DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: A period is missing at the end of the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,448 in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. 2019/0281636) in view of Dinan (US Pub. 2017/0359808).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,448
A wireless transmitter/receiver unit (WTRU) comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a processor and memory, and configured to:
1. An apparatus, comprising a processor, a memory, and communication circuitry, the apparatus being connected to a network via the communication circuitry, the apparatus further comprising computer-executable instructions stored in the memory of the apparatus which, when executed by the processor of the apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
perform a first type of uplink (UL) channel access procedure for a random access channel (RACH) procedure;
perform a first type of uplink (UL) channel access procedure for a Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure;
send, to a network, a first UL transmission for the RACH procedure;
send a first UL transmission for the RACH procedure;
receive, from the network, a random access response (RAR)
receive a random access response (RAR)
comprising an RAR UL grant, wherein the RAR UL grant comprises a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures, and wherein the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures include the first type of UL channel access procedure;
comprising network assistance information including channel access information;
determine, based on the plurality of bits, the one of the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures for the RACH procedure;
determine, based on the channel access information, a second type of UL channel access procedure for the RACH procedure;
perform the one of the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures; and send a second UL transmission for the RACH procedure.
perform the second type of UL channel access procedure; and send a second UL transmission for the RACH procedure.
Regarding claims 2-21, U.S. Patent No. 12,167,448 teaches most of the limitations as shown in the table above. U.S. Patent No. 12,167,448, however, does not teach a random access response (RAR) comprising an RAR UL grant, wherein the RAR UL grant comprises a bit indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures, and wherein the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures include the first type of UL channel access procedure. Liu teaches a random access response (RAR) comprising an RAR UL grant (see RAR 1008 in Figure 10), wherein the RAR UL grant comprises a bit indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures, and wherein the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures include the first type of UL channel access procedure (“The random access response includes a random access response grant (uplink grant). The random access response grant for the LAA cell may include at least some part or entire part of the following field (number of bits where the field is mapped). … ‘LBT type’ (1 bit)” in [0192], [0193] and [0200]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,167,448 to have a random access response (RAR) comprising an RAR UL grant, wherein the RAR UL grant comprises a bit indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures, and wherein the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures include the first type of UL channel access procedure as taught by Liu in order to indicate the type of the uplink LBT procedure [0204]. U.S. Patent No. 12,167,448 in view of Liu, however, does not teach LBT type using a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures. Dinan teaches LBT type using a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures (“a two-bit field may indicate LBT type” in [0163]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,167,448 in view of Liu to have LBT type using a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures as taught by Dinan in order to indicate No-LBT, LBT type 1 and/or LBT type 2 [0163].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. 2019/0281636) in view of Dinan (US Pub. 2017/0359808).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Liu teaches a wireless transmitter/receiver unit (WTRU) comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a processor and memory, and configured to: perform a first type of uplink (UL) channel access procedure for a random access channel (RACH) procedure (see LBT 1004 in Figure 10); send, to a network, a first UL transmission for the RACH procedure (see frame 1005 in Figure 10); receive, from the network, a random access response (RAR) comprising an RAR UL grant (see RAR 1008 in Figure 10), wherein the RAR UL grant comprises a bit indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures, and wherein the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures include the first type of UL channel access procedure (“The random access response includes a random access response grant (uplink grant). The random access response grant for the LAA cell may include at least some part or entire part of the following field (number of bits where the field is mapped). … ‘LBT type’ (1 bit)” in [0192], [0193] and [0200]); determine, based on the bit, the one of the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures for the RACH procedure (“determine, based on LBT configuration information (LBT type, channel access priority class) included in the random access response grant, whether a type-1 uplink LBT procedure or a type-2 uplink LBT procedure is to be performed” in [0210]); perform the one of the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures (“performs an LBT procedure in an LBT period 802” in [0210]); and send a second UL transmission for the RACH procedure (see PUSCH 803 in Figure 8). Liu, however, does not teach LBT type using a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures. Dinan teaches LBT type using a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures (“a two-bit field may indicate LBT type” in [0163]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to have LBT type using a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures as taught by Dinan in order to indicate No-LBT, LBT type 1 and/or LBT type 2 [0163].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Liu teaches the RAR UL grant comprising a field, and the field comprising a bit indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures (“The random access response includes a random access response grant (uplink grant). The random access response grant for the LAA cell may include at least some part or entire part of the following field (number of bits where the field is mapped). … ‘LBT type’ (1 bit)” in [0192], [0193] and [0200]) and Dinan teaches LBT type using a plurality of bits indicating one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures (“a two-bit field may indicate LBT type” in [0163]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Dinan teaches any of the first type of UL channel access procedure and the one of the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures comprises a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure [0161].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Dinan teaches the plurality of bits indicates the one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures comprises a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure [0161].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Dinan teaches the plurality of bits indicates the one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures comprises a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure with random backoff (“LBT with random back-off” in [0125]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Dinan teaches the plurality of bits indicates the one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures comprises a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure without random backoff (“LBT without random back-off” in [0125]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Dinan teaches the plurality of bits indicates the one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures comprises one of: a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure with random backoff using a default configuration; a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure without random backoff using a default configuration; a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure with random backoff using a non-default configuration; and a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure without random backoff using a non-default configuration (see “The size of the contention window may be fixed” in [0125]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Dinan teaches the plurality of bits indicates the one of a plurality of types of UL channel access procedures comprises performing channel accessing without performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure (“no LBT procedure may performed” in [0125]).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Dinan teaches the plurality of types of UL channel access procedures, comprises more than two types of UL channel access procedures different than the first type of UL channel access procedure (“No-LBT, LBT type 1 and/or LBT type 2” in [0163]).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Dinan and further in view of Kiyoshima et al. (US Pub. 2021/0204325).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Liu in view of Dinan teaches the limitations in claims 2 and 12 as shown above. Liu in view of Dinan, however, does not teach the RAR UL grant corresponds to an UL grant of a medium access control (MAC) RAR. Kiyoshima teaches the RAR UL grant corresponds to an UL grant of a medium access control (MAC) RAR (“the MAC RAR contains … the UL Grant” in [0099], see also Figure 9(b)). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Dinan to have the RAR UL grant corresponds to an UL grant of a medium access control (MAC) RAR as taught by Kiyoshima in order to use MAC payload [0098].
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414