DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-26 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-2, 5-13, 15-17, 19, 21, 23, and 25-26 recite the term “and/or” numerous times. These multiple recitations of “and/or” are objected to, as it is unclear what exactly is intended to be claimed. It appears the multiple configurations are being claimed by the term “and/or” (i.e. A and/or B appears to refer to multiple combinations including only A, only B, both A and B). For example, claim 10 recites the term “and/or” six times, and it is entirely unclear what combination of structure is required in the claim, and what is not. Claim 10 recites “wherein the at least one coupling element comprises a guide portion, preferably with a guide indentation, and/or at least one bearing portion, preferably spatially spaced from the guide indentation, and/or a coupling portion, preferably spatially spaced from the guide portion and/or the at least one bearing portion, wherein it is preferably provided that the guide portion, the at least one bearing portion and/or the coupling portion are arranged in a star shape and/or as at least three essentially orthogonally arranged, particularly preferably as exactly four mirror-symmetrically and/or symmetrically arranged, webs of the at least one coupling element”. Applicant is required to evaluate all occurrences of the term “and/or” and amend the claim as needed for clarity and definiteness. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites “the at least one force storage device”. This is unclear since “the at least one force storage device” lacks proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-4, 14, 18, 20, 22, and 24 are objected to as depending from a base claim with an objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors, Additionally, the claims are replete with examples of indefiniteness and the examples below are NON-LIMITING examples only. Applicant must review and amend all claims for clarity, definiteness, and grammatical accuracy
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “at least one movable furniture part”, and the claim also recites “in particular a sliding door or folding sliding door” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Additionally, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “at least one support on which the at least one movable furniture part is or can be mounted”, and also “in particular pivotally and/or hingedly” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, as well as the broad recitation “wherein the at least one coupling element is arranged… on and/or in the at least one guide system”, and also “wherein the at least one coupling element is arranged, in particular directly, on and/or in the at least one guide system, in particular on and/or in a first guide track of the at least one guide system” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reasons listed above.
Claim 2 recites the broad recitation “the at least one coupling element is guided along the at least one guide system”, and the claim also recites “in particular between the extended position of the at least one support and the retracted position of the at least one support” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites the broad recitation “at least one coupling element comprises a coupling element guide”, and the claim also recites “preferably a groove, particularly preferably a T-groove, of the first guide track” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites the broad recitation “the at least one coupling element is arranged between the extended position and the retracted position continuously”, and the claim also recites “preferably directly, on and/or at least partially in the at least one guide system” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the broad recitation “at least one coupling device”, and the claim also recites “preferably a driver shoe” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the broad recitation “the at least one coupling device is arranged”, and the claim also recites “preferably continuously” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “the at least one cable of the at least one drive device, in a state of use of the at least one drive device”, and the claim also recites “protrudes preferably due to gravity essentially vertically downwards or upwards” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the broad recitation “a longitudinal extension”, and the claim also recites “which is preferably larger than a width of the at least one coupling element” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the broad recitation “the at least one bearing portion and/or the coupling portion are arranged in a star shape and/or as at least three essentially orthogonally arranged”, and the claim also recites “particularly preferably as exactly four mirror-symmetrically and/or symmetrically arranged, webs of the at least one coupling element” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the broad recitation “a guide portion”, and the claim also recites “preferably with a guide indentation” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the broad recitation “a contacting portion oriented substantially at right angles to the guide portion, the at least one bearing portion and/or the coupling portion for coupling to the at least one coupling device”, and the claim also recites “wherein it is preferably provided that the at least one coupling device is designed to correspond to the contacting portion” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the broad recitation “at least one coupling device comprises a base”, and the claim also recites “preferably with at least one opening for fastening means” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the broad recitation “the receptacle comprises a tapered receptacle region”, and the claim also recites “particularly preferably for coupling to an optional contacting portion of the at least one coupling element” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the broad recitation “the at least one coupling element engages”, and the claim also recites “preferably via an optional web” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the broad recitation “the at least one cable drum and/or the at least one force storage device are arranged”, and the claim also recites “particularly preferably completely, within a housing of the at least one drive device” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the broad recitation “wherein an ejection process of the at least one support… can be supported and/or carried out by a movement coupling between the at least one coupling element and the at least one coupling device”, and the claim also recites “preferably together with the sliding door or folding sliding door” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 recites the broad recitation “the at least one support is movable”, and the claim also recites “preferably automatically” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites the broad recitation “at least one movable furniture part in the extended position can be moved transversely to a longitudinal extension of the at least one receiving shaft for concealing a furnishing”, and the claim also recites “particularly preferably via at least one optional second guide track” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 recites the broad recitation “a movement of the support from the retracted position towards the extended position is supported”, and the claim also recites “preferably with the aid of at least one ejection device” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. This is indefinite for the reason listed above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 14-15, 19, and 21-25 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-18, and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rupp et al. (US 2019/0330898) (hereinafter Rupp)
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Rupp discloses an assembly for guiding at least one movable furniture part, in particular a sliding door or folding sliding door (element 2), relative to a furniture body (See Figures 1a-1d), the assembly comprising: at least one guide system (elements 4 and 6) to be fastened to the furniture body, at least one support (element 11) on which the at least one movable furniture part is or can be mounted, in particular pivotally and/or hingedly, and by which the at least one movable furniture part can be moved relative to the at least one guide system between a retracted position and an extended position (See Figures 1a-1d), at least one drive device (combination of at least elements 9, 10, 11), with which the at least one support is movable relative to the at least one guide system, with at least one cable (considered any one or combination of elements 15, 16, 17, 18), wherein the at least one cable comprises at least one coupling element (element 25 or 26), and at least one coupling device for coupling to the at least one coupling element (See Figure 4, at least element 66 couples to element 25), and at least one receiving shaft (Figures 1a-1d, element 63) in which the at least one movable furniture part can be arranged in the retracted position, wherein the at least one coupling element is arranged, in particular directly, on and/or in the at least one guide system, in particular on and/or in a first guide track of the at least one guide system, for automatic coupling with the at least one coupling device (Examiner notes that elements 25 and 66 are necessarily coupled for functionality of the system, and the coupling is considered “automatic”) [wherein a preload by the at least one drive device can be transmitted to the at least one support in the direction of the extended position by the at least one drive device and via the at least one coupling element]* (Examiner notes that numerous forces can be transmitted via elements 15-18 and 25-26, during operation of the door system). Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Examiner’s note: *The above/below statements in brackets are examples of an intended use statement that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to the structure of an assembly for guiding at least one movable furniture part, the prior art must only be capable of meeting the structural recitation in order to be applicable, and in this case, the examiner maintains that the assembly for guiding at least one movable furniture part disclosed by Rupp is entirely capable of the intended use statement. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling element is guided along the at least one guide system (elements 25 and 26 are “guided along the at least one guide system”), in particular between the extended position of the at least one support and the retracted position of the at least one support, on and/or in the at least one guide system. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one guide system for the preferably form-fitting guidance of the at least one coupling element comprises a coupling element guide (element 7 or 8), preferably a groove, particularly preferably a T-groove, of the first guide track, wherein it is preferably provided that the coupling element guide has portions with a circular, elliptical, rectangular or polygonal cross-section. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling element is arranged between the extended position and the retracted position continuously, preferably directly, on and/or at least partially in the at least one guide system. Examiner notes that elements 25 and 26 are “arranged between the extended position and the retracted position continuously”. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling device, preferably a driver shoe, [can be or is coupled automatically to the at least one cable]* (Examiner notes that in the configuration illustrated in the Figures, elements 15, 25, and 66, for example, are “coupled automatically”), preferably the at least one coupling element, of the at least one drive device during a relative movement of the at least one support relative to the at least one guide system, wherein it is preferably provided that the at least one coupling element can be caught by the at least one coupling device and/or can be pushed along in the direction of the retracted position. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling device is arranged on the at least one movable furniture (See Figures 3-7b) part and/or the at least one support, wherein the at least one coupling device is continuously arranged in a motion-coupled manner to the at least one cable (See Figures 3-7b) and/or the at least one coupling element by a relative movement of the at least one support relative to the at least one guide system, preferably directly and/or at least in regions between the extended position and the retracted position, wherein it is preferably provided that the at least one coupling device is arranged, preferably continuously, in a position of use of the at least one drive device, below the at least one drive device and/or between the at least one drive device and the at least one coupling element. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one drive device has at least one outlet opening through which the at least one cable of the at least one drive device, in a state of use of the at least one drive device, protrudes (See at least Figures 5a-5b, element 15 necessarily “protrudes” from element 9) preferably due to gravity essentially vertically downwards or upwards and/or transversely to the at least one outlet opening for coupling to the at least one coupling device, wherein it is preferably provided that the at least one cable can be moved via the at least one coupling element along and/or essentially parallel to an optional coupling element guide. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling element has a longitudinal extension (considered central vertical aperture) which is preferably larger than a width of the at least one coupling element, and wherein the longitudinal extension is guided substantially parallel to the at least one guide system and/or an optional coupling element guide. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling element comprises a guide portion (element 53), preferably with a guide indentation, and/or at least one bearing portion, preferably spatially spaced from the guide indentation, and/or a coupling portion, preferably spatially spaced from the guide portion and/or the at least one bearing portion, wherein it is preferably provided that the guide portion, the at least one bearing portion and/or the coupling portion are arranged in a star shape and/or as at least three essentially orthogonally arranged, particularly preferably as exactly four mirror-symmetrically and/or symmetrically arranged, webs of the at least one coupling element. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling element comprises a contacting portion (See at least Figures 4 and 6a-6b, considered vertical aperture, though which element 66 is configured) oriented substantially at right angles to the guide portion, the at least one bearing portion and/or the coupling portion for coupling to the at least one coupling device, wherein it is preferably provided that the at least one coupling device is designed to correspond to the contacting portion. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim, since “at least one bearing portion” is optional in claim 10, from which claim 11 depends.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling device comprises a base (See Figures 6a-6b, end portion of element 25), preferably with at least one opening for fastening means, for connection to the at least one movable furniture part and/or the at least one support and a receptacle, preferably protruding transversely from the base, preferably with three substantially orthogonal side surfaces, wherein it is preferably provided that the receptacle comprises a tapered receptacle region, particularly preferably for coupling to an optional contacting portion of the at least one coupling element. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling element engages, preferably via an optional web, in portions in the at least one guide system and protrudes, in portions, from the at least one guide system (This configuration is shown in Figures 3-5b), preferably substantially in an orthogonal direction from the at least one guide system, and/or can be received by the at least one coupling device substantially in an orthogonal direction to the at least one guide system for moving the at least one support along a longitudinal direction of the at least one guide system. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one guide system comprises at least one second guide track (Figures 1a-1d, element 49) for guiding the at least one movable furniture part, wherein the at least one second guide track runs transversely relative to a longitudinal direction of the first guide track in a state of use of the assembly.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein during a first relative movement of the at least one support relative to the at least one guide system, [the at least one coupling device can be automatically coupled to the at least one coupling element (elements 25 and 66 are necessarily “automatically coupled”) and/or the at least one cable is connected to the at least one coupling device in the extended position, in the retracted position and/or between the extended position and the retracted position]*.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one drive device comprises at least one cable drum (See at least Figure 4, element 25) for winding and unwinding the at least one cable and at least one force storage device (considered either of elements 15 or 16, see at least paragraphs [0036-0038] [for pretensioning the at least one cable drum]*, wherein it is preferably provided that the at least one cable drum and/or the at least one force storage device are arranged, particularly preferably completely, within a housing of the at least one drive device. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Rupp discloses [wherein the at least one force storage device can be tensioned during a movement of the at least one support in the direction of the retracted position and/or is pretensioned or not tensioned in the extended position and/or wherein an ejection process of the at least one support]* (elements 25 and 26, in combination with cables 15,16,17,18 function as a force storage device, see at least paragraphs [0036-0038]), preferably together with the sliding door or folding sliding door, can be supported and/or carried out by a movement coupling between the at least one coupling element and the at least one coupling device and/or via the at least one force storage device and/or at least one ejection device, preferably from a receiving shaft. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one support is movable, preferably automatically, from the retracted position via the at least one drive device into the extended position. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one movable furniture part is configured to be completely arranged in the at least one receiving shaft in the retracted position (See Figure 1a); [wherein the at least one movable furniture part in the extended position can be moved transversely to a longitudinal extension of the at least one receiving shaft for concealing a furnishing]*, particularly preferably via at least one optional second guide track (See at least Figures 1c and 1d). Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Regarding claim 21, Rupp discloses wherein the at least one coupling device is formed integrally with the at least one movable furniture part and/or the at least one support. Examiner notes that elements 25 and 26 are integral (i.e. “Essential or necessary for completeness”) with respect to element 11 (See Figures 3-7b).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Rupp discloses a piece of furniture with at least one assembly according to claim 1 (See Figures 1a-1d).
Regarding claim 23, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the piece of furniture has a furniture body and at least one furniture part mounted so as to be movable relative to the furniture body (See Figures 1a-1d), and wherein the furniture body has at least one receiving shaft (element 63) for receiving the at least one furniture part in the retracted position, and/or wherein the at least one furniture part can be moved from the retracted position in the direction of the extended position via the at least one drive device.
Regarding claim 24, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein the piece of furniture has a furniture body and at least two furniture parts mounted so as to be movable relative to the furniture body (See Figures 1a-1d), wherein the furniture parts are hingedly connected to one another via a vertically extending axis in a state of use of the assembly (See Figures 1a-1d, elements 50 are hingedly connected for operation), wherein the at least two furniture parts are movable by the assembly between the extended position, in which the furniture parts are aligned substantially parallel to one another, and a second position in which the furniture parts are aligned substantially coplanar to one another (See Figures 1a-1d).
Regarding claim 25, as best understood, Rupp discloses a method for installing and coupling an assembly according to claim 1, comprising the following steps: in a preparatory step, the at least one coupling element is arranged on and/or in the at least one guide system, in a first installation step, the at least one support is moved relative to the at least one guide system, whereby in a further installation step, the at least one cable of the at least one drive device is automatically coupled to the at least one coupling device arranged on the movable furniture part and/or the at least one support. Examiner notes that the at least one drive device is necessarily coupled to the at least one coupling device for proper functionality of the system as intended by Rupp, and the system of Rupp is entirely capable of the above method.
Regarding claim 26, as best understood, Rupp discloses wherein at least one force storage device (elements 25 and 26, in combination with cables 15,16,17,18 function as a force storage device, see at least paragraphs [0036-0038]) of the at least one drive device is tensioned during a movement of the support from the extended position towards the retracted position and/or wherein a movement of the support from the retracted position towards the extended position is supported, preferably with the aid of at least one ejection device, and/or wherein the at least one coupling element remains continuously motion-coupled with the at least one coupling device between the retracted position and the extended position. Examiner notes that the portion underlined above is considered optional and is not required in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rupp et al. (US 2019/0330898) (hereinafter Rupp).
Regarding claim 3, although the specific material composition of the coupling element (i.e. element 25 or 26) is not explicitly disclosed. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure elements 25 and 26 of Rupp such that they are made of a plastic material, since plastic would provide desirable material characteristics (i.e. light weight, non-corrosive, durable, etc.) for the purpose of elements 25 and 26 of Rupp, and since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure elements 25 and 26 of Rupp such that they are made of a plastic material, since it is prima facie obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of results (MPEP 2143(E)).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rupp et al. (US 2019/0330898) (hereinafter Rupp) in view of Rupp et al. (US 2019/031218) (hereinafter ‘218)
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Rupp does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one ejection device is provided, [with which the at least one support can be ejected from the retracted position by the at least one ejection device at least in portions in the direction of the extended position]*. ‘218, however, teaches that it is known in the art to configure an assembly for guiding at least one movable furniture part such that at least one ejection device is provided (Figures 5a-5c, element 28, paragraphs [0038-0040]), with which at least one support (element 14) can be ejected from a retracted position by the at least one ejection device at least in portions in the direction of an extended position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Rupp, such that it includes at least one ejection device, as taught by ‘218, with which the support can be ejected from a retracted position by the at least one ejection device in the direction of the extended position, since the ejection device of ‘218 is used with a very similar furniture assembly, and is issued to the same Applicant as Rupp, and would function as intended with the invention of Rupp. Examiner additionally notes that this would provide an ejection function for the sliding panels of Rupp, which would be desirable for potential users. Further, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Conclusion
/JUSTIN B REPHANN/Examiner, Art Unit 3634