Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 24 April 2026 have been fully considered. However, Kim continues to read on claims 1 and 3, as amended. New claim limitations are addressed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2016.0193323).
Regarding claim 1, Kim disclose:
A display device configured to be attached to a panel having a first opening and a second opening. the display device comprising: a case movably attached to an inside of the panel: a display unit disposed in the case; and a moving mechanism provided inside the panel, the moving mechanism being configured to move the display unit using power, and wherein the display unit is stopped at a position where a part of a display screen protrudes from each of the first opening and the second opening (see Fig. 1-14; display panel 110 movably attached to inside of panel 20; first/second openings on 20 above/below area 23; moving mechanism 130 provided inside 20, configured to move display 110 using power (e.g., motor 131); where at least a portion of the display unit is stopped in a position where 110 is protruding out both the first and second openings)
wherein the moving mechanism includes a guide hole provided in the case and extending along the display unit, and a shaft portion slidably inserted into the guide hole, wherein the display unit is moved relative to the first opening and the second opening as the shaft portion is guided by the guide hole (see Fig. 9, 10, 12; case 141/142/136; moving mechanism has guide hole at 135 extending along display unit; shaft portion 134 inserted into 135 where display is moved relative to the first/second openings as the shaft is guided through the hole).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the display unit is moved by the moving mechanism to change a dimension of a protrusion of the display screen from the first opening and a dimension of a protrusion of the display screen from the second opening (see Fig. 1-5, 7-10).
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, where Kim further disclose:
wherein the display unit is stopped at a position where at least a part of the display screen protrudes from the first opening and at a position where at least a part of the display screen protrudes from the second opening (see Fig. 1-14; where at least a portion of the display unit is stopped in a position where 110 is protruding out both the first and second openings)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the display unit moved by the moving mechanism is stopped at a position where a part of or an entirety of the display screen protrudes only from the first opening (see Fig. 1-5, 7-10).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the display unit is moved by the moving mechanism to change a dimension of a protrusion of the display screen from the first opening (see Fig. 1-5, 7-10).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the display unit moved by the moving mechanism is stopped at a position where a part of or an entirety of the display screen protrudes only from the second opening (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the display unit is moved by the moving mechanism to change a dimension of a protrusion of the display screen from the second opening (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the panel is a part of a dashboard, an instrument panel, or a console provided in a vehicle interior, and wherein the first opening opens upward, and the second opening opens downward (see Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
an operation portion is provided on a surface of the dashboard, the instrument panel, or the console between the first opening and the second opening (see Fig. 5-6; [0063-0064]; operation portion 23).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
a display portion is provided on a surface of the dashboard, the instrument panel, or the console between the first opening and the second opening (see Fig. 5-6; [0063-0064]; display portion 23).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the guide hole is a cam hole having a bent portion, and wherein a posture of the display unit relative to the panel is changed as the shaft portion passes through the bent portion (see [0141]; where guide hole 135 has bend (e.g., thread of the nut portion) such that as display moves between 1st and second openings, the posture is changed).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the guide hole is a cam hole having a bent portion, and wherein a posture of the display unit relative to the panel is changed as the shaft portion passes through the bent portion (see [0141]; where guide hole 135 has bend (e.g., thread of the nut portion) such that as display moves between 1st and second openings, the posture is changed).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the display unit is movable along the guide hole to an upper limit position, a lower limit position, and a neutral position located between the upper limit position and the lower limit position, and wherein the display unit is configured to have a first angle relative to a horizontal direction in a state in which the display unit is stopped at the neutral position or the upper limit position, and to have a second angle, which is smaller than the first angle, relative to the horizontal direction in a state in which the display unit is stopped at the lower limit position (see Fig. 9, 10; where the ‘neutral’ position is between the lower and upper limits, wherein the angle of the display changes as it is movable as the shaft guide hole move with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Kim further disclose:
the display unit is movable along the guide hole to an upper limit position, a lower limit position, and a neutral position located between the upper limit position and the lower limit position, and wherein the display unit is configured to have a first angle relative to a horizontal direction in a state in which the display unit is stopped at the neutral position or the upper limit position, and to have a second angle, which is smaller than the first angle, relative to the horizontal direction in a state in which the display unit is stopped at the lower limit position (see Fig. 9, 10; where the ‘neutral’ position is between the lower and upper limits, wherein the angle of the display changes as it is movable as the shaft guide hole move with respect to each other).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/kenneth bukowski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621