DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2022/0125637).
With respect to claim 1, Jiang discloses an insertion device 90, as shown in figure 13, comprising a distal portion 91 configured to enclose and protect a thin-film implant 1 during delivery and placement into a surgical site, the distal portion having a bottom half. A support structure 92 is adjacent a proximal end of the thin-film implant device 1, as shown in figure 13.
Jiang discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the distal portion having a top half wherein the top and bottom halves are retractable independently of each other. Jiang discloses an additional embodiment, as shown in figures 17-18, wherein the distal portion includes a top half 82 and a bottom half 81, and the thin-film implant device 1 is placed between the top and bottom halves. The top and bottom halves are retractable independently from one another, as shown in figure 18 and disclosed in paragraphs [0122-0124]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end of Jiang to include a top half that is retractable independently of the bottom half, as taught by Jiang, to achieve the predictable result of maintaining stability of the implant and keeping the implant flat and without wrinkles at the surgical site.
With respect to claim 2, the insertion device 90 further comprises a handle portion 93, as shown in figure 13.
With respect to claim 4, modified Jiang fails to disclose the handle portion includes a component to retract the top half, the component including at least one of a lever, a button, a switch, and a slider. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the handle portion of Jiang with a lever, a button, a switch, and a slider to achieve the predictable result of allowing the user to have more control over the movement of the insertion device.
With respect to claim 5, modified Jiang fails to disclose the handle portion includes two levers to control retraction of the top and bottom halves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the handle portion of Jiang with two levers to achieve the predictable result of allowing the user to have more control over the movement of the insertion device.
With respect to claim 8, a bottom outer surface of the insertion device 90 is configured to have a shape to match curvature of the surgical site, as shown in figure 14B.
With respect to claim 10, modified Jiang fails to disclose the distal portion of the insertion device being made of transparent materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the distal portion of the insertion device of Jiang from transparent materials to achieve the predictable result of allowing more precise and accurate placement of the implant.
With respect to claim 12, a tip of the distal portion 91 is sloped, as shown in figure 13, and therefore is beveled to facilitate penetration of tissues into the surgical site, as shown in figure 14A.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2022/0125637; herein after “Jiang ‘637”) in view of Jiang et al. (WO 2022/212851; herein after “Jiang ‘851”).
With respect to claim 3, Jiang ‘637 discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a marker configured to indicate an insertion depth of the insertion device. Jiang ‘851 teaches providing a marker 2, as shown in figure 12, to indicate an insertion depth into a surgical site, as disclosed in paragraph [0127]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a maker to indicate an insertion depth of the insertion device of Jiang ‘637, as taught by Jiang ‘851, to achieve the predictable result of improving the accuracy and precision of the placement of the implant.
With respect to claim 7, Jiang ‘637 discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the thin-film implant device including a plurality of lateral notches along at least a portion of the perimeter. Jiang ‘851 teaches providing notches 610 along at least a portion of the perimeter of a thin-film implant device 200, as shown in figure 6, to facilitate proper installation and placement of the device within a patient’s eye, as disclosed in paragraph [0106]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thin-film implant device of Jiang ‘637 with a plurality of lateral notches along at least a portion of the perimeter, as taught by Jiang ‘851, to facilitate proper installation and placement of the device.
With respect to claim 9, Jiang ‘637 discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the thin-film implant device including micro-barbs. Jiang ‘851 teaches providing a thin-film implant device with barbs for receiving a suture attachment to a patient’s tissue, as disclosed in paragraph [0131]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thin-film implant device of Jiang ‘637 with a micro-barb, as taught by Jiang ‘851, to provide for a more secure attachment of the device to a patient’s tissue.
With respect to claim 11, Jiang ‘637 discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the thin-film implant device having a visual marker at one end to indicate a proper depth of insertion. Jiang ‘851 teaches providing the thin-film implant device with a marker 2, as shown in figure 12, to indicate an insertion depth into a surgical site, as disclosed in paragraph [0127]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thin-film implant device of Jiang ‘637 with a maker to indicate an insertion depth, as taught by Jiang ‘851, to achieve the predictable result of improving the accuracy and precision of the placement of the implant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 6, the closest prior art of record, Jiang ‘637, does not disclose the support structure being configured to prevent axial and lateral movements of the thin-film implant device after implantation. With respect to claims 13-15, the closest prior art of record, Jiang ‘637, does not disclose a selected section of the distal portion of the insertion device comprising a plurality of notches on an outer surface of at least one of the top half and the bottom half. With respect to claim 17, the closest prior art of record, Jiang ‘637, does not disclose a lumen on an outer or inner surface of the insertion device to accommodate a guidewire. The prior art of record therefore does not disclose nor fairly suggest the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patents and Publications 12,551,374; 10,123,905; 7,985,197; and 2008/0306429 disclose insertion devices for ocular implants.
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781