DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This final office action is in response to the amendments filled on 05/20/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15 and 18-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Exchange interface” in claim 1, 12 and 19
Based on submitted specification, exchange interface is hardware, see at least fig 1 and 2E of submitted specification. Fig 1 shows exchange interface is included into gripper platform and fig 2E shows gripper platform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0406475 (“Motowaki”), and further in view of US 2023/0124672 (“Menon”).
Regarding claim 1, Motowaki discloses an end effector system (see at least fig 1, where an end effector system is shown), comprising:
a gripper platform (see at least fig 11, where ATC, 2 is coupled with gripper platform, 10b. see also [0025]);
a finger base operatively coupled to the gripper platform (see at least fig 11, where ATC, 2 is coupled with gripper platform, 10b. see also [0025]);
an automatic fingertip exchange interface (see at least [0032], where controller is sending commands to the holding members);
a tool base operatively coupled to the gripper platform (see at least fig 11, where tool base is coupled to the gripper platform, 10b. tools (41,42) are attached with the flange, 10b);
an automatic tool base exchange interface (see at least [0023], where controller is interpreted as interface); and
a tool configured to be autonomously releasably attached to the tool base via the automatic tool base exchange interface (see at least fig 11, where 2 is automatic tool changer. See also [0025]).
Motowaki does not disclose the following limitation:
a fingertip device configured to be autonomously releasably attached to the finger base via the automatic fingertip exchange interface.
However, Menon discloses a system wherein a fingertip device configured to be autonomously releasably attached to the finger base via the automatic fingertip exchange interface (see at least fig 3A-D, 11 and 12 where various types of fingers is exchanged autonomously based on the tasks. see also [0028], [0034] and [0036]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Motowaki to incorporate the teachings of Menon by including the above feature for manipulating objects autonomously.
Regarding claim 2 (and similarly claim 13), Menon further discloses a system wherein the automatic fingertip exchange interface includes at least one of an electromagnetic exchange interface or an electromechanical exchange interface (see at least [0046], where “Certain of the following figures illustrate examples of such interchangeable tools in various embodiments. In some embodiments, a tool as disclosed herein may be attached to a gripper, stub, or other distal end of a robotic arm via a magnetic snap-locking mechanism. In some embodiments, magnetic alignment is used to align the tool to the gripper, e.g., to make connections for the transfer of power, data, etc.”).
Regarding claim 3, Motowaki further discloses a system wherein the automatic tool base exchange interface includes compliant jaws configured to releasably hold the tool (see at least [0025] and [0039-40]).
Regarding claim 5, Motowaki further discloses a system wherein the gripper platform is operatively couplable to at least one of: a robot, or a human (see at least fig 11, where gripper platform is attached with a robot).
Regarding claim 6, Menon further discloses a system wherein the finger base is a first finger base, the automatic fingertip exchange interface is a first automatic fingertip exchange interface, the fingertip device is a first fingertip device (see at least [0028], where tools/fingers are exchanged autonomously), and the end effector system further comprises:
a second finger base operatively coupled to the gripper platform a second automatic fingertip exchange interface (see at least fig 3A-D, where various types of fingers are exchanged based on the tasks); and
a second fingertip device configured to be autonomously releasably attached to the second finger base via the second automatic fingertip exchange interface (see at least [0028], where tools/fingers are exchanged autonomously).
Regarding claim 7, Motowaki further discloses a system comprising: wherein the tool is one of multiple tools indicated as necessary to perform a manipulation task (see at least fig 14, where the holders 41/42 are holding/manipulating an object).
Regarding claim 8 (and similarly claim 15 and 20), Menon further discloses a system comprising: a controller is configured to:
determine a manipulation task (see at least fig 2 and [0026]): and
cause, based on the manipulation task, the fingertip device to contact and actuate the tool while the tool is autonomously releasably attached to the tool base to perform the manipulation task (see at least [0028]).
Regarding claim 9 (and similarly claim 16), Motowaki further discloses a system comprising: an actuator system (see at least [0025]),
wherein the controller is configured to: receive actuator data associated with the actuator system (see at least [0037], where “The frame rotary actuators 216 are configured to controllably rotate the tool arms 212 relative to the coupling device 210”);
generate, based on the actuator data, a manipulation command (see at least [0004]); and
cause, based on the manipulation command, the manipulation task to be performed (see at least [0004]).
Regarding claim 10 (and similarly claim 17), Motowaki further discloses a system comprising: a sensor system (see at least [0025]),
wherein the controller is configured to:
receive sensor data associated with the sensor system (see at least [0046]);
generate, based on the sensor data, a manipulation command (see at least [0034] and [0058]); and
cause, based on the manipulation command, the manipulation task to be performed (see at least [0034]).
Regarding claim 11 (and similarly claim 18), Menon further discloses a system wherein the controller is configured to:
determine a different manipulation task (see at least [0007] and fig 2);
cause, based on the different manipulation task, at least one of:
a different fingertip device to be exchanged with the fingertip device such that the different fingertip device is autonomously releasably attached to the finger base via the automatic fingertip exchange interface (see at least [0028] and fig 3A-D), or
a different tool, to be exchanged with the tool such that the different tool is mounted to the tool base; and
cause the different manipulation task to be performed using the at least one of the different fingertip device or the different tool (see at least fig 2).
Regarding claim 12 (and similarly claim 19), Motowaki further discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a controller of an end effector system, a manipulation task (see at least [0023], where command for a task is sent via controller), wherein the end effector system includes:
a gripper platform (see citation on claim 1),
a finger base operatively coupled to the gripper platform (see citation on claim 1),
an automatic fingertip exchange interface (see citation on claim 1),
a tool base operatively coupled to the gripper platform and distinct from the finger base (see at least fig 11, where tool base is distinct from finger base);
an automatic tool base exchange interface (see citation on claim 1), and
multiple tools configured to be available for autonomous releasable attachment to the tool base via the autonomous tool base exchange interface (see at least [0025], where ATC is attachable/detachable. So, tools are exchangeable), and
causing, by the controller, the manipulation task to be performed using the tool (see at least [0023]).
Motowaki does not disclose the following limitations:
a fingertip device configured to be autonomously releasably attached to the finger base via the automatic fingertip exchange interface,
obtaining, by the controller and based on the manipulation task, information indicating a tool of the multiple tools necessary to perform the manipulation task; and
causing, by the controller, the tool to be autonomously releasably attached to the tool base via the automatic tool base exchange interface.
However, Menon further discloses a method wherein a fingertip device configured to be autonomously releasably attached to the finger base via the automatic fingertip exchange interface (see citation on claim 1),
obtaining, by the controller and based on the manipulation task, information indicating a tool of the multiple tools necessary to perform the manipulation task (see at least fig 2);
causing, by the controller, the tool to be autonomously releasably attached to the tool base via the automatic tool base exchange interface (see at least [0028]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0406475 (“Motowaki”), and in view of US 2023/0124672 (“Menon”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2026/0042207 (“Hwang”).
Regarding claim 4 (and similarly claim 14), Motowaki in view of Menon does not disclose claim 4. However, Hwang discloses a system wherein the fingertip device and the tool are independently actuatable (see at least [0012] and [0048], where various tools are controlled independently. So, it would be obvious to replace one tool from one tool arm with a fingertip device and actuate independently).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Motowaki in view of Menon to incorporate the teachings of Hwang by including the above feature for manipulating delicate objects without damage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination used in the current rejection that is due to the newly added claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOHANA TANJU KHAYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657