CTNF 18/928,556 CTNF 87923 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP-2283373-B1) in view of Fokisaru (JP-2006506115-A) . Regarding claim 1 Wang discloses A magnetic resonance simulation apparatus (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS) comprising processing circuitry apparatus (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS) configured to: obtain phantom information and group information, the phantom information representing a phantom having an ensemble of positions and physical values relative to a plurality of isochromats, the group information representing groups of isochromats classified with respect to the phantom information (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS), the isochromats that exhibit a same physical magnetization property under a condition preset according to a pulse sequence; collectively perform a magnetic resonance simulation with respect to isochromats classified as a same group among the plurality of isochromats, based on the group information and the phantom information (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS); and output a simulation result obtained from the magnetic resonance simulation (¶ 1 under B. Materials and Methods ). Although strongly implied, Wang does not explicitly disclose “the isochromats that exhibit a same physical magnetization property under a condition preset according to a pulse sequence”; Fokisaru, however, teaches the isochromats that exhibit a same physical magnetization property under a condition preset according to a pulse sequence (¶ 17 under BEST-MODE, the preparation sequence is the “condition preset” and is a pulse sequence. Isochromats have same magnetization ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the “isochromats with same magnetization” as taught by Fokisaru in the apparatus of Wang. The justification for this modification would be to create an MRI technique that has good contrast and can be used to image head and spine and angiography (¶ 1 under BACKGROUND-ART ). Regarding claim 6 Wang discloses A magnetic resonance simulation method (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS) comprising: obtaining phantom information and group information, the phantom information representing a phantom having an ensemble of positions and physical values relative to a plurality of isochromats, the group information representing groups of isochromats classified with respect to the phantom information (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS), collectively performing a magnetic resonance simulation with respect to isochromats classified as a same group among the plurality of isochromats, based on the group information and the phantom information (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS); and outputting a simulation result obtained from the magnetic resonance simulation (¶ 1 under B. Materials and Methods ). Wang does not disclose “the isochromats that exhibit a same physical magnetization property under a condition preset according to a pulse sequence”; Fokisaru, however, teaches the isochromats that exhibit a same physical magnetization property under a condition preset according to a pulse sequence (¶ 17 under BEST-MODE, the preparation sequence is the “condition preset” and is a pulse sequence. Isochromats have same magnetization ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the “isochromats with same magnetization” as taught by Fokisaru in the apparatus of Wang. The justification for this modification would be to create an MRI technique that has good contrast and can be used to image head and spine and angiography (¶ 1 under BACKGROUND-ART ). Regarding claim 7 Wang discloses A magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS) comprising processing circuitry (¶ 5 under DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION) configured to: obtain phantom information and group information, the phantom information representing a phantom having an ensemble of positions and physical values relative to a plurality of isochromats, the group information representing groups of isochromats classified with respect to the phantom information (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS), collectively perform a magnetic resonance simulation with respect to isochromats classified as a same group among the plurality of isochromats, based on the group information and the phantom information (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS); and output a simulation result obtained from the magnetic resonance simulation (¶ 1 under B. Materials and Methods ). Wang does not disclose “the isochromats that exhibit a same physical magnetization property under a condition preset according to a pulse sequence”; Fokisaru, however, teaches the isochromats that exhibit a same physical magnetization property under a condition preset according to a pulse sequence (¶ 17 under BEST-MODE, the preparation sequence is the “condition preset” and is a pulse sequence. Isochromats have same magnetization ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the “isochromats with same magnetization” as taught by Fokisaru in the apparatus of Wang. The justification for this modification would be to create an MRI technique that has good contrast and can be used to image head and spine and angiography (¶ 1 under BACKGROUND-ART ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim( s) 2 i s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W ang (EP-2283373-B1) in view of Fokisaru (JP-2006506115-A) in view of Ikedo (WO-2006051665-A1). R egarding claim 2 Wang in view of Fokisaru teach the magnetic resonance simulation apparatus according to claim 1, Wang, applied to claim 2, further teaches wherein the physical values include a longitudinal relaxation time, a transverse relaxation time (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS ), Wang in view of Fokisaru do not teach “and a non-uniform external magnetic field, the condition includes non-application of a gradient field in at least one direction, and the group information is based on the physical values and an applied position of the gradient field”. Ikedo, however, teaches and a non-uniform external magnetic field, the condition includes non-application of a gradient field in at least one direction, and the group information is based on the physical values and an applied position of the gradient field ([0087]—[0088]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the “application of gradient to non-uniform magnetic field” as taught by Ikedo in the apparatus of Wang in view of Fokisaru. The justification for this modification would be to improve the uniformity of the B.sub.0 field and thus the MRI image fidelity . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP-2283373-B1) in view of Fokisaru (JP-2006506115-A) in view of Ikedo (WO-2006051665-A1) in view of Masado (JP-WO2006051665-A1) . Regarding claim 3 Wang in view of Fokisaru in view of Ikedo teach the magnetic resonance simulation apparatus according to claim 2, Wang in view of Fokisaru in view of Ikedo do not explicitly teach “wherein the condition includes non-application of the gradient field in two mutually orthogonal directions”. Masado, however, teaches the condition includes non-application of the gradient field in two mutually orthogonal directions (¶ or line 27 & 28 above “Claims”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the “non-uniform magnetic field without superposition of gradient field” as taught by Masado in the apparatus of Wang in view of Fokisaru in view of Ikedo. The justification for this modification would be to create and MRI system that is simpler and more portable for use in ambulances or rural clinics . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP-2283373-B1) in view of Gumbrecht (WO-2012110530-A1) . Regarding claim 8 Wang discloses A magnetic resonance simulation apparatus (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS) comprising: a display that displays a user interface that allows a user to input an instruction (¶ 10 under I. General Description of Apparatus, Software and Methods ) as to whether to perform clustering of a map of physical values based on phantom information and/or to input the number of clusters in the clustering, the phantom information representing a phantom having an ensemble of positions and the physical values relative to a plurality of isochromats (¶ 1 under BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS); an input interface that receives an input to the user interface (¶ 10 under I. General Description of Apparatus, Software and Methods ); and Wang does not disclose “processing circuitry configured to: perform clustering of the map of physical values according to the input to the user interface, perform a magnetic resonance simulation with respect to the plurality of isochromats, using the map of physical values having undergone the clustering, and output a simulation result obtained from the magnetic resonance simulation”. Gumbrecht, however, teaches processing circuitry configured to: perform clustering of the map of physical values according to the input to the user interface, perform a magnetic resonance simulation with respect to the plurality of isochromats, using the map of physical values having undergone the clustering, and output a simulation result obtained from the magnetic resonance simulation (¶ 5 above “Claims”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the “clustered isochromats” as taught by Gumbrecht in the apparatus of Wang. The justification for this modification would be to create an MRI technique that immediately takes into account “field inhomogeneities” (¶ or line 10 under Object of the Invention, Gumbrecht ) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4 & 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 4 Nothing in the prior art of record teaches or discloses “compute a magnetization state transition of each of the plurality of isochromats by individually applying the transition matrices to the two or more groups of isochromats”, In combination with the rest of the claim language. Regarding claim 5 Nothing in the prior art of record teaches or discloses “the processing circuitry is configured to: prior to performing the magnetic resonance simulation, perform the clustering of the map of the physical values into the number of clusters, and perform the magnetic resonance simulation using the map of the physical values having undergone the clustering”. In combination with the rest of the claim language. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FREDERICK WENDEROTH whose telephone number is (571)270-1945. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7 a.m. - 4 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached at 571-272-1674. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Frederick Wenderoth/ Examiner, Art Unit 2852 /WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/928,556 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852