DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-18 are presented for examination. Claims 2 and 11 are canceled.
Specification
3. The objection of the specification is withdrawn in view of applicant's amendments/remarks.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s argument filed on 04/06/2026 with respect claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID) based on a number of uplink slots per frame." As recited in claim 1 and 10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that Noh et al. (US 2018/0270799) in paragraphs [0396]- [398], [0425] teaches the such limitation. For example, in this embodiment, a method for configuring a retransmission identifier (hereinafter referred to as HARQ process ID) for uplink signal transmission according to time is proposed. The terminal can determine the HARQ process ID for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme according to the HARQ process ID configuration over the time proposed in the present embodiment. If the uplink transmission configuration information received on the downlink control channel from the base station or the uplink transmission determined by the DCI format for the uplink transmission configuration is a retransmission for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme, for example, if the HARQ process ID included in the received uplink transmission configuration information or the DCI format for uplink transmission configuration is the same as the HARQ process ID for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme determined by the terminal according to the present embodiment and the initial transmission or retransmission identifier, for example, a new data indicator (NDI) information is determined as the configuration of the retransmission for the HARQ process ID (for example, when the NDI value is set to be 1), the terminal determines that the received uplink transmission configuration information is the retransmission for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme and retransmit the uplink signal according to the received uplink transmission configuration. See paragraph [0396].
If the HARQ process ID included in the received uplink transmission configuration information or the DCI format for uplink transmission configuration is the same as the HARQ process ID for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme determined by the terminal according to the present embodiment and the initial transmission or retransmission identifier, for example, it is determined that the new data indicator (NDI) information configures the initial transmission for the HARQ process ID (e.g., when the NDI value is set to be 0), the terminal determines that the base station correctly receives the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme through the received uplink transmission configuration information and delete the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme from a buffer, an HARQ soft buffer or the like. If the terminal has a signal to be transmitted to the base station through the uplink, the terminal can transmit the uplink signal according to the received uplink transmission configuration information. If the terminal does not have a signal to be transmitted to the base station through the uplink, the terminal cannot transmit the uplink signal according to the received uplink transmission configuration information. Even if the terminal does not have a signal to be transmitted to the base station through the uplink, the terminal can transmit the uplink signal, for example, buffer status report (BSR) information or the like according to the received uplink transmission configuration information. See paragraph [0397].
The base station and the terminal can determine the HARQ process ID by Equation having as a factor at least one of a system frame number (SFN), a number N of uplink transmission slots in which an uplink signal transmission according to a second uplink transmission scheme is set in a predetermined interval (M slots) M), an index n (n is an integer ranging from 0 to N−1) of an uplink transmission slot in which an uplink signal transmission according to the second uplink transmission scheme is set, an absolute value (or slot number) of the uplink transmission slot in which an uplink signal transmission according to the second uplink transmission scheme is set, or the total number (K) of the uplink HARQ process IDs. See paragraph [0398].
Here, N′ and L′ represent the time and the number of frequency resources that are set to enable initial transmission during the transmission of the second uplink signal in the interval, and i′ represents an index of a slot set to enable initial transmission during the transmission of the second uplink signal in the interval. If the uplink transmission slot or the downlink transmission slot can be changed every slot as described above, the HARQ process ID for the uplink transmission resource according to the second uplink transmission scheme for each slot or within the slot is determined using the above Equation or the like, and the predetermined HARQ process ID for the resource in which the uplink initial signal transmission according to the second uplink transmission scheme is performed can be determined as the HARQ process ID for the uplink initial signal transmission according to the second uplink transmission scheme. See paragraph [0425].
Also, applicant contends that the cited references fail to teaches or suggest the limitation of “wherein the number of uplink slots per frame is determined based on a number of known downlink slots per frame.” As recited in claim 1 and 10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that Noh et al. (US 2018/0270799) in paragraphs [0127], [0396], [0398] teaches the such limitation. For example, in the disclosure, higher signaling is a method for transmitting a signal from a base station to a terminal using a downlink data channel of a physical layer or from a terminal to a base station using an uplink data channel of a physical layer. See paragraph [0127].
In this embodiment, a method for configuring a retransmission identifier (hereinafter referred to as HARQ process ID) for uplink signal transmission according to time is proposed. The terminal can determine the HARQ process ID for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme according to the HARQ process ID configuration over the time proposed in the present embodiment. If the uplink transmission configuration information received on the downlink control channel from the base station or the uplink transmission determined by the DCI format for the uplink transmission configuration is a retransmission for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme, for example, if the HARQ process ID included in the received uplink transmission configuration information or the DCI format for uplink transmission configuration is the same as the HARQ process ID for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme determined by the terminal according to the present embodiment and the initial transmission or retransmission identifier, for example, a new data indicator (NDI) information is determined as the configuration of the retransmission for the HARQ process ID (for example, when the NDI value is set to be 1), the terminal determines that the received uplink transmission configuration information is the retransmission for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme and retransmit the uplink signal according to the received uplink transmission configuration. See paragraph [0396].
As been seen above, it’s clear that Noh teaches or discloses determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID) based on a number of uplink slots per frame; and wherein the number of uplink slots per frame is determined based on a number of known downlink slots per frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3-8, 10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 2018/0270799) "herein after as Noh" in view of Al-Imari (US 2020/0099477).
As per claims 1 and 10:
Noh substantially teaches or discloses a method for use in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (see (see abstract; paragraph [0016], herein a terminal for receiving a DMRS in a communication system is provided. The terminal includes a transceiver and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to control the transceiver to receive DMRS configuration information from a base station; paragraph [0064]; and Figs. 5A & 31): receiving configuration information including information regarding configured grant (CG) uplink resources (see abstract, and paragraph [0379], herein the terminal receives the uplink transmission configuration information or the uplink scheduling grant information or the uplink grant which is transmitted on the downlink control channel (e.g., PDCCH) transmitted from the base station, and the scheme of transmitting the uplink information (e.g., uplink data channel (PUSCH)) according to the received uplink transmission configuration information refers to a first uplink transmission scheme or a grant-based uplink transmission scheme); determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID) based on a number of uplink slots per frame (see paragraph [0396]; herein the terminal can determine the HARQ process ID for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme according to the HARQ process ID configuration over the time proposed in the present embodiment; paragraph [397]- [0398], [0425]; and Fig. 27), wherein the number of uplink slots per frame is determined based on a number of known downlink slots per frame (see paragraph [0127], herein transmitting a signal from a base station to a terminal using a downlink data channel of a physical layer; paragraph [0396], herein If the uplink transmission configuration information received on the downlink control channel from the base station or the uplink transmission determined by the DCI format for the uplink transmission configuration is a retransmission for the uplink signal transmitted according to the second uplink transmission scheme; paragraphs [0398], [0408]; and Fig. 27). Noh does not explicitly teach transmitting an uplink transmission using the determined HARQ process ID and the CG uplink resources. However, Al-Imari in the same the field of endeavor teaches transmitting an uplink transmission using the determined HARQ process ID and the CG uplink resources (see paragraph [0030], herein the network node may send an uplink DCI to the UE with the HARQ process ID for the corresponding uplink configured-grant transmission (e.g., the HARQ process ID of the uplink configured-grant transmission the network node wants to ACK/NACK) and the UL-SCH indicator, and paragraph [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Noh with the teachings of Al-Imari by transmitting an uplink transmission using the determined HARQ process ID and the CG uplink resources. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the transmitting an uplink transmission using the determined HARQ process ID and the CG uplink resources would have improved the transmission latency (see paragraph [0005] of Al-Imari).
As per claims 3 and 12:
Noh teaches that wherein the number of known downlink slots per frame are included in the received configuration information (see paragraph [0014], herein receiving downlink control information (DCI) for downlink data, and receiving the downlink data and the DMRS based on the DMRS configuration information).
As per claims 4 and 13:
Noh teaches that wherein the number of known downlink slots per frame are included in first indication information received by the WTRU (see paragraph [0369], herein among the signals transmitted from the base station to the terminal a signal expecting a response from terminal may be a first signal; and Fig. 2 [examiner notes: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the signals from the base station to the terminal are downlink signals]).
As per claims 5 and 14:
Noh teaches that wherein the number of known downlink slots per frame are determined by the WTRU (see paragraph [0010], herein transmitting downlink control information (DCI) for downlink data, and transmitting the downlink data and the DMRS based on the DMRS configuration information; and Fig. 2).
As per claims 6 and 15:
Noh teaches that wherein the number of uplink slots per frame is determined based on a number of past downlink slots per frame (see paragraph [0358], herein the uplink/downlink timing relationship between the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) as the physical channel for the uplink data transmission and the PDCCH as the downlink control channel preceding the PUSCH and a physical hybrid indicator channel (PHICH) as the physical channel to which a downlink HARQ ACK/NACK corresponding to the PUSCH is transmitted; paragraph [0408]; and Fig. 2 [examiner notes: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the uplink slots determined based on a number of past downlink slots since the downlink data have been transmitted before uplink data]).
As per claims 7 and 16:
Noh teaches that wherein the number of past downlink slots per frame are included in semi-static configuration information received by the WTRU (see paragraph [ 0242], herein the configuration of the DMRS structure may be established semi-statically or dynamically. The simplest method for semi-statically configuring the DMRS structure is a method for configuring the DMRS structure through the high layer signaling; and paragraph [0243]).
As per claims 8 and 17:
Noh teaches that wherein the number of past downlink slots per frame are included in second indication information received by the WTRU (see paragraph [0349], herein the downlink data may be transmitted on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is a physical channel for downlink data transmission; paragraph [0358]; and Fig. 2).
6. Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 2018/0270799) "herein after as Noh" in view of Al-Imari (US 2020/0099477) in further view of Yang et a. (US 2020/0178353 A1) “herein after Yang.”
As per claims 9 and 18:
Noh-Al-Imari as combined does not teach that receiving a slot format indicator (SFI); and adjusting the number of uplink slots per frame based on the SFI. However, Yang in the same the field of endeavor teaches receiving a slot format indicator (SFI) (see paragraph [0021], herein receiving slot format indicator (SFI) adjustment signaling and adjusting a format of a slot based on an SFI adjustment signaling); and adjusting the number of uplink slots per frame based on the SFI (see paragraph [00322], herein adjusts the downlink slot to the uplink slot based on the SFI adjustment signaling ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Noh with the teachings of Al-Imari by receiving a slot format indicator (SFI); and adjusting the number of uplink slots per frame based on the SFI. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the receiving a slot format indicator (SFI); and adjusting the number of uplink slots per frame based on the SFI would have improved communication flexibility (see paragraph [0035] of Yang).
Examiner Notes
7. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
8. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL; Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069.
/OSMAN ALSHACK/
Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112