DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the preamble sets forth the method is directed towards “making a rood equipment support” however, upon completion of the method one of ordinary skill in the art obtains an extruded material having “a platform…a pair of sidewalls…a top wall…and a pair of strut extensions” The claim does not clearly recite that the listed structure makes up the “roof equipment support.”
There appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the interior cavity” in line 6. The claim states “an interior cavity” in line 9, it is unclear if this limitation is intending to set forth a second interior cavity or if it is intending to refer to the same interior cavity set forth in line 6.
With regards to claim 2, the claim states “wherein extrusion forms an elongated support”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if the elongated support is an additional structure to the structure set forth in claim 1 and if it is the mechanical relationship between the elongated support and the structure of claim 1, or if the limitation is intending to set forth that the elongated support is comprised of the structure set forth in claim 1. For examination purposes the limitation is being interpreted as the elongated support is comprised of the structure recited in claim 1.
With regards to claim 6, there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the width of the top wall” found in line 1.
With regards to claim 9, the preamble sets forth the method is directed towards “making a rood equipment support” however, upon completion of the method one of ordinary skill in the art obtains an extruded material having “a platform…a pair of sidewalls…a top wall…and a pair of strut extensions” The claim does not clearly recite that the listed structure makes up the “roof equipment support”.
There appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the interior cavity” in line 6. The claim states “an interior cavity” in line 9, it is unclear if this limitation is intending to set forth a second interior cavity or if it is intending to refer to the same interior cavity set forth in line 6.
With regards to claim 11, the claim states “wherein the roof equipment support further comprises…” this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear when the roof equipment support has been formed. It is noted that in claim 9 the extrusion forms specific structures but fails to connect the formed structures and the roof equipment support. Additionally, the claim is directed to a method therefore it is unclear if the at least one support wall is formed by the extrusion step of claim 9 or if it is being formed by a separate step, in which case what would that step be. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 14, there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the width of the top wall” found in line 1.
With regards to claim 15, the preamble sets forth the method is directed towards “making a rood equipment support” however, upon completion of the method one of ordinary skill in the art obtains an extruded material having “a platform…a pair of sidewalls…a top wall…and a pair of strut extensions” The claim does not clearly recite that the listed structure makes up the “roof equipment support”.
With regards to claim 19, the claim states “further comprising at least one support wall extending from the sidewalls”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if the at least one support wall is formed by the extrusion step of claim 15 or if it is being formed by a separate step, in which case what would that step be. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-10, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anselmo (US 9,431,802).
In reference to claim 1, Anselmo discloses a method of making a roof equipment support comprising
preparing a material for extrusion,
extruding the material through a die [see col. 5 lines 5-8], wherein the extrusion forms:
a platform (28) having a length and a width,
a pair of sidewalls [see figure below] extending from the platform, wherein an angle between the platform and at least one of the pair of sidewalls within the interior cavity is an acute angle,
a top wall extending between the pair of sidewalls and offset from the platform, wherein the platform, the pair of sidewalls, and the top wall define an interior cavity that extends the length of the platform from a first end to a second end, and wherein the cavity is open at both the first end and the second end, and
a pair of strut extensions (16) extending from the top wall, wherein each of the strut extensions comprises a hook (32) at a distal end that includes a substantially 180 degree bend, wherein each of the strut extensions has a planar portion substantially perpendicular to the platform, and wherein the pair of strut extensions and the top wall define a channel that extends the length of the platform;
wherein a cross-sectional profile of the roof equipment support is contact along an entirety of the length of the platform.
In reference to claim 2, the extrusion forms an elongated support, and the method further comprises cutting the elongated support to generate a plurality of roof equipment supports having the same cross sectional profile.
In reference to claim 3, the platform, the pair of sidewalls, the top wall, and the pair of strut extensions are unitary, as seen in figure 3.
In reference to claim 4, a cross-section of the interior cavity has a trapezoidal shape, as seen in figure 3.
In reference to claim 6, the width of the top wall is less than the width of the platform, as seen in figure 3.
In reference to claim 9, Anselmo discloses a method of making a roof equipment support comprising
preparing a material for extrusion,
extruding the material through a die [see col. 5 lines 5-8], wherein the extrusion forms:
a platform (28) having a length and a width,
a pair of sidewalls [see figure 3 above] extending from the platform, wherein an angle between the platform and at least one of the pair of sidewalls within the interior cavity is an acute angle,
a top wall extending between the pair of sidewalls and offset from the platform, wherein the platform, the pair of sidewalls, and the top wall define an interior cavity that extends the length of the platform from a first end to a second end,
a pair of strut extensions (16) extending from the top wall, wherein the pair strut extensions and the top wall define a channel [see figure 3], and
wherein a cross-sectional profile of the roof equipment support is contact along an entirety of the length of the platform.
In reference to claim 10, the platform, the pair of sidewalls, the top wall, and the pair of strut extensions are unitary, as seen in figure 3.
in reference to claim 14, a width of the top wall is less than the width of the platform, as seen in figure 3.
In reference to claim 15, Anselmo discloses a method of making a roof equipment support comprising
preparing a material for extrusion,
extruding the material through a die [see col. 5 lines 5-8], wherein the extrusion forms:
a platform (28) configured to be coupled to a roof [see col. 8 lines 16-17],
a pair of sidewalls [see figure 3 above] extending from the platform, wherein the pair of sidewalls define an interior cavity that is open at at least one end,
a top wall [see figure 3 above] extending between the pair of sidewalls and offset from the platform and configured to support at least a portion of a structural or mechanical unit (conduit 3),
a pair of strut extensions (16) extending from the top wall, wherein each of the strut extensions comprises a hook (32) at a distal end that includes a substantially 180 degree bend, wherein the pair of strut extensions and the top wall define a channel that extends at least a portion the length of the roof equipment support [see figure 3] and, wherein a cross-sectional profile of the roof equipment support is contact along an entirety of the length of the platform.
In reference to claim 16, a cross-section of the interior cavity has a substantially trapezoidal shape, as seen in figure 3.
In reference to claim 18, a width of the top wall is less than the width of the platform, as seen in figure 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 5, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anselmo in view of Gretz (US 9,726,303).
In reference to claims 5, 13 and 17, Anselmo discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the width of the platform is greater than a spacing between the pair of sidewalls proximate the platform.
However, Gretz teaches of a roof equipment support where the platform (26) extends beyond the width of the sidewalls for the purpose of providing additional stability [see col. 4 lines 5-8; figure 1].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the platform of Anselmo to be greater than a spacing between the sidewalls, as taught by Gretz, in order to provide additional stability.
2. Claim(s) 7-8, 11-12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anselmo in view of Sorkin (US 6,684,594).
In reference to claims 7, 11 and 19, Anselmo discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein at support wall is formed in the interior cavity and extends between the top wall and the platform.
However, Sorkin teaches of a roof equipment support comprising of a platform, a pair of sidewalls extending from the platform, a top wall extending between the sidewalls and a support wall extending between the platform and the top wall for the purpose of providing added rigidity to the support [see col. 5 lines 2-5; figure 2].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support structure of Anselmo to include a support wall, as taught by Sorkin, in order to provide additional rigidity to the support structure.
In reference to claims 8, 12 and 20, Sorkin further teaches that support wall defines a pipe rest portion that is curved with a concavity in an upwards direction relative to the platform [see figure 2].
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725