DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) documents submitted on October 28,2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8, 9,10,11,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Furuya (US Pub. No.: US 2008/0025712 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Furuya discloses an accessory apparatus (Para 39; digital camera) comprising:
a first optical system including a first optical element (Para 39-40; a first imaging optical system 100; The first imaging optical system 100 comprises a first zoom lens (or a first group of zoom lenses) 102; a first focus lens (or a first group of focus lenses) 104; a first aperture-and-shutter 106; and a first image sensor 108);
a second optical system including a second optical element (Para 39-41; second imaging optical system 200; The second imaging optical system 200 comprises a second zoom lens (or a second group of zoom lenses) 202; a second focus lens (or a second group of focus lenses) 204; a second aperture-and-shutter 206; and a second image sensor 208.);
a drive unit configured to move at least one of the first and second
optical elements (Para 40,41; The first zoom lens 102 is driven in the direction of an optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 112; the first focus lens 104 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a focus control motor 114; and the first aperture-and-shutter 106 is driven by an aperture-and-shutter control motor 116. The motors 112, 114, and 116 are controlled by a motor control circuit 330; The second zoom lens 202 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 216; the second focus lens 204 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a focus control motor 214; and the second aperture-and-shutter 206 is driven by an aperture-and-shutter control motor 212. The motors 212, 214, and 216 are controlled by the motor control circuit 330.); and
a processor (Para 42; The central control circuit (CPU) 300) configured to drive the drive unit to move both of the first and second optical elements in a first mode (Para 44,45; Para 60; the mode can be in synchronous mode / simultaneous mode. A synchronous mode in which the first imaging optical system and the second imaging optical system are driven as if they were a single imaging optical system (hereinafter called a "basic drive mode"). When the current zoom drive mode is the simultaneous drive mode, the first zoom lens 102 of the first imaging optical system 100 is actuated in response to actuation of the zoom button 16 (S602), and the second zoom lens 202 of the second imaging optical system 200 is actuated (S603). The first zoom lens 102 is actuated by the first zoom drive motor 112, and the second zoom lens 202 is actuated by the second zoom drive motor 216 ) and move one of the first and second optical elements in a second mode ( Para 48, 60; when the current zoom drive mode is the basic drive mode or the individual drive mode, the currently-selected optical system is determined (S604), and the zoom lens of the optical system is actuated (S605, S606); Fig. 8; wherein An individual mode in which either the first imaging optical system or the second imaging optical system is individually driven. Wherein the individual mode is considered to be the second mode),
wherein optical axes of the first and second optical systems do not coincide with each other (Para 58; The wide image 14A acquired by the first imaging optical system 100 and the telephotographic image 14B acquired by the second imaging optical system 200 are displayed side by side on the LCD 14. Wherein the telephotographic image is a fragmentary enlarged image ; each optical system has its own independent optical axis as shown in Figure 1.).
Regarding claim 2, Furuya discloses wherein the drive unit includes a first drive unit (Para 40,41; zoom control motor 112 and zoom control motor 216) and a second drive unit ( Para 40, 41; any motor of zoom control motor 112 and zoom control motor 216) , the first drive unit being configured to simultaneously move both of the first
and second optical elements (Para 40-41,46; A simultaneous mode in which the first imaging optical system and the second imaging optical system are simultaneously driven. The first zoom lens 102 is driven in the direction of an optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 112 . The second zoom lens 202 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 216) , the second drive unit being configured to move one of the first and second optical elements ( Para 40,41,48; either the first imaging optical system or the second imaging optical system is individually driven in individual mode) , and wherein the processor drives the first drive unit in the first mode and drives the second drive unit in the second mode (Para 40- 51; Fig. 3; The central control circuit 300 acquires the button status of the button operation circuit 340 (S100), and determines the thus-acquired button status to thus switch processing (S200). Specifically, when the button is not newly operated, an image corresponding to the current setting is displayed (S500). Meanwhile, when the button is actuated and the thus-actuated button is for switching the zoom mode of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to processing for switching the zoom mode (S300). In this processing, any one of the synchronous mode, the simultaneous mode, and the individual mode is selectively set).
Regarding claim 3, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the drive unit includes a first drive unit and a second drive
Unit ( Para 40-41; The first imaging optical system 100 comprises a first zoom lens (or a first group of zoom lenses) 102; a first focus lens (or a first group of focus lenses) 104; a first aperture-and-shutter 106; and a first image sensor 108. The second imaging optical system 200 comprises a second zoom lens (or a second group of zoom lenses) 202; a second focus lens (or a second group of focus lenses) 204; a second aperture-and-shutter 206; and a second image sensor 208); The first zoom lens 102 is driven in the direction of an optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 112; the first focus lens 104 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a focus control motor 114; and the first aperture-and-shutter 106 is driven by an aperture-and-shutter control motor 116. The second zoom lens 202 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 216; the second focus lens 204 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a focus control motor 214; and the second aperture-and-shutter 206 is driven by an aperture-and-shutter control motor 212.) ,
the first drive unit being configured to move the first optical element (Para 40-41; The first zoom lens 102 is driven in the direction of an optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 112; the first focus lens 104 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a focus control motor 114; and the first aperture-and-shutter 106 is driven by an aperture-and-shutter control motor 116. The motors 112, 114, and 116 are controlled by a motor control circuit 330),
the second drive unit being configured to move the second optical element (Para 40-41; The second zoom lens 202 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a zoom control motor 216; the second focus lens 204 is driven in the direction of the optical axis by means of a focus control motor 214; and the second aperture-and-shutter 206 is driven by an aperture-and-shutter control motor 212),
and wherein the processor drives the first and second drive units in the
first mode (Para 42,45-46; A simultaneous mode in which the first imaging optical system and the second imaging optical system are simultaneously driven.) and drives one of the first and second drive units in the second mode ( Para 40-42; 45-46,48; . Operation of the central control circuit 300 is determined by a command signal issued by a button operation circuit 340. The button operation circuit 340 is formed from a plurality of user-operational buttons. The user selectively determines whether to bring the first imaging optical system 100 or the second imaging optical system 200 into an operating state; An individual mode in which either the first imaging optical system or the second imaging optical system is individually driven.).
Regarding claim 4, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor sets a mode of the accessory apparatus (Fig.3; Para 51; The central control circuit 300 acquires the button status of the button operation circuit 340 (S100), and determines the thus-acquired button status to thus switch processing (S200). Moreover, when the actuated button is an OK button of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to individual/synchronous imaging switching (S400)).
Regarding claim 5, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising an operation unit configured to receive setting of the mode, wherein the processor sets the mode in accordance with the mode setting received by the operation unit ( Para 51; Fig. 3; The central control circuit 300 acquires the button status of the button operation circuit 340 (S100), and determines the thus-acquired button status to thus switch processing (S200). Specifically, when the button is not newly operated, an image corresponding to the current setting is displayed (S500). Meanwhile, when the button is actuated and the thus-actuated button is for switching the zoom mode of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to processing for switching the zoom mode (S300). In this processing, any one of the synchronous mode, the simultaneous mode, and the individual mode is selectively set.).
Regarding claim 6, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor acquires information related to the mode setting from the image pickup apparatus and sets the mode in accordance with the information ( Para 43-51; wherein the four-way key 20 is a component of the button operation circuit 340 shown in FIG. 1; and enables four settings; namely, a zoom mode setting, a menu display, a strobe setting, and a close-up mode setting. Particularly, in the zoom mode setting, any one of the following is selectively set. (1) A synchronous mode in which the first imaging optical system and the second imaging optical system are driven as if they were a single imaging optical system (hereinafter called a "basic drive mode").
(2) A simultaneous mode in which the first imaging optical system and the second imaging optical system are simultaneously driven. (3) An individual mode in which either the first imaging optical system or the second imaging optical system is individually driven. Para 51; The central control circuit 300 acquires the button status of the button operation circuit 340 (S100), and determines the thus-acquired button status to thus switch processing (S200). Specifically, when the button is not newly operated, an image corresponding to the current setting is displayed (S500). Meanwhile, when the button is actuated and the thus-actuated button is for switching the zoom mode of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to processing for switching the zoom mode (S300). In this processing, any one of the synchronous mode, the simultaneous mode, and the individual mode is selectively set. Moreover, when the actuated button is an OK button of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to individual/synchronous imaging switching (S400) ).
Regarding claim 7, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor sets the mode to the first mode at activation of the accessory apparatus (Para 50-51; Fig. 3; Meanwhile, when the button is actuated and the thus-actuated button is for switching the zoom mode of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to processing for switching the zoom mode (S300). In this processing, any one of the synchronous mode, the simultaneous mode, and the individual mode is selectively set. Moreover, when the actuated button is an OK button of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to individual/synchronous imaging switching (S400).).
Regarding claim 8, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor sets the mode when the drive unit is stopped (Para 50-51; Fig. 3; Meanwhile, when the button is actuated and the thus-actuated button is for switching the zoom mode of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to processing for switching the zoom mode (S300). In this processing, any one of the synchronous mode, the simultaneous mode, and the individual mode is selectively set. Moreover, when the actuated button is an OK button of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to individual/synchronous imaging switching (S400). The zoom mode can be switched from one mode to another mode; therefore , the user can operate the camera to change zoom mode to another zoom mode any time including when one mode of zoom operation is completed/lens stopped moving).
Regarding claim 9, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units ( Para 40, 41; The motors 112, 114, and 116 of the first imaging optical system, the motors 212, 214, and 216 of the second imaging optical system) , and wherein the processor sets the mode when reset processing of any drive unit that can be driven in a currently set mode among the plurality of drive units is completed ( Para 52; Every time depressing action is performed, the drive mode cyclically changes in sequence of the basic drive mode, the simultaneous drive mode, and the individual drive mode.).
Regarding claim 10, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units (Para 40, 41; The motors 112, 114, and 116 of the first imaging optical system, the motors 212, 214, and 216 of the second imaging optical system ) , and
wherein the processor sets the mode to the first mode when having received, from the image pickup apparatus in the second mode, a command for reset processing of any drive unit that can be driven in the first mode among the plurality of drive units (Para 52-55; When the current zoom drive mode is not the basic drive mode, a determination is made as to whether or not the zoom drive mode is an individual drive mode (S403) (wherein the individual drive mode is considered to be the second mode). When the current zoom drive mode is the individual drive mode, the imaging variable is set to simultaneous imaging, and simultaneous imaging is performed (S404). The image mode can be reset to simultaneous mode (wherein both optical system moves)).
Regarding claim 11, Furuya discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an operation member (Para 50; The central control circuit 300 processes the image signal in the mode selected by the four-way key 20 ) that is operated by a user, wherein the processor drives the drive unit in accordance with an operation on the operation member in the first and second modes (Para 50-51; Fig. 3; when the button is actuated and the thus-actuated button is for switching the zoom mode of the four-way key 20, processing proceeds to processing for switching the zoom mode (S300). In this processing, any one of the synchronous mode, the simultaneous mode, and the individual mode is selectively set).
Regarding claim 15, Furuya discloses an imaging system ( Para 2; imaging apparatus having multiple optical systems ) comprising:
the accessary according to claim 1 (Please refer to claim 1 rejection above), and
an image pickup apparatus ( Para 39-40; digital camera with image sensors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya (US Pub. No.: US 2008/0025712 A1), in view of Song et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0360714 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Furuya discloses wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units (Para 40, 41; The motors 112, 114, and 116 of the first imaging optical system, the motors 212, 214, and 216 of the second imaging optical system ).
However, Furuya does not disclose wherein when having detected an anomaly of any drive unit that can be driven in a currently set mode among the plurality of drive units, the processor performs processing to recover from the anomaly.
Song et al. discloses wherein when having detected an anomaly of any drive unit that can be driven in a currently set mode among the plurality of drive units (Para 4; 92; correction for shaking of an optical module and/or focus adjustment; shaking of the electronic device maybe detected) , the processor performs processing to recover from the anomaly (Para 88-93; the lens actuator 314 mentioned in the description for FIG. 4 may be a shift-type optical image stabilizer (lens shift optical image stabilizer). This type of stabilizer corrects shaking by linearly moving the lens assembly (e.g., the lens assembly 210 in FIG. 2) on plane parallel to a focal plane of the image sensor 310. the electronic device 101 may control the lens actuator 314 (e.g., the image stabilizer 240 in FIG. 2) within a determined movement angle range using a processor (e.g., the image signal processor 260, the control module 302, and/or the processor 120) so as to move the camera 180 so that the optical 511 and the virtual axis 512 match with each other.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furuya with the teaching of Song et al. to detect abnormal /shaking condition of the camera that may cause image blur and utilize image stabilizer to correct images to improve image quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 13,14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, prior art Furuya (US Pub. No.: US 2008/0025712 A1) discloses wherein the drive unit includes a plurality of drive units (Para 40, 41; The motors 112, 114, and 116 of the first imaging optical system, the motors 212, 214, and 216 of the second imaging optical system).
However, the prior art does not disclose “wherein when having detected an anomaly of a drive unit different from any drive unit that can be driven in a currently set mode among the plurality of drive units, the processor does not perform processing to recover the anomaly of the drive unit where the anomaly is detected” in combination of other limitation in its claim.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent from claim 13.
Conclusion
/XI WANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637