DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12129827 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because though not verbatim, they claim the same invention as claims 1-17 of the above US Patent.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1 and 13 recite the limitation "the track follower" in the newly amended limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170051720 A1 to Grigg in view of US 4260328 to Hamel and US 20130045080 A1 to Kirke.
Regarding claim 1, Grigg discloses a vertical wind turbine comprising:
a central axis (Fig. 1: 20) that extends in a substantially vertical direction;
a support framework (27);
a fixed central spindle (21) supported by the support framework;
a rotor assembly comprising:
a hub assembly (at 22) disposed about the central axis;
a plurality of blades (26) disposed about the central axis, the plurality of blades physically coupled to rotate together about the central axis, each blade having a blade axis (at 9) about which it rotates; and
a plurality of spaced apart arm assemblies (15) connecting the plurality of blades to the hub assembly;
an angle adjustment mechanism that is configured to adjust an angle formed between each blade and a radius that extends from the central axis to each blade as the blade rotates about the central axis and as relevant wind velocity and direction changes (abstract); the angle adjustment mechanism comprising:
at least one cam (22) disposed about the central axis, the cam having an interior track (24) operably disposed about the perimeter thereof;
a pushrod (5) operably connecting each blade with the cam having a proximal end and a distal end; and
a track follower (23) operably positioned at the proximal end of each pushrod and operably coupled to follow the interior track throughout the rotational path of the rotor assembly; and
wherein each of the blades are responsive to rotation throughout the cyclical path of the rotor assembly to vary the blade angle of each blade with respect to the direction of the wind impinging on wind vane [0016].
However, it fails to disclose a wind vane adaptable to rotate freely about the central axis so as to be substantially aligned with the direction of the wind; at least one cam having a contoured perimeter affixed below the wind vane; wherein the cam rotates in conjunction the wind vane in relation to the direction of the wind; and a cam bearing operably providing rotation of the wind vane and cam relative to the fixed central spindle; the interior track is a groove or channel formed within the cam body through which the track follower travels, wherein the interior track constrains the track follower movement in both radially inward and radially outward directions.
Hamel teaches a wind vane (Fig. 1: 17) adaptable to rotate freely about the central axis so as to be substantially aligned with the direction of the wind; at least one cam (Fig. 2: 19) having a contoured perimeter affixed below the wind vane (17); wherein the cam rotates in conjunction the wind vane in relation to the direction of the wind (column 3, lines 32-36); and a cam bearing (Fig. 1: 13) operably providing rotation of the wind vane and cam relative to the fixed central spindle.
Kirke teaches the interior track is a groove or channel (Fig. 1(a): 25) formed within the cam body (23) through which the track follower (22) travels, wherein the interior track constrains the track follower movement in both radially inward and radially outward directions (walls 24 and 24’).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the cam and wind vane configuration as disclosed by Hamel and the interior track as disclosed by Kirke to the wind turbine disclosed by Grigg.
One would have been motivated to do so to improve positioning of the blade angle to an optimal angle (refer to Hamel, abstract) and to improve accommodation of the track follower (refer to Kirke, [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Grigg discloses an electric generator (Fig. 8: 94) having a drive shaft; and a drive gear (to the left of the generator) operably affixed to the rotor assembly rotatable about the central axis and operably configured to provide rotational force to the drive shaft of the electric generator.
Regarding claim 3, Grigg discloses a battery operably coupled with the electric generator for storing electrical energy [0076].
Regarding claim 4, Grigg discloses an electrical grid operably coupled with the electric generator for conducting electrical energy from the electric generator [0076].
Regarding claim 5, Grigg discloses a rotor bearing for supporting and providing rotation of the rotor assembly throughout its rotational path of motion, the rotor bearing affixed below the rotor assembly and operably affixed to the elevated platform of the support framework [0081, 0083].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Grigg and Hamel disclose the rotor bearing (Hamel, Fig. 1: 29 and 22) comprises an outer race, inner race, a cage retainer, and a plurality of balls, wherein the outer race is operably affixed to the support framework and the inner race is operably affixed to the rotor assembly.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Grigg and Hamel disclose the rotor bearing is an angular bearing (Hamel, Fig. 1: 29 and 22).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Grigg and Hamel disclose the cam bearing (Hamel, Fig. 1: 13) comprises an outer race, inner race, a cage retainer, and a plurality of balls, wherein the outer race is operably affixed to the distal end of the central spindle and the inner race is operably affixed to the cam and wind vane.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Grigg and Hamel disclose the cam bearing (Hamel, Fig. 1: 13) comprises an outer race, inner race, a cage retainer, and a plurality of balls, wherein the outer race is operably affixed to the distal end of the central spindle and the inner race is operably affixed to the cam and wind vane.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Grigg and Hamel disclose the cam bearing is an angular bearing (Hamel, Fig. 1: 13).
Regarding claim 11, Grigg discloses a pivot connection operably connecting the distal end of the pushrod and operation of the blade angle, the pivot connection having a rack and pinion type configuration (Fig. 1: 9).
Regarding claim 12, Grigg discloses the rotor assembly comprises a first tier plurality of blades and a second tier of plurality of blades disposed radially about the central axis and operably positioned in line with the respective first tier plurality of blades (Fig. 8: 135).
Regarding claim 13, Grigg discloses a vertical wind turbine comprising:
a central axis (Fig. 1: 20) that extends in a substantially vertical direction;
a support framework (27);
a fixed central spindle (21) having a distal end and supported by the support framework;
an electric generator (Fig. 8: 94) having a drive shaft;
a rotor assembly comprising:
a hub assembly (Fig. 1: at 22) disposed about the central axis;
a plurality of blades (26) disposed about the central axis, the plurality of blades physically coupled to rotate together about the central axis, each blade having a blade axis (at 9) about which it rotates; and
a plurality of spaced apart arm assemblies (15) connecting the plurality of blades to the hub assembly;
a rotor bearing for supporting and providing rotation of the rotor assembly throughout its rotational path of motion, the rotor bearing operably affixed below the rotor assembly and operably attached to the elevated platform of the support framework [0081, 0083];
a drive gear (Fig. 8: to the left of generator 94) operably affixed to the rotor assembly rotatable about the central axis and configured to provide rotational force to the drive shaft of the electric generator (94); and
an angle adjustment mechanism that is configured to adjust an angle formed between a blade and a radius that extends from the central axis to the blade as the blade rotates about the central axis and as relevant wind velocity and direction changes (abstract); the angle adjustment mechanism comprising:
at least one cam (22) disposed about the central axis, the cam having an interior track (24) operably disposed about the perimeter thereof; and bearing lubrication [0150];
a pushrod (5) operably connecting each blade with the cam having a proximal end and a distal end; and
a track follower (23) operably positioned at the proximal end of each pushrod and operably coupled to follow the interior track throughout the rotational path of the rotor assembly;
a pivot connection (9) operably connecting the distal end of the pushrod and operation of the blade angle, the pivot connection having a rack and pinion type configuration; and
wherein each of the blades are responsive to rotation throughout the cyclical path of the rotor assembly to vary the blade angle of each blade with respect to the direction of the wind impinging on wind vane [0016].
However, it fails to disclose the rotor bearing having an outer race, inner race, a cage retainer, and a plurality of balls, wherein the outer race is operably affixed to the elevated platform and the inner race is operably affixed to the rotor assembly; a wind vane adaptable to rotate freely about the central axis so as to be substantially aligned with the direction of the wind; at least one cam having a contoured perimeter affixed below the wind vane and disposed about the central axis; wherein the cam rotates in conjunction the wind vane in relation to the direction of the wind; and a cam bearing operably providing rotation of the wind vane and cam relative to the fixed central spindle, the cam bearing having an outer race, inner race, cage retainer, plurality of balls, and lubrication, wherein the outer race is operably affixed to the distal end of the central spindle and the inner race is operably affixed to the cam and wind vane; the interior track is a groove or channel formed within the cam body through which the track follower travels, wherein the interior track constrains the track follower movement in both radially inward and radially outward directions.
Hamel teaches the rotor bearing (Fig. 1: 29 and 22) having an outer race, inner race, a cage retainer, and a plurality of balls, wherein the outer race is operably affixed to the elevated platform and the inner race is operably affixed to the rotor assembly; a wind vane (Fig. 1: 17) adaptable to rotate freely about the central axis so as to be substantially aligned with the direction of the wind; at least one cam (Fig. 2: 19) having a contoured perimeter affixed below the wind vane (17) and disposed about the central axis; wherein the cam rotates in conjunction the wind vane in relation to the direction of the wind (column 3, lines 32-36); and a cam bearing (13) operably providing rotation of the wind vane (17) and cam (19) relative to the fixed central spindle (11), the cam bearing having an outer race, inner race, cage retainer, plurality of balls, and lubrication, wherein the outer race is operably affixed to the distal end of the central spindle and the inner race is operably affixed to the cam and wind vane.
Kirke teaches the interior track is a groove or channel (Fig. 1(a): 25) formed within the cam body (23) through which the track follower (22) travels, wherein the interior track constrains the track follower movement in both radially inward and radially outward directions (walls 24 and 24’).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the cam and wind vane configuration as disclosed by Hamel and the interior track as disclosed by Kirke to the wind turbine disclosed by Grigg.
One would have been motivated to do so to improve positioning of the blade angle to an optimal angle (refer to Hamel, abstract) and to improve accommodation of the track follower (refer to Kirke, [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Grigg discloses the rotor assembly comprises a first tier plurality of blades and a second tier of plurality of blades disposed radially about the central axis and operably positioned in line with the respective first tier plurality of blades (Fig. 8: 135).
Regarding claim 15, Grigg discloses a battery operably coupled with the electric generator for storing electrical energy [0076].
Regarding claim 16, Grigg discloses an electrical grid operably coupled with the electric generator for transferring electrical energy from the electric generator [0076].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834