DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Final action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of July 23, 2026.
Claim 16 has been canceled.
Claim 21 has been newly added.
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2024-0059943, filed on May 7, 2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al., CN 116558530 A, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO, in view of Aylwin et al., US 2022/0397401 A1, hereinafter referred to as Aylwin, respectively.
As to claim 1, ZHAO teaches a vehicle control device comprising:
a processor (see at least paragraph 6 regarding at least one processor, ZHAO); and
memory storing instructions that are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to (see at least paragraph 6 regarding a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor, ZHAO):
determine, based on a first map, a global path along which a vehicle is to travel (see at least paragraph 5 regarding in response to detecting a trajectory drawn based on a first electronic map, determining the range covered by the detected trajectory; selecting a first candidate road segment from the first electronic map according to the range covered by the trajectory; filtering a second candidate road segment that meets the requirements of autonomous driving from the first candidate road segment; and planning a global navigation path according to the second candidate road segment. See also at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 62-82. See also at least paragraphs 115-119, ZHAO);
determine, based on a second map associated with the global path and while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a plurality of local paths associated with the global path, wherein the second map has higher precision than the first map (see at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding the path planning method 1000 may also include, for example, obtaining navigation information based on a second electronic map and a global navigation path, so as to control the vehicle's movement according to the navigation information; wherein the accuracy of the second electronic map is higher than that of the first electronic map. In other words, the first electronic map can be, for example, a rough electronic map, and the second electronic map can be, for example, a high-precision map. Obtaining navigation information based on a second electronic map and a global navigation path may include, for example: acquiring a local map in the second electronic map corresponding to the real-time location information of the vehicle, and a local navigation path in the global navigation path corresponding to the real-time location information of the vehicle; determining lane information of the local navigation path based on the local map; selecting one lane in the local navigation path as a driving lane based on the lane information of the local navigation path; and determining navigation information based on the driving lane, wherein the navigation information at least indicates driving along the driving lane. If the lane information for road segment L1 indicates that the driving lanes for road segment L1 include lane 1, lane 2, lane 3, and lane 4, where the driving direction of lanes 1 and 2 is from east to west, lane 1 is a straight and right turn lane, and lane 2 is a straight and left turn lane, and the driving direction of lanes 3 and 4 is from west to east, lane 3 is a straight and left turn lane, and lane 4 is a straight and right turn lane, and since the driving direction of the vehicle is from west to east and it needs to enter road segment L2, the navigation information can, for example, instruct the vehicle to drive along lane 4 and turn right after M meters (the distance from the vehicle's current position to the intersection), ZHAO); and
control, based on the at least one local path, the vehicle (see at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding instructing the vehicle to drive along lane 4 and turn right after M meters (the distance from the vehicle's current position to the intersection), ZHAO).
ZHAO does not explicitly teach selecting, based on a comparison between a plurality of coordinates in the first map and corresponding to the global path and a plurality of coordinates in the second map and corresponding to the plurality of local paths, at least one local path of the plurality of local paths.
However, such matter is taught by Aylwin (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding the first map database 132 is an in-vehicle map database (e.g., a high-definition (HD) map database). … The second map database 140, for example, could be a different version of a same map database (an earlier or later update, a different quality level, such as standard definition (SD), or the like) or could be an entirely different map system (e.g., a different map system but from a same original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or a third-party map system). Routes R1.sub.A and R2.sub.A represent two different possible valid routes provided by one map database (map database A) where some nodes/segments are shared. Route R1.sub.B represents a user-generated route provided by another map database (map database B). The route selecting process will be based primarily on weighted Euclidean distance comparisons between geo-points of each valid route to the user-generated route. See also at least Claim 1 regarding determining a best route from the set of valid routes based on a weighted comparison between each route of the set of valid routes and the user-generated route; and utilize the selected route for control of the autonomous driving feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Aylwin which teaches selecting, based on a comparison between a plurality of coordinates in the first map and corresponding to the global path and a plurality of coordinates in the second map and corresponding to the plurality of local paths, at least one local path of the plurality of local paths with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of selecting, based on a comparison between a plurality of coordinates in the first map and corresponding to the global path and a plurality of coordinates in the second map and corresponding to the plurality of local paths, at least one local path of the plurality of local paths and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 2, ZHAO does not explicitly teach determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; or selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates.
However, Aylwin teaches determining a first set of coordinates of the first map (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding Route R1.sub.B represents a user-generated route provided by another map database (map database B)); determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding Routes R1.sub.A and R2.sub.A represent two different possible valid routes provided by one map database (map database A) where some nodes/segments are shared); and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding a lowest cost route could be the most-likely valid route. In one exemplary implementation, the non-linear cost function factors distance traveled (via all of the respective road segments) and a set of road attributes. Non-limiting examples of the set of road attributes include road class (highway/freeway, multi-lane roadway, two-lane roadway, etc.), road curvature/straightness, and road ramp type (e.g., controlled-access with on/off-ramps). As shown, three valid routes are identified (R1, R2, and R3). It is initially determined that routes R1 and R2 are more-likely than route R3 (e.g., because endpoints of segments S5 and S3 are closer to the final geo-location). It is then determined that route R1 (S.fwdarw.S4.fwdarw.S5) is more-likely than route R2 (S1.fwdarw.S2.fwdarw.S3) because the straightness of segment S4 is more similar to segment S1 and segment S2 (i.e., angle θ.sub.12 is greater or more drastic than angle θ.sub.14). Thus, route R1 is identified as the most-likely route or most probable path (MPP) followed by route R2 and then route R3. The controller 112 selects the best-matched valid route of the set of valid routes compared to the user-generated route. See also at least Claim 1 regarding determining a best route from the set of valid routes based on a weighted comparison between each route of the set of valid routes and the user-generated route; and utilize the selected route for control of the autonomous driving feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Aylwin which teaches determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 3, ZHAO does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to determine the difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates by matching the first set of coordinates to each of the plurality of local paths.
However, such matter is taught by Aylwin (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding the route selecting process will be based primarily on weighted Euclidean distance comparisons between geo-points of each valid route to the user-generated route. There are also other factors that could be taken into account. As shown, the user-generated route is represented as an array of geo-points (hollow circles) and the set of valid routes is shown to include valid routes R1 (S1.fwdarw.S3.fwdarw.S5), R2 (S1.fwdarw.S3.fwdarw.S4) and R3 (S1.fwdarw.S2). The current vehicle position (Vcp) is also illustrated relative to the geo-points of the various road graphs/routes. As can be seen, valid routes R1 and R2 are better matched to the user-generated route than valid route R3. In the illustrated example of FIG. 3B, the final (upper-most) geo-point of the user-generated route undergoes a weighted Euclidean distance-based comparison to the geo-points (nodes) or segments of the valid routes R1 and R2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Aylwin which teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to determine the difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates by matching the first set of coordinates to each of the plurality of local paths with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining the difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates by matching the first set of coordinates to each of the plurality of local paths and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 7, ZHAO teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, further cause the vehicle control device to: determine, based on the global path comprising a branch path, a first map branch point of the first map (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44 regarding if a road segment that is at least partially within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segments L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, L7, L8, L9, L10 and L11 as the first candidate road segments, ZHAO); determine a second map branch point, of the second map, that is different from the first map branch point (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44 regarding if a road segment that is at least partially within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segments L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, L7, L8, L9, L10 and L11 as the first candidate road segments. If the road segment that is completely within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segment L1, road segment L4, road segment L6 and road segment L9 as the first candidate road segments, ZHAO); and determine a first local branch path and a second local branch path that separate at the second map branch point (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44. See also at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding if the lane information for road segment L1 indicates that the driving lanes for road segment L1 include lane 1, lane 2, lane 3, and lane 4, where the driving direction of lanes 1 and 2 is from east to west, lane 1 is a straight and right turn lane, and lane 2 is a straight and left turn lane, and the driving direction of lanes 3 and 4 is from west to east, lane 3 is a straight and left turn lane, and lane 4 is a straight and right turn lane, and since the driving direction of the vehicle is from west to east and it needs to enter road segment L2, the navigation information can, for example, instruct the vehicle to drive along lane 4 and turn right after M meters (the distance from the vehicle's current position to the intersection), ZHAO).
As to claim 8, ZHAO does not explicitly teach determining, while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a first set of coordinates of the global path; determining a second set of coordinates of the first local branch path; determining a third set of coordinates of the second local branch path; or selecting, based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates and based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the third set of coordinates, at least one of the first local branch path or the second local branch path.
However, Aylwin teaches determining, while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a first set of coordinates of the global path (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding Route R1.sub.B represents a user-generated route provided by another map database (map database B)); determining a second set of coordinates of the first local branch path (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding Routes R1.sub.A and R2.sub.A represent two different possible valid routes provided by one map database (map database A) where some nodes/segments are shared); determining a third set of coordinates of the second local branch path (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding Routes R1.sub.A and R2.sub.A represent two different possible valid routes provided by one map database (map database A) where some nodes/segments are shared); and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates (see at least FIGS. 2A-3B and paragraphs 18-25 regarding a lowest cost route could be the most-likely valid route. In one exemplary implementation, the non-linear cost function factors distance traveled (via all of the respective road segments) and a set of road attributes. Non-limiting examples of the set of road attributes include road class (highway/freeway, multi-lane roadway, two-lane roadway, etc.), road curvature/straightness, and road ramp type (e.g., controlled-access with on/off-ramps). As shown, three valid routes are identified (R1, R2, and R3). It is initially determined that routes R1 and R2 are more-likely than route R3 (e.g., because endpoints of segments S5 and S3 are closer to the final geo-location). It is then determined that route R1 (S.fwdarw.S4.fwdarw.S5) is more-likely than route R2 (S1.fwdarw.S2.fwdarw.S3) because the straightness of segment S4 is more similar to segment S1 and segment S2 (i.e., angle θ.sub.12 is greater or more drastic than angle θ.sub.14). Thus, route R1 is identified as the most-likely route or most probable path (MPP) followed by route R2 and then route R3. The controller 112 selects the best-matched valid route of the set of valid routes compared to the user-generated route. See also at least Claim 1 regarding determining a best route from the set of valid routes based on a weighted comparison between each route of the set of valid routes and the user-generated route; and utilize the selected route for control of the autonomous driving feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Aylwin which teaches determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 9, ZHAO teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to select the at least one local path by: determining a first global branch path and a second global branch path that separate at the first map branch point in the global path (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44 regarding if a road segment that is at least partially within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segments L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, L7, L8, L9, L10 and L11 as the first candidate road segments. If the road segment that is completely within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segment L1, road segment L4, road segment L6 and road segment L9 as the first candidate road segments, ZHAO); and selecting at least one of the first local branch path or the second local branch path, based on at least one of the first global branch path, the second global branch path, the first local branch path, or the second local branch path (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44. See also at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding taking Figure 3 as an example, if the planned global navigation path includes road segment L1 → road segment L2 → road segment L3 → road segment L6 → road segment L8 → road segment L10, and the vehicle is traveling on road segment L1, the electronic device will at least obtain a partial map of the second electronic map that includes road segment L1, thereby obtaining the lane information of road segment L1, ZHAO).
As to claim 10, ZHAO teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to determine the global path by: determining, based on an input indicating a destination of the vehicle, the global path from a current location of the vehicle to the destination of the vehicle (see at least paragraph 2 regarding in current route planning methods, the user typically provides the starting point and destination, and the navigator plans the navigation route for the user. See also at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 62-82. See also at least paragraphs 115-119, ZHAO).
As to claim 11, Examiner notes claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 12, Examiner notes claim 12 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 13, Examiner notes claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 17, Examiner notes claim 17 recites similar limitations to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 18, Examiner notes claim 18 recites similar limitations to claim 8 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 19, Examiner notes claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 9 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 20, Examiner notes claim 20 recites similar limitations to claim 10 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al., CN 116558530 A, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO, in view of Aylwin et al., US 2022/0397401 A1, hereinafter referred to as Aylwin, and further in view of ZHAO et al., WO 2023036044 A1, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO2, respectively.
As to claim 4, ZHAO, as modified by Aylwin, does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to select the at least one local path by stopping, based on the global path comprising a curved path, matching the first set of coordinates to the curved path.
However, such matter is taught by ZHAO2 (see at least FIG. 2 and paragraphs 87-93 regarding the global path is not smooth at points S<sub>1</sub> and S<sub>2</sub>. From the global path, select the portion between P<sub>0</sub> and P<sub>3</sub> of the neighboring points S<sub>1</sub> and S<sub>2</sub>. Based on the initial local path segment, an optimized local path 2 (shown as a solid line) is generated, such that the optimized local path 2 is a curve with continuous second derivatives, and the optimized local path 2 has the same start point, end point, start point velocity direction, end point velocity direction, start point curvature, and end point curvature as the initial local path segment. Then, the initial local path segment is replaced with optimized local path 2 to form a new global path. Finally, the new global path can be determined as the final global path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of ZHAO2 which teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to select the at least one local path by stopping, based on the global path comprising a curved path, matching the first set of coordinates to the curved path with the system of ZHAO, as modified by Aylwin, as both systems are directed to a system and method for path planning and generating navigation routes for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of selecting the at least one local path by stopping, based on the global path comprising a curved path, matching the first set of coordinates to the curved path and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO as modified by Aylwin.
As to claim 14, Examiner notes claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al., CN 116558530 A, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO, in view of Aylwin et al., US 2022/0397401 A1, hereinafter referred to as Aylwin, and further in view of AIZAWA, US 2024/0300482 A1, hereinafter referred to as AIZAWA, respectively.
As to claim 5, ZHAO, as modified by Aylwin, does not explicitly teach determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path; or selecting, among the plurality of local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path.
However, AIZAWA teaches determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path (see at least FIGS. 7-8 and paragraphs 59-65 regarding a path connecting a straight line to at least one of before and after the polynomial curve may be generated. Reference numeral 704 denotes an intersection point of a straight line in the advancing direction 705 at the current position and a straight line in the direction 706 at the target position); and selecting, among the plurality of local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path (see at least FIGS. 7-8 and paragraphs 59-69 regarding a path connecting a straight line to at least one of before and after the polynomial curve may be generated. Reference numeral 704 denotes an intersection point of a straight line in the advancing direction 705 at the current position and a straight line in the direction 706 at the target position. The path generation unit 304 generates a local path according to the generated global path. Subsequently, in S106, the control unit 130 determines a speed and an angular velocity of the moving object 100 according to the generated local path, and controls traveling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of AIZAWA which teaches determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path; and selecting, among the plurality of local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path with the system of ZHAO, as modified by Aylwin, as both systems are directed to a system and method for path planning and generating navigation routes for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path; and selecting, among the plurality of local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO as modified by Aylwin.
As to claim 6, ZHAO, as modified by Aylwin, does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, further cause the vehicle control device to select, from the plurality of local paths, a local curved path that corresponds to the curved path and is connected to the first local straight path and the second local straight path.
However, such matter is taught by AIZAWA (see at least FIGS. 7-8 and paragraphs 59-69 regarding curves of various shapes can be generated according to the posture at the current position and the posture at the target position. Furthermore, by generating a path connecting straight lines before and after the curve, a path to a final target position can be generated. The path generation unit 304 generates the global path using the polynomial curve, determines whether or not the generated path collides with the obstacle, and generates the global path by the search algorithm using the occupancy grid map when the generated path collides with the obstacle. Further, the path generation unit 304 generates a local path according to the generated global path. Subsequently, in S106, the control unit 130 determines a speed and an angular velocity of the moving object 100 according to the generated local path, and controls traveling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of AIZAWA which teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, further cause the vehicle control device to select, from the plurality of local paths, a local curved path that corresponds to the curved path and is connected to the first local straight path and the second local straight path with the system of ZHAO, as modified by Aylwin, as both systems are directed to a system and method for path planning and generating navigation routes for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of selecting, from the plurality of local paths, a local curved path that corresponds to the curved path and is connected to the first local straight path and the second local straight path and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO as modified by Aylwin.
As to claim 15, Examiner notes claim 15 recites similar limitations to claims 5 and 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666