DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 12-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3446910 A1.
Regarding claim 1, EP 3446910 A1 discloses an actuator (100) for a refueling or charging port cover (410 in paragraph [0022]), comprising: a housing (101) defining a cavity (241 shown in Figure 1A); a lifting shaft (120) being at least partially arranged (shown in Figure 1A) in the cavity (241 shown in Figure 1A) and configured to ascend and descend (in paragraph [0022]) relative to the housing (101) to open and close (in paragraph [0022]) the refueling or charging port cover (410 in paragraph [0022]), the lifting shaft (120) comprising a guiding section (shown in Figures 1A-2E), the guiding section (shown in Figures 1A-2E) being provided with a guiding groove (128.1) and a limiting groove (128.2),
the guiding groove (128.1) having a distal portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) corresponding to the end of the ascending stroke (in paragraph [0027] of the lifting shaft (120); a guiding protrusion (231) provided on the housing (101) and configured to cooperate with the guiding groove (128.1) to guide the lifting shaft (120) to move linearly along an axis (shown in Figures 1A-2E) or move helically shown in Figures 1A-2E) around the axis shown in Figures 1A-2E), these movements being driven by a driving device (110), wherein when the lifting shaft (120) moves helically (shown in Figures 1A-2E) along a first rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]), the lifting shaft descends (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]),
and when the lifting shaft (120) moves helically (shown in Figures 1A-2E) in a second rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) opposite to the first rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]), the lifting shaft ascends (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]); and a limiting protrusion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) provided on the housing (101), wherein when the guiding protrusion (231) moves to the distal portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) in the guiding groove (128.1), the limiting protrusion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) at least partially enters the limiting groove (128.2); wherein the guiding groove (128.1) is provided with a limiting surface for first rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E) at the distal portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E), and the limiting groove (128.2) comprises an additional limiting surface (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) for first rotation direction (in paragraph
[0025]-[0032]) and a limiting surface for second rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]); and wherein when the guiding protrusion (231) moves to the distal portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) in the guiding groove (128.1), at least one of the limiting surface (shown in Figures 1A-2E) for first rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E) and the additional limiting surface (shown in Figures 1A-2E) for first rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E), together with the limiting surface (shown in Figures 1A-2E) for second rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E), limits the rotation (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) of the lifting shaft relative to the housing (101).
Regarding claim 2, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 1, wherein when the guiding protrusion (231) moves to the distal portion (in Figures 1A-2E) in the guiding groove (128.1): the limiting surface (shown in Figures
1A-2E) for first rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E) contacts the guiding protrusion (231), and the limiting surface (shown in Figures 1A-2E) for second rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E) contacts the limiting protrusion (shown in Figures 1A-2E).
Regarding claim 3, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (120) of claim 1, wherein the guiding section (shown in Figure 1A-2E) is also provided with a clearance area, which is communicated with the limiting groove (128.1) and can receive the limiting protrusion (shown in Figure 1A-2E) to allow the limiting protrusion (shown in Figure 1A-2E) to enter the limiting groove (128.1) as the lifting shaft (120) ascends (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 4, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 3, wherein the guiding groove (128.1) comprises a straight groove (shown in Figures 1A-2E) extending along the axial direction and a helical groove (shown in Figures 1A-2E) extending around the axial direction, the straight groove (shown in Figures 1A-2E) being communicated with the helical groove (shown in Figures 1A-2E), wherein the helical groove (shown in Figures 1A-2E) forms the distal portion.
Regarding claim 5, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 4, wherein the helical groove (shown in Figures 1A-2E) comprises a first helical groove wall (shown in Figures 1A-2E)and a second helical groove wall (shown in Figures 1A-2E) facing each other, the first helical groove wall (shown in Figures 1A-2E) being upstream of the second helical groove wall (shown in Figures
1A-2E) in the first rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E), and the first helical groove wall comprising a guiding wall section and the limiting surface for first rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E).
Regarding claim 6, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (120) of claim 5, wherein the limiting surface for first rotation direction (shown in Figure 1A-2E), the additional limiting surface (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) for first rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]), and the limiting surface for second rotation direction (shown in Figures 1A-2E) generally extend axially.
Regarding claim 8, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 1, wherein the guiding protrusion (231) and the limiting protrusion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) are spaced apart by a distance in the axial direction and are spaced apart by a distance in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 9, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 1, wherein the housing (shown in Figures 1A-2E) comprises an outer housing portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) and an inner sleeve (shown in Figures 1A-2E), the inner sleeve (shown in Figures 1A-2E) being detachably mounted within the outer housing portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) and immovable with respect to the outer housing portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E), the inner sleeve (shown in Figures 1A-2E) defining a portion of the cavity (241 shown in Figure 1A); wherein the guiding protrusion (231) and the limiting protrusion (shown in Figure 1A) are provided on the inner sleeve (shown in Figures 1A-2E).
Regarding claim 10, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 1, wherein the lifting shaft (120) further comprises a transmission section (shown in Figures 1A-2E), the transmission section (shown in Figures 1A-2E) being configured to helically engage with the driving device (110) extending into the cavity (241 shown in Figure 1A) to drive the lifting shaft (120) to ascend and descend (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]); wherein the distal portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) of the guiding groove (128.1) is configured to be remote from the transmission section (shown in Figures 1A-2E).
Regarding claim 12, EP 3446910 A1 discloses an actuator (100) for a refueling or charging port cover (410 in paragraph [0022]), comprising: a housing (101) defining a cavity (241 shown in Figure 1A); a lifting shaft (120) being at least partially arranged (shown in Figure 1A) in the cavity (241 shown Figure 1A) and configured to ascend and descend (in paragraph [0022]) relative to the housing (101) to open and close (in paragraph [0022]) the refueling or charging port cover (410 in paragraph [0022]), the lifting shaft (120) comprising a guiding section (shown in Figures 1A-2E), the guiding section (shown in Figures 1A-2E) is provided with at least one guiding groove (128.1), the at least one guiding groove(128.1) has a distal portion (shown in Figures 1A-2E) corresponding to the end of the ascending stroke (in paragraph [0027]) of the lifting shaft (120);
a guiding protrusion (231) provided on the housing (101) and configured to engage with the guiding groove (128.1) to guide the lifting shaft (120) to move linearly along an axis (shown in Figures 1A-2E) or move helically (shown in Figures 1A-2E) around the axis (shown in Figures 1A-2E), these movement being driven by a driving device (110), wherein when the lifting shaft (120) moves helically (shown in Figures 1A-2E) along a first rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]), the lifting shaft descends (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]), and
when the lifting shaft (120) moves helically (shown in Figures 1A-2E) in a second rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) opposite to the first rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]), the lifting shaft ascends (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]); wherein the distal portion (shown in Figure 1A-2E) of the at least one guiding groove (128.1) forms a limiting groove (shown in Figure 1A-2E), and
wherein when the guiding protrusion (231) moves into the limiting groove (shown in Figure 1A-2E), the limiting groove (shown in Figure 1A-2E) limits the rotation (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) of the lifting shaft (120) relative to the housing (101).
Regarding claim 13, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 12, wherein: the limiting groove (128.2) comprises a limiting surface for first rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) and a limiting surface for second rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]), wherein when the guiding protrusion (231) moves into the limiting groove (128.2), the limiting surface for first rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) and the limiting surface for second rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) contact the guiding protrusion (231).
Regarding claim 14, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 13, wherein: the limiting surface for first rotation direction (in paragraph
[0025]-[0032]) and the limiting surface for second rotation direction (in paragraph [0025]-[0032]) extend axially.
Regarding claim 15, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 12, wherein: the housing (shown in Figure 1A-2E) comprises an outer housing (shown in Figure 1A-2E) and an inner sleeve (shown in Figure 1A-2E), the inner sleeve (shown in Figure 1A-2E) being detachably mounted within the outer housing (shown in Figure 1A-2E) and immovable with respect to the outer housing (shown in Figure 1A-2E), the inner sleeve (shown in Figure 1A-2E) defining a portion of the cavity (241 shown in Figure 1A); wherein the guiding protrusion (231) is provided on the inner sleeve (shown in Figure 1A-2E).
Regarding claim 16, EP 3446910 A1 discloses the actuator (100) of claim 12, wherein: the lifting shaft (120) further comprises a transmission section (shown in Figure 1A-2E), the transmission section (shown in Figure 1A-2E) being configured to helically engage with a driving device (110) extending into the cavity (241 shown in Figure 1A) to drive the lifting shaft (120) to ascend and descend (in paragraph [0022]); wherein the distal portion of the at least one guiding groove is configured to be remote from the transmission section.
Regarding claim 18, EP 3446910 A1 discloses a refueling or charging port cover system for vehicles, comprising: a refueling or charging port cover (410 in paragraph [0022]); and the actuator (100) according to any one of claim 1; wherein the refueling or charging port cover (410 in paragraph [0022]) is connected to the lifting shaft (120) of the actuator (100), and is opened and closed by ascending and descending (in paragraph [0022]) of the lifting shaft (120) relative to the housing (101).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, EP 3446910 A1 does not show wherein the clearance area comprises an upstream boundary and a downstream boundary facing each other, the upstream boundary being upstream of the downstream boundary in the first rotation direction, wherein the downstream boundary extends continuously with the limiting surface for second rotation direction along the axial direction or at the same inclination angle.
Regarding claim 11, EP 3446910 A1 does not show wherein the guiding section is integrally molded from a plastic material over the transmission section.
Claim 17 depends from claim 11.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20190047428 A1 teaches lid lock (100) of modular structure has an elevating shaft (120) being provided with an elevating thread (123) on an exterior wall. A worm gear (113) sleeved about and driving the elevating shaft has an inner thread meshed with the elevating thread and an outer gear (115) engaged with the helical teeth (117) of a worm (112). The elevating shaft is axially moved up and down and rotated when driven by the worm. The head of the elevating shaft is used to drive a fuel charging or electricity charging port lid so as to control the opening and closing of the lid.
CN 111058714 A teaches a vehicle charging box cover of rotary actuator, comprising: an actuator housing, which is set and provided with a cavity in the body, a push rod movably set and charging box cover with the first position corresponding to the closed cover is connected with the charging box, the push rod in the inner cavity; and a second position with the charging box cover is opened corresponding to the first position is located below the second position, and the first position and the second position there is an angle difference, the push rod can move up and down relative to the actuator housing, and the push rod is further able to rotate relative to the actuator housing, so the push rod can switch between the first position and the second position. The invention claims a vehicle charging box cover the actuator has locking function, but also with rotation function, the rotational opening movement so that the unlocking actuator can drive the charging box cover to parallel to the vehicle, instead of the structure of existing hinge, will not lose, the rupture.
Communication
571-272-6658. The Examiner can normally be reached from 8:30 a.m. to
4:30 p.m. EST Monday through Friday.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Vivek Koppikar can be reached at 571-272-5109.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/Lori Lyjak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B