Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merkle (US 4701653 A) in view of Heatshield Products (see attached NPL in 892).
Claim 1
Merkle teaches: An eddy current brake (2) comprising a stator assembly (83) and a rotor assembly (18) able to pivot relative to the stator assembly (83) about a rotation axis (through shaft 16), the stator assembly (83) including an annular support (inner yoke, see Fig. 13) comprising at least one pole body (60, 80) and at least one pole shoe (comprised at end of 35),
Merkle does not explicitly teach however: wherein the stator assembly includes a stainless-steel protective heat shield fastened to said at least one pole shoe.
Heatshield Products teaches the use of stainless-steel heat shields mechanically fastened to components exposed to elevated temperatures in order to reduce heat transfer and protect adjacent structures from thermal degradation.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the stator assembly of Merkle by fastening a stainless-steel heat shield to the pole shoe in recognition of Heatshield Products’ thermal management structure to be mounted to or associated with the pole shoe region. Such a modification would have predictably reduced heat transfer from the pole show to adjacent stator components, improved thermal protection of the stator assembly, and enhanced durability and reliability during operation.
Claim 6/1
Merkle as modified by Heatshield Products: The eddy current brake (2) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular support (inner yoke, see Fig. 13) is made of laminated iron (see para. 2).
Claim 7/1
Merkle as modified by Heatshield Products: The eddy current brake (2) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular support (inner yoke, see Fig. 13) is made of sintered material (iron, see para. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2/1
Claim 2 is objected to.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Merkle as modified by Heatshield Products teaches: The eddy current brake (2) as claimed in claim 1;
The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia:
wherein said protective shield comprises a bottom wall and at least two side walls that are parallel to each other, said at least one pole shoe comprising at least two opposite side faces, and wherein the two side walls of the protective shield are mounted slidingly against the two opposite side faces of the at least one pole shoe.
Claims 3-5 stand objected to over all prior art based on their virtue of depending on claim 2.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834