DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 and all dependents thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the step of sealing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kraft (US 2012/0041778 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Kraft discloses A solid dosage product (Fig. 4a) having a tailored dissolution profile, the solid dosage product comprising: a) a carrier block (shown in Fig. 4a as stage 3) defining a plurality of compartments (400, 410, and 420), each respective compartment configured to receive one or more active pharmaceutical ingredients (drug 1, drug 2, drug 3 of Fig. 4a), the carrier block being digestible within an animal such that each respective active pharmaceutical ingredient is controllably released ([0136]); and b) one or more coating layers applied to the carrier block ([0079]-[0081]).
With regard to claim 4, Kraft discloses wherein a respective active pharmaceutical ingredient comprises an active ingredient encapsulated by one or more excipients (see Fig. 4a, each pharmaceutical is encapsulated by an excipient creating the contained drug compartments).
With regard to claim 5, Kraft discloses wherein the active ingredient comprises about 75 percent of the respective active pharmaceutical ingredient (Drug 1 is shown as being about 75 percent of the active ingredient (shown in fig. 4a as being the base of the capsule, with drug 2 and 3 be added on as smaller layers).
With regard to claim 6, Kraft discloses wherein solid dosage product further includes one or more excipients ([0079]-[0081], different coating layers can be considered the excipients), wherein the one or more excipients is contained within one or more of the carrier block, the one or more compartments or the one or more coating layers ([0079]-[0081]).
With regard to claim 7, Kraft discloses wherein the one or more pharmaceutical ingredients is selected from the list consisting of a pellet, a powder, a liquid, an emulsion and a gel ([0079]).
With regard to claim 8, Kraft discloses wherein the carrier block is fabricated by additive manufacturing using digestible print materials (this a product by process claim and the prior art must only teach the recited structures)(Fig. 4a shows an additive process in which a capsule containing dug 1 is then moved to stage 2 which adds a layer containing drug 2 and then moved to stage 3 which adds a layer container drug 3).
With regard to claim 9, Kraft discloses wherein a respective pharmaceutical ingredient is selected from the list consisting drugs, proteins, peptides, small molecules, nutritional supplements, vaccines and gene therapies ([0079]).
With regard to claim 10, Kraft discloses further comprising a solid dosage body (one of the coating layers of [0079]-[0081], can be considered a solid dosage body), wherein the carrier block is incorporated within a portion of the solid dosage body.
With regard to claim 11, Kraft discloses A method for manufacturing a solid dosage product having a tailored dissolution profile, the method comprising: a) manufacturing a digestible carrier block (Fig. 3 and 3), the carrier block defining a plurality of compartments (each carrier block 330 holds multipe different medications in different layers of the carrier block), each respective compartment configured to receive an active pharmaceutical ingredient (as shown as Fig. 4); b) filling a respective compartment with one or more respective active pharmaceutical ingredients (see Fig. 4, drug 1, drug 2, drug 3); and c) coating the carrier block with one or more coating layers ([0079], [0080]).
With regard to claim 13, Kraft discloses further comprising a step of sealing the carrier block with one or more digestible top layers (340, [0083]) after filling the compartments and before coating the carrier block ([0083], [0088]).
With regard to claim 14, Kraft discloses wherein the steps of manufacturing, filling and coating utilize dedicated filler heads at each step for each material being manufactured, filled or coated (see each of 310a, 310b, and 310 as well as the next two stages that are separate including 340 and 350, all shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraft (US 2012/0041778 A1) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2016/0345906 A1).
With regard to claim 2, Kraft discloses the claimed invention except for an electronic device.
Johnson teaches an ingestible capsule that maybe also include an electronic device within a compartment ([0004]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kraft with the electronic device as taught by Johnson for the purpose of providing additional information about the capsule while the device is within the body ([0004]).
With regard to claim 3, Kraft discloses the claimed invention except for an electronic device.
Johnson teaches wherein the one or more electronic devices is selected from the list consisting of a wireless transmitter, a remotely activated device, a logging device and a patient bonding device ([0004], sensor or recorder could be considered a logging device).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kraft with the electronic device as taught by Johnson for the purpose of providing additional information about the capsule while the device is within the body ([0004]).
With regard to claim 12, Kraft disclose the claimed invention except for the electronic devices.
Johnson teaches an ingestible capsule that maybe also include an electronic device within a compartment ([0004]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kraft with the electronic device as taught by Johnson for the purpose of providing additional information about the capsule while the device is within the body ([0004]).
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraft (US 2012/0041778 A1) in view of Islam (US 2014/0183362).
With regard to claim 15, Kraft discloses a respective filler head responsible for manufacture of the carrier block, the carrier block, a respective filler head responsible for filling of each respective compartment, the active pharmaceutical ingredient, a respective filler head responsible for each coating layer, and each of the one or more coating layers (Fig. 3, heads 310a, 310b, 310c, 340 and 350).
However, Kraft does not disclose Process Analytical Technology systems.
Islam teaches the methods step of monitoring using Process Analytical Technology systems ([006]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kraft with the Process Analytical Technology as taught by Islam for the purpose of controlling manufacturing through timely evaluations to assess for quality and performance ([0063]).
With regard to claim 16, Kraft discloses the claimed invention except for the specific sensors.
Islam teaches wherein the Process Analytical Technology systems include one or more sensors configured to perform one or more of: Raman spectroscopy; X-ray; nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR); terahertz pulsed imaging; laser induced breakdown spectroscopy ([0063]); acoustic emission (AE); air-coupled acoustic testing; contact ultrasonic testing; photo-acoustics testing including thermomechanical excitation and/or piezoelectric sensing; near infrared (NIR) ([0063]); and micro-thermal probing.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kraft with the Process Analytical Technology as taught by Islam for the purpose of controlling manufacturing through timely evaluations to assess for quality and performance ([0063]).
With regard to claim 17, Kraft discloses further comprising the steps of: d) manufacturing a calibration model block, the calibration model block being used to establish requirements for an acceptable final dosage form ([0086]); e) comparing the digestible carrier block with the calibration model block during manufacture of the digestible carrier block ([0086], [0067]); and f) if needed, modifying the manufacturing of the digestible carrier block so that the manufactured digestible carrier block meets the requirements for an acceptable final dosage form ([0086], [0067]).
However, Kraft does not disclose Process Analytical Technology systems.
Islam teaches the methods step of monitoring using Process Analytical Technology systems ([006]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kraft with the Process Analytical Technology as taught by Islam for the purpose of controlling manufacturing through timely evaluations to assess for quality and performance ([0063]).
With regard to claim 18, Kraft discloses wherein the step of comparing includes use of one or more of: cluster analysis, supervised machine learning, a neural network ([0068]), genetic algorithms, principal component analysis, decision trees ([0016]) and Bayesian statistics.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,135 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1of the present invention is a broader version of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,135 B2. Therefore, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,135 B2 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention including a solid dosage product having a carrier block with a plurality of compartments and one or more coating layers.
Further the dependent claims of the present invention are taught by the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,135 B2 as outlined below:
Present Invention
U.S. Patent No. 12,128,135 B2
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
Claims 11 and all dependent claims thereof are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,653,622 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1of the present invention is a broader version of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,653,622 B1. Therefore, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,653,622 B1 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention including the method of manufacturing a digestible carrier block, filling the compartments and coating the carrier block.
Further the dependent claims of the present invention are taught by the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,653,622 B1 as outlined below:
Present Invention
U.S. Patent No. 10,653,622 B1
14
1
15
1
16
3
Conclusion
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783