DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“200” (see figure 2);
“400” (see figure 4); and
“500” (see figure 5);
Specification
The disclosure filed on 10/28/2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation in line 4 of claim 1 “in a case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation in line 2 of claim 5 “in a case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation in lines 1 and 7 of claim 7 “in a case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claims 2-7, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 and claim 1 is rejected.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation in line 6 of claim 8 “in a case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claim 13, the recitation in lines 2 and 3 of claim 13 “in a case” and “the case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation in lines 1, 5 and 7 of claim 14 “in a case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claims 9-14, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 8 and claim 8 is rejected.
Regarding claim 15, the recitation in lines 8-9 of claim 15 “in a case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claim 19, the recitation in line 5 of claim 19 “in a case” is indefinite because introduces speculative, contingent, or vague scenarios rather than a definitive method step or a physical device setup.
Regarding claims 16-20, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 15 and claim 15 is rejected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation in line 4 of claim 1 “in a case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation in line 2 of claim 5 “in a case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation in lines 1 and 7 of claim 6 “in a case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claims 2-7, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 and claim 1 is rejected.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation in line 6 of claim 8 “in a case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claim 13, the recitation in lines 2 and 3 of claim 13 “in a case” and “the case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation in lines 1, 5 and 7 of claim 14 “in a case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claims 9-14, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 8 and claim 8 is rejected.
Regarding claim 15, the recitation in lines 8-9 of claim 15 “in a case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claim 19, the recitation in line 5 of claim 19 “in a case” is indefinite because lack of positive recitation, elements in a claim must be positively claimed as part of the invention, not described based on what they might do “in a case“ or "in the event of" an outside occurrence.
Regarding claims 16-20, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 15 and claim 15 is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) (page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application) in view of Yang (US 20230180081 A1) (see also CN 114071611 A).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, AAPA discloses determining a measurement result of at least one cell and in a case where a cell whose measurement result meets a corresponding condition exists in the at least one cell, performing any one of: reporting cell quality information of the at least one cell, reporting cell quality information of at least one first candidate cell, or triggering a handover process, wherein a first candidate cell is a candidate cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition in the at least one cell (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “In a case where a terminal device that is using network services moves from one cell to another cell, or due to wireless transmission service load adjustment, activation operation maintenance, device failure, etc., and in order to ensure the communication continuity and the service quality, the system must transfer the communication link between the terminal device and a source cell to a target cell, that is, perform a handover process”). AAPA doesn’t disclose performing through a layer 1 or a layer 2. Yang discloses a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the terminal device (figure 6) and a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the network device (figure 7) and performing through a layer 1 or a layer 2 (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0055]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “A measurement reporting method includes: performing, by UE, measurement on a target reference signal of a target neighboring cell of a first cell at a layer 1 to obtain a first measurement result; and reporting, by the UE, a target measurement report to a network side device through the layer 1. The target measurement report includes the first measurement result.”)
AAPA and Yang are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the performing disclosed by Yang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have to reduce the delay of the UE measuring the reference signal of the target neighboring cell and reporting a measurement result to the network side device, thereby improving the efficiency of cell handover performed by the UE, and improving the mobility management between cells (Yang paragraph [0207], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327]). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton."
Regarding claims 2 and 16, AAPA and Yang discloses claims 1 and 15, AAPA also discloses at least one candidate cell, or at least one candidate cell and a source cell; wherein a measurement result of the candidate cell meeting the corresponding condition comprises at least one of: a cell measurement result of the candidate cell being greater than a first threshold; a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the candidate cell being greater than a second threshold; or a number of beams in the candidate cell with beam measurement results greater than the second threshold being greater than a third threshold; or a measurement result of the source cell meeting the corresponding condition comprises at least one of: a cell measurement result of the source cell being less than or equal to a fourth threshold; a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the source cell being less than or equal to a fifth threshold; or a number of beams in the source cell with beam measurement results less than the fifth threshold being greater than a sixth threshold; or a measurement result of the candidate cell meeting the corresponding condition comprises at least one of: a difference between a cell measurement result of the candidate cell and a cell measurement result of the source cell being greater than a seventh threshold; a difference between a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the candidate cell and a beam measurement result of at least one beam in the source cell being greater than an eighth threshold; or a number of beams in the candidate cell with a difference between beam measurement results corresponding to the candidate cell and the source cell greater than the eighth threshold being greater than a ninth threshold (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “In a case where a terminal device that is using network services moves from one cell to another cell, or due to wireless transmission service load adjustment, activation operation maintenance, device failure, etc., and in order to ensure the communication continuity and the service quality, the system must transfer the communication link between the terminal device and a source cell to a target cell, that is, perform a handover process”). Yang also discloses at least one candidate cell, or at least one candidate cell and a source cell; wherein a measurement result of the candidate cell meeting the corresponding condition comprises at least one of: a cell measurement result of the candidate cell being greater than a first threshold; a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the candidate cell being greater than a second threshold; or a number of beams in the candidate cell with beam measurement results greater than the second threshold being greater than a third threshold; or a measurement result of the source cell meeting the corresponding condition comprises at least one of: a cell measurement result of the source cell being less than or equal to a fourth threshold; a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the source cell being less than or equal to a fifth threshold; or a number of beams in the source cell with beam measurement results less than the fifth threshold being greater than a sixth threshold; or a measurement result of the candidate cell meeting the corresponding condition comprises at least one of: a difference between a cell measurement result of the candidate cell and a cell measurement result of the source cell being greater than a seventh threshold; a difference between a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the candidate cell and a beam measurement result of at least one beam in the source cell being greater than an eighth threshold; or a number of beams in the candidate cell with a difference between beam measurement results corresponding to the candidate cell and the source cell greater than the eighth threshold being greater than a ninth threshold (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “ The layer 1 measurement configuration includes at least one of: a channel state information measurement configuration (CSI-MeasConfig), a channel state information report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig), a channel state information resource configuration (CSI-ResourceConfig), a non-zero power channel state information-reference signal resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet), a non-zero power channel state information-reference signal resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource), a channel state information synchronization signal block resource set (CSI-SSB-ResourceSet), a synchronization signal block to be measured (SSB to be measured), an SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC), a sounding reference signal configuration (SRS-Config), a sounding reference signal resource set (SRS-ResourceSet), a sounding reference signal resource (SRS-Resource), a physical downlink control channel configuration (PDCCH-Config), a physical downlink shared channel configuration (PDSCH-Config), a physical uplink control channel configuration (PUCCH-Config), a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH-Config), or associated signaling.”)
Regarding claims 3 and 17, AAPA and Yang discloses claims 2 and 16, AAPA also discloses the at least one beam of the candidate cell is all beams or part of the beams of the candidate cell; wherein the part of beams of the candidate cell are a beam with a best beam measurement result in the candidate cell or a beam in a beam list configured by a network device for the candidate cell; or the at least one beam of the source cell is all beams or part of beams of the source cell; wherein the part of beams of the source cell are a beam with a best beam measurement result in the source cell or a beam in a beam list configured by a network device for the source cell (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “Since a concept of beamforming is introduced in the NR system, the terminal device performs measurements on each beam separately in the implementation of a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. In some scenarios, the terminal device performs the RRM measurements through the physical layer to obtain a plurality of beam measurement results and report them to a radio resource control (RRC) layer. The RRC layer may obtain cell measurement results based on these beam measurement results. However, currently, the cell measurement results are reported by a layer 3, the RRC layer. Therefore, a transmission path of the cell measurement results is from the layer 3 to a layer 2 and then to a layer 1, and finally reported to the source base station. The method of reporting the cell measurement results has a large reporting delay due to the long transmission path. In other scenarios, a network device may require the terminal device to report the beam measurement results and decide the cell handover situation based on the beam measurement results. Usually, the beam measurement results are reported periodically through the layer 1 or under the indication of the network device. During the handover preparation phase, the network device is generally not clear about the mobility of the terminal device. Therefore, the current method of reporting the beam measurement results cannot well implement the cell handover. In some other scenarios, the terminal device may trigger the handover process through the layer 3. However, since a message of the layer 3 needs to be transmitted to the layer 2 and then to the layer 1, and finally reported to the target base station, the method has a longer handover delay due to the longer message transmission path”). Yang also discloses the at least one beam of the candidate cell is all beams or part of the beams of the candidate cell; wherein the part of beams of the candidate cell are a beam with a best beam measurement result in the candidate cell or a beam in a beam list configured by a network device for the candidate cell; or the at least one beam of the source cell is all beams or part of beams of the source cell; wherein the part of beams of the source cell are a beam with a best beam measurement result in the source cell or a beam in a beam list configured by a network device for the source cell (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “In the process of beam measurement, the network side device may configure a reference signal resource set (RS resource set), including at least one reference signal resource, such as an SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource. The UE measures the L1-RSRP/L1-SINR of each RS resource, and reports at least one optimal measurement result to the network side device. The reported content may include the SSBRI and/or CRI and L1-RSRP/L1-SINR. The report content reflects at least one optimal beam and quality thereof, which can be used by the network side device to determine a beam that is used to send channels or signals to the UE”)
Regarding claims 4 and 18, AAPA and Yang discloses claims 1 and 15, AAPA also discloses at least one of: a cell measurement result of the cell; an index corresponding to the cell measurement result of the cell; a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the cell; an index corresponding to the beam measurement result; or indication information used to indicate whether a measurement result of the cell meets the corresponding condition; wherein indication information corresponding to the at least one cell or the at least one first candidate cell constitutes a first bitmap (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “In a case where a terminal device that is using network services moves from one cell to another cell, or due to wireless transmission service load adjustment, activation operation maintenance, device failure, etc., and in order to ensure the communication continuity and the service quality, the system must transfer the communication link between the terminal device and a source cell to a target cell, that is, perform a handover process”). Yang also discloses at least one of: a cell measurement result of the cell; an index corresponding to the cell measurement result of the cell; a beam measurement result of at least one beam of the cell; an index corresponding to the beam measurement result; or indication information used to indicate whether a measurement result of the cell meets the corresponding condition; wherein indication information corresponding to the at least one cell or the at least one first candidate cell constitutes a first bitmap (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “ The layer 1 measurement configuration includes at least one of: a channel state information measurement configuration (CSI-MeasConfig), a channel state information report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig), a channel state information resource configuration (CSI-ResourceConfig), a non-zero power channel state information-reference signal resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet), a non-zero power channel state information-reference signal resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource), a channel state information synchronization signal block resource set (CSI-SSB-ResourceSet), a synchronization signal block to be measured (SSB to be measured), an SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC), a sounding reference signal configuration (SRS-Config), a sounding reference signal resource set (SRS-ResourceSet), a sounding reference signal resource (SRS-Resource), a physical downlink control channel configuration (PDCCH-Config), a physical downlink shared channel configuration (PDSCH-Config), a physical uplink control channel configuration (PUCCH-Config), a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH-Config), or associated signaling.”)
Regarding claims 5 and 19, AAPA and Yang discloses claims 1 and 15, Yang also discloses reporting a second bitmap corresponding to the at least one cell in a case where the cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition exists in the at least one cell; wherein each bit in the second bitmap corresponds to each cell of the at least one cell respectively, and each bit in the second bitmap indicates whether cell quality information of a corresponding cell is reported (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0031]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “For a beam indication of a PDSCH, the network configures M TCI states by using RRC signaling, then activates 2N TCI states by using a MAC CE command, and then notifies a TCI state by using an N-bit TCI field of DCI, where referenceSignal in the TCI state and a DMRS port of the PDSCH to be scheduled are QCL. The UE may learn, based on the TCI state, which receiving beam to use to receive the PDSCH” … “For example, the cell identifier of measurement configuration may be different from the cell identifier reported by the UE. The former is probably a physical cell identifier (with more bits), while the latter may be an ID indicating a neighboring cell (with less bits), such as two neighboring cells. The cell identifiers of measurement configuration may be 165 and 233, and the cell identifiers reported by the UE may be 0 and 1”)
Regarding claim 6, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 1, Yang also discloses in a case of reporting the cell quality information of the at least one cell or reporting the cell quality information of the at least one first candidate cell through the layer 1, the cell measurement result of the at least one cell or the cell measurement result of the at least one first candidate cell is determined through the layer 2 or a layer 3, and is transmitted to the layer 1; or in a case of reporting the cell quality information of the at least one cell or reporting the cell quality information of the at least one first candidate cell through the layer 2, the cell measurement result of the at least one cell or the cell measurement result of the at least one first candidate cell is determined through the layer 1 or a layer 3, and is transmitted to the layer 2 (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0055]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “A measurement reporting method includes: performing, by UE, measurement on a target reference signal of a target neighboring cell of a first cell at a layer 1 to obtain a first measurement result; and reporting, by the UE, a target measurement report to a network side device through the layer 1. The target measurement report includes the first measurement result.”)
Regarding claim 7, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 1, Yang also discloses receiving a measurement configuration transmitted from a network device and measuring the at least one cell based on the measurement configuration; wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of: a threshold corresponding to a cell measurement result, a threshold corresponding to a beam measurement result, a candidate cell list, or a beam list (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “In the process of beam measurement, the network side device may configure a reference signal resource set (RS resource set), including at least one reference signal resource, such as an SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource. The UE measures the L1-RSRP/L1-SINR of each RS resource, and reports at least one optimal measurement result to the network side device. The reported content may include the SSBRI and/or CRI and L1-RSRP/L1-SINR. The report content reflects at least one optimal beam and quality thereof, which can be used by the network side device to determine a beam that is used to send channels or signals to the UE”)
Regarding claim 9, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 8, AAPA also discloses a target cell (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “In a case where a terminal device that is using network services moves from one cell to another cell, or due to wireless transmission service load adjustment, activation operation maintenance, device failure, etc., and in order to ensure the communication continuity and the service quality, the system must transfer the communication link between the terminal device and a source cell to a target cell, that is, perform a handover process”). Yang also discloses a target cell (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “A measurement reporting method includes: performing, by UE, measurement on a target reference signal of a target neighboring cell of a first cell at a layer 1 to obtain a first measurement result; and reporting, by the UE, a target measurement report to a network side device through the layer 1. The target measurement report includes the first measurement result”)
Regarding claim 10, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 8, AAPA also discloses determining at least one beam measurement result of the cell; determining a cell measurement result of the cell according to the at least one beam measurement result of the cell (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “Since a concept of beamforming is introduced in the NR system, the terminal device performs measurements on each beam separately in the implementation of a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. In some scenarios, the terminal device performs the RRM measurements through the physical layer to obtain a plurality of beam measurement results and report them to a radio resource control (RRC) layer. The RRC layer may obtain cell measurement results based on these beam measurement results.”). Yang also discloses determining at least one beam measurement result of the cell; determining a cell measurement result of the cell according to the at least one beam measurement result of the cell (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “In the process of beam measurement, the network side device may configure a reference signal resource set (RS resource set), including at least one reference signal resource, such as an SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource. The UE measures the L1-RSRP/L1-SINR of each RS resource, and reports at least one optimal measurement result to the network side device. The reported content may include the SSBRI and/or CRI and L1-RSRP/L1-SINR. The report content reflects at least one optimal beam and quality thereof, which can be used by the network side device to determine a beam that is used to send channels or signals to the UE.”)
Regarding claim 11, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 10, AAPA also discloses calculating an average value of the at least one beam measurement result of the cell to obtain the cell measurement result of the cell; or calculating an average value of beam measurement results greater than a tenth threshold in the at least one beam measurement result to obtain the cell measurement result of the cell; or calculating an average value of first N beam measurement results greater than a tenth threshold in the at least one beam measurement result to obtain the cell measurement result of the cell, wherein the N is a positive integer; or determining an average value of a best beam measurement result in the at least one beam measurement result and a beam measurement result whose difference from the best beam measurement result is within an eleventh threshold as the cell measurement result of the cell; or determining a best beam measurement result in the at least one beam measurement result as the cell measurement result of the cell (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “Since a concept of beamforming is introduced in the NR system, the terminal device performs measurements on each beam separately in the implementation of a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. In some scenarios, the terminal device performs the RRM measurements through the physical layer to obtain a plurality of beam measurement results and report them to a radio resource control (RRC) layer. The RRC layer may obtain cell measurement results based on these beam measurement results.”). Yang also discloses calculating an average value of the at least one beam measurement result of the cell to obtain the cell measurement result of the cell; or calculating an average value of beam measurement results greater than a tenth threshold in the at least one beam measurement result to obtain the cell measurement result of the cell; or calculating an average value of first N beam measurement results greater than a tenth threshold in the at least one beam measurement result to obtain the cell measurement result of the cell, wherein the N is a positive integer; or determining an average value of a best beam measurement result in the at least one beam measurement result and a beam measurement result whose difference from the best beam measurement result is within an eleventh threshold as the cell measurement result of the cell; or determining a best beam measurement result in the at least one beam measurement result as the cell measurement result of the cell (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “In the process of beam measurement, the network side device may configure a reference signal resource set (RS resource set), including at least one reference signal resource, such as an SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource. The UE measures the L1-RSRP/L1-SINR of each RS resource, and reports at least one optimal measurement result to the network side device. The reported content may include the SSBRI and/or CRI and L1-RSRP/L1-SINR. The report content reflects at least one optimal beam and quality thereof, which can be used by the network side device to determine a beam that is used to send channels or signals to the UE.”)
Regarding claim 12, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 8, Yang also discloses determining the cell measurement result of the at least one cell through the layer 1 or the layer 2 (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “A measurement reporting method includes: performing, by UE, measurement on a target reference signal of a target neighboring cell of a first cell at a layer 1 to obtain a first measurement result; and reporting, by the UE, a target measurement report to a network side device through the layer 1. The target measurement report includes the first measurement result.”)
Regarding claim 13, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 8, Yang also discloses in a case where the cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition exists in the at least one cell, and a duration of the case where the cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition exists in the at least one cell reaches a preset duration, performing, through the layer 1 or the layer 2, any one of: reporting the cell quality information of the at least one cell, reporting the cell quality information of the at least one first candidate cell, or triggering the handover process; and/or after reporting the cell quality information of the at least one cell or the cell quality information of the at least one first candidate cell, the terminal device further performs: receiving a handover command transmitted from a network device; and switching to a target cell based on the handover command (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “A measurement reporting method includes: performing, by UE, measurement on a target reference signal of a target neighboring cell of a first cell at a layer 1 to obtain a first measurement result; and reporting, by the UE, a target measurement report to a network side device through the layer 1. The target measurement report includes the first measurement result.”)
Regarding claim 14, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 8, AAPA also discloses in a case where the cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition exists in the at least one cell, the terminal device performs: determining whether there is a candidate cell in the at least one cell that meets a target condition in a case where the cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition existing in the at least one cell; and triggering the handover process in a case where there is the candidate cell that meets the target condition (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0003] to page 2 paragraph [0004] of the present application “Similar to the long term evolution (LTE) system, the new radio (NR) system supports a handover process of terminal devices in a connected state. In a case where a terminal device that is using network services moves from one cell to another cell, or due to wireless transmission service load adjustment, activation operation maintenance, device failure, etc., and in order to ensure the communication continuity and the service quality, the system must transfer the communication link between the terminal device and a source cell to a target cell, that is, perform a handover process. The process includes the following three phases: handover preparation, handover execution, and handover completion. In the handover preparation phase, a source base station triggers the terminal device to perform a neighboring cell measurement, so that the terminal device may measure the neighboring cell and report the measurement result to the source base station.”). Yang also discloses in a case where the cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition exists in the at least one cell, the terminal device performs: determining whether there is a candidate cell in the at least one cell that meets a target condition in a case where the cell whose measurement result meets the corresponding condition existing in the at least one cell; and triggering the handover process in a case where there is the candidate cell that meets the target condition (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “In this embodiment of this application, the target neighboring cell may be a physical cell, a transmitting receiving point (TRP), or a serving cell. This is not limited in this embodiment of this application. In this embodiment of this application, the target neighboring cell may be all or part of neighboring cells of the first cell, and the target reference signal (RS) may be all or part of RSs corresponding to the target neighboring cell. This is not limited in this embodiment of this application”)
Regarding claim 20, AAPA and Yang discloses claim 15, Yang also discloses transmitting a measurement configuration to the terminal device, so as to enable the terminal device to measure the at least one cell based on the measurement configuration; the measurement configuration comprises at least one of: a threshold corresponding to a cell measurement result, a threshold corresponding to a beam measurement result, a candidate cell list, or a beam list (title, abstract, figure 2 and description of figure 2 paragraphs [0024]-[0044], [0054]-[0208], [0245], [0274], [0287], [0327] “In the process of beam measurement, the network side device may configure a reference signal resource set (RS resource set), including at least one reference signal resource, such as an SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource. The UE measures the L1-RSRP/L1-SINR of each RS resource, and reports at least one optimal measurement result to the network side device. The reported content may include the SSBRI and/or CRI and L1-RSRP/L1-SINR. The report content reflects at least one optimal beam and quality thereof, which can be used by the network side device to determine a beam that is used to send channels or signals to the UE”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim (US 20210105674 A1) discloses method and apparatus for performing handover in wireless communication system.
Chen (US 20210274403 A1) discloses downlink measurement design in new radio.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634