DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,218,233. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
[Re claim 1] Oh discloses the high electron mobility transistor comprising: a channel layer including a first semiconductor material; a channel supplying layer including a second semiconductor material and causing generation of a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) in the channel layer; a source electrode and a drain electrode provided on both sides of the channel supplying layer; a depletion forming layer provided on the channel supplying layer to form a depletion region in the 2DEG; a gate electrode provided on a portion of the depletion forming layer; and a current limiting layer provided to contact the gate electrode on another portion of the depletion forming layer, and configured to limit a current flow from the gate electrode to the depletion forming layer according to a voltage applied to the gate electrode, wherein the gate electrode comprises an upper portion in contact with an upper surface of the current limiting layer and a lower portion in contact with a side surface of the current limiting layer, wherein the depletion forming layer is of an integral type and extends in a direction parallel to the gate electrode, wherein the current limiting layer is respectively provided on both sides of a lower side of the gate electrode, and wherein the current limiting layer includes portions spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (see claim 1 and 3).
[Re claim 2] Oh discloses the high electron mobility transistor comprising: a channel layer including a first semiconductor material; a channel supplying layer including a second semiconductor material and causing generation of a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) in the channel layer; a source electrode and a drain electrode provided on both sides of the channel supplying layer; a depletion forming layer provided on the channel supplying layer to form a depletion region in the 2DEG; a gate electrode provided on a portion of the depletion forming layer; and a current limiting layer provided to contact the gate electrode on another portion of the depletion forming layer, and configured to limit a current flow from the gate electrode to the depletion forming layer according to a voltage applied to the gate electrode, wherein the gate electrode comprises an upper portion in contact with an upper surface of the current limiting layer and a lower portion in contact with a side surface of the current limiting layer, and wherein the depletion forming layer has portions spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (see claim 1).
[Re claim 3] Oh discloses the high electron mobility transistor, wherein the current limiting layer is respectively provided on both sides of a lower side of the gate electrode (see claim 3).
[Re claim 4] Oh discloses the high electron mobility transistor, wherein the current limiting layer is of an integral type and extends in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by OTAKE et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2020/0176595 A1).
[Re claim 1] OTAKE discloses the high electron mobility transistor comprising: a channel layer (4) including a first semiconductor material (GaN); a channel supplying layer (5) including a second semiconductor material (A1x1Ga1-x1N) and causing generation of a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) (11) in the channel layer; a source electrode (9) and a drain electrode (10) provided on both sides of the channel supplying layer; a depletion forming layer (21) provided on the channel supplying layer to form a depletion region (area under the layer 21) in the 2DEG; a gate electrode (23) provided on a portion of the depletion forming layer (21); and a current limiting layer (22) provided to contact the gate electrode on another portion of the depletion forming layer, and configured to limit a current flow from the gate electrode to the depletion forming layer according to a voltage applied to the gate electrode (the limiting layer 22 provided to contact the gate electrode 23 and reduce current leakage from the gate electrode and this will limit the current flow when the voltage is applied), wherein the gate electrode (23) comprises an upper portion in contact with an upper surface of the current limiting layer (22) and a lower portion in contact with a side surface of the current limiting layer (22), wherein the depletion forming layer (21) is of an integral type and extends in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (23), wherein the current limiting layer (22) is respectively provided on both sides of a lower side of the gate electrode (23), and wherein the current limiting layer (22) includes portions spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (23) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0048]-[0059]).
[Re claim 2] OTAKE discloses the high electron mobility transistor comprising: a channel layer (4) including a first semiconductor material (GaN); a channel supplying layer (5) including a second semiconductor material (A1x1Ga1-x1N) and causing generation of a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) (11) in the channel layer; a source electrode (9) and a drain electrode (10) provided on both sides of the channel supplying layer; a depletion forming layer (21) provided on the channel supplying layer to form a depletion region (area under the layer 21) in the 2DEG; a gate electrode (23) provided on a portion of the depletion forming layer; and a current limiting layer (22) provided to contact the gate electrode (23) on another portion of the depletion forming layer (21), and configured to limit a current flow from the gate electrode to the depletion forming layer according to a voltage applied to the gate electrode (the limiting layer 22 provided to contact the gate electrode 23 and reduce current leakage from the gate electrode and this will limit the current flow when the voltage is applied), wherein the gate electrode (23) comprises an upper portion in contact with an upper surface of the current limiting layer (22) and a lower portion in contact with a side surface of the current limiting layer (22), and wherein the depletion forming layer (21) has portions (areas contacting with current limiting layer 22) spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (see figure 1 and paragraph [0048]-[0059]).
[Re claim 3] OTAKE discloses the high electron mobility transistor, wherein the current limiting layer (22) is respectively provided on both sides of a lower side of the gate electrode (23) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0055]-[0058]).
[Re claim 4] OTAKE discloses the high electron mobility transistor, wherein the current limiting layer (22) is of an integral type and extends in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (23) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0055]-[0058]).
[Re claim 5] OTAKE discloses the high electron mobility transistor wherein the current limiting layer (22) includes portions spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the gate electrode (23) (see figure 1).
[Re claim 6] OTAKE discloses the high electron mobility transistor wherein the current limiting layer (22) surrounds a lower portion of the gate electrode (23) (see figure 1).
Conclusion
/KYOUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817