DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over EP 2876409 to Nagel.
Regarding Claim 1, Nagel discloses a pneumatic comparator probe (Figs. 1-4, pneumatic measuring unit 100 with diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel
160; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]) comprising: a probe body configured to contact a bore to be measured (Figs. 1-4, pneumatic measuring mandrel 160 with base body162 which defines a longitudinal center axis 164 and has a central through bore; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); a measuring component moveably connected to the probe body, the measuring component including a port through which pressurized air passes when the pneumatic comparator is in use (Figs. 1-4, pneumatic measuring mandrel 160 with measuring nozzle carriers 170-1 to 170-4 having radially oriented
measuring nozzles 172-1 to 172-4; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); a variable separating mechanism moveably connected to the probe body; wherein the movement of the variable separating mechanism adjusts a position of the measuring component in a direction of diametrical expansion relative to the probe body (Figs. 1-4, wedge drive for adjusting cone 180 for moving measuring nozzle carriers 170-1 to 170-4; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 2, Nagel discloses the probe body has a channel cut into the probe body, and the variable separating mechanism moves in an axial direction within the channel (Figs. 1-4, base body162 with central through bore having wedge drive for adjusting cone 180; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 3, Nagel discloses the variable separating mechanism is a wedge (Figs. 1-4, wedge drive for adjusting cone 180 (wedge); ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 6, Nagel discloses the probe body includes an internal air passage and a secondary port through which secondary pressurized air passes when the pneumatic comparator probe is in use (Figs. 1-4, air channels connected to each measuring nozzle carrier 170-1 to 170-4 having radially oriented measuring nozzles 172-1 to 172-4; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 7, Nagel discloses a pneumatic comparator probe system comprising: a pneumatic comparator probe (Figs. 1-4, pneumatic measuring unit 100 with diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel 160; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]) that includes: a probe body configured to contact a bore to be measured (Figs. 1-4, pneumatic measuring mandrel 160 with base body162 which defines a longitudinal center axis 164 and has a central through bore; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); a variable separating mechanism moveably connected to the probe body (Figs. 1-4, wedge drive for adjusting cone 180 for moving measuring nozzle carriers 170-1 to 170-4; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); and a measuring component that contacts the variable separating mechanism, the measuring component including a port through which pressurized air passes when the pneumatic comparator probe is in use (Figs. 1-4, pneumatic measuring mandrel 160 with measuring nozzle carriers 170-1 to 170-4 having radially oriented measuring nozzles 172-1 to 172-4; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); wherein movement of the variable separating mechanism adjusts a position of the measuring component in a direction of diametrical expansion relative to the probe body (Figs. 1-4, wedge drive for adjusting cone 180 for moving measuring nozzle carriers 170-1 to 170-4; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); a gage unit that supplies the pressurized air to the measuring component (Figs. 1-4, pneumatic measuring unit 100 supplying air from compressed air source to diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel 160; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]) and includes: a rigid framework to which the probe body is connected (Figs. 1-4, vertical column 112 connected to diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel 160; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); a movable measuring carriage, where the measuring component is attached to the measuring carriage (Figs. 1-4, movable carriage 114 connected between vertical column 112 and diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel 160; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]); and a control system that measures a characteristic representative of a flow rate of the pressurized air and determines a diameter of the workpiece at the location by comparison to one or more master rings having a known inside diameter (Figs. 1-4, control unit 122 of measuring unit with calibration ring 198 and diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel 160 with measuring transducer connected to the measuring nozzle via a pressure line to convert (pneumatic) pressure signal into an electrically processable voltage signal; ¶¶ [0007], [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 8, Nagel discloses the probe body has a channel cut into the probe body, and the variable separating mechanism moves in an axial direction within the channel (Figs. 1-4, base body 162 with central through bore having wedge drive for adjusting cone 180; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 9, Nagel discloses the control system measures a characteristic representative of the position of the measuring component relative to the probe body (Figs. 1-4, control unit 122 of measuring unit with diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel 160 with measuring transducer connected to the measuring nozzle via a pressure line to convert (pneumatic) pressure signal into an electrically processable voltage signal; ¶¶ [0007], [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 10, Nagel discloses the moveable measuring carriage is biased toward the probe body by a carriage biasing spring (Figs. 1-4, compression spring 185 between movable carriage 114 connected between vertical column 112 and base body 162 of diameter-adjustable pneumatic measuring mandrel 160; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 11, Nagel discloses the variable separating mechanism is a wedge (Figs. 1-4, wedge drive for adjusting cone 180 (wedge); ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 17, Nagel discloses the probe body includes an internal air passage and a secondary port through which secondary pressurized air passes when the pneumatic comparator probe is in use (Figs. 1-4, air channels connected to each measuring nozzle carrier 170-1 to 170-4 having radially oriented measuring nozzles 172-1 to 172-4; ¶¶ [0043]-[0061]).
Regarding Claims 18-19, the method of the claims appears to be met by the operation of the system of claims 7-8.
Claim(s) 7-11 and 17-19 is/are rejected in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagel in view of US 3154939 to Dabanian.
Assuming arguendo that Nagel does not sufficiently disclose determining the diameter of the workpiece at the location by comparison to one or more master rings having a known inside diameter, Dabanian discloses determining the diameter of the workpiece at the location by comparison to one or more master rings having a known inside diameter (Col. 2, lines 41-47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Nagel by providing determining the diameter of the workpiece at the location by comparison to one or more master rings having a known inside diameter as in Dabanian in order to provide for greater accuracy.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 15-16 is/are rejected in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagel in view of US 3646685 to Goodenough.
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Nagel discloses the pneumatic comparator probe of claim 1 and the pneumatic comparator probe system of claim 7, but is silent regarding the probe body has a bore contacting surface that is truncated. Goodenough discloses the probe body has a bore contacting surface that is truncated (Figs. 1-3, probe 12 of gaging head assembly with a substantially solid cylindrical body portion 16 having a smooth peripheral outer surface 18 and a flat front surface 20 provided with a circumferential chamfer 22; Col. 3, lines 5-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Nagel by providing the probe body has a bore contacting surface that is truncated as in Goodenough in order to provide for greater ease of insertion.
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Nagel discloses the pneumatic comparator probe of claim 1 and the pneumatic comparator probe system of claim 7, but is silent regarding a relieved bore contacting surface of the probe body has a raised area that is diametrically opposed to the port. Goodenough discloses a relieved bore contacting surface of the probe body has a raised area that is diametrically opposed to the port (Figs. 1-34, block insert 64 in recess 46; Col. 3, lines 54 – Col. 4, line 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Nagel by providing a relieved bore contacting surface of the probe body has a raised area that is diametrically opposed to the port as in Goodenough in order to provide for ease of extraction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID J BOLDUC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852