DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by True (US 20190088247 A1).
With respect to claim 1, True discloses a method for operating a noise reduction unit (fig.1 #100) of a motor vehicle (fig.5 #500), which has a noise output device (fig.1 #141,142) and an active noise canceling unit (fig.1 #120)(Par.[0073-0074]), the method comprising:
generating an active noise canceling signal (fig.1 #145; fig.4 #440; Par.[0123]) via the active noise canceling unit based on a received interference frequency of an actuator and other received operating data of the actuator (Par.[0119-0120] at step #410, inputs including acoustic data #325 from acoustic sensing devices #131,132, and operational data #335 indicative of operational characteristics of the vehicle are received for the generation of the noise cancellation signal #145; Par.[0101] a speed or interference frequency of an actuator such as an electric motor of the vehicle may be used in generating the noise cancellation signal; along with other operation data #335, see Par.[0086-0088]); and
acting upon the noise output device (Par.[0077] noise cancellation signal #145 is provided to output means #141,142).
With respect to claim 2, True discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a sound signal is detected, on the basis of which, the active noise canceling signal is also generated (Par.[0074][0119] a sound signal is detected via noise signal input means #131,132).
With respect to claim 3, True discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a speed of the actuator is used as the interference frequency (Par.[0101]).
With respect to claim 4, True discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a position of the actuator is used as operating data (Par.[0026] a position of an aperture driven by actuator, such as an electric window, may be used as an operating condition for generating the noise cancellation signal).
With respect to claim 5, True discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a current or expected power parameter of the actuator is used as operating data (Par.[0086] “current engine speed or load” is a power parameter of the vehicle).
With respect to claim 6, True discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the operating data are the electrical operating data of the actuator (Par.[0101] “electric motor speed”).
With respect to claim 7, True discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a temperature of the actuator is used as operating data (Par.[0024-0025][0114]).
With respect to claim 8, True discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a time of determination of the interference frequency is used as operating data (Par.[0114] a time of flight of the noise is contemplated by active noise cancelling unit of True, therefore a reference time or “time of determination” of the noise/interference is must be considered to determine the time of flight).
With respect to claim 9, True discloses a noise reduction unit of a motor vehicle comprising a noise output device and an active noise canceling unit, and which is operated according to the method according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fischer et al (US 5748748) discloses a method for influencing oscillations in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle.
Vaishya (US 20040086135 A1) discloses an active noise control system using pure feedforward method with order based offline calibration.
JASON R. KURR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695