DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: an amendment filed on 04/12/2026.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 04/12/2026 with respect to prior art rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2,4,5,6,7,8,11,12,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kawasaki et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2012/0062704 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawasaki et al. discloses an accessory apparatus ( Para 31; twin-lens 3-D image pickup apparatus) comprising:
a first optical system including a first optical element (Para 40; a right-side lens optical system 121R and a left-side lens optical system 121L are provided in the lens portion 120 in parallel) ;
a second optical system including a second optical element (Para 40; a right-side lens optical system 121R and a left-side lens optical system 121L are provided in the lens portion 120 in parallel ) ;
a drive unit configured to move at least one of the first and second optical elements (Para 52-54; The zoom drive circuit 305 drives the left-side optical system zoom actuator 308L and the right-side optical system zoom actuator 308R based on the control information. The focus drive circuit 306 drives the left-side optical system focus actuator 309L and the right-side optical system focus actuator 309R based on the control information ) ; and
a processor configured to drive the drive unit to move both of the first and second
optical elements in a first mode (Para 52-54; CPU ; the control circuit 304 executes predetermined operational processing related to a zoom adjustment based on the detection information of the rotary encoder 301 corresponding to the zoom adjustment to obtain a control amount, and supplies control information corresponding to the control amount to the zoom drive circuit 305.
[0053] The zoom drive circuit 305 drives the left-side optical system zoom actuator 308L and the right-side optical system zoom actuator 308R based on the control information. Accordingly, zoom adjustments of the left-side optical system and the right-side optical system are carried out. focus adjustments of the left-side optical system and the right-side optical system are carried out) , and move one of the first and second optical elements relative to the other to correct focus misalignment of the first and second optical systems in a second mode ( Para 90; lens adjustment mode; it is difficult to take a 3-D video favorably if lateral and longitudinal positions of left- and right-side lenses (right-side lens optical system 121R and left-side lens optical system 121L) are not correct at the time the video is taken. However, the positions may move when an impact or the like is applied to the left- and right-side lenses. In this regard, in the 3-D image pickup apparatus, a mechanism capable of separately adjusting the positions of the left- and right-side lenses is provided. The lens adjustment is made by operating the switch provided on the main body portion 110A to put the mode to a lens adjustment mode and, operating the rings of the adjustment ring 200A while looking at a lens adjustment screen displayed on the display panel of the view finder 150A ) ,
wherein optical axes of the first and second optical systems are configured to
form two image circles on a single image sensor (Para 31; The twin-lens 3-D image pickup apparatus converts left- and right-side images of an object taken in via left- and right-side lenses into electric signals using an image pickup device).
Regarding claim 2, Kawasaki et al. discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the drive unit includes a first drive unit (Para 51; Fig 13; one of the a zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307 that drives both optical system) and a second drive unit (Para 90; a mechanism capable of separately adjusting the positions of the left- and right-side lenses is provided.) , the first drive unit being configured to simultaneously move both of the first and second optical elements (Para 51; Fig 13; one of the a zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307 that drives both optical system), the second drive unit being configured to move one of the first and second optical elements, and wherein the processor drives the first drive unit in the first mode (Para 51-54; normal mode; wherein the zoom drive circuit, focus drive circuit and convergence drive circuit can drive both lens) and drives the second drive unit in the second mode (Para 90; lens adjustment mode wherein there is a mechanism separately adjusting the position of the lens system).
Regarding claim 4, Kawasaki et al. discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Fig. 13; Para 39; a control circuit such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit)) sets a mode of the accessory apparatus (Para 90; The lens adjustment is made by operating the switch provided on the main body portion 110A to put the mode to a lens adjustment mode and, operating the rings of the adjustment ring 200A while looking at a lens adjustment screen displayed on the display panel of the view finder 150A).
Regarding claim 5, Kawasaki et al. discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising an operation unit configured to receive setting of the mode (Para 90-93; the 3-D image pickup apparatus 100A is put to the lens adjustment mode when a lens adjustment button 140A and a shift button 141A provided at a position that can be reached with a finger of one hand operating the lens adjustment button 140A shown in FIG. 14 are pressed at the same time), wherein the processor sets the mode in accordance with the mode setting received by the operation unit ( Para 52,53, 90-93;The control circuit 304 executes predetermined operational processing related to a zoom adjustment based on the detection information of the rotary encoder 301 corresponding to the zoom adjustment to obtain a control amount, and supplies control information corresponding to the control amount to the zoom drive circuit 305. the control circuit 304 executes predetermined operational processing related to a focus adjustment based on the detection information of the rotary encoder 302 corresponding to the focus adjustment to obtain a control amount, and supplies control information corresponding to the control amount to the focus drive circuit 306.).
Regarding claim 6, Kawasaki et al. discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor acquires information related to the mode setting from the image pickup apparatus and sets the mode in accordance with the information ( Para 52-54, 90-93; Rotational information of the zoom ring 210, the focus ring 220, and the convergence ring 230 that are independently rotated in the adjustment ring 200 is detected by the rotary encoders 301, 302, and 303 respectively corresponding to the rings. Detection information of the rotary encoders 301, 302, and 303 is transmitted to the control circuit 304 such as a CPU. The control circuit 304 executes predetermined operational processing related to a zoom adjustment based on the detection information of the rotary encoder 301 corresponding to the zoom adjustment to obtain a control amount, and supplies control information corresponding to the control amount to the zoom drive circuit 305.) .
Regarding claim 7, Kawasaki et al. discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor sets the mode to the first mode at activation of the accessory apparatus ( Para 52-54; Rotational information of the zoom ring 210, the focus ring 220, and the convergence ring 230 that are independently rotated in the adjustment ring 200 is detected by the rotary encoders 301, 302, and 303 respectively corresponding to the rings. Detection information of the rotary encoders 301, 302, and 303 is transmitted to the control circuit 304 such as a CPU. The control circuit 304 executes predetermined operational processing related to a zoom adjustment based on the detection information of the rotary encoder 301 corresponding to the zoom adjustment to obtain a control amount, and supplies control information corresponding to the control amount to the zoom drive circuit 305, the zoom ring 210, the focus ring 220, and the convergence ring 230 are combined coaxially and integrated as the adjustment ring 200. With this structure, the user can smoothly change the adjustment target among the zoom, focus; and convergence just by slightly moving a hand. ).
Regarding claim 8, Kawasaki et al. discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor sets the mode when the drive unit is stopped (Para 52; wherein the rotation of the rings stopped, the detection information can be transmitted to the control circuit to perform adjustment of the lens in the normal mode. Para 90-93; the 3-D image pickup apparatus 100A is put to the lens adjustment mode when a lens adjustment button 140A and a shift button 141A provided at a position that can be reached with a finger of one hand operating the lens adjustment button 140A shown in FIG. 14 are pressed at the same time. When the buttons pressing are done, the mode is set as the lens adjustment mode).
Regarding claim 11, Kawasaki et al. discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an operation member that is operated by a user, wherein the processor drives the drive unit in accordance with an operation on the operation member in the first and second modes ( Para 90-93; the 3-D image pickup apparatus 100A is put to the lens adjustment mode when a lens adjustment button 140A and a shift button 141A provided at a position that can be reached with a finger of one hand operating the lens adjustment button 140A shown in FIG. 14 are pressed at the same time. a mechanism capable of separately adjusting the positions of the left- and right-side lenses is provided.).
Regarding claim 12, Kawasaki et al The accessory apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units (Fig. 13; Para 51; zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307), and
wherein when having detected an anomaly of any drive unit that can be driven in
a currently set mode among the plurality of drive units, the processor performs processing to recover from the anomaly (Para 90; The positions may move when an impact or the like is applied to the left- and right-side lenses. In this regard, in the 3-D image pickup apparatus, a mechanism capable of separately adjusting the positions of the left- and right-side lenses is provided. The lens adjustment is made by operating the switch provided on the main body portion 110A to put the mode to a lens adjustment mode and, operating the rings of the adjustment ring 200A while looking at a lens adjustment screen displayed on the display panel of the view finder 150A).
Regarding claim 15, Kawasaki et al. discloses an imaging system comprising:
the accessary according to claim 1 (Please see claim 1 prior art rejection above), and an image pickup apparatus (Para 31; CCD (Charge Coupled Device), a CMOS (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor), or the like is used.).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 3, 9, 10,13,14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Kawasaki et al discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the drive unit includes a first drive unit (Para 51; Fig 13; one of the a zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307 that drives both optical system) and a second drive unit (Para 90; a mechanism capable of separately adjusting the positions of the left- and right-side lenses is provided.), the first drive unit being configured to move the first optical element (Para 51; Fig 13; one of the a zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307 that drives both optical system), the second drive unit being configured to move the second optical element (Para 90; a mechanism capable of separately adjusting the positions of the left- and right-side lenses is provided).
However, the prior art does not disclose “ the processor drives the first and second drive units in the first mode and drives one of the first and second drive units in the second mode” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Kawasaki et al discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units (Fig. 13; Para 51; zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307).
However, the prior art does not disclose wherein the processor sets the mode when reset processing of any drive unit that can be driven in a currently set mode among the plurality of drive units is completed.
Regarding claim 10, Kawasaki et al discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units (Fig. 13; Para 51; zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307).
However, the prior art does not disclose wherein the processor sets the mode to the first mode when having received, from the image pickup apparatus in the second mode, a command for reset processing of any drive unit that can be driven in the first mode among the plurality of drive units.
Regarding claim 13, Kawasaki et al discloses The accessory apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units (Fig. 13; Para 51; zoom drive circuit 305, a focus drive circuit 306, a convergence drive circuit 307).
However, the prior art does not disclose “wherein when having detected an anomaly of a drive unit different from any drive unit that can be driven in a currently set mode among the plurality of drive units, the processor does not perform processing to recover the anomaly of the drive unit where the anomaly is detected” in combination of other limitation in its claim.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent from claim 13.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637