Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims filed 10/28/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant’s IDS submission is acknowledged and provided herewith.
The Drawings filed on 10/28/2024 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10-12, 16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marty (US 2013/0095961) in view of Chen (US 2017/0213087).
Marty discloses a computing device having a camera, (Fig. 5c, system 100 includes a camera 201 and wheels 304); receiving a training video of a player from the camera on the mobile computing device, (e.g., ¶¶ 12, 20, recording video of a player conducting a basketball drill); superimposing the training video with a visual cue for a cue, (Fig. 10, ¶¶ 141, 175, video camera 724 {or video camera 201 of Fig. 5c} records a basketball shooting drill, wherein the recorded video is superimposed by display 716 showing a time left {e.g., 10 seconds, a visual cue, ¶ 68} and a score for each player); determining whether the player has responded to the visual cue by extracting a body posture flow of the player, (Id., wherein the shooting drill is of a predetermined time, e.g., the instant the drill begins, the display 716 shows the time remaining in seconds, and a second time instant includes when the drill ends), and in response to determining that the player has responded to the visual cue, generating a feedback to the player, (e.g., the player responds to the time left display by launching basketballs and attempting to score goals, the score shown on the display {“quality score”} is the feedback, and/or the generated trajectory information {Fig. 9B, 608} is the feedback.) Note that Marty facilitates players’ competing against other players’ past scores within the time period, (¶ 176, hence showing difficultly levels, e.g., choosing to compete against players who scored more baskets than other players).
Marty discloses the invention substantially but does not make explicit, wherein the body posture flow is extracted from the training video by performing a computer vision algorithm on one or more frames of the training video. However, in a related invention, Chen shows a smartphone-based game analysis system, (Abstract, Fig. 1), that applies frame analysis algorithms to extract player posture data, (e.g., Fig. 29, ¶¶ 110, 205). It would have therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to apply Chen’s system and posture extraction algorithms in Marty’s system for several reasons, including 1) making Marty’s device easier to transport, e.g., replacing Marty’s system 100 of Fig. 5c with Chen’s smartphone and 2) increasing feedback accuracy.
Claims 6 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marty (US 2013/0095961) in view of Chen (US 2017/0213087) as applied to Claim 1, in view of Hildreth (US 2018/0189971).
Marty in view of Chen teaches the invention substantially but does not show using a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) that has been trained using prior videos, to extract player posture flow data. However, in a related invention, Hildreth teaches a game analysis system (¶ 3) that uses a deep learning neural networks to map images, objects and obstacles to 3D, (¶ 131), wherein the neural network is trained using prior examples, (¶170.) It would have therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to incorporate the neural network suggested by Hildreth into the system of Marty and Cohen, for several reasons including increasing feedback accuracy.
Claims 7 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marty (US 2013/0095961) in view of Chen (US 2017/0213087) as applied to Claim 1, and Claim 12, respectively, in view of Marty (US 2018/0322337, hereafter “Marty ‘337”).
Marty in view of Chen teaches the invention substantially but does not show that the training is for a dribbling activity, with the statistic being dribbling speed, wherein statistics include historical statistics from training sessions. However, in a related invention, Marty ‘337 shows a training system designing for improving dribbling skills wherein player historical statistics are maintained, (e.g., Marty ‘337, Abstract, ¶¶ 14, 116, 119.) It would have therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to adapt the system of Marty and Chen to also record and improve users’ dribbling techniques, as suggested by Marty ‘337 for the purpose of providing more comprehensive training.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No.: 10,600,334. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims substantially show the pending claims:
Regarding Claims 1-5: See Patented Claims 1-5, respectively.
Regarding Claim 6: See Patented Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 7: See Patented Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 8: See Patented Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 9: See Patented Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 10: See Patented Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 11: See Patented Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 12: See Patented Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 13: See Patented Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 14: See Patented Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 15: See Patented Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 16: See Patented Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17: See Patented Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 18: See Patented Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 19: See Patented Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 20: See Patented Claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8, 9, 13-15, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While Marty shows a superimposed visual cue on a display (Fig. 10, 716, ¶ 68, display updated with new data), Marty’s visual cue is not superimposed onto the training video as required by the dependent claims, for example as a symbol; nor is this visual cue amenable to being “virtually touched” by the player per the claims. Similarly, Marty fails to render obvious limitations of the other dependent claims including a wait time.
Conclusion
/OMKAR A DEODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715