DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/15/2026 is entered and fully considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the claim language does not invoke 112(f). However, the examiner maintains that the language used in the claims creates a presumption of the invocation of 112(f) for the reasons described. Applicant’s intent to invoke 112(f) is not relevant to the plain language of the claim.
Applicant further argues that if 112(f) is invoked there is enough description of the structure in figs. 4-6. The examiner disagrees. Claims 5 and 6 contain no illustration of any moving part. Claim 4 shows precursor composite roll 401 and composite electrode roll 403. The specification clearly indicates that these parts are held by “suitable components for engaging” the rolls. These components are not shown in the figures or described in the specification. Accordingly, the 112(b) rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues the 103 rejections are improper because the prior art does not teach a portion of the heat treatment oven to be configured to apply cooling during concurrent heat treatment in another portion. However, WANG clearly teaches a cooling zone S2 operating concurrently with zones containing heating elements in S1, M1 and M2. The separate zones are considered to be “configured” to concurrently operate.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“one or more components configured for” in claim 14.
“moving components configured for moving” in claim 15.
“feeding components configured for feeding” in claim 16-17.
The term “component for” is listed in MPEP 2181.I.A as a non-structural generic placeholder. The additional reference to “moving” or “feeding” do not add anything to the generic component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-21 and 23-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 14, the limitations “components configured for receiving a plurality of precursor rolls”; “moving component configured for moving”; and “feeding component configured for feeding” each invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not further describe the “components configured for receiving” the rolls; the “moving components configured for moving”; or the “feeding components configured for feeding”. The precursor rolls 401 and 403 are shown, but there is no reference number or figure showing the component for receiving. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 15-33 incorporate the issues of parent claim 14 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-21 and 23-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 2012/0264075) in view of KIMURA et al. (JP 11124766; citations to machine translation).
Regarding claims 14-17, 25, and 26,
WANG teaches a roll-to-roll reactor for solar cells abstract. The roll to roll process includes a winding and an unwinding chamber that receives a substrate roll that is then fed through a heating section. The winding and unwinding parts correspond to the feeding and moving components. The heat treatment oven can heat to temperature of up to 1000°C abstract (capable of pyrolyzing a composite film - above 400°C). WANG teaches a cooling zone S2 includes cooling elements with cold water or cold gas (forced cooling) [0017]. WANG does not teach processing a plurality of rolls concurrently using one or more components for receiving and feeding material rolls. However, generally the duplication of parts is considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.04.VI. B. In this instance a duplication of parts doubles the throughput capacity of the apparatus and benefiting from an economy of scale.
In addition, KIMURA teaches that simultaneous heat treatment of multiple webs using a single heat treatment device is known abstract. The reference further points out that when processing multiple webs, the traveling speed can individually be controlled depending on their compositions to obtain a corresponding total heat treatment [0004]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use multiple unwinders and process multiple rolls in WANG to increase throughput in addition to maintaining the ability to process different types of rolls by individually controlling traveling speed of each roll.
Regarding claims 18-19,
WANG teaches that valves 107A and 107B are only opened to introduce inert or reaction gas if the annealing/reaction is not to be conducted under a vacuum [0018] (implicitly teaching the chambers S1, M1, M2, and S2 are vacuum). According to applicant, reducing atmospheres include vacuums and inert gases, specification [0091] and present claim 19. In addition, the examiner notes that the apparatus claim is limited to the structures and not the intended use. The same valves that supply inert gas would be capable of supplying a reducing gas and therefore are a structure that meets the claim limitation. Likewise, the valves can be opened and closed to only flow inert/reducing gas in the first chamber while drawing a vacuum on the remaining chambers.
Regarding claims 20-21,
WANG teaches a heat treatment zone S1 in addition to modular buffer sections M1 and M2 that help with thermal control [0017] (plurality of temperature zones at different temperatures).
Regarding claims 22 and 25,
WANG teaches a cooling zone S2 includes cooling elements with cold water or cold gas (forced cooling) [0017].
Regarding claim 23,
As noted above, chamber S2 is located within the chamber connected to valves 107A and 107B. Accordingly, the cooling chamber is located within a vacuum or can be provided with inert or reducing gas through the valves.
Regarding claim 24,
WANG teaches the cooling elements 103 are controlled by thermocouples 104, [0017]. Accordingly, the cooling can be controlled to satisfy “a particular cooling criteria”.
Regarding claim 27,
WANG teaches the apparatus includes an unwinding chamber that receives a substrate roll that is then fed through a heating section S1 and a cooling section S2 [0017] (cooling is after heating).
Regarding claim 28,
WANG teaches the substrate transports over 10 meters [0023]. The reference does not teach the heat treatment oven as 12-18 meters. Although only a portion of the length of WANG is attributable to the heating the open-ended length of “over 10 meters” allows for an arbitrary length which makes the heating portion also an arbitrary length. Accordingly, the prior art range overlaps the claimed range and is considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Alternatively, the difference in the length of the reactor/heating section of WANG does not change the operation of the prior art device and is prima facie obvious as a change in size/proportion MPEP 2144.04.IV.A.
Regarding claim 29 and 30,
WANG teaches a heat treatment oven that transports over 10 meters [0023] and further teaches speed of the film through the oven can be changed [0007] but does not expressly teach a residence time of the substrate in the oven. The residence time is a result effective variable and set according to reaction time and substrate delivery speed according to WANG [0007]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to configure the system to provide a desired residence time within the claimed range by ordinary experimentation to find workable parameters.
In addition, KIMURA specifically teaches different rolls can be simultaneously processed at different speeds as the situation dictates [0004].
Regarding claim 31,
WANG teaches the entire roll-to-roll process is enclosed in a system that is flushed with inert gas and drawn to a vacuum [0018].
Regarding claims 32 and 33,
WANG teaches the apparatus is further divided into a winding chamber, heating and cooling chamber (S1, M1, M2 and S2), and winding chamber with shutters 111A and 111B (a plurality of at least partially isolated atmosphere chambers), [0018].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712