DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed January 3, 2025 has been entered. Claims 9-21 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 recites the limitation "the groove" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 introduces a “groove feature,” but it is unclear if the groove of claim 17 is a reference to the groove feature of claim 11 or an additional groove. Further, claim 17 does not depend from claim 11. Claims 9 and 16, from which claim 17 does depend, do not recite a groove.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,389,377 (the ‘377 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 9-20 are recited by or obvious in view of claims 1-6 of the ‘377 patent. Regarding claims 9-12, all of the limitations are recited by claim 3 of the ‘377 patent. Regarding claims 13-15, all of the limitations are recited by claims 4-6 of the ‘377 patent and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include these features with the device of claim 3. Regarding claims 16-17, the claims of the ‘377 patent do not recite the cradle housing is cylindrical and the groove is parallel to the axis of the housing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the housing as cylindrical and the groove parallel to the axis, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Choosing a desired shape is a matter of design choice which does not significantly alter operation of the device and cylindrical shapes are known in the art (see the prior art rejection below for evidence of this finding). Regarding claims 18-19, the claims of the ‘377 patent do not explicitly recite a second groove and second bar. However, the claims recite “at least one groove” and “at least one orientation bar” which means that in at least one embodiment of the claims, more than one groove and more than one orientation bar is present. Therefore, these limitations are either inherent to or obvious in view of claim 3 of the ‘377 patent. Claim 20 depends from claim 19 and the limitations thereof are recited by claim 3 of the ‘377 patent. Therefore, in making or using the apparatus of claims 1-6 of the ‘377 patent, one of ordinary skill in the art would make or use the inventions of claims 9-12 and 18-20 and the inventions of claims 13-17 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on claims 1-6 of the ‘377 patent combined with the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 9, 11, and 15-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by US Patent 3,094,989 to Stauffer (Stauffer).
Regarding claim 9, Stauffer discloses filling aid (the device as shown in Figs. 1-3 can be used to aid filling) comprising: a needle housing portion (body 11 serves as a housing for needle 15; see Fig. 1) defining an interior opening (the interior space of housing 11) and having an exterior surface (the outer surface of body 11); and a filling needle cradle (see Figs. 1-3; the housing portion holding body 11 can be considered a needle cradle) comprising an outer cradle housing (sleeve 10) and a filling needle (15), the filling needle cradle slidably movable along the exterior surface of the needle housing portion from a starting position (slidable movement shown in Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1 shows the starting position) to a filling position (Fig. 2), the filling needle cradle further comprising an orientation bar (formed by 21 and 21a) extending from the cradle outer housing to the needle (see Fig. 1; the bar extends between the sleeve 10 and the lower portion of needle 15), whereby the needle is positioned in the interior opening of the needle housing portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Stauffer discloses the needle housing portion further defines a groove feature (the upper opening of body 11 though which the needle extends in Fig. 2 can be considered a “groove feature”).
Regarding claim 15, Stauffer discloses a filling aid base (pedestal 16) whereby the needle housing is releasably engageable to the filling aid base (body 11 is releasably coupled to pedestal 16 by sleeve 10).
Regarding claim 16, Stauffer discloses the needle housing is cylindrical and the cradle housing is cylindrical (both sleeve 10 and body 11 are described as cylindrical; col. 2, lines 20-32).
Regarding claim 17, Stauffer discloses the cylindrical needle housing defines an axis (longitudinal axis of the sleeve 10) and the groove (the groove feature as described in claim 11) is parallel to the axis (Figs. 1-2; the longitudinal axis of the groove is parallel to the axis of the sleeve).
Regarding claim 18, Stauffer further discloses wherein the needle housing (11) defines a second groove feature (the groove by which cap 12 is connected to body 11; see Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited documents do not disclose “The filling aid of claim 10 further comprising a filling aid base whereby the needle housing is releasably engageable to the filling aid base and the filling aid base flexes the tab between the starting position and the filling position.” The examiner finds no evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the cited documents to include such an arrangement, absent the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 December 11, 2025