DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statement dated 09/15/205 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 12-13 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Sun et al., US 2025/0293831 hereafter Sun.
As for claim 1, Sun discloses:
A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sending method, comprising:
receiving indication information, wherein the indication information indicates an expansion manner of DMRS ports in at least one code division multiplexing (CDM) group of a plurality of CDM groups corresponding to one DMRS configuration type (Sun, Fig. 11, 1110 Fig. 12, 1210, 1220, [0114] At 1110, the network device generates a DMRS. The DMRS may correspond the DMRS designed with CDM group expansion, [0119] At 1210, the network device sends a control signal to the wireless device. The control signal may be dynamically transmitted to the wireless device (e.g. through downlink control information (DCI) [0120] At 1220, the wireless device generates a DMRS based on the control signal sent at 1210. The DMRS may correspond the DMRS designed with CDM group expansion);
sending DMRSs (Sun, Fig. 11, 1120, 1130 Fig. 12, 1230, [0115] At 1120, the network device sends the DMRS to the wireless device. [0116] At 1130, the wireless device receives the DMRS. [0121] At 1230, the wireless device sends the DMRS to the network device.) via DMRS ports obtained through expansion in the at least one CDM group (Sun, [0087] the expanded CDM group including a larger size than the legacy CDM group may support more orthogonal DMRS ports. [0011] The DMRS may be coded with one of a plurality of expanded OCCs belonging to an expanded CDM group. The expanded CDM group may be generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs. The number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs may be expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs. [0096] the one expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to the same DMRS port n corresponding to the legacy OCC, and the other expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to a DMRS port (n+M), wherein M is the maximum number of legacy supportable DMRS ports.), wherein the DMRS ports in the at least one CDM group comprise legacy DMRS ports and expanded DMRS ports (Sun, [0087] the expanded CDM group including a larger size than the legacy CDM group may support more orthogonal DMRS ports. [0011] The DMRS may be coded with one of a plurality of expanded OCCs belonging to an expanded CDM group. The expanded CDM group may be generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs. The number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs may be expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs. [0096] the one expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to the same DMRS port n corresponding to the legacy OCC, and the other expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to a DMRS port (n+M), wherein M is the maximum number of legacy supportable DMRS ports.),
and the DMRS is used for demodulating uplink data (Sun, [0007] A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be used for channel estimation and demodulation. [0117] At 1140, the wireless device performs a downlink channel estimation based on the DMRS.); or
receiving DMRSs (Sun, Fig. 11, 1120, 1130 Fig. 12, 1230, [0115] At 1120, the network device sends the DMRS to the wireless device. [0116] At 1130, the wireless device receives the DMRS. [0121] At 1230, the wireless device sends the DMRS to the network device.) via the DMRS ports (Sun, [0008] A plurality of DMRS symbols may be transmitted through a plurality of orthogonal DMRS ports which correspond to a plurality of antenna ports respectively.) obtained through expansion in the at least one CDM group, wherein the DMRS ports in the at least one CDM group comprise the legacy DMRS ports and the expanded DMRS ports (Sun, [0087] the expanded CDM group including a larger size than the legacy CDM group may support more orthogonal DMRS ports. [0011] The DMRS may be coded with one of a plurality of expanded OCCs belonging to an expanded CDM group. The expanded CDM group may be generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs. The number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs may be expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs. [0096] the one expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to the same DMRS port n corresponding to the legacy OCC, and the other expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to a DMRS port (n+M), wherein M is the maximum number of legacy supportable DMRS ports.),
and the DMRS is used for demodulating downlink data (Sun, [0007] A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be used for channel estimation and demodulation. [0117] At 1140, the wireless device performs a downlink channel estimation based on the DMRS.)
As for claims 6, 12 and 18, Sun discloses the indication information is configured by using control signaling, wherein the control signaling comprises at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0144] In some embodiments, one correspondence may be indicated for a plurality of the DMRSs. For example, the correspondence may be semi-statically configured (e.g., through radio resource control (RRC) signaling)), a media access control control element (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (DCI) ([0144], The correspondence can also be configured via Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or DCI.).
As for claims 7 and 19, Sun discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor configured with processor-executable instructions (Fig. 2, [0150], This non-transitory computer-readable media may be, for example, a memory of a base station (such as a memory 222 of a network device 218 that is a base station, as described herein) or a memory of a UE (such as a memory 206 of a wireless device 202 that is a UE, as described herein).) to perform operations including:
receiving indication information, wherein the indication information indicates an expansion manner of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports in at least one of a plurality of code division multiplexing, CDM, groups corresponding to one DMRS configuration type (Sun, Fig. 11, 1110 Fig. 12, 1210, 1220, [0114] At 1110, the network device generates a DMRS. The DMRS may correspond the DMRS designed with CDM group expansion, [0119] At 1210, the network device sends a control signal to the wireless device. The control signal may be dynamically transmitted to the wireless device (e.g. through downlink control information (DCI) [0120] At 1220, the wireless device generates a DMRS based on the control signal sent at 1210. The DMRS may correspond the DMRS designed with CDM group expansion);
sending DMRSs (Sun, Fig. 11, 1120, 1130 Fig. 12, 1230, [0115] At 1120, the network device sends the DMRS to the wireless device. [0116] At 1130, the wireless device receives the DMRS. [0121] At 1230, the wireless device sends the DMRS to the network device.) via DMRS ports (Sun, [0008] A plurality of DMRS symbols may be transmitted through a plurality of orthogonal DMRS ports which correspond to a plurality of antenna ports respectively.) obtained through expansion in the at least one CDM group, wherein the DMRS ports in the at least one CDM group comprise legacy DMRS ports and expanded DMRS ports (Sun, [0087] the expanded CDM group including a larger size than the legacy CDM group may support more orthogonal DMRS ports. [0011] The DMRS may be coded with one of a plurality of expanded OCCs belonging to an expanded CDM group. The expanded CDM group may be generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs. The number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs may be expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs. [0096] the one expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to the same DMRS port n corresponding to the legacy OCC, and the other expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to a DMRS port (n+M), wherein M is the maximum number of legacy supportable DMRS ports.),
and the DMRS is used for demodulating uplink data (Sun, [0007] A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be used for channel estimation and demodulation. [0117] At 1140, the wireless device performs a downlink channel estimation based on the DMRS.); or
receiving DMRSs (Sun, Fig. 11, 1120, 1130 Fig. 12, 1230, [0115] At 1120, the network device sends the DMRS to the wireless device. [0116] At 1130, the wireless device receives the DMRS. [0121] At 1230, the wireless device sends the DMRS to the network device.) via the DMRS ports (Sun, [0008] A plurality of DMRS symbols may be transmitted through a plurality of orthogonal DMRS ports which correspond to a plurality of antenna ports respectively.) obtained through expansion in the at least one CDM group, wherein the DMRS ports in the at least one CDM group comprise the legacy DMRS ports and the expanded DMRS ports (Sun, [0087] the expanded CDM group including a larger size than the legacy CDM group may support more orthogonal DMRS ports. [0011] The DMRS may be coded with one of a plurality of expanded OCCs belonging to an expanded CDM group. The expanded CDM group may be generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs. The number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs may be expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs. [0096] the one expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to the same DMRS port n corresponding to the legacy OCC, and the other expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to a DMRS port (n+M), wherein M is the maximum number of legacy supportable DMRS ports.),
and the DMRS is used for demodulating downlink data (Sun, [0007] A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be used for channel estimation and demodulation. [0117] At 1140, the wireless device performs a downlink channel estimation based on the DMRS.).
As for claim 13, Sun discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations including:
sending indication information, wherein the indication information indicates an expansion manner of demodulation reference signal, DMRS, ports in at least one of a plurality of code division multiplexing CDM groups corresponding to one DMRS configuration type (Sun, Fig. 11, 1110 Fig. 12, 1210, 1220, [0114] At 1110, the network device generates a DMRS. The DMRS may correspond the DMRS designed with CDM group expansion, [0119] At 1210, the network device sends a control signal to the wireless device. The control signal may be dynamically transmitted to the wireless device (e.g. through downlink control information (DCI) [0120] At 1220, the wireless device generates a DMRS based on the control signal sent at 1210. The DMRS may correspond the DMRS designed with CDM group expansion);
receiving DMRSs (Sun, Fig. 11, 1120, 1130 Fig. 12, 1230, [0115] At 1120, the network device sends the DMRS to the wireless device. [0116] At 1130, the wireless device receives the DMRS. [0121] At 1230, the wireless device sends the DMRS to the network device.) via DMRS ports (Sun, [0008] A plurality of DMRS symbols may be transmitted through a plurality of orthogonal DMRS ports which correspond to a plurality of antenna ports respectively.) obtained through expansion in the at least one CDM group, wherein the DMRS ports in the at least one CDM group comprise legacy DMRS ports and expanded DMRS ports (Sun, [0087] the expanded CDM group including a larger size than the legacy CDM group may support more orthogonal DMRS ports. [0011] The DMRS may be coded with one of a plurality of expanded OCCs belonging to an expanded CDM group. The expanded CDM group may be generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs. The number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs may be expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs. [0096] the one expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to the same DMRS port n corresponding to the legacy OCC, and the other expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to a DMRS port (n+M), wherein M is the maximum number of legacy supportable DMRS ports.),
and the DMRS is used to demodulate uplink data (Sun, [0007] A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be used for channel estimation and demodulation. [0117] At 1140, the wireless device performs a downlink channel estimation based on the DMRS.); or
sending DMRSs (Sun, Fig. 11, 1120, 1130 Fig. 12, 1230, [0115] At 1120, the network device sends the DMRS to the wireless device. [0116] At 1130, the wireless device receives the DMRS. [0121] At 1230, the wireless device sends the DMRS to the network device.) via the DMRS ports (Sun, [0008] A plurality of DMRS symbols may be transmitted through a plurality of orthogonal DMRS ports which correspond to a plurality of antenna ports respectively.) obtained through expansion in the at least one CDM group, wherein the DMRS ports in the at least one CDM group comprise the legacy DMRS ports and the expanded DMRS ports (Sun, [0087] the expanded CDM group including a larger size than the legacy CDM group may support more orthogonal DMRS ports. [0011] The DMRS may be coded with one of a plurality of expanded OCCs belonging to an expanded CDM group. The expanded CDM group may be generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs. The number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs may be expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs. [0096] the one expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to the same DMRS port n corresponding to the legacy OCC, and the other expanded OCC in the pair may be assigned to a DMRS port (n+M), wherein M is the maximum number of legacy supportable DMRS ports.),
and the DMRS is used to demodulate downlink data (Sun, [0007] A demodulation reference signal (DMRS) may be used for channel estimation and demodulation. [0117] At 1140, the wireless device performs a downlink channel estimation based on the DMRS.).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2-5, 8-11, 14-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2023/0353315 discloses [0128] In some aspects, the expansion of the number of ports may be per CDM group to accommodate legacy UE multiplexing. For example, if the legacy UE is assigned one or more ports for a certain CDM group, then it may not be possible to assign other extended ports to that CDM group.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469