DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statement dated 10/28/2024 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 8 lack a delimiter/punctuation mark separating the preamble and the body of claims such as a colon “:” “comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being disclosed by Sakhnini et al, US 2021/0352684 (as cited in the IDS dated 10/28/2024) hereafter Sakhnini.
As for claim 1, Sakhnini discloses:
A communication control method in a mobile communication system comprising, at a user equipment, extending monitoring of a PDSCH ([0069] At the base station 110, a transmit processor 420 may receive data from a data source 412 and control information from a controller/processor 440 using the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). Also [0079]) or monitoring of a PDCCH (Fig. 8, [0096]-[0098] At 806, the UE performs at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions or sending uplink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions.) for a predetermined period ([0100], Configurations allocate the UE with a set of periodic occasions for communications. The Examiner interprets periodic occasions to correspond to predetermined period) when not having received the PDSCH or the PDCCH from a network node at a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) periodicity timing or Discontinuous Reception (DRX) periodicity timing. (Fig. 8, 804, [0096]-[0097], At 804, the UE receives signaling dynamically re-allocating one or more of the occasions. Regarding the negative limitation, Fig. 8 does not teach receiving the PDSCH or the PDCCH from a network node at a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) periodicity timing or Discontinuous Reception (DRX) periodicity timing)
As for claim 2, Sakhnini discloses transmitting, at the network node to the user equipment, configuration information indicating whether to extend the monitoring (Fig. 9, 902, 904, [0100]-[0101], the network entity sends signaling to the UE dynamically re-allocating one or more of the occasions for the UE to perform at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions or sending uplink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions) of the PDSCH ([0069] At the base station 110, a transmit processor 420 may receive data from a data source 412 and control information from a controller/processor 440 using the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). Also [0079]), wherein the extending comprises extending, at the user equipment, the monitoring of the PDSCH or the monitoring of the PDCCH for the predetermined period based on the configuration information. (Fig. 8, [0096]-[0098] the UE performs at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions.)
As for claim 3, Sakhnini discloses:
transmitting, at the network node to the user equipment, a first standby extension notification indicating to extend the monitoring of the PDSCH ([0069] At the base station 110, a transmit processor 420 may receive data from a data source 412 and control information from a controller/processor 440 using the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). Also [0079]) or the monitoring of the PDCCH for the predetermined period (Fig. 9, 902, 904, [0100]-[0101], the network entity sends signaling to the UE dynamically re-allocating one or more of the occasions for the UE to perform at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions or sending uplink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions), wherein the extending comprises extending, at the user equipment, the monitoring of the PDSCH or the monitoring of the PDCCH for the predetermined period in response to reception of the first standby extension notification. (Fig. 8, [0096]-[0098]the UE performs at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions or sending uplink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions.)
As for claim 5, Sakhnini discloses:
A communication control method in a mobile communication system comprising extending, at a user equipment, (Fig. 8, [0096]-[0098]the UE performs at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions or sending uplink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions.) transmission of a PUSCH ([0071] On the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmit processor 464 may receive and process data (e.g., for the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH))) for a predetermined period when not having transmitted the PUSCH to a network node at a Configured Grant (CG) periodicity timing (Regarding the negative limitation, Fig. 8, steps 802-804 does disclose the UE transmitted the PUSCH to a network node at a Configured Grant (CG) periodicity timing).
As for claim 6, Sakhnini discloses:
transmitting, at the network node, to the user equipment, configuration information (Fig. 9, 902, 904, [0100]-[0101], the network entity sends signaling to the UE dynamically re-allocating one or more of the occasions.) indicating whether to extend the transmission of the PUSCH ([0071] On the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmit processor 464 may receive and process data (e.g., for the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH))) for the predetermined period ([0100], Configurations allocate the UE with a set of periodic occasions for communications), wherein the extending comprises extending, at the user equipment, the transmission of the PDSCH ([0069] At the base station 110, a transmit processor 420 may receive data from a data source 412 and control information from a controller/processor 440 using the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). Also [0079]) for the predetermined period based on the configuration information (Fig. 8, [0096]-[0098] the UE performs at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions or sending uplink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions.).
As for claim 7, Sakhnini discloses:
transmitting, at the network node to the user equipment, a first standby extension notification indicating to extend the transmission of the PUSCH for the predetermined period (Fig. 9, 902, 904, [0100]-[0101], the network entity sends signaling to the UE dynamically re-allocating one or more of the occasions.),
wherein the extending comprises extending, at the user equipment, the transmission of the PUSCH ([0071] On the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmit processor 464 may receive and process data (e.g., for the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH))) for the predetermined period in accordance with the first standby extension notification ([0100], Configurations allocate the UE with a set of periodic occasions for communications. The Examiner interprets periodic occasions to correspond to predetermined period)
As for claim 9, Sakhnini discloses:
A user equipment comprising: a controller configured to extend monitoring of a PDSCH ([0069] The US receives data from a data source 412 and control information from a controller/processor 440 using the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). Also [0079]) or monitoring of a PDCCH for a predetermined period when not having received the PDSCH or the PDCCH from a base station at a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) periodicity timing or Discontinuous Reception (DRX) periodicity timing. . (Fig. 8, [0096]-[0098]the UE performs at least one of monitoring for downlink transmissions or sending uplink transmissions in one or more of the re-allocated occasions.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakhnini in view of Takeda et al., EP 3944700 (as cited in the IDS dated 10/28/2024) hereafter Takeda.
As for claims 4 and 8, Sakhnini does not explicitly disclose transmitting, at the user equipment to the network node, a second standby extension notification indicating to extend the monitoring of the PDSCH for the predetermined period.
However, Takeda discloses transmitting, at the user equipment to the network node, a second standby extension notification indicating to extend the monitoring of the PDSCH or the monitoring of the PDCCH for the predetermined period (Takeda, Fig. 2, [0052], [0058]-[0062], upon receipt of first SPS PDSCH #1, the UE transmits a NACK, and upon receipt of second SPS #1, the UE transmits a NACK. Since the base station does not receive an ACK after transmitting SPS #1 twice, the base station secures another resource for retransmission of SPS #1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sakhnini with transmitting, at the user equipment to the network node, a second standby extension notification indicating to extend the monitoring of the PDSCH or the monitoring of the PDCCH for the predetermined period as taught by Takeda to provide improved communication throughput. (Takeda, [0024])
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0230590.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469