DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luetzelschwab et al (US 2004/0100341; art of record).
Regarding independent claim 1, Luetzelschwab teaches an integrated circuit comprising a switched transformer array, the switched transformer array comprising: a transformer primary side comprising at least a first transformer turn formed in a first metal layer and having first and second ends (fig. 1, [0029] and [0035]); a transformer secondary side comprising at least a first transformer turn formed in a second metal layer and having first and second ends (fig. 1, [0029] and [0035]); at least a first inductor strand formed in the first metal layer a first distance from the first transformer turn of the transformer primary side, the first inductor strand having first and second ends (fig. 1, 152a); at least a second inductor strand formed in one of the first metal layer and the second metal layer a second distance from the first inductor strand, the second inductor strand having first and second ends (fig. 1, 152a); a first switch (fig. 1, 154a) configured to selectively interconnect the first and second ends of the first inductor strand (fig. 1, 152a); and a second switch configured to selectively interconnect the first and second ends of the second inductor strand (fig. 1, 154n). Luetzelschwab fails to teach the integrated circuit is a beamformer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luetzelschwab to be used as a beamformer since it is just a matter of intended used of the invention. Moreover, it has been decided that selection of intended use of a prior art is an obvious expedient over the prior art. See M.P.E.P. 2144.07.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luetzelschwab et al (US 2004/0100341; art cited by applicant) in view of Chan (US 2011/0051308; art cited by applicant).
Regarding independent claim 13, Luetzelschwab teaches an integrated circuit (IC) comprising a switched inductor array, the switched inductor array comprising: N inductor strands (fig. 1, 152a to 154n) formed in a first metal layer preselected distances from one another, where N is a positive integer that is greater than or equal to 3 (fig. 1), each of the inductor strands having first and second ends; and at least N-1 switches (fig. 5 shows an embodiment where the first inductor 194 is fixed and not switched) interconnecting the first and second ends of N-1 of the inductor strands (fig. 1, 154a to 154n), respectively, the N-1 switches being configured to be activated and to be deactivated, wherein activation of one or more of the switches changes electromagnetic inductive characteristics of the switched inductor array, thereby changing an operating frequency of the first inductor array ([0051]). Luetzelschwab fails to teach the IC is a beamformer and each of the inductors is substantially circularly shaped and concentrically oriented in the first metal layer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luetzelschwab to be used as a beamformer since it is just a matter of intended used of the invention. Moreover, it has been decided that selection of intended use of a prior art is an obvious expedient over the prior art. See M.P.E.P. 2144.07. In addition, realizing inductive strands in circular shape and in concentric manner is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications and particularly advantageous in integrated circuits in order to reduce space requirements (e.g. see Chan, figs. 3-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luetzelschwab by employing the teachings as taught by Chan in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding dependent claim 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Luetzelschwab as modified by Chan to operate in the frequency range as claimed since it is just a matter of designed option to tune to the desired operating frequency range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Khlat (US 2011/0222443), Chen et al (US 2018/0115198), Sharma et al (US 2021/0218375) and Liao et al (US 2026/0095204) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus of switched transformer array. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests the further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 3-12 and 14-19.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634