DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/28/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Applicant has listed Office actions on the IDS that were not part of a previously submitted IDS in the parent case and such Office actions were not previously submitted by the Applicant. As such, Applicant has not strictly complied with 37 CFR 1.98.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,276. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are broader than those of ‘276 and thus the claims of ‘276 read on the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving, from at least one client computing device or at least one golfing club computing device, performance data from a plurality of rounds for individual golfers of a plurality of golfers, the performance data including at least scoring data for the plurality of golfers; manipulating, based on a plurality of sets of data types and fields, portions of the performance data; performing comparisons between the manipulated portions to identify inconsistencies in the performance data for the individual golfers; determining, based at least in part on the identified inconsistencies, whether the scoring data for the individual golfers satisfies a plurality of rules requiring accurately reported scoring data which identify purposeful influence of handicap data; and sending a notification to one or more of the at least one client computing device or the at least one golfing club computing device indicating at least one of the individual golfers having the determined scoring data that does not satisfy one or more of the rules. The above underlined portions relate to an abstract idea of a mental process as this merely things that can be done in the mind and or data gathering and manipulation of the data. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the abstract idea is only applied to a computing technology which is not enough to bring the claims into patent eligibility. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional elements to the claims are generic computing devices which the Supreme Court in Alice determined was not enough to bring an abstract idea into patent eligibility.
Other independent claims are rejected under a similar analysis. All dependent claims have been considered but only add further abstract ideas to the claims and thus do not cure the deficiencies of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0192951 to Rojas.
With regard to claim 13, Rojas discloses a computing system, comprising: at least one computing device processor (0018); and a memory device including instructions that, when executed by the at least one computing device processor, cause the computing system to (0018): receive player data having sufficient scores for calculating a handicap index for the player (0026-0040); manipulate, for a plurality of different data types and fields, the player data to generate a variety of subsets of the player data corresponding to subsets of other players data for different groups of other players, the other players data having sufficient scores for calculating a handicap index for the other players (0026-0040); analyze a plurality of comparisons of the subsets of player data and the sets of other players data, the individual comparisons using at least one of the subsets of player data (0026-0040); generate a plurality of data points respectively for the individual comparisons (0026-0040); determine a likelihood measure for the player based on the data points, the likelihood measure indicating whether the player data includes anomalous scores affecting the handicap index (0026-0040); and determine whether the likelihood measure exceeds a threshold (0026-0040 wherein a handicap is updated for the player).
With regard to claim 15¸Rojas discloses wherein at least part of the player data or the other players data is received from a third party (0026-0031).
With regard to claim 17, Rojas discloses wherein at least one of the player data or the other players data includes at least one unsubmitted score (0038 wherein there are unverified scores and therefore they were not submitted to verify the original user).
With regard to claim 18¸Rojas discloses herein the instructions, when executed, further cause the computing system to: generate, based on the likelihood measure exceeding the threshold, an adjusted handicap index for the player to at least partially compensate for the anomalous scores (0040).
With regard to claim 19, Rojas discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the computing system to: transmit the adjusted handicap index, an electronic client device, associated with organization including the player as a member, having access to the transmitted adjusted handicap index (0040).
With regard to claim 20, Rojas discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the computing system to: receive geolocation data associated with one or more of the scores for at least one of the player or the other players (0026-0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rojas in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0122538 to Gowan.
With regard to claim 1, Rojas discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving, from at least one client computing device or at least one golfing club computing device, performance data from a plurality of rounds for individual golfers of a plurality of golfers, the performance data including at least scoring data for the plurality of golfers (0026-0031; 0038); manipulating, based on a plurality of sets of data types and fields, portions of the performance data (0026-0031; 0036-0040);
Rojas is not explicitly clear about comparisons with historical data. However, the combination of Rojas and Gowan teaches performing comparisons between the manipulated portions to identify inconsistencies in the performance data for the individual golfers (Roja at 0036-0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056); determining, based at least in part on the identified inconsistencies, whether the scoring data for the individual golfers satisfies a plurality of rules requiring accurately reported scoring data which identify purposeful influence of handicap data (Rojas at 0036-0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056); and sending a notification to one or more of the at least one client computing device or the at least one golfing club computing device indicating at least one of the individual golfers having the determined scoring data that does not satisfy one or more of the rules (Rojas at 0036-0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056).
With regard to claim 2, Rojas discloses receiving, from at least one of a different client computing device or the at least one golfing club computing device, verification of the scoring data from one or more rounds of the plurality of rounds for one or more of the individual golfers, wherein the confirmation is provided by another golfer or by a golfing club associated with at least one of the golfing club computing devices (0024; 0026-0031).
With regard to claim 3, Rojas and Gowan teaches generating, based at least in part on the performance data and the plurality of rules, updated handicap data for the at least one golfer to at least partially compensate for the scoring data that does not satisfy the one or more rules. (Rowan discloses 0036-0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056).
With regard to claim 4, Rojas discloses causing the updated handicap data to be presented on a display of at least one of the client computing device or the golfing club computing devices (0004).
With regard to claim 5, Rojas discloses wherein at least one of the sets of data types and fields includes golfing club memberships associated one or more of the plurality of golfers (0026-0032).
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Rojas and Gowan teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving new performance data from at least one round for one or more individual users of a plurality of users (Rojas at 0026-0031; 0038); receiving, from one or more databases, historic performance data from a plurality of rounds for at least a portion of the plurality of users, the new performance data and the stored historic performance data including at least scoring data for the plurality of users (Rojas at 0036-0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056); manipulating, based on a plurality of sets of data types and fields, portions of both the new performance data and the historic performance data (Rojas at 0026-0031; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056); performing comparisons between the manipulated portions to identify inconsistencies in at least one of the new performance data and the historical performance data for the individual users (Rojas at 0026-0031; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056); determining, based at least in part on the identified inconsistencies, whether the scoring data for at least one of the individual users satisfies a plurality of rules requiring accurately reported scoring data which identify purposeful influence of handicap data (Rojas at 0036-0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056); and sending a notification indicating the individual users having the determined scoring data that does not satisfy one or more of the rules (Rojas at 0036-0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056).
With regard to claim 8¸Rojas discloses that at least one of the sets of data types and fields includes one or more specified time periods (0033).
With regard to claim 9, Rojas discloses wherein at least one of the new performance data or the historic performance data includes a tournament finishing position for one or more of the plurality of users (0033).
With regard to claim 10, Rojas and Gowan teaches generating, based at least in part on the plurality of rules and at least one of the new performance data and the historical performance data, updated handicap data for the at least one user to at least partially compensate for the scoring data that does not satisfy the one or more rules (Rojas at 0036; 0040; Gowan at 0039; 0047; 0056).
With regard to claim 11, Gowan teaches wherein at least one or more rules of the plurality of rules are weighted differently.
With regard to claim 12, Rojas discloses identifying at least one of a time or a time period where a new round score is expected to be submitted for at least one of the plurality of users; and verifying that the new round score was submitted (0033 wherein it discusses a tournament).
With regard to claim 14, Gowan teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the computing system to: apply weights to the individual data points of the plurality of data points, at least one of the individual data points being weighted differently than one or more other data points; and determine the likelihood measure for the player based at least partially according to the weights of the data points (0041-0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Gowan with the disclosure of Rojas in order to more accurately reflect a user’s handicap and when it should be updated as far as how it relates to other courses and past history of the user.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rojas in view of Gowan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0030682 to Rottman.
With regard to claim 6, Rojas does not appear to explicitly disclose wagering. However, such is taught by Rottman (0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Rottman with the disclosure of Rojas in order to provide for an additional competitive and entertaining time to users by allowing them to stake a wager on the game.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rojas in view of Rottman.
With regard to claim 16, Rojas does not appear to explicitly disclose wagering. However, such is taught by Rottman (0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Rottman with the disclosure of Rojas in order to provide for an additional competitive and entertaining time to users by allowing them to stake a wager on the game.
Conclusion
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715