DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 13-23, in the reply filed on 05 October 2026 is acknowledged. No reason was given for the traversal. Furthermore, the non-elected claims were all cancelled.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “communication module” in claim 1. According to the specification, the communication module may be any of the types disclosed in section [0115] of the published specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 20 recite the phrase “data collection time period” in lines 7 and 2, respectively. The phrase in each claim lacks proper antecedent basis as it is unclear if it is referring to the data collection time period recited in line 2 of claim 13. For this examination, the phrases in claims 13 and 20 are being interpreted as “the data collection time period”.
Claims not explicitly rejected above are rejected due to their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 23 only recites subject matter already present in claim 13, and therefore fails to further limit claimed invention. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 13-20, 22, and 23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saidara et al.’332 (US Pub No. 2005/0038332) in view of Sloan’306 (US Pub No. 2005/0182306).
Regarding claims 13-16 and 23, Saidara et al.’332 discloses a method comprising: generating glucose data of a subject over a data collection time period by a glucose sensor of a glucose monitoring system, the glucose sensor positioned at least in part in contact with fluid under a skin layer of the subject (sections [0061], [0066], [0078]); receiving and storing the glucose data at a data processing unit operatively coupled to the glucose sensor, the data processing unit having a memory configured to store the glucose data collected over the data collection time period (section [0067]); and communicating by a communication module operatively coupled to the data processing unit, data to a receiver of the glucose monitoring system, wherein the receiver is an automated, closed-loop implanted insulin pump (sections [0015], [0061-0062], [0077]). It is noted that an implanted insulin pump would not allow the subject to view any data on it during the data collection time period.
Saidara et al.’332 discloses all of the elements of the current invention, as discussed above, except for the data communicated to the receiver being the glucose data. Sloan’306 teaches transmitting glucose data to an insulin pump in order to allow the insulin pump to determine proper bolus and/or basal rate modifications (sections [0008], [0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Saidara et al.’332 to include communicating the glucose data to the insulin pump, as Sloan’306 teaches that this would allow the insulin pump to properly determine bolus and/or basal profile modifications for insulin dosage administration to the subject.
Regarding claim 17, Saidara et al.’332 discloses that the method further comprises receiving the glucose data at a secondary receiver, wherein the secondary receiver comprises a display (sections [0068], [0072]).
Regarding claim 18, information related to the glucose monitoring system during the data collection time period is displayed on the display of the secondary receiver (section [0072]).
Regarding claim 19, the information related to the glucose monitoring system comprises operational status information related to the glucose monitoring system (sections [0080-0081] – calibration condition check).
Regarding claim 20, the information related to the glucose monitoring system comprises a duration of the data collection time period (Figure 6C and sections [0169-0170]).
Regarding claim 22, the information related to the glucose monitoring system is displayed at the secondary receiver but not at the receiver (the receiver/insulin pump is implanted into the subject).
Claim 21 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saidara et al.’332 in view of Sloan’306, as applied to claim 18, further in view of Alpert et al.’621 (US Pub No. 2003/0216621).
Saidara et al.’332 in view of Sloan’306 discloses all of the elements of the current invention, as discussed in paragraph 10 above, except for the information related to the glucose monitoring system comprising user profile information. Alpert et al.’621 teaches displaying user profile information on a display of a medical monitoring system (section [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the display of the secondary receiver of Saidara et al.’332 in view of Sloan’306 to be configured to display user profile information, as taught by Alpert et al.’621, as it would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The modification to Saidara et al.’332 in view of Sloan’306 would allow a user of the system to ensure that the information being displayed is specific to the particular subject.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al.’365 (US Pub No. 2004/0186365) teaches a receiver configured to not allow a subject to view data during a data collection time period (section [0061]).
Say et al.’494 (US Pub No. 2005/0199494) discloses a method comprising: generating glucose data of a subject over a data collection time period by a glucose sensor of a glucose monitoring system, the glucose sensor positioned at least in part in contact with fluid under a skin layer of the subject; receiving and storing the glucose data at a data processing unit operatively coupled to the glucose sensor, the data processing unit having a memory configured to store the glucose data collected over the data collection time period; and communicating by a communication module operatively coupled to the data processing unit the glucose data to a receiver of the glucose monitoring system, wherein the receiver is an insulin pump (see Figure 25).
Brister et al.’651 (US Pub No. 2006/0142651) discloses a method comprising: generating glucose data of a subject over a data collection time period by a glucose sensor of a glucose monitoring system, the glucose sensor positioned at least in part in contact with fluid under a skin layer of the subject; receiving and storing the glucose data at a data processing unit operatively coupled to the glucose sensor, the data processing unit having a memory configured to store the glucose data collected over the data collection time period; and communicating by a communication module operatively coupled to the data processing unit the glucose data to a receiver of the glucose monitoring system, wherein the receiver is configured to not allow the subject to view the glucose data during the data collection time period if the glucose sensor use time has exceeded a threshold (section [0652).
Murphy et al.’586 (US Pub No. 2006/0287586) discloses receiving vital sign data of a subject at a secondary receiver so that a remote clinician may monitor and analyze the subject’s vital sign data (section [0003]).
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791