DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,130031 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are essentially similar in scope. They are not patentably distinct from each other because In view of the “obviousness-type” double patenting rational enunciated in Georgia Pacific Crop v United States Gypsum Co., 52 USPQ2d 1590, U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit 1999, instant application claims 1-20 and merely define an obvious variation of the invention claimed in the US Patent No. 12,130031 B2.
After analyzing the language of the claims, initially it should be noted that the Patent No. 12,130031 B2, having the same inventive entity. The Assignee in all applications is the same.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application is anticipated by patent claims 1-20 in that claims 1-20 of the patent 12,130031 B2 contains all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting. In re Berg, 140 F.3d1428, 1431, 46 USPQ2d 1226, 1229 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
A comparison of the independent claims in the instant application and US patent application are shown in the table below.
Instant Application (18/929326)
US Patent No. 12,130,031
1. A monitoring system for monitoring a home environment having a plurality of utility devices, comprising: one or more operation sensors each placed near one of the utility devices and generating operation data associated with performance measurements of the utility devices; one or more environment sensors distributed in various parts of the home environment and generating environment data associated with physical attributes of the various parts of the home environment; and a central station signally connected to the utility devices, the operation sensors to receive the operation data, and the environment sensors to receive the environment
data, the central station monitors occurrences of a plurality of undesirable events, wherein the central station:
determines an occurrence of at least one of the undesirable events based on at least one of the operation data and the environment data; and manipulate at least one of the utility devices to remedy or eliminate the undesirable event determined to exist.
1. A monitoring system for monitoring a home environment having a plurality of utility devices, comprising: one or more operation sensors each placed near one of the utility devices and configured to generate operation data associated with performance measurements of the
utility devices; one or more environment sensors distributed in various parts of the home environment and configured to generate environment data associated with physical attributes of the various parts of the home environment; and
a central station signally connected to the utility devices, the operation sensors to receive the operation data, and the environment sensors to receive the environment data, wherein the central station is configured to: determine conditions of the utility devices based on at least the operation data and the environment data; manipulate at least one of the utility devices based on at
least the operation data and the environment data based on the determined conditions of the utility devices; and make recommendations based on at least the operation data, the environment data, and behaviors of at least one occupant of the home environment.
11. A method for monitoring a home environment having a plurality of utility devices, comprising: using a plurality of operation sensors to measure performance parameters of the utility devices and generate corresponding operation data; using a plurality of environment sensors to measure
physical parameters of the home environment and generate corresponding environment data; determining an occurrence of at least one of undesirable
events based on at least the operation data and the environment data; and
manipulating at least one of the utility devices to remedy or eliminate the undesirable event determined to exist.
11. A method for monitoring a home environment having a plurality of utility devices, comprising: placing at least one operation sensor near every one of the
utility devices; using the operation sensors to measure performance
parameters of the utility devices and generate corresponding operation data;
placing environment sensors in various parts of the home environment; using a plurality of environment sensors to measure physical attributes of the various parts of home environment and generate corresponding environment data;
determining conditions of the utility devices based on at least the operation data and the environment data;
manipulating at least one of the utility devices based on at least the operation data and the environment data based
on the determined conditions of the utility devices; and making recommendations based on at least the operation data, the environment data, and behavior of at least one occupant of the home environment.
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a central station, causes the central
station to: determine an occurrence of at least one of undesirable events based on at least one of: operation data generated by a plurality of operation sensors configured to measure performance parameters of the utility devices; and
environment data generated by a plurality of environment sensors configured to measure physical parameters of the home environment; and manipulating at least one of the utility devices to remedy or eliminate the undesirable event determined to exist.
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a central station, causes the central station to: determine an occurrence of at least one of undesirable events based on at least one of: operation data generated by a plurality of operation sensors configured to measure performance parameters
of the utility devices; and environment data generated by a plurality of environment sensors configured to measure physical parameters of the home environment; and manipulating at least one of the utility devices to remedy or eliminate the undesirable event determined to exist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-12, 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bryant et al. (Bryant), US patent no. 10846800 B1.
As per claim 1, Bryant discloses a monitoring system for monitoring a home environment having a plurality of utility devices [figure 1], comprising:
one or more operation sensors each placed near one of the utility devices and generating operation data associated with performance measurements of the utility devices [figure 1; col. 7, lines 30-47]; one or more environment sensors distributed in various parts of the home environment and generating environment data associated with physical attributes of the various parts of the home environment [col. 4, lines 49-63; col. 11, lines 5-15; col. 13, lines 54-67; col. 14, lines 8-11]; and
a central station [120, figure 1] signally connected to the utility devices, the operation sensors to receive the operation data, and the environment sensors to receive the environment data, the central station monitors occurrences of a plurality of undesirable events [col. 11, lines 5-15; col. 13, lines 54-67], wherein the central station:
determines an occurrence of at least one of the undesirable events based on at least one of the operation data and the environment data; and manipulate at least one of the utility devices to remedy or eliminate the undesirable event determined to exist [figure 3; col. 15, lines 1-24].
Viveiros discloses:
The plurality of smart devices 110 may be configured to communicate with a smart home controller 120 via the local communication network 115. The local network 115 may facilitate any type of data communication between devices and controllers located on or proximate to the property via any standard or technology (e.g., Bluetooth®, RFID, X10, UPnP®, IEEE 802 including Ethernet, GSM, CDMA, LTE, and/or others). According to present embodiments, the plurality of smart devices 110 may transmit, to the smart home controller 120 via the local network 115, operational data gathered from sensors associated with the plurality of smart devices 110. The operational data may be audio data, image or video data, or status data. For example, the operational data may indicate the flow rate of water through a pipe, the amount of energy consumed by the smart device, the on/off status of a smart device, the sound a smart device makes, and/or other information pertinent to determining the presence of an insurance risk.
The smart home controller may then determine if the analysis indicated the presence of a risk (block 315). If the analysis indicates that there are no potential risks (“NO”), then the smart home controller may return to receiving more operational data (block 305). If the analysis detected a potential or actual risk (such as the aforementioned examples) (“YES”), the smart home controller may determine an action or set of actions intended to mitigate or prevent the risk (block 320). For example, if the smart home controller determines that there is a weather-related risk of extreme cold, the smart home controller may determine that an appropriate or corrective action is to adjust a furnace or heater, adjust the flow of water to a trickle flow to prevent pipes from freezing, adjust a water heater, and/or adjust the heating of a pool or water tank. As another example, if the weather-related risk is extreme wetness, the smart home controller may determine than an appropriate or corrective action is to adjust watering (e.g., sprinklers), de-icing (e.g., heaters), or de-watering (e.g., sump pump) equipment. If the smart home controller determines that there is an unexpected water flow, the smart home controller may determine that an appropriate or corrective action may be to shut off a water source to the home or smart device, or shut a specific valve.
In scenarios in which the smart home controller determines that there is a fire-related risk, the smart home controller may determine or identify more details about the fire, such as where the fire is located, the type of fire (e.g., grease, oil, or gas fire), and/or how the fire started. After determining the details, the smart home controller may determine that an appropriate or corrective action may be to shut off potential causes of the fire (such as electricity or gas supplies). If the smart home controller determines that a piece of wiring, lighting, electronics, appliances, and/or other component is the source of the fire, the smart home controller may shut off the smart device. In scenarios in which a fire is actually present, the action may be to activate sprinkler systems, vent hoods, automatic fire extinguishers, and/or other types of fire-fighting equipment and/or alert a fire department.
As per claim 2, Bryant discloses the undesirable events includes a safety threat, the central station is further configured to: determine an occurrence of the safety threat based on at least one of the operation data and the environment data; and manipulate at least one of the utility devices to remedy or eliminate the safety threat, if the safety threat is determined to exist [col. 4, lines 49-60; col. 15, lines 1-24; col. 16, lines 3-14].
As per claim 4, Bryant discloses a storage device [122; figure 1] configured to store the operation data and the environment data; and a machine learning device connected to the storage device and the central station, wherein the machine learning device is configured to generate a maintenance plan based at least on the operation data, the central station then generates a maintenance request based on the maintenance plan [figure 1; col. 5, lines 32-46; col. 8, lines 1-26; col. 18, line 55-col. 19, line 25].
As per claim 5, Bryant discloses the undesirable events includes a device fault corresponding to at least one of the utility devices, the operation sensors obtain the performance measurements of the corresponding utility devices, the central station:
determines conditions of the utility devices based on the associated performance measurements; generates an alert if the device fault is detected in any of the utility devices; and regulates operation of the utility device having the device fault based on the associated performance measurements [col. 5, lines 32-46; col. 8, lines 1-26; col. 18, line 55-col. 19, line 25].
As per claim 6, Bryant discloses the utility devices includes an air supply system connected to the central station and having a heating portion, ventilation portion, and a cooling portion, wherein the operation sensors measure the performance measurements of the heating portion, the ventilation portion, and the cooling portion;
the central station: determines conditions of the heating portion, the ventilation
portion, and the cooling portion based on the associated performance measurements;
generates an alert if the condition of any of the heating portion, the ventilation portion, and the cooling portion is determined to be needing repair or replacement; and
regulates operations of the air supply system based on the associated performance measurements [figure 7B; col. 5, lines 32-46; col. 9, lines 11-16; col. 18, line 55-col. 19, line 25].
As per claim 8, Bryant discloses the utility devices includes a water supply system connected to the central station [figure 1], wherein the undesirable events include leaks and failures in the water supply system, the operation sensors are configured to measure the performance measurements of the water supply system; the central station: detects the leak or the failure in the water supply system based on the associated performance measurements; and regulates operations of the water supply system based on the associated performance measurements [figure 1; col. 14, lines 6-34; col. 17, lines 1-37].
As per claim 10, Bryant discloses the undesirable events includes an illegal activity, the central station monitors an occurrence of the illegal activity based
on the operation data from the operation sensors and the environment data from the environment sensors [col. 20, lines 2-59; col. 21, lines 3-5].
As to claims 11, 12, 14 and 15, claims 1, 2, 8 and 10 basically are the corresponding elements that are carried out the method of operating step in claims 11, 12, 14 and 15. Accordingly, claims 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 2, 8 and 10.
As to claims 16, 17, 19 and 20 directed to a computer readable storage medium storing instruction to perform the method of steps executed by the system claims 1, 2, 4 and 10. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3, 7, 9, 13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 3, 7, 9, 13 and 18 are considered allowable since, when reading the claims in light of the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of subject matter specified in the dependent claim(s). Such as a machine learning device, wherein the central station includes: a communication device configured to receive external data including weather forecasts and energy pricing data; a user input device configured to accept user preferences; wherein the machine learning device generates a user behavior data based on the user preferences and the operation data, the machine learning device generates an energy optimization plan based on the user behavior data, the environment data, and the external data, the central station activates or adjusts operations of at least one of the utility devices based on the energy optimization plan.
11. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Matsuoka (US 20130268125 A1) is related to an intelligent control system that
includes intelligent thermostats and that controls an environment, such as a residential
living space, commercial building, or another environment. The intelligent control
system obtains information related to the controlled environment by
collecting sensor data, obtaining data from users during interactive information-
exchange sessions, and by directing information queries to users on one or more user
devices.
Conclusion
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115