DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on October 28, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in REPUBLIC OF KOREA on 05/07/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0059943 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al., CN 116558530 A, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO, in view of Myung et al., US 2024/0001961 A1, hereinafter referred to as Myung, respectively.
As to claim 1, ZHAO teaches a vehicle control device comprising:
a processor (see at least paragraph 6 regarding at least one processor); and
memory storing instructions that are configured to, when executed by the processor (see at least paragraph 6 regarding a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor), cause the vehicle control device to:
determine, based on a first map, a global path along which a vehicle is to travel (see at least paragraph 5 regarding in response to detecting a trajectory drawn based on a first electronic map, determining the range covered by the detected trajectory; selecting a first candidate road segment from the first electronic map according to the range covered by the trajectory; filtering a second candidate road segment that meets the requirements of autonomous driving from the first candidate road segment; and planning a global navigation path according to the second candidate road segment. See also at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 62-82. See also at least paragraphs 115-119);
determine, based on a second map associated with the global path and while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a plurality of local paths associated with the global path, wherein the second map has higher precision than the first map (see at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding the path planning method 1000 may also include, for example, obtaining navigation information based on a second electronic map and a global navigation path, so as to control the vehicle's movement according to the navigation information; wherein the accuracy of the second electronic map is higher than that of the first electronic map. In other words, the first electronic map can be, for example, a rough electronic map, and the second electronic map can be, for example, a high-precision map. Obtaining navigation information based on a second electronic map and a global navigation path may include, for example: acquiring a local map in the second electronic map corresponding to the real-time location information of the vehicle, and a local navigation path in the global navigation path corresponding to the real-time location information of the vehicle; determining lane information of the local navigation path based on the local map; selecting one lane in the local navigation path as a driving lane based on the lane information of the local navigation path; and determining navigation information based on the driving lane, wherein the navigation information at least indicates driving along the driving lane. If the lane information for road segment L1 indicates that the driving lanes for road segment L1 include lane 1, lane 2, lane 3, and lane 4, where the driving direction of lanes 1 and 2 is from east to west, lane 1 is a straight and right turn lane, and lane 2 is a straight and left turn lane, and the driving direction of lanes 3 and 4 is from west to east, lane 3 is a straight and left turn lane, and lane 4 is a straight and right turn lane, and since the driving direction of the vehicle is from west to east and it needs to enter road segment L2, the navigation information can, for example, instruct the vehicle to drive along lane 4 and turn right after M meters (the distance from the vehicle's current position to the intersection)); and
control, based on the at least one local path, the vehicle (see at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding instructing the vehicle to drive along lane 4 and turn right after M meters (the distance from the vehicle's current position to the intersection)).
ZHAO teaches selecting one lane in the local navigation path as a driving lane based on the lane information of the local navigation path; and determining navigation information based on the driving lane, wherein the navigation information at least indicates driving along the driving lane (see at least paragraphs 123-127, ZHAO), however, ZHAO does not explicitly teach selecting, based on a comparison between a plurality of coordinates of the global path and a plurality of coordinates of the plurality of local paths, at least one local path of the plurality of local paths.
However, such matter is taught by Myung (see at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding generating a path candidate group based on the global path. The optimal path selector 1230 may select an optimal path having a smallest cost function related to a global path following from the path candidate group. See also at least Claim 1 regarding verifying a position on a global path by parameterizing the global path using an arc length; generating a path candidate group based on the global path; and selecting an optimal path as a path having a smallest cost function related to a global path following from the path candidate group, wherein the cost function includes a global-path-following cost for selecting a path candidate group having a smallest lateral offset from the global path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Myung which teaches selecting, based on a comparison between a plurality of coordinates of the global path and a plurality of coordinates of the plurality of local paths, at least one local path of the plurality of local paths with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of selecting, based on a comparison between a plurality of coordinates of the global path and a plurality of coordinates of the plurality of local paths, at least one local path of the plurality of local paths and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 2, ZHAO does not explicitly teach determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; or selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates.
However, Myung teaches determining a first set of coordinates of the first map (see at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding the position verifier 1210 may interpolate waypoints of the global path generated based on an HD map into a cubic spline curve. Here, the position verifier 1210 may express each waypoint corresponding to the global path as coordinates, particularly, interpolated coordinates, by parameterizing a position of a vehicle in a road environment with respect to the arc length); determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths (see at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding the path candidate group generator 1220 may generate a path candidate group based on the global path. Here, the path candidate group generator 1220 may generate the path candidate group by applying a lateral offset based on the global path. The path candidate group generator 1220 may apply each path candidate group for vehicle control by converting from a Cartesian coordinate system to a curvilinear coordinate system); and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates (see at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding the optimal path selector 1230 may select an optimal path having a smallest cost function related to a global path following from the path candidate group. Here, the cost function may include a cost that follows the global path, that is, a global-path-following cost for selecting a path candidate group having a smallest lateral offset from the global path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Myung which teaches determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining a first set of coordinates of the first map; determining second sets of coordinates of the plurality of local paths; and selecting the at least one local path, wherein the at least one local path has a minimum cost value that is determined based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 3, ZHAO does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to determine the difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates by matching the first set of coordinates to each of the plurality of local paths.
However, such matter is taught by Myung (see at least paragraphs 55-56. See also at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding generating a path candidate group based on the global path. Here, the path candidate group generator 1220 may generate the path candidate group by applying a lateral offset based on the global path. The path candidate group generator 1220 may apply each path candidate group for vehicle control by converting from a Cartesian coordinate system to a curvilinear coordinate system. The optimal path selector 1230 may select an optimal path having a smallest cost function related to a global path following from the path candidate group. Here, the cost function may include a cost that follows the global path, that is, a global-path-following cost for selecting a path candidate group having a smallest lateral offset from the global path. That is, the cost function may include a static object cost, a smoothness cost, and a global-path-following cost).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Myung which teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to determine the difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates by matching the first set of coordinates to each of the plurality of local paths with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining the difference between the first set of coordinates and each of the second sets of coordinates by matching the first set of coordinates to each of the plurality of local paths and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 7, ZHAO teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, further cause the vehicle control device to: determine, based on the global path comprising a branch path, a first map branch point of the first map (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44 regarding if a road segment that is at least partially within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segments L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, L7, L8, L9, L10 and L11 as the first candidate road segments);
determine a second map branch point, of the second map, that is different from the first map branch point (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44 regarding if a road segment that is at least partially within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segments L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, L7, L8, L9, L10 and L11 as the first candidate road segments. If the road segment that is completely within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segment L1, road segment L4, road segment L6 and road segment L9 as the first candidate road segments); and
determine a first local branch path and a second local branch path that separate at the second map branch point (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44. See also at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding if the lane information for road segment L1 indicates that the driving lanes for road segment L1 include lane 1, lane 2, lane 3, and lane 4, where the driving direction of lanes 1 and 2 is from east to west, lane 1 is a straight and right turn lane, and lane 2 is a straight and left turn lane, and the driving direction of lanes 3 and 4 is from west to east, lane 3 is a straight and left turn lane, and lane 4 is a straight and right turn lane, and since the driving direction of the vehicle is from west to east and it needs to enter road segment L2, the navigation information can, for example, instruct the vehicle to drive along lane 4 and turn right after M meters (the distance from the vehicle's current position to the intersection)).
As to claim 8, ZHAO does not explicitly teach determining, while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a first set of coordinates of the global path; determining a second set of coordinates of the first local branch path; determining a third set of coordinates of the second local branch path; or selecting, based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates and based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the third set of coordinates, at least one of the first local branch path or the second local branch path.
However, Myung teaches determining, while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a first set of coordinates of the global path (see at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding the position verifier 1210 may interpolate waypoints of the global path generated based on an HD map into a cubic spline curve. Here, the position verifier 1210 may express each waypoint corresponding to the global path as coordinates, particularly, interpolated coordinates, by parameterizing a position of a vehicle in a road environment with respect to the arc length); determining a second set of coordinates of the first local branch path (see at least FIG. 5 and paragraphs 70-74. See also at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding the path candidate group generator 1220 may generate a path candidate group based on the global path. Here, the path candidate group generator 1220 may generate the path candidate group by applying a lateral offset based on the global path. The path candidate group generator 1220 may apply each path candidate group for vehicle control by converting from a Cartesian coordinate system to a curvilinear coordinate system); determining a third set of coordinates of the second local branch path (see at least FIG. 5 and paragraphs 70-74. See also at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding the path candidate group generator 1220 may generate a path candidate group based on the global path. Here, the path candidate group generator 1220 may generate the path candidate group by applying a lateral offset based on the global path. The path candidate group generator 1220 may apply each path candidate group for vehicle control by converting from a Cartesian coordinate system to a curvilinear coordinate system); and selecting, based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates and based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the third set of coordinates, at least one of the first local branch path or the second local branch path (see at least paragraphs 114-120 regarding the optimal path selector 1230 may select an optimal path having a smallest cost function related to a global path following from the path candidate group. Here, the cost function may include a cost that follows the global path, that is, a global-path-following cost for selecting a path candidate group having a smallest lateral offset from the global path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Myung which teaches determining, while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a first set of coordinates of the global path; determining a second set of coordinates of the first local branch path; determining a third set of coordinates of the second local branch path; and selecting, based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates and based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the third set of coordinates, at least one of the first local branch path or the second local branch path with the system of ZHAO as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and optimizing navigation paths for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining, while the vehicle is traveling along the global path, a first set of coordinates of the global path; determining a second set of coordinates of the first local branch path; determining a third set of coordinates of the second local branch path; and selecting, based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates and based on a difference between the first set of coordinates and the third set of coordinates, at least one of the first local branch path or the second local branch path and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO.
As to claim 9, ZHAO teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to select the at least one local path by: determining a first global branch path and a second global branch path that separate at the first map branch point in the global path (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44 regarding if a road segment that is at least partially within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segments L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, L7, L8, L9, L10 and L11 as the first candidate road segments. If the road segment that is completely within the range covered by the trajectory is selected as the first road segment, for Figure 3, the electronic device selects road segment L1, road segment L4, road segment L6 and road segment L9 as the first candidate road segments); and selecting at least one of the first local branch path or the second local branch path, based on at least one of the first global branch path, the second global branch path, the first local branch path, or the second local branch path (see at least FIGS. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-44. See also at least paragraphs 123-127 regarding taking Figure 3 as an example, if the planned global navigation path includes road segment L1 → road segment L2 → road segment L3 → road segment L6 → road segment L8 → road segment L10, and the vehicle is traveling on road segment L1, the electronic device will at least obtain a partial map of the second electronic map that includes road segment L1, thereby obtaining the lane information of road segment L1).
As to claim 10, ZHAO teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to determine the global path by: determining, based on an input indicating a destination of the vehicle, the global path from a current location of the vehicle to the destination of the vehicle (see at least paragraph 2 regarding in current route planning methods, the user typically provides the starting point and destination, and the navigator plans the navigation route for the user. See also at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 62-82. See also at least paragraphs 115-119).
As to claim 11, Examiner notes claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 12, Examiner notes claim 12 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 13, Examiner notes claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 17, Examiner notes claim 17 recites similar limitations to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 18, Examiner notes claim 18 recites similar limitations to claim 8 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 19, Examiner notes claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 9 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 20, Examiner notes claim 20 recites similar limitations to claim 10 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al., CN 116558530 A, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO, in view of Myung et al., US 2024/0001961 A1, hereinafter referred to as Myung, and further in view of ZHAO et al., WO 2023036044 A1, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO2, respectively.
As to claim 4, ZHAO, as modified by Myung, does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to select the at least one local path by stopping, based on the global path comprising a curved path, matching the first set of coordinates to the curved path.
However, such matter is taught by ZHAO2 (see at least FIG. 2 and paragraphs 87-93 regarding the global path is not smooth at points S<sub>1</sub> and S<sub>2</sub>. From the global path, select the portion between P<sub>0</sub> and P<sub>3</sub> of the neighboring points S<sub>1</sub> and S<sub>2</sub>. Based on the initial local path segment, an optimized local path 2 (shown as a solid line) is generated, such that the optimized local path 2 is a curve with continuous second derivatives, and the optimized local path 2 has the same start point, end point, start point velocity direction, end point velocity direction, start point curvature, and end point curvature as the initial local path segment. Then, the initial local path segment is replaced with optimized local path 2 to form a new global path. Finally, the new global path can be determined as the final global path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of ZHAO2 which teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the vehicle control device to select the at least one local path by stopping, based on the global path comprising a curved path, matching the first set of coordinates to the curved path with the system of ZHAO, as modified by Myung, as both systems are directed to a system and method for path planning and generating navigation routes for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of selecting the at least one local path by stopping, based on the global path comprising a curved path, matching the first set of coordinates to the curved path and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO as modified by Myung.
As to claim 14, Examiner notes claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al., CN 116558530 A, hereinafter referred to as ZHAO, in view of Myung et al., US 2024/0001961 A1, hereinafter referred to as Myung, and further in view of AIZAWA, US 2024/0300482 A1, hereinafter referred to as AIZAWA, respectively.
As to claim 5, ZHAO, as modified by Myung, does not explicitly teach determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path; or selecting, among the local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path.
However, AIZAWA teaches determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path (see at least FIGS. 7-8 and paragraphs 59-65 regarding a path connecting a straight line to at least one of before and after the polynomial curve may be generated. Reference numeral 704 denotes an intersection point of a straight line in the advancing direction 705 at the current position and a straight line in the direction 706 at the target position); and selecting, among the local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path (see at least FIGS. 7-8 and paragraphs 59-69 regarding a path connecting a straight line to at least one of before and after the polynomial curve may be generated. Reference numeral 704 denotes an intersection point of a straight line in the advancing direction 705 at the current position and a straight line in the direction 706 at the target position. The path generation unit 304 generates a local path according to the generated global path. Subsequently, in S106, the control unit 130 determines a speed and an angular velocity of the moving object 100 according to the generated local path, and controls traveling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of AIZAWA which teaches determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path; and selecting, among the local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path with the system of ZHAO, as modified by Myung, as both systems are directed to a system and method for path planning and generating navigation routes for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining, based on the global path comprising a curved path, a first global straight path connected to a first end of the curved path and a second global straight path connected to a second end of the curved path; and selecting, among the local paths, a first local straight path corresponding to the first global straight path and a second local straight path corresponding to the second global straight path and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO as modified by Myung.
As to claim 6, ZHAO, as modified by Myung, does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, further cause the vehicle control device to select, from the plurality of local paths, a local curved path that corresponds to the curved path and is connected to the first local straight path and the second local straight path.
However, such matter is taught by AIZAWA (see at least FIGS. 7-8 and paragraphs 59-69 regarding curves of various shapes can be generated according to the posture at the current position and the posture at the target position. Furthermore, by generating a path connecting straight lines before and after the curve, a path to a final target position can be generated. The path generation unit 304 generates the global path using the polynomial curve, determines whether or not the generated path collides with the obstacle, and generates the global path by the search algorithm using the occupancy grid map when the generated path collides with the obstacle. Further, the path generation unit 304 generates a local path according to the generated global path. Subsequently, in S106, the control unit 130 determines a speed and an angular velocity of the moving object 100 according to the generated local path, and controls traveling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of AIZAWA which teaches wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed by the processor, further cause the vehicle control device to select, from the plurality of local paths, a local curved path that corresponds to the curved path and is connected to the first local straight path and the second local straight path with the system of ZHAO, as modified by Myung, as both systems are directed to a system and method for path planning and generating navigation routes for the vehicle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of selecting, from the plurality of local paths, a local curved path that corresponds to the curved path and is connected to the first local straight path and the second local straight path and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of ZHAO as modified by Myung.
As to claim 15, Examiner notes claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 16, Examiner notes claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
MAEDA (US 20200348147 A1) regarding a system for efficient planning of a movement route during autonomous movement.
Cheng et al. (US 20220185271 A1) regarding a system for generating a local path of a site in front of a current position of the vehicle based on the global path.
Komuro (US 20220252421 A1) regarding a system for generating local map information associated with a user on the basis of the surrounding situation.
LIANG et al. (WO 2025213563 A1) regarding a system for acquiring a global planning path of a vehicle on a standard map; mapping the global planning path to a high-precision map; and identifying first lane data of a local planning path within a target range of the high-precision map and second lane data related to the local planning path.
Baker et al. (US 20250334415 A1) regarding a system for generating a local graph.
/K.S.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666