DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/28/2024. Claim(s) 1-23 is/are pending and are examined.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 09/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 10/28/2044 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 09/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant submits that it is not clear why an artisan in possession of Oliver and Sharma and motivated to account for potential failover would have arrived at determining a result of the attestation session according to a plurality of instances of a reply (i.e., applying Oliver's attestation procedure to multiple replies to the same probe), as opposed to, for instance, using
Sharma's multicast teachings to identify potential network paths (as taught by Sharma) and using any single reply for attestation (as taught by Oliver). Oliver does not describe or suggest any advantage of using multiple replies for attestation, and Sharma does not cure this
deficiency.
(Applicant’s response filed on 09/10/2026, page 11-14).
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner will more thoroughly clarify why one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Oliver and Sharma. The Examiner supplements the motivation as follows:
Oliver teaches timing-based attestation where deviations from expected timing values indicate tampering such as MITM attacks (Oliver, ¶ [0058]). Oliver expressly acknowledges that timing values “may be affected e.g. by network latency, attestee CPU load, etc.” (Oliver, ¶ [0058]), recognizing that network conditions introduce variability into the attestation. Sharma teaches transmitting a message via multicast and receiving copies via multiple distinct equal-cost paths, with replies used for network analytics, monitoring, and anomaly detection (Sharma, Abstract, ¶¶ [0023], [0031]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, confronted with Oliver’s timing-based attestation and its acknowledged susceptibility to network latency, would have been motivated to apply Sharma’s multi-path technique to Oliver’s attestation to: improve the robustness of Oliver’s attestation, multiple reply instances via distinct routes provides a plurality of timing data points which reduces the impact of latency on any singular path. Further, to enhance attack detection as a MITM attacker comprises a singular path, utilizing replies via multiple distinct routes would help root out timing anomalies of compromised path compared to uncompromised paths therefore making the attack easier to detect. Even further, relying on a singular path introduces a choke point for failure. Multiple path replies ensures that the attestation procedure is resilient to individual path failures, see (Sharma ¶ 23).
This motivation is grounded in the express teachings and recognized problems of the references, not hindsight. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395 (CCPA 1971). As such it is clear why one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Oliver with Sharma.
Applicant’s Argument:
In view of the above, it is not clear why an artisan in possession of Sharma would have chosen
to send Oliver's attestation probes via multicast, instead of, for instance, using Sharma's
multicast method to determine a communication path, and then send Oliver's attestation probe
via the determined path.
(Applicant’s response filed on 09/10/2026, page 11-14).
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant argues that the combination of teachings from Oliver and Sharma is unclear and suggests that a separate combination would be more natural or logical. However, the existence of an alternative combination does not negate the obviousness of the claimed combination. The question is not whether the proposed combination is the only combination or even if the combination is the most likey, but if it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and if there is motive to pursue it. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416; Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989). As detailed about there are multiple reasons for the combination of Oliver and Sharma.
Moreover, Sharma is not limited to path selection followed by single-path communication. Sharma broadly teaches that collective analysis of replies via multiple paths is itself a valuable analytical tool for monitoring and anomaly detection (Sharma, Abstract, ¶ [0031]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized this principle as directly applicable to improving Oliver’s timing-based attestation.
Applicants’ Argument:
Applicant submits that the Office Action's proposed combination of the identified teachings of Oliver and Sharma is grounded in hindsight, as opposed to a fair interpretation of the prior art. (Applicant’s response filed on 09/10/2026, page 11-14).
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s assertion of hindsight is conclusory. The motivation relies exclusively on teachings expressly disclosed in the references — Oliver’s acknowledged timing variability and Sharma’s multi-path resiliency and analytics. No knowledge gleaned solely from Applicant’s disclosure is required. See MPEP § 2145(X)(A). For the foregoing reasons, the rejection of independent claims 1, 12, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Applicant’s Argument:
As argued above, Sharma teachings are directed to determining alternative communication paths through a network. As such, Sharma's field of endeavor is substantially removed from the subject matter of the present claims (device attestation, protecting a network against malicious activity). Since Sharma's teachings are directed to determining alternative communication paths through a network, Applicant submits that Sharma would not have commended itself to an inventor's attention in considering the problems of device attestation or computer security. A person of ordinary skill in the field of computer security and attempting to solve a problem of device attestation would have had no reason to look to an invention directed at optimizing/restoring25 network communications, since the ability to communicate with a device over a network is ordinarily taken as a given when considering issues of device attestation.
Applicant therefore submits that Sharma is non-analogous art to the claimed invention.
(Applicant’s response filed on 09/10/2026, page 14-16).
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner will address the two-prong analysis and clarify how Sharma is analogous art.
Prong 1: The Applicant narrows the characterization of the claimed field as simply, “device attestation/computer security”, and Sharma’s field as “network path determination”. However, the Applicant’s claims are not directed to the field of attestation in the abstract. The claims specifically requires that the security appliance be connected to a computer network comprising a plurality of interconnected devices, wherein the attestation result is determined according to the timing of a plurality of instances of replies received via the different network routes. The core of the Applicant’s claimed attestation mechanism is grounded in multi-path network communication behavior. Similarly, Sharma operates within a computer network of interconnected nodes that are transmitting messages and receiving multiple copies via distinct paths for timing and routine analysis see, (Sharma ¶ 72-73 and Abstract). Both references operate in the common field of networked communication systems involving multi-path message transmission and analysis. That one applies multi-path analysis to security attestation and the other to network analytics does not place them in different fields. See MPEP § 2141.01(a).
Prong 2: Assuming Sharna is not in an identical field, it is reasonably pertinent to the inventor’s problem. The proper inquiry is whether the reference “logically would have commended itself to an inventor’s attention in considering his problem.” In re Icon Health and Fitness, 496 F.3d 1374, 1379–80 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
The Applicant’s specification ¶ 75 describes the problem as detecting rogue devices that masquerade as legitimate devices, and explains that detection works because “the position of the rogue device on the network is distinct from that of the impersonated legitimate device” such that “attestation replies from a rogue device will typically fail to fit a reference reply pattern.” The problem that is inventor is attempting to solve is therefore explicitly tied to multi-path network routing behavior, not merely “how to attest a device” but “how to leverage multi-path communication characteristics to detect attacks on a network”. One having ordinary skill in the art facing the same problem would logically look to references addressing multi-path message propagation and timing analysis across the multiple paths, which is the subject matter that Sharma address. The Applicant’s assertion that network communication “is ordinarily taken as a given” in device attestation does not apply here because the claims use multi-path network behavior as the attestation mechanism itself, not merely as a precondition to it.
Accordingly, Sharma is analogous art under both prongs, and Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-15, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver (US 2024/0380617 A1), hereinafter Oliver in view of Sharma (US 2025/0158916 A1), hereinafter Sharma.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 12, and 23 Oliver teaches:
A security appliance connected to a computer network comprising a plurality of interconnected client devices, the security appliance comprising at least one hardware processor configured to: (Oliver ¶ 2 teaches, Attestation or remote attestation refers to a service that allows a remote device such as a mobile phone, an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device, or other endpoint to prove itself to a relying party, a server or a service. ¶ 30 teaches, wherein an attestation procedure may be performed. Gathering attestation data from devices, e.g. distributed devices over various networking technologies, may take varying amounts of time. (i.e., interconnected client devices) ¶ 58 teaches, if the claim or attestation procedure is too fast, it might suggest a man-in-the-middle (MITM) attack using replay or caching. MITM attack may also be known as machine-in-the-middle attack, for example. MITM attack is a cyberattack where an attacker relays and possibly alters communication between two parties who believe that they are directly communicating with each other. (i.e., used for security). ¶ 16-17 teaches, there is provided a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause an apparatus to at least to perform the method of the third aspect and any of the embodiments thereof, or the method of the fourth aspect and any of the embodiments thereof.)
engage in an attestation session with a selected client device of the plurality of client devices, the attestation session comprising:
transmitting an attestation probe to the selected client device, and ((Oliver ¶ 34-40 teaches, Attestor transmits “attest” message comprising an entity attestation token (EAT) to the attestee. (i.e., attestation probe) The attestation token comprises at least a claim data structure. The attestation token may further comprise additional meta data and relevant signatures, for example. An example of an attestation token comprising a claim data structure is shown in FIG. 3.)
determining a result of the attestation session according to a timing of a plurality of instances of a reply to the attestation probe, ((Oliver ¶ 34-40 teaches, Attestor transmits “attest” message comprising an entity attestation token (EAT) to the attestee. The attestation token comprises at least a claim data structure. The attestation token may further comprise additional meta data and relevant signatures, for example. An example of an attestation token comprising a claim data structure is shown in FIG. 3. Upon transmission of the token, the attestor may generate “TimeStamp_attest” indicating timestamp of the token, that is, a first timestamp. The attestee may transmit 230 “getQuote” message to the security entity. The attestee may generate “TimeStamp_getQuote” indicating timestamp of the “getQuote” message, that is, a second timestamp. The attestee may generate “TimeStamp_returnQuote” indicating timestamp of the “returnQuote” message, that is, a third timestamp. This additional timestamp, the third timestamp, information may be included in the claim data structure. The attestor may generate “TimeStamp_retumClaim” indicating timestamp of the response, that is, a fourth timestamp. (i.e., plurality of messages used to determine attestation))
in response to a failure of the attestation session, determine whether the failure is indicative of a computer security threat. (Oliver ¶ 58 teaches, duration of the attestation procedure may be determined based on the timestamps. Threshold values may be determined for a suitable duration. If the attestation procedure has been too quick or too slow, it might imply that the claim or attestation procedure may have been tampered with.)
Oliver does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
each instance of the reply received from the selected client device via a distinct network route; and (Sharma ¶ 72-73 teaches, The number of copies of the network message may correspond to a plurality of unique end-to-end paths with respect to the sending node and the recipient node.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Oliver with Sharma, to modify the attestation method of Oliver with the unique message paths of Sharma. The motivation to do so, Sharma ¶ 23, To account for potential failover and network resiliency.
Regarding Claim(s) 2 and 13 Oliver in view of Sharma teaches:
The security appliance of claim 1, wherein determining the result of the attestation session comprises: (Oliver in view of Sharma teaches the parent claim above.)
determining whether the plurality of instances of the reply match a reference reply pattern determined according to previous attestations of the selected client device;
in response, if the plurality of instances of the reply match the reference reply pattern, determining that the attestation session is successful; and
otherwise, determining that the attestation session has failed. (Oliver ¶ 58 teaches, it is known beforehand that TPM quote and signing takes approximately 0.75 seconds on a hardware device, and less than 0.01 seconds on a software implementation of a TPM. If implemented in a CPU enclave, the duration may be longer than 0.01 seconds. As an example, the timing characteristics of a device may be learned over time, and the expected values for bounds may be defined based on learned timing characteristics. The timing values may be affected e.g. by network latency, attestee CPU load, etc. This is why including additional information on timings of different parts of the claim to the claim is beneficial. In other words, the usage of additional timestamps is beneficial. (i.e., known expected values to be compared against received values). If the claim or attestation procedure is too fast, it might suggest a man-in-the-middle (MITM) attack using replay or caching. MITM attack may also be known as machine-in-the-middle attack, for example. MITM attack is a cyberattack where an attacker relays and possibly alters communication between two parties who believe that they are directly communicating with each other. (i.e., known patterns for attacks))
Regarding Claim(s) 3 and 14 Oliver in view of Sharma teaches:
The security appliance of claim 2, (Oliver in view of Sharma teaches the parent limitation above.) wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to determine whether the plurality of instances of the reply match the reference reply pattern according to a count of instances of the reply received within a pre-determined time window following transmission of the attestation probe. (Oliver ¶ 10 teaches, the attestation procedure comprises checking an order of time points indicated by the timestamps and comparing the order of the time points to a reference order; and in response to determining that the order of the time points does not correspond to the reference order, determining that the verification of the attestation procedure has been failed.)
Regarding Claim(s) 4 and 15 Oliver in view of Sharma teaches:
The security appliance of claim 2, (Oliver in view of Sharma teaches the parent limitation above.) wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to determine whether the plurality of instances of the reply match the reference reply pattern according to a likelihood for an instance of the reply to be received within a pre-determined time interval following transmission of the attestation probe. (Oliver ¶ 58 teaches, it is known beforehand that TPM quote and signing takes approximately 0.75 seconds on a hardware device, and less than 0.01 seconds on a software implementation of a TPM. If implemented in a CPU enclave, the duration may be longer than 0.01 seconds. As an example, the timing characteristics of a device may be learned over time, and the expected values for bounds may be defined based on learned timing characteristics. duration of the attestation procedure may be determined based on the timestamps. Threshold values may be determined for a suitable duration. (i.e., likelihood) If the attestation procedure has been too quick or too slow, it might imply that the claim or attestation procedure may have been tampered with.)
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver in view of Sharma as applied to claim 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2025/0112948 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding Claim(s) 5 and 16 Oliver in view of Sharma teaches:
The security appliance of claim 2, (Oliver in view of Sharma teaches the parent limitation above.) wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to determine whether the plurality of instances of the reply match the reference reply pattern ((Oliver ¶ 58 teaches, it is known beforehand that TPM quote and signing takes approximately 0.75 seconds on a hardware device, and less than 0.01 seconds on a software implementation of a TPM. If implemented in a CPU enclave, the duration may be longer than 0.01 seconds. As an example, the timing characteristics of a device may be learned over time, and the expected values for bounds may be defined based on learned timing characteristics. duration of the attestation procedure may be determined based on the timestamps. Threshold values may be determined for a suitable duration. If the attestation procedure has been too quick or too slow, it might imply that the claim or attestation procedure may have been tampered with.)
Oliver in view of Sharma does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
according to a network route followed by a selected instance of the plurality of instances of the reply. (Lee ¶ 50 teaches the concept, identifying, from among the plurality of network paths and using the relational representation and information indicating one or more of the plurality of network resources that have at least one respective security vulnerability, one or more network attack paths (e.g., the network attack path shown in FIG. 1A, the network attack path shown in FIG. 1C) that may be used to exploit one or more security vulnerabilities of network resources in the set of network resources.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Oliver in view of Sharma with Lee, to modify the attestation method of Oliver with the unique message paths of Sharma with the identification of attacks based on network routes of Lee. The motivation to do so, Lee ¶ 68, quickly and readily discern security risks and take the appropriate actions to mitigate (e.g., reduce or eliminate) them.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver in view of Sharma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843 A1), hereinafter Gord.
Regarding Claim(s) 6 and 17 Oliver in view of Sharm teaches:
The security appliance of claim 1, (Oliver in view of Sharma teaches the parent claim above.)
Oliver in view of Sharma does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to transmit the attestation probe to the selected client device using a one-to-one messaging protocol, and wherein the attestation probe is formulated to cause the selected client device to send the reply using a one-to-many messaging protocol. (Gord ¶ 77 teaches, System information may be broadcast, multicast, unicast or on demand. (i.e., one-to-one) A request for system information, for example, a request for one, some or all system information, may be provided by a UE and the response may use broadcast, multicast or unicast transmissions which may be configured on may be determined on demand. (i.e., one-to-many))
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Oliver in view of Sharma with Gord, to modify the attestation method of Oliver with the unique message paths of Sharma with the multiple types of messaging protocols of Gord. The motivation to do so, Gord ¶ 124, to improve throughput, reliability and latency.
Claim(s) 7-10 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver in view of Sharma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dillaway (US 2005/0132202 A1), hereinafter Dillaway.
Regarding Claim(s) 7 and 18 Oliver in view of Sharma teaches:
The security appliance of claim 1, (Oliver in view of Sharma teaches the parent claim above.)
Oliver in view of Sharma does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
wherein the attestation probe includes an encrypted session ID identifying the attestation session from among a plurality of other attestation sessions. (Dillaway ¶ 37 teaches, the first entity could encrypt the data and/or the code ID of the attestation message according to a key available to the second entity. ¶ 5 teaches, a code identifier (code ID) representative of the first entity and data relevant to the purpose of the trust-based relationship, and where the second entity has knowledge of each valid code ID corresponding to the first entity.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Oliver in view of Sharma with Dillaway, to modify the attestation method of Oliver with the unique message paths of Sharma with the encrypted id for attestation of Dillaway. The motivation to do so, Dillaway ¶ 22, secure distributed applications may be developed that enforce data confidentiality, data privacy, and known computational characteristics.
Regarding Claim(s) 8 and 19 Oliver-Sharma-Dillaway teaches:
The security appliance of claim 7, (Oliver-Sharma-Dillaway teaches the parent limitation above.) wherein the reply by the selected client device is formulated to include the session ID. (Dillaway ¶ 47 teaches, the trust message from the second entity should also include the code ID of the first entity from the attestation message and any other return data relevant to the purpose of the trusted relationship.)
Regarding Claim(s) 9 and 20 Oliver-Sharma-Dillaway teaches:
The security appliance of claim 7, (Oliver-Sharma-Dillaway teaches the parent limitation above.) wherein the security appliance is configured to determine a result of the attestation session according to a value of the session ID included in the reply. (Dillaway ¶ 53 teaches, Once trust has been established between the first and second entities based on the attestation message from the first entity and the trust message from the second entity, the first and second entities can rely on such established trust for an indefinite period of time, and in particular can employ the shared secret to exchange information therebetween according to such established trust.)
Regarding Claim(s) 10 and 21 Oliver in view of Sharma teaches:
The security appliance of claim 1, (Oliver in view of Sharma) wherein the attestation probe is formulated to cause the selected client device to perform a service discovery procedure that includes sending the reply. (Dillaway ¶ 45 teaches, presuming that the second entity decides to trust the first entity based on the attestation message therefrom, the second entity then proceeds to evidence such trust by constructing a trust message for the first entity. In one embodiment of the present invention, the trust message includes therein a secret shared between the first and second entities 10,12, where such secret allows such first and second entities 10, 12 to communicate in a secure manner.)
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver in view of Sharma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wentz (US 2020/0296128 A1), hereinafter Wentz.
Regarding Claim(s) 11 and 22 Oliver in view of Sharma teaches:
The security appliance of claim 1, (Oliver in view of Sharma teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the timing of at least one of the plurality of instances of the reply is registered at a listener device distinct from the security appliance. (Wentz ¶ 111 teaches, the received data signals are locally processed at the listener device by a one-way function, e.g. a hash function, and this hashed output data is sent to a timestamping authority (TSA). The use of secure timestamps as described herein may enable systems and methods as described herein to instantiate attested time.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Oliver in view of Sharma with Wentz, to modify the attestation method of Oliver with the unique message paths of Sharma with the listener device of Wentz. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique of listener devices recording data to known devices and/or methods for attestation of devices ready for improvement to yield predictable results of having further data for attestation confirmation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10181987 B2 - a system receives, from a first collector device, a first data report generated by a capturing agent deployed on a host system in a network. The system can also receive, from a second collector device, a second data report generated by the capturing agent deployed on the host system. The first and second data reports can include traffic data captured at the host system by the capturing agent during a period of time
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408