DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 13-17, 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Miwa et al [US 2024/0262376] and Saito et al [US 2024/0116392]
Claim 1. A notification system for issuing a notification urging a user to charge a battery
of an electric vehicle (the driver assistance system provides a notification for a user U to
charge or recharge a battery 7 and for adjusting the speed of electric vehicle 2 by the
notification unit 24, see Fig. 1, abstract, para [0004, 0010, 0031, 0048, 0094, 0128]) the
notification system comprising:
a processor (the first processor 20 and second processor, 40, see Figs. 2, 3, para
[0046, 0059]); and
a non-transitory storage to store a computer program to control an operation of the processor (the first memory 21 and second memory 41, see Fig. 2, para [0047, 0059]); wherein acquire positional information representing a current position of the electric vehicle (the driver assistance computer processor 20 acquires and receiving information about a current position of vehicle 2, see para [0031, 0043, 0046, 0047]), and
battery remaining capacity information representing a battery remaining capacity of the battery (the current remaining charged amount of the battery 7, see para [0031, 0032, 0048]). But
Miwa et al fails to disclose the processor is configured or programmed to execute the
computer program to: acquire first border information representing a first border
between a first area, encompassing a predetermined point where the battery is
chargeable, and an area outward of the first area. However,
Miwa et al teaches when the vehicle stops at an intersection or a road shoulder), in
response to receiving the map request from the terminal device 6, the assistance
server 4 calculates an open road cruising range as the cruising range in a case where
the vehicle 2 travels on an open road and also calculates the expressway cruising
range as the cruising range in a case where the vehicle 2 travels on a nearest
expressway from the current position, in other words, an expressway into which the
vehicle 2 can enter from a nearest entrance. The display example of the open road
reach range and the expressway reach range on the terminal device 6 serving as a
smartphone. An open road reach range 72 is, for example, a range of a closed region
obtained by connecting farthest reachable positions along each travel route based on
the current position (position indicated by a vehicle icon 71) of the vehicle 2. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the open road reach range 72 and the expressway reach range 73 are displayed in a superimposed manner on a map 70, for example, on the terminal device 6 of the vehicle's driver/user (see Figs. 1-3, 8, para [0032, 0034, 0067]).
and Saito et al suggests that upon receiving the automatic search request from the user terminal 5, the management server 4 sets a target area or circular area/border 154 using the current position of an electric vehicle 1 as a reference position (map search). Next, the management server 4 acquires position information on positions of battery stations located within the target area or circular area/border 154, and information about the current charge status of battery packs 2 at each battery station (battery station information acquisition). Then, the management server 4 transmits an automatic search response to the user terminal 5. The response includes a map 151 of the target area and information on battery stations located within the target area or circular area/border 154. (see Figs, 9, 10, para [0149-0152 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or implement the management server sets and inquires the map of circular border with information of the battery stations and current position of an electric vehicle for replacing charged battery of Saito et al to the vehicle with assistance server of Miwa et al for assuring and reliable to indicate of a battery station nearest to the driving electric vehicle inquired to charge its battery, recharging battery and/or replacing a charged battery before the electric vehicle battery is dead and causing the electric vehicle inoperable.
Miwa et al also fails to disclose in a case it is determined that the electric vehicle is inside the first area and that the battery remaining capacity is not larger than a first threshold value based on the first border information, the positional information, and the battery remaining capacity information, issue a first notification via a notifier urging the user to charge the battery. However,
Miwa et al discloses the technique for calculating a reference charged amount required
for an electric vehicle to reach a set destination and providing a user with a notification for prompting the user to charge a battery in a case where the reference charged amount is less than a remaining charged amount of the battery, see para [0004]).
The driver assistance system 1 starts an operation upon triggered by the assistance
server 4 receiving an assistance request from the user U via the terminal device 6. The
assistance server 4 is composed of a computer. Upon receiving the assistance request,
the assistance server 4 collects information about a current position of the vehicle 2, a
current remaining charged amount of the battery 7, which is less than a predetermined threshold, electricity consumption characteristics, and the like from the information provision apparatus 3 mounted on the vehicle 2. In response to receiving a map request from the terminal device 6 while the vehicle 2 stops, the assistance server 4 calculates a cruising range as a distance at which the vehicle 2 can travel with the current remaining charged amount, and calculates a reachable range as a reachable position range within the cruising range from the current position of the vehicle 2. (see abstract, Figs. 1-6, 8, para [0010, 0031, 0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the vehicle
processes to provide a notification indicating a current battery remaining charged
amount less than a predetermined threshold then assisting to adjust the vehicle speed
and selecting of end point or nearest point of the expressway as the combination the map of circular border between Miwa et al and Saito et al to a charging station for
charging or recharging the battery before the battery deletion of charges and to cause
dead of the driving vehicle.
Claim 5. The notification system of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the first border
is spaced away from the predetermined point by a first distance (the border map 70
includes information presentation unit displays an open road reach range 72 and an
expressway reach range 73 such that an end point of the expressway reach range 73 in
a case where the expressway is used is located closer to the current position of the
vehicle 2 than an outer edge of the open road reach range 72 in a case where the open
road is used, see abstract, Fig. 8, para [0017, 0034, 0035, 0083]).
Claim 6. The notification system of claim 5, wherein the first distance is about 50 meters
or longer and about 200 meters or shorter (as cited in respect to claim 5 above, it is
obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the expressway reach range 73 is used
to located closer to the current position of the vehicle 2 than the outer edge or border of
the open road reach range 72, which may be at least 50 meters or longer, see Fig. 8,
para [0034, 0035]).
Claim 7. The notification system of claim 5, wherein the first border defines a circle
centered around the predetermined point on a map (see the shaded border circle 72
having center vehicle 71 and road range end points and/or arrival point on the map 70,
see Fig. 8, see para [0034, 0035, 0087, 0089]).
Claim 9. Miwa et al fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured or programmed
to: acquire second border information representing a second border located along an
outer perimeter of a second area enclosing the first area; and in a case it is determined
that the electric vehicle has passed a position of the second border into an area outward
of the second area from the second area, issue a second notification via the notifier
urging the user to move the electric vehicle to the predetermined point. However,
Miwa et al teaches that the information presentation unit 58 calculates an arrival point
on the expressway where the vehicle 2 can finally reach after entering the nearest
expressway from the current position and traveling on the expressway cruising range
based on the expressway cruising range calculated by the calculation unit 57. A linear
range along the expressway leading to the arrival point is set as the expressway reach
range. In this case, if the expressway includes a junction, there is an arrival point where
the vehicle 2 can finally reach on the branched respective expressways. In this case,
the expressway reach range can be a spider-web-like range (so-called a spider map)
including an expressway portion extending in different directions from the junction, see
Fig. 8, para [0087, 0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the
information presentation is functional as the claim limitations, wherein it is capable of
calculating and providing a second border information such as the other expressway
portion in different directions shown in dark lines 73 from the vehicle 71 with different
distance/range on the border map, see Fig. 8.
Claim 13. The notification system of claim 1, wherein the notifier is included in a mobile
terminal device (the notification unit 45 of a cellular phone 6, see Fig. 1); and the electric
vehicle and the mobile terminal device communicate with each other by wireless
communication (the wireless communication network 5, see Fig. 1).
Claim 14. The notification system of claim 1, wherein the processor and the non-transitory storage are included in a mobile terminal device (the processor 40, see Fig. 3); and the battery remaining capacity information is sent from the electric vehicle to the mobile terminal device by wireless communication (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 1-4).
Claim 15. The notification system of claim 1, wherein the notifier includes a display (the
display 44, see Fig. 3); and the processor is configured or programmed to cause the
display to display at least one of a letter or a graphic pattern as the first notification
urging the user to charge the battery (as discussed in respect to claim 1 above, and see
Figs. 3-6).
Claim 16. The notification system of claim 1, wherein the notifier includes a sound
production component (the speaker 33, see Fig. 3); and the processor is configured or
programmed to cause the sound production component to output a sound as the first
notification urging the user to charge the battery (as the discussion in respect to claim 1
above, and see Fig. 3).
Claim 17. The notification system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined point is a point
where a charging device to charge the battery is located (as discussed in respect to
claim 1 above, wherein the vehicle's battery is charged at the selected or predetermined
charging station or charging point).
Claim 20. A notification method for issuing a notification to urge a user to charge a
battery of an electric vehicle, the notification method being executable by at least one
computer and comprising: acquiring first border information representing a first border
between a first area, encompassing a predetermined point where the battery is
chargeable, and an area outward of the first area; acquiring positional information
representing a current position of the electric vehicle and battery remaining capacity
information representing a battery remaining capacity of the battery; and in a case
where it is determined that the electric vehicle is located inside the first area and that
the battery remaining capacity is not larger than a first threshold value based on the
first border information, the positional information, and the battery remaining capacity
information, issuing a first notification via a notifier urging the user to charge the
battery (as discussed in respect to the apparatus claim 1 above, see Figs. 1-4 and 8).
Claim 21. A notification system for issuing a notification about a battery of an electric
vehicle to a user, the notification system comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory storage to store a computer program to control an operation of the processor; wherein the processor is configured or programmed to execute the computer program to: acquire border information representing a border located along an outer perimeter of a predetermined area enclosing a predetermined point where the battery is chargeable, and positional information representing a current position of the electric vehicle; and in a case it is determined that the electric vehicle has passed a position of the border into an area outward of the predetermined area from the predetermined area based on the border information and the positional information, issue a notification via a notifier urging the user to move the electric vehicle to the predetermined point (as the combination between Miwa et al and Saito et al in respect to the apparatus claim 1 above, see Figs. 1-4 and 8, wherein the predetermined point is a predetermined or preselected charging station for charging of a low battery).
Claim 22. The notification system of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured or
programmed to: acquire battery remaining capacity information representing a battery
remaining capacity of the battery; calculate, based on the battery remaining capacity, a
distance-to-empty by which the electric vehicle is able to travel with an output current
from the battery; and set the position of the border such that a distance between
the predetermined point and the border is shorter than the distance-to-empty (as
discussed in claims 1 and 9 above, wherein the calculating expressway range/distance
to the charging point or station is shorter than the distance to the border or perimeter on
the map 70 so that the vehicle battery is continued traveling before empty charged
battery, see Fig. 8).
Claim 23. Miwa et al fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured or
programmed to change the position of the border in accordance with a change in the
battery remaining capacity. However,
Miwa et al teaches that on the other hand, in step S204, if the destination information is
included (YES in step S204), the information presentation unit 58 determines whether the vehicle 2 can reach the destination with the current remaining charged amount (S210). If the vehicle 2 can reach the destination with the current remaining charged amount by adjusting the vehicle speed (YES in step S210), the information presentation unit 58 instructs the terminal device 6 to output a second message to inform the user U of the upper-limit vehicle speed at which the vehicle 2 can reach the destination (S212). In response to this, the terminal device 6 outputs, for example, the second message from the speaker 33 and/or on the display screen of the touch panel 32 as an audio message and/or a text message as a push notification. After that, the information presentation unit 58 shifts the processing to step S208. [0117] On the other hand, in step S210, if it is determined that the vehicle 2 cannot reach the destination with the current remaining charged amount even by adjusting the vehicle speed (NO in step S210), the information presentation unit 58 instructs the terminal device 6 to output a warning message such as a message "the vehicle cannot reach the destination with the current remaining charged amount" (S214), and then shifts the processing to step S208, see Fig. 6, 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the
determination of adjusting the speed of vehicle to a destination or not reach to the
destination based on the current remaining charged amount is functionally equivalent to
the claim limitations of changing the position of border in accordance with a change in
the battery remaining capacity because the adjusting speed of traveling vehicle to a
destination or not is indicating that the vehicle is arriving at position of the expressway
range/distance on the border of a map shown in Fig. 8.
Claim 24. The notification system of claim 22, wherein the processor is configured or
programmed to set the position of the border such that the distance between the
predetermined point and the border is at least 0.3 times and at most 0.7 times the distance-to-empty. (As discussed in claim 23 above, and it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the vehicle position changes to expressway range or distance should be lesser than such 0.3 time and/or 0.7 time range or distance before arriving the predetermined charging station or point in order to prevent of a dead battery and immobile the vehicle.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa et
al [US 2024/0262376] and Saito et al [US 2024/0116392] and further in view of Ueda [US 2016/0159241]
Claim 2. Miwa et al fails to disclose in a case it is determined that the electric vehicle
has passed a position of the first border into the first area from the area outward of the
first area and that the battery remaining capacity is not larger than the first threshold
value, the processor is configured or programmed to issue the first notification.
However,
Miwa et al discloses the information presentation unit 58 determines whether
the current remaining charged amount is less than a threshold (e.g., less than full-
charged amount of 20%) at a predetermined time interval based on the information
about the current vehicle speed, the current remaining charged amount, and the
electricity consumption characteristics acquired by the calculation unit 57 from the
information provision apparatus 3 of the vehicle 2 (see Figs. 1, 4, para [0094, 0095]).
Ueda suggests that in step S507, the control unit 110 determines whether the predicted
remaining battery amount E.sub.bat predicted (or estimated) in step S505 is smaller
than the predetermined threshold E.sub.3. Then, in step S507, when it is determined
that the predicted remaining battery amount E.sub.bat is smaller than the predetermined
threshold E.sub.3, the process ends. Meanwhile, in step S507, when it is determined
that the predicted remaining battery amount E.sub.bat is equal to or larger than the
predetermined threshold E.sub.3, the routine returns to step S503. At this time, in step
S503, the control unit 110 specifies the next main crossroad or the point IC, SA, or PA
as the predicted passage point existing at the front side of the current vehicle traveling
direction from the given predicted passage point on the traveling route on the basis of
the information of the traveling route obtained in step S502. (See Figs. 3, 4, 8, para
[0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to implement or use the vehicle passing through the next main
crossroad or the points while the predicting of remaining battery is equal to the
predetermined threshold of Ueda to the information presentation to provide notification
of charge the vehicle's battery traveling throughout a border of area or region of Miwa
et al and Saito et al so that when the vehicle is driving on traveling routes to passing the area or region with a current remaining charging level to prevent of disabling the vehicle or immobile the vehicle.
Claim 3. The notification system of claim 2, wherein, in a case it is determined that the
electric vehicle has passed the position of the first border into the first area from the
area outward of the first area and that the battery remaining capacity is larger than the
first threshold value, the processor is configured or programmed to not issue the first
notification. However,
Miwa et al teaches that when the processing is started, the information presentation
unit 58 determines whether the vehicle 2 has entered an expressway (S200). If the
vehicle 2 has not entered the expressway (NO in step S200), the information
presentation unit 58 determines whether the current vehicle speed of the vehicle 2
exceeds the maximum efficiency vehicle speed in the electricity consumption
characteristics (S202). If the current vehicle speed does not exceed the maximum
efficiency vehicle speed (NO in step S202), the information presentation
unit 58 terminates the message output processing. (See Fig. 6, para [0112]).
Ueda suggests that when it is determined that the predicted remaining battery amount
E.sub.bat is equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold E.sub.3, the routine
returns to step S503. At this time, in step S503, the control unit 110 specifies the next
main crossroad or the point IC, SA, or PA as the predicted passage point existing at the
front side of the current vehicle traveling direction from the given predicted passage
point on the traveling route on the basis of the information of the traveling route
obtained in step S502 to obtain traveling route information. (See Figs. 3, 4, 8, para
[0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to implement or use the vehicle passing through the next main
crossroad or the points while the predicting of remaining battery is larger the
predetermined threshold of Ueda to the information presentation to terminate the
notification or no notification of charge the vehicle's battery traveling throughout a
border of area or region of Miwa et al f and Saito et al or the vehicle continues to traveling on the routes with safety and with a reliable of vehicle's battery charged status.
Claim 4. The notification system of claim 3, wherein, in a case where the processor
does not issue the first notification when the electric vehicle passes the position of the
first border but later determines that the battery remaining capacity is decreased to a
value not larger than the first threshold value while the electric vehicle is located inside
the first area, the processor is configured or programmed to issue the first notification
(as the combination between Miwa et al and Saito et al and Namiki in respect to claims 1 and 2 above, such as the notification is generated when the current battery remaining capacity is below or lesser than a predetermined threshold level.
Claims 8, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa
et al [US 2024/0262376] and Saito et al [US 2024/0116392] and further in view of Namiki [US 2020/0386561]
Claim 8. Miwa et al fails to disclose wherein the battery remaining capacity is
represented by SOC (State of Charge); and the first threshold value is set to an SOC
value of about 20% or higher and about 60% or lower. However,
Miwa et al discloses the information presentation unit 58 determines whether the
current remaining charged amount is less than a threshold (e.g., less than full-
charged amount of 20%) at a predetermined time interval based on the information
about the current vehicle speed, the current remaining charged amount, and the
electricity consumption characteristics acquired by the calculation unit 57 from the
information provision apparatus 3 of the vehicle 2 (see Figs. 1, 4, para [0094, 0095]).
Namiki suggests that the information processing apparatus includes an acquirer that
acquires first information indicating a remaining charge of a first battery that is
detachably mounted in an electric vehicle and supplies electric power for traveling of the
electric vehicle, comprising the correspondence table information 434 is information in
which travel distance ranges are associated with SOC ranges. An SOC range is
information indicating a range of SOC. The determiner 424 compares a predicted
amount of the SOC of the first battery with a replacement threshold th1 with respect to
the plurality of charging stations 200 on the travel route, in order of the charging stations
closest to the electric vehicle 10. The determiner 424 may determine a charging
station 200 for a predicted value of SOC of the first battery predicted by the remaining
charge predictor 423 being less than the replacement threshold th1 as a replacement
station. The replacement threshold th1 can be arbitrarily set and, for example, is a value
set to prevent degradation in the quality of the battery 120. The determiner 424
determines the charging station 200A as a replacement station in a case in which, for
example, the SOC of the first battery predicted by the remaining charge predictor 423 is
less than the replacement threshold th1 (e.g., th1=30%). In a case that a predicted
value SOC.sub.A of the first battery predicted by the remaining charge predictor 423 is
higher than or equal to the replacement threshold th1, the determiner 424 determines
whether a predicted value SOC.sub.B of the first battery predicted by the remaining
charge predictor 423 is less than the replacement threshold th1. The determiner 424
determines the charging station 200B as a replacement station in a case in which the
predicted value SOC. sub.B of the first battery is less than the replacement threshold th1. (See Figs. 1, 5, para [0069, 0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to use or implement the information processing apparatus to
determine the SOC of battery charge threshold percentage amount of Namiki to the
battery information presentation of Miwa et al and Saito et al for assuring and preventing of battery charge deletion or empty and the vehicle battery is charged or recharged at the charging station before the dead of vehicle battery.
Claim 19. Miwa et al fails to disclose wherein the battery is a portable battery
detachable from the electric vehicle.
Namiki suggests that the information processing apparatus includes an acquirer that
acquires first information indicating a remaining charge of a first battery 100 that is
detachably mounted in an electric vehicle 10 and supplies electric power for traveling of
the electric vehicle, see abstract, Fig. 2, para [0004, 0008, 0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the invention to substitute the detachably battery mounted in an electric vehicle
of Namiki to the battery of electric vehicle of Miwa for quickly getting the full charged
battery than just waiting for a long period to charge the low battery.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa et
al [US 2024/0262376] and Saito et al [US 2024/0116392] and further in view of Nakamura [US 2024/01704084]
Claim 18. Miwa et al fails to disclose wherein the electric vehicle is an electrically
assisted bicycle including an electric motor supplied with an electric current from the
battery to generate assist power. However,
Miwa et al teaches that the electric vehicle is a four-wheels vehicle, see Figs. 1, 8).
Nakamura suggests that the mobile terminal 60 includes a display 624 and a controller
630. The controller 630 controls the display to, when a placement position of at least
one power facility 25 is displayed on the map image, display power-rate-related
information and the placement position of the at least one power facility 25 on the map
image. The at least one power facility 25 supplies electric power to an object having a
power storage device mounted thereon, to charge the power storage device. (See
abstract, Figs. 1, 3, 7, 9, 11-16).
The vehicle 50 is used as one example of the movable object that can perform external
charging. However, the movable object may be another type of electric movable object
such as an electric motorcycle, an electric bicycle or an electric scooter (see para
[0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to add or implement the charging station to charge the electric
vehicle such as an electric motorcycle or an electric bicycle of Nakamura to the
charging battery of the electric vehicle of Miwa et al and Saito et al for providing convenience and to extending applications and uses of the charging station to charge electricity to any electric vehicle, electric motor, electric bicycle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the arguments, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-9 and 13-24 under Miwa et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Saito et al to make the rejection smoother.
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) Miwa fails to teach or suggest the features of "a processor configured or
programmed to execute the computer program to: acquire first border information
representing a first border between a first area, encompassing a predetermined point
where the battery is chargeable, and an area outward of the first area" and "in a case it
is determined that the electric vehicle is inside the first area and that the battery
remaining capacity is not larger than a first threshold value based on the first border
information, the positional information, and the battery remaining capacity information,
issue a first notification via a notifier urging the user to charge the battery.
(B) Ueda, Namiki, and Nakamura also fail to teach or suggest the features of Applicant's claims 1, 20, and 21 discussed above. Thus, Ueda, Namiki, and Nakamura fail to cure the deficiencies of Miwa described above.
Response to the arguments:
(A) It is obvious to modify or implement the management server sets and inquires the map of circular border with information of the battery stations and current position of an electric vehicle for replacing charged battery of Saito et al to the vehicle with assistance server of Miwa et al for assuring and reliable to indicate of a battery station nearest to the driving electric vehicle inquired to charge its battery, recharging battery and/or replacing charged battery when a notification for prompting the user to charge a battery in a case where the reference charged amount is less than a remaining charged amount of the battery, which is lesser than a predetermined threshold. In order to prevent of a dead battery and causing the electric vehicle inoperable.
(B) It is obvious to combine Ueda, Namiki, and Nakamura with Miwa et al and Saito et al respectively, as discussed in (A) and in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,
but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of
the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to teaching and/or
suggesting of "the processor is configured or programmed to: calculate, based on the
battery remaining capacity, a second distance by which the electric vehicle is able to
travel with an output current from the battery; and set the position of the second border
such that a third distance between the predetermined point and the second border is
shorter than the second distance."
Examiner is very regrettable to introduce another None-Final rejection based on the update search with a new reference of Saito et al.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
07/06/2026