework capable of detecting defects locally in real-time printing, realization of an efficient anomaly detection model that can decrease the response time of defects recognition, and integration of layer-wise quality profiles that can aid in the monitoring and correction of additive manufacturing systems. With ([0049]) adding a quick response is equally essential for the platform to identify print quality variation and adjust its performance before continuing the print. Therefore, response time is measured when the printer corrects Under-extrusion or Over-extrusion conditions. ([0082]) although over and under-extrusion defects can form as a result of multiple process parameters such as print speed or layer height, it is mainly caused by the improper rate of material extrusion, flow rate, as discussed above. ([0083]) adds due to the fact that defects can be more local and not uniformly distributed, the extent of intra-layer defects in the training data is changed by adjusting the flow rate. ([0095]) noting the capability of detecting defects locally in the view of the camera. In order to analyze and fix the defects, exact global coordinates in the actual prints are more practical for further correction and examination. Where the detection, analyze and fixing of defects provided by a camera which is used to adjusting the flow rate of the material deposition provides for and acting as applicant’s unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and methods utilized for 3D printing and servicing of the equipment used in the associated 3D printer of Hernandez as modified by Barr. By further modifying the apparatus to comprise a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted, as taught by Gu. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted as it provides for analyze and fixing of defects provided by a camera, ([0095]). C.) Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez in view of Barr in view of Warner et al. (US 20150273913 A1, hereinafter Warner)Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Comprising a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.
Regarding Claim 7, Hernandez as modified by Barr is silent on a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted. In analogous art for an additive manufacturing to perform three-dimensional printing, (Abstract), Warner suggests details regarding a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted, and in this regard, Warner teaches the following:
([0005]) teaches that the controller being configured to operate the printhead to eject a predetermined number of drops from each inkjet onto the thermal substrate while the thermal substrate remains stationary at the position opposite the printhead to enable the predetermined number of drops to form a test dot for each inkjet on the thermal substrate, to operate the optical sensor to generate image data of the thermal substrate, and to identify inoperative inkjets in the printhead with reference to the image data received from the optical sensor that corresponds to the test dots on the thermal substrate. Accordingly, implementing an optical sensor to determine the existence of a dot (or not), namely the dimensions of the dot, due to a possible inoperative inkjets in the printhead provides for and acts as applicant’s a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and methods utilized for 3D printing and servicing of the equipment used in the associated 3D printer of Hernandez as modified by Barr. By further modifying the apparatus to comprise a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted, as taught by Warner. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted as it provides for determine inoperative inkjets in the printhead, ([0005])
D.) Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez in view of Barr in view of Clark et al. (US 9302519 B1, hereinafter Clark)
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Comprising a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted.
Regarding Claim 7, Hernandez as modified by Barr is silent on a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted. In analogous art for an additive manufacturing to perform three-dimensional printing, (Abstract), Clark suggests details regarding a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted, and in this regard, Clark teaches the following:
(Col. 2, lines 23 – 27) teaches that the controller being configured to operate the printhead to eject a predetermined number of material drops from each inkjet onto the substrate to enable the predetermined number of material drops to form one of the convex drops on the substrate. (Col. 7, lines 14 – 20) adds that if the analysis of successive printings shows bright points in the same incorrect positions near the expected drop locations, then the ejector is identified as ejecting material off-axis. If these slightly errant points of light do not appear on subsequent printings, they are dismissed as noise. If an number of noise spots exceeds a predetermined threshold, a signal is generated that the system needs cleaning. (Col. 5, lines 25 – 35) notes that the inkjets land on the surface of the substrate and form a drop having a convex surface. This convex surface enables a portion of the drop approximated locally as a flat plane to reflect light specularly into the camera, while the remaining portions of the drop approximated locally as planes at different angles in three dimensions reflect light specularly as a function of each plane's angle to the incident light to places other than the camera. Highlighting, that using a predetermined number of droplets and determining the position of the droplets on the deposition surface provides for applicant’s a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and methods utilized for 3D printing and servicing of the equipment used in the associated 3D printer of Hernandez as modified by Barr. By further modifying the apparatus to comprise a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted, as taught by Clark. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a unit for evaluating the dimensions of a part printed by binder projection based on a number of the drops counted as it provides for determine if slightly errant points of light do not appear on subsequent printings, they are dismissed as noise. If an number of noise spots exceeds a predetermined threshold, a signal is generated that the system needs cleaning, (Col. 7, lines 14 – 20).
E.) Claim(s) 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez in view of Barr in view of Sachs et al. (US 6596224 B1, hereinafter Sachs)
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1,
Comprising a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient.
Regarding Claim 8, Hernandez as modified by Barr is silent on a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient. In analogous art for an additive manufacturing system that comprise an individual layer is printed by first spreading a thin layer of powder and then printing binder to adhere the powder together in selected(Abstract), Sachs suggests details regarding a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient, and in this regard, Sachs teaches the following:
(Col. 5, lines 40 – 52) teaches the deposited slurry and previously deposited powder, the film having a saturation thickness, hsat, that is less than a critical cracking thickness CCT. (Col. 13, lines 1 – 5) expands that that a new variable, saturation thickness, hsat, is the thickness of region that would be 100% saturated by the total liquid deposited with a given layer. (Col. 13, lines 40 – 45) adds that when choosing printing parameters, Eq.(6) should be used to check that the effective layer height does not exceed the CCT of the slurry type being used. Where choosing printing parameters, Eq.(6) should be used to check that the effective layer height does not exceed the CCT, which is impacts the saturation thickness, hsat (which is than a critical cracking thickness CCT) provides for and acts as applicant’s unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and methods utilized for 3D printing and servicing of the equipment used in the associated 3D printer of Hernandez as modified by Barr. By further modifying the additive manufacturing apparatus to comprise a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient, as taught by Sachs. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a unit for calculating a binder saturation of the powder bed based on a number of the drops counted and optionally a drop spreading coefficient as it provides for determine the saturation thickness, hsat, which is known to be is less than a critical cracking thickness CCT, (Col. 5, lines 44 – 46) Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gibson et al. (US 20210379664 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An improved additive manufacturing system for manufacturing metal parts by magnetohydrodynamic printing liquid metal. A monitoring system including at least one camera capturing light reflected from a strobe light source.
Pawlik et al. (US 20120069075 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An inkjet printer includes a paper tray for holding print media; a pick-up roller for moving the print media along at least a portion of a pre-print zone of a paper transport path.
Nakajima et al. (US 20250144887 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A three-dimensional object printing system includes: a three-dimensional object printing apparatus including a print head that discharges a liquid toward a three-dimensional workpiece, and a robot that holds the print head; and a server communicatively connected to the three-dimensional object printing apparatus.
Shigeki Egami (US 20250010540 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A processing system includes: a first processing apparatus that performs an additive manufacturing in a first processing area by emitting a first energy beam; a second processing apparatus that performs a removal processing in a second processing area by emitting a second energy beam.
Craig Orr (US 20090167817 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An apparatus for printing an image onto a curved surface of a three-dimensional article. The apparatus principally includes a support fixture adapted to support the article, an ink jet print head having a plurality of nozzles, and an articulatable robotic arm.
Dave et al. (US 20160184893 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) This invention teaches a quality assurance system for additive manufacturing. This invention teaches a multi-sensor, real-time quality system including sensors, affiliated hardware, and data processing algorithms that are Lagrangian-Eulerian with respect to the reference frames of its associated input measurements.
Pokrass et al. (US 20210008793 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a method of additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional object, comprises: dispensing from a first array of nozzles a modeling material formulation containing a polyimide precursor to form a layer in a configured pattern corresponding to a shape of a slice of the object.
Dobosz et al. (US 20240424738 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a computer system for dynamically controlling a thermoset printer (100) may comprise one or more processors (210) and one or more computer-readable media having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, configure the computer system to perform various acts.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743