DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. (US 2022/0053433 A1, hereinafter “Abedini”).
Regarding claim 1, Abedini teaches a mobile communication system, comprising:
a base station (Figs. 8, 11, 15, 17, 29);
a relay apparatus configured to relay a radio signal between the base station and a user equipment (Figs. 8, 11, 15, 17, 23 and 29); and
a control terminal configured to communicate with the base station and control the relay apparatus (figs. 17-21, 29, fig. 32, ¶ [0350], the first repeater device 2906 may be located between the network access node 2902 and the first UE 2914. In some aspects, a repeater device may be referred to as a “smart repeater device” if, for example, it is controlled by another device, such as the network access node 2902. The control may afford the smart repeater device with “side control information,” which facilitates the dynamic or semi-static configuration of the smart repeater device with, for example, beamforming information, power control information. A smart repeater device may receive the side control information in a closed loop; that is, the network access node 2902 may have direct control over the smart repeater device. ¶ [0380], the processor 3204 may include repeater device configuring circuitry 3243 configured for various functions, including, for example, configuring the repeater device 3200. Figs. 11, 12, ¶ [0202], ¶ [0204], ¶ [0209], the baseband processor 1312 may control an antenna array by controlling a beamforming configuration for the antenna array by controlling whether the antenna array acts as a receive antenna array or a transmit antenna array. ¶ [0190]),
wherein the relay apparatus comprises a plurality of elements used for beamforming, the control terminal performs, by grouping the plurality of elements into a plurality of groups, independent beam control for each of the plurality of groups (figs. 15, 17-20, 23, 27, 29, 32, ¶ [0206], The repeater device 1300 may include a relay unit (RU) 1302, one or more antenna arrays (or antennas, antenna panels, and/or the like) such as a receive (Rx) array 1304 and a transmit (Tx) array 1306. ¶ [0207], An antenna array (e.g., Rx array 1304, Tx array 1306) may include multiple antenna elements capable of being configured for beamforming. ¶ [0209], the baseband processor 1312 may control an antenna array by controlling a beamforming configuration for the antenna array by controlling whether the antenna array acts as a receive antenna array or a transmit antenna array. ¶ [0223], ¶ [0238], the plurality of antenna arrays may be divided into four fronthaul arrays (FH array) 2010, 2013, 2015, 2016 and four access link arrays (AL arrays) 2011, 2012, 2014, 2017. ¶ [0270], the repeater device may determine a mapping of beam indices to array indices for the antenna arrays. For example, the beam configuration circuitry 2142, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 21, may access capability information and/or a current antenna array configuration for the repeater device. Furthermore, the beam configuration circuitry 2142, may provide a means for determining a mapping of beam indices to array indices for the antenna arrays. ¶ [0271], ¶ [0273]), and
information on the plurality of groups is communicated between the base station and the control terminal (figs. 23, 27, ¶ [0269], a repeater device may determine a quantity of antenna arrays of the repeater device, ¶ [0270], ¶ [0271] At block 2306, the repeater device may transmit an indication of the quantity of antenna arrays and the mapping of beam indices to array indices to a network access node. ¶ [0273]. ¶ [0282], ¶ [0324]).
Regarding claim 10, Abedini teaches a control terminal (figs. 17-21, 29, fig. 32, ¶ [0380], the processor 3204 may include repeater device configuring circuitry 3243 configured for various functions, including, for example, configuring the repeater device 3200. Figs. 11, 12, ¶ [0202], ¶ [0204], ¶ [0209], the baseband processor 1312 may control an antenna array by controlling a beamforming configuration for the antenna array by controlling whether the antenna array acts as a receive antenna array or a transmit antenna array) configured to control a relay apparatus, the relay apparatus being configured to relay a radio signal between a base station and one or more user equipments (figs. 8, 11, 15, 17 and 29, ¶ [0190], ¶ [0350]) and comprising a plurality of elements used for beamforming (figs. 15, 17-20, 23, 27, 29, 32, ¶ [0206], The repeater device 1300 may include a relay unit (RU) 1302, one or more antenna arrays (or antennas, antenna panels, and/or the like) such as a receive (Rx) array 1304 and a transmit (Tx) array 1306. ¶ [0207], An antenna array (e.g., Rx array 1304, Tx array 1306) may include multiple antenna elements capable of being configured for beamforming. ¶ [0209], the baseband processor 1312 may control an antenna array by controlling a beamforming configuration for the antenna array by controlling whether the antenna array acts as a receive antenna array or a transmit antenna array), the control terminal comprising:
a controller configured to perform, by grouping the plurality of elements into a
plurality of groups, independent beam control for each of the plurality of groups (figs. 15, 17-20, 23, 27, 29, 32, ¶ [0209], the baseband processor 1312 may control an antenna array by controlling a beamforming configuration for the antenna array by controlling whether the antenna array acts as a receive antenna array or a transmit antenna array. ¶ [0223], ¶ [0238], the plurality of antenna arrays may be divided into four fronthaul arrays (FH array) 2010, 2013, 2015, 2016 and four access link arrays (AL arrays) 2011, 2012, 2014, 2017. ¶ [0270], the repeater device may determine a mapping of beam indices to array indices for the antenna arrays. For example, the beam configuration circuitry 2142, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 21, may access capability information and/or a current antenna array configuration for the repeater device. Furthermore, the beam configuration circuitry 2142, may provide a means for determining a mapping of beam indices to array indices for the antenna arrays. ¶ [0271], ¶ [0273]); and
a communicator configured to communicate information on the plurality of groups
with the base station (figs. 23, 27, ¶ [0269], a repeater device may determine a quantity of antenna arrays of the repeater device, ¶ [0270], ¶ [0271] At block 2306, the repeater device may transmit an indication of the quantity of antenna arrays and the mapping of beam indices to array indices to a network access node. ¶ [0273]. ¶ [0282], ¶ [0324]).
Regarding claim 2, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 1, wherein the relay apparatus is a repeater apparatus configured to amplify and transfer a received radio wave (figs. 29, 13, ¶ [0353] The first repeater device 2906 may amplify and forward (e.g., convey) RF signals exchanged between the first UE 2914 and the network access node 2902. ¶ [0206], ¶ [0208]), and
each of the plurality of elements comprises an antenna of the repeater apparatus (figs. 12, 13, ¶ [0206], The repeater device 1300 may include a relay unit (RU) 1302, one or more antenna arrays (or antennas, antenna panels, and/or the like) such as a receive (Rx) array 1304 and a transmit (Tx) array 1306, ¶ [0207], An antenna array (e.g., Rx array 1304, Tx array 1306) may include multiple antenna elements capable of being configured for beamforming).
Regarding claim 4, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 1, wherein the control terminal is configured to transmit capability information comprising information indicating the number of the plurality of groups to the base station (figs. 23, 24, ¶ [0271], the repeater device may transmit an indication of the quantity of antenna arrays and the mapping of beam indices to array indices to a network access node. ¶ [0206], ¶ [0238], ¶ [0273], ¶ [0282], the connectivity information may include at least one of: an indication of a quantity of antenna arrays at the repeater device, an indication of how the antenna arrays may be combined for beamforming, an indication of which of the antenna arrays can be combined for beamforming, an indication of which of the antenna arrays can be used for transmission, an indication of which of the antenna arrays can be used for reception, or a combination thereof. ¶ [0337], , a network access node may estimate beam information of a repeater device based on the MT's capability signaling)
Regarding claim 5, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 4, wherein the capability information further comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of information indicating the number of the plurality of elements in each of the plurality of groups in the relay apparatus, the number of all the plurality of elements in the relay apparatus, an identifier of each of the plurality of groups in the relay apparatus, and information indicating beam characteristics of each of the plurality of groups in the relay apparatus (figs. 23, 24, ¶ [0271], the repeater device may transmit an indication of the quantity of antenna arrays and the mapping of beam indices to array indices to a network access node. ¶ [0206], ¶ [0238], ¶ [0273], ¶ [0282], the connectivity information may include at least one of: an indication of a quantity of antenna arrays at the repeater device, an indication of how the antenna arrays may be combined for beamforming, an indication of which of the antenna arrays can be combined for beamforming, an indication of which of the antenna arrays can be used for transmission, an indication of which of the antenna arrays can be used for reception, or a combination thereof. ¶ [0337]-¶ [0340])
Regarding claim 6, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 1, wherein the base station is configured to transmit to the control terminal a configuration message comprising a configuration related to the grouping (figs. 23, 24, 25, 27 ¶ [0310], ¶ [0311], ¶ [0312], the network access node may transmit the first beam configuration to the repeater device ¶ [0313], ¶ [0314]).
5. Claims 1, 2, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rofougaran et al. (US 2020/0403689 A1, hereinafter “Rofougaran”).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Rofougaran teaches a mobile communication system, comprising:
a base station (figs. 1A, 1B, 6A);
a relay apparatus configured to relay a radio signal between the base station and a user equipment (figs. 1A, 1B, 6A); and
a control terminal configured to communicate with the base station and control the relay apparatus (figs. 1A, 1B, 4, 6A, ¶ [0127], the second controller 404 of the baseband signal processor 206 may be configured to reconfigure a beamforming function of the active repeater device 102 to switch between a first operating mode (e.g., a switching multi-beam mode) to a second operating mode (e.g., a concurrent multi-beam mode or other operating modes) of the plurality of operating modes based on the control command received from the control server or base station 104 from a remote location that is different than an installation location of the active repeater device 102. ¶ [0128], ¶ [0129]),
wherein the relay apparatus comprises a plurality of elements used for beamforming, the control terminal performs, by grouping the plurality of elements into a plurality of groups, independent beam control for each of the plurality of groups (figs. 5A, 6A, ¶ [0074], the active repeater device 102 may comprise a first antenna array and the second antenna array. The first antenna array may comprise a first set of antenna elements. The second antenna array may comprise a second set of antenna elements. The active repeater device 102 may be configured to partition the second set of antenna elements of the second antenna array into a plurality of spatially separated antenna sub-arrays. ¶ [0075], The second antenna array may be configured to generate a first set of beams of output RF signals based on the partition. Each of the plurality of spatially separated antenna sub-arrays may generate one or more of the first set of beams. ¶ [0118], ¶ [0120].), and
information on the plurality of groups is communicated between the base station and the control terminal (¶ [0118], the first controller 322 may be configured to partition a second set of antenna elements of the second antenna array 332 into a plurality of spatially separated antenna sub-arrays, based on the received one or more control signals. ¶ [0127], the second controller 404 of the baseband signal processor 206 may be configured to reconfigure a beamforming function of the active repeater device 102 to switch between a first operating mode to a second operating mode of the plurality of operating modes based on the control command received from the control server or base station 104 from a remote location that is different than an installation location of the active repeater device 102).
Regarding claim 2, Rofougaran teaches The mobile communication system according to claim 1,
wherein the relay apparatus is a repeater apparatus configured to amplify and transfer a received radio wave, and
each of the plurality of elements comprises an antenna of the repeater apparatus (figs. 1A, 1B, 5A, 6A, ¶ [0093], ¶ [0097], ¶ [0105]).
Regarding claim 6, Rofougaran teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 1,
wherein the base station is configured to transmit to the control terminal a
configuration message comprising a configuration related to the grouping (¶ [0127], the second controller 404 of the baseband signal processor 206 may be configured to reconfigure a beamforming function of the active repeater device 102 to switch between a first operating mode to a second operating mode of the plurality of operating modes based on the control command received from the control server or base station 104 from a remote location that is different than an installation location of the active repeater device 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Nilsson et al. (US 2025/0202565 A1, hereinafter “Nilsson”).
Regarding claim 3, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 1,
Abedini does not explicitly teach wherein the relay apparatus is a Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS) apparatus configured to change a propagation direction of an incident radio wave by reflection or refraction, and each of the plurality of elements comprises a structure for the RIS apparatus.
Nilsson teaches wherein the relay apparatus is a RIS apparatus configured to change a propagation direction of an incident radio wave by reflection or refraction, and each of the plurality of elements comprises a structure for the RIS apparatus.
(¶ [0023] Intelligent Reflecting Surface (IRS), also known as Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS), is an emerging technology that is capable of intelligently manipulating the propagation of electro-magnetic waves. RIS is composed of a 2-dimensional array of reflecting elements, where each element acts as a passive reconfigurable scatterer, ¶ [0025], ¶ [0063] The repeater node may be a network-controlled repeater or a RIS. ¶ [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize an RIS relay apparatus in the system of Abedini to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0023] of Nilsson).
Regarding Claim 7, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 6.
Abedini does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration message comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of information designating the number of the plurality of groups to be configured for the relay apparatus and/or the number of the beams to be configured for the relay apparatus, identifiers of one or more groups of the plurality of groups to be associated with each beam, and an identifier of the user equipment to be associated with each of the plurality of groups or each beam
Nilsson teaches wherein the configuration message comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of information designating the number of the plurality of groups to be configured for the relay apparatus and/or the number of the beams to be configured for the relay apparatus, identifiers of one or more groups of the plurality of groups to be associated with each beam, and an identifier of the user equipment to be associated with each of the plurality of groups or each beam (figs. 6-9, ¶ [0135], the gNB 502 configures the repeater node 506 with a set of repeater beams to use. In one example embodiment, the maximum number of repeater beams to use is a fixed number (or included in the repeater beam arrangement report). In another example embodiment, the maximum number of repeater beams to use can be determined by the gNB 502 and indicated to the repeater node 506. ¶ [0136]-¶ [0142], ¶ [0151]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the configuration message, at least one selected from the group consisting of information designating the number of the plurality of groups to be configured for the relay apparatus and/or the number of the beams to be configured for the relay apparatus, identifiers of one or more groups of the plurality of groups to be associated with each beam, and an identifier of the user equipment to be associated with each of the plurality of groups or each beam in the system of Abedini to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0050] of Nilsson).
Regarding claim 8, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 6,
Abedini does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration message comprises a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner.
Nilsson teaches the configuration message comprises a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner (figs. 6, 9-13, ¶ [0099], The method comprises at 102 configuring the repeater node with one or more higher layer parameters. The one or more higher layer parameters define one or more beam time states. The method further comprises at 103 sending a dynamic indication to the repeater node indicating a beam and an associated beam time state. ¶ [0101], the one or more higher layer parameters define a plurality of beam time states, and the dynamic indication indicates a beam time state from the plurality of beam time states. This beam time state is the associated beam time state. ¶ [0102], ¶ [0179], In one embodiment, the DCI format indicates multiple pairs of pointers to the higher layer configured parameters: beam table and time occasion table (or time location table in case time occasion table is not used) where each pair of pointers indicate one beam table index and one time occasion table index (or time location table index in case time occasion table is not used). In the example, each DCI format position/index field consists of two subfields, where the first subfield is pointing to beam table IDs of the beam table, whereas the second subfield is pointing to time occasion table IDs of the time occasion table. The beam indication from the beam table and the beam time state indication from the time occasion table will jointly specify the beam time state associated to a repeater beam).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the configuration message, a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner in the system of Abedini to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0050] of Nilsson).
Regarding claim 9, Abedini in view of Nilsson teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 8.
Abedini does not explicitly teach wherein, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations is associated with a configuration identifier, and the base station transmits to the control terminal a control indication in which the
configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied.
Nilsson teaches wherein, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations is associated with a configuration identifier, and the base station transmits to the control terminal a control indication in which the configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied (figs. 6, 9-14, ¶ [0099], ¶ [0101], the one or more higher layer parameters define a plurality of beam time states, and the dynamic indication indicates a beam time state from the plurality of beam time states. ¶ [0102], ¶ [0179], In one embodiment, the DCI format indicates multiple pairs of pointers to the higher layer configured parameters: beam table and time occasion table (or time location table in case time occasion table is not used) where each pair of pointers indicate one beam table index and one time occasion table index (or time location table index in case time occasion table is not used). In the example, each DCI format position/index field consists of two subfields, where the first subfield is pointing to beam table IDs of the beam table, whereas the second subfield is pointing to time occasion table IDs of the time occasion table. The beam indication from the beam table and the beam time state indication from the time occasion table will jointly specify the beam time state associated to a repeater beam).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to associate, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations with a configuration identifier, and to transmit, from the base station, to the control terminal a control indication in which the configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied in the system of Abedini to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0050] of Nilsson).
9. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0044412 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 8, Abedini teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 6,
Abedini does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration message comprises a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner.
Li teaches the configuration message comprises a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner (¶ [0045], ¶ [0046], ¶ [0078], to configure the repeater for communication with the BS and/or the UE, the BS may generate one or more repeater configurations and may transmit an indication of the one or more repeater configurations to the repeater. ¶ [0082]-¶ [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the configuration message, a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner in the system of Abedini to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Abedini in view of Li teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 8.
Abedini does not explicitly teach wherein, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations is associated with a configuration identifier, and the base station transmits to the control terminal a control indication in which the
configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied.
Li teaches wherein, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations is associated with a configuration identifier, and the base station transmits to the control terminal a control indication in which the configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied (figs. 3, 6A, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0082], the BS may configure a plurality of candidate repeater configurations. In this case, each candidate configuration may be row or column indexed in a table, electronic database, electronic file, a specification, and/or another data structure. This permits the BS to transmit, to the repeater, a signaling communication that indexes into the plurality of candidate repeater configurations to identify the repeater configuration (e.g., by identifying a row index or column index associated with the repeater configuration. ¶ [0083] -¶ [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to associate, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations with a configuration identifier, and to transmit, from the base station, to the control terminal a control indication in which the configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied in the system of Abedini to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
10. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rofougaran in view of Li.
Regarding claim 8, Rofougaran teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 6.
Rofougaran does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration message comprises a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner.
Li teaches wherein the configuration message comprises a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner (¶ [0045], ¶ [0046], ¶ [0078], to configure the repeater for communication with the BS and/or the UE, the BS may generate one or more repeater configurations and may transmit an indication of the one or more repeater configurations to the repeater. ¶ [0082]-¶ [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the configuration message, a plurality of the configurations that are switched in a time division manner in the system of Rofougaran to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Rofougaran in view of Li teaches the mobile communication system according to claim 8.
Rofougaran does not explicitly teach wherein, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations is associated with a configuration identifier, and the base station transmits to the control terminal a control indication in which the
configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied.
Li teaches wherein, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations is associated with a configuration identifier, and the base station transmits to the control terminal a control indication in which the
configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied (figs. 3, 6A, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0082], the BS may configure a plurality of candidate repeater configurations. In this case, each candidate configuration may be row or column indexed in a table, electronic database, electronic file, a specification, and/or another data structure. This permits the BS to transmit, to the repeater, a signaling communication that indexes into the plurality of candidate repeater configurations to identify the repeater configuration (e.g., by identifying a row index or column index associated with the repeater configuration. ¶ [0083] -¶ [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to associate, in the configuration message, each of the plurality of the configurations with a configuration identifier, and to transmit, from the base station, to the control terminal a control indication in which the configuration identifier designates a configuration of the plurality of the configurations to be applied in the system of Rofougaran to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2023/202478 A1 and US 2023/0283348 A1
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477