DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 7 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 10448888. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 12, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11779274. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12128270. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, and 19-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whitall (US 20110184225 A1).
For claim(s) 1 and 11, Whitall teaches
A method for rehabilitation of a patient having a physical impairment by providing repetitive motion therapy in which the patient is provided auditory stimulus having beat signals and the patient attempts to perform repetitive movements using a first side and an opposite second side of the patient's body in time with the beat signals, [entire disclosure – see at least abstract, ¶¶7-11]
the method being implemented on a computer system having a processor configured by machine-readable instructions which, when executed perform the method, [Fig(s). 2] the method comprising:
receiving, at the computer system, biomechanical data for the patient regarding repetitive movements of the patient performed using the first and second sides of the body respectively; [¶36]
selecting, by the computer system based on the biomechanical data, an entrainment side, [¶25 ¶¶32-33 ¶53 esp. ¶57]
wherein the entrainment side is one of the first or the second side of the body [¶25 ¶57]
wherein the step of selecting the entrainment side comprises:
measuring, from the biomechanical data, one or more of:
a consistency of the repetitive movement respectively for each side of the body, [Table 1 after ¶67]
a variability in the repetitive movement respectively for each side of the body, [Table 1 after ¶67]
an entrainment potential respectively for each side of the body, [¶57]
and selecting the entrainment side as a function of the result of the measuring step; [¶¶57-67]
performing, by the computer system, repetitive motion therapy using auditory stimulus selected or modified to trigger kinematic motion of the entrainment side. [¶¶29-31 ¶38]
For claim(s) 6, 15, Whitall teaches
wherein selecting the entrainment side comprises:
determining, based on the biomechanical data, a symmetry of the repetitive movements performed using the first side relative to the repetitive movements performed using the second side of the body, and wherein the entrainment side is selected based on the determined symmetry. [¶38 ¶57]
For claim 8, Whitall teaches The method of claim 1,
wherein the step of selecting the entrainment side comprises measuring, from the biomechanical data, the variability and wherein the variability measured is a gait cycle time (GCT) variability measured respectively for each side of the body. [¶47 ¶¶60-61]
For claim 12, Whitall teaches The system of claim 11, further comprising:
an auditory output device [250] for providing the auditory stimulus to the patient;
and the sensor associated with the patient and measuring time-stamped biomechanical data of the patient relating to the repetitive movements performed by the patient using at least the entrainment side in relation to the beat signals. [¶36 ¶¶45-56]
For claim 19, Whitall teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating, by the processor, a modification to the auditory stimulus for triggering kinematic motion of the entrainment side; causing the modification to be applied to the auditory stimulus, wherein the auditory stimulus modified according to the modification is output to a patient during the repetitive motion therapy. [¶¶60-63]
For claim 20, Whitall teaches The method of claim 19,
wherein modifying the auditory stimulus includes at least one of:
adjusting the beat tempo, modifying one or more of the beat signals, adjusting a chord of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a volume of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a meter of the auditory stimulus, adding one or more audible cues to the auditory stimulus, adding a rhythmic component to the auditory stimulus, adjusting a tempo of the auditory stimulus. [¶¶60-63]
For claim 21, Whitall teaches The method of claim 19,
wherein generating the modification includes generating an entrainment assistance cue for the auditory stimulus, the entrainment assistance cue including a sound added to beat signals of the auditory stimulus timed to trigger kinematic motion of the entrainment side. [¶¶60-63]
For claim 22, Whitall teaches The method of claim 21,
wherein the entrainment assistance cue is played on alternating beats of the beat signals of the auditory stimulus. [¶¶60-63]
For claim 23, Whitall teaches The method of claim 21, generating a modification defined for triggering kinematic motion of a side of the patient's body opposite the entrainment side, wherein the modification for triggering kinematic motion of the entrainment side is different from the modification defined for triggering kinematic motion of the side opposite the entrainment side. [¶¶57-61]
For claim 24, Whitall teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to the step of performing repetitive motion therapy:
determining, based on the biomechanical data, a baseline condition for the patient's entrainment side; and defining a baseline beat tempo for the auditory stimulus as a function of the baseline condition, wherein the baseline beat tempo has a constant frequency and is defined to trigger kinematic motion of the patient's entrainment side. [Fig(s). 10 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 25, Whitall teaches The method of claim 1,
wherein the step of providing repetitive motion therapy further comprises:
calculating an entrainment potential for the entrainment side based on time-stamped biomechanical data of the patient relating to the repetitive movements performed by the patient using at least the entrainment side in relation to the beat signals, wherein the entrainment potential is calculated by comparing a timing of the repetitive movements performed by the patient using the entrainment side to the respective beat times of the beat signals; and modifying the auditory stimulus as a function of the calculated entrainment potential. [Fig(s). 10 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 26, Whitall teaches The method of claim 25,
wherein modifying the auditory stimulus includes:
adjusting the beat tempo in relation to a goal beat tempo based on the entrainment parameter. [Fig(s). 10 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 27, Whitall teaches The method of claim 24,
wherein modifying the auditory stimulus includes at least one of:
adjusting the beat tempo in relation to a goal beat tempo, modifying one or more of the beat signals, adjusting a chord of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a volume of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a meter of the auditory stimulus, adding one or more audible cues to the auditory stimulus, adding a rhythmic component to the auditory stimulus, adjusting a tempo of the auditory stimulus. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 28, Whitall teaches The system of claim 11,
wherein the processor is further configured to:
generate a modification to the auditory stimulus for triggering kinematic motion of the entrainment side; and cause the modification to be applied to the auditory stimulus, wherein the modified auditory stimulus is output to the patient during the repetitive motion therapy. [Fig(s). 10 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 29, Whitall teaches The system of claim 28,
wherein modifying the auditory stimulus includes at least one of:
adjusting the beat tempo, modifying one or more of the beat signals, adjusting a chord of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a volume of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a meter of the auditory stimulus, adding one or more audible cues to the auditory stimulus, adding a rhythmic component to the auditory stimulus, and adjusting a tempo of the auditory stimulus. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 30, Whitall teaches The system of claim 28,
wherein the processor is configured to generate an entrainment assistance cue for the auditory stimulus, the entrainment assistance cue comprising a sound added to beat signals of the auditory stimulus timed to trigger kinematic motion of the entrainment side. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 31, Whitall teaches The system of claim 30,
wherein the entrainment assistance cue is played on alternating beats of the beat signals of the auditory stimulus. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 32, Whitall teaches The system of claim 30,
wherein the processor is configured to generate a modification defined for triggering kinematic motion of a side of the patient's body opposite the entrainment side, and wherein the modification for triggering kinematic motion of the entrainment side is different from the modification defined for triggering kinematic motion of the non-entrainment side. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 33, Whitall teaches The system of claim 11,
wherein the processor is further configured to, prior to providing repetitive motion therapy:
determine, based on the biomechanical data, a baseline condition for the patient's entrainment side; and define a baseline beat tempo for the auditory stimulus as a function of the baseline condition, wherein the baseline beat tempo has a constant frequency and is defined to trigger kinematic motion of the patient's entrainment side.
For claim 34, Whitall teaches The system of claim 11,
wherein the processor is configured to:
calculate an entrainment potential for the entrainment side based on time-stamped biomechanical data of the patient relating to the repetitive movements performed by the patient using at least the entrainment side in relation to the beat signals; and modify the auditory stimulus as a function of the calculated entrainment potential. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 35, Whitall teaches The system of claim 34,
wherein modifying the auditory stimulus includes adjusting the beat tempo in relation to a goal beat tempo based on the entrainment potential. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
For claim 36, Whitall teaches The system of claim 34,
wherein modifying the auditory stimulus includes at least one of:
adjusting the beat tempo in relation to a goal beat tempo, modifying one or more of the beat signals, adjusting a chord of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a volume of the auditory stimulus, adjusting a meter of the auditory stimulus, adding one or more audible cues to the auditory stimulus, adding a rhythmic component to the auditory stimulus, adjusting a tempo of the auditory stimulus. [Fig(s). 10 ¶38 ¶¶57-63]
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791