DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is responsive to claims filed on 10/28/2024. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “generating a corresponding target video based on the plot content summary for each video type” which is ambiguous. It’s unclear whether the feature refers to (1) generating, based on the plot content summary for each video type, a video; or refers to (2) generating, based on the plot content summary, a video for each video type. Clarification is needed.
Furthermore, it’s unclear whether the recited “each video type” refers to (A) each of the “plurality of video types” defined in previous step of the method, or refers to (B) each video type of all possible video types in the filed of art. Applicant is suggested to use “each video type of the plurality of video types”, if (A) is true.
Independent claims 12 and 17 recite similar features of claim 1 and are therefore rejected. Other claims are dependent from claim 1, 12 or 17, and are therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN (CN 112819933 A), in view of DONG (CN 107562680 A) and QIAO (CN 118551766 A).
Regarding Claim 1, SHEN discloses a video generation method, comprising:
obtaining text content to be converted of a book (Fig. 3, S301. [0116]-[0117] “S301, the user the text and/or image set input video generating system. wherein the text may include: Story books, scripts and so on; The image set may include: cartoon, set picture, animation video and so on.”);
generating a plot content summary for a plurality of video types based on key plot content in the text content to be converted (Fig. 3, S302. [0118] “S302, the video generating system for analyzing the text and/or image set and understanding the story plot, to obtain the story plot corresponding element information.”); and
generating a corresponding target video based on the plot content summary for each video type (Fig. 3, S303-S304. [0119]-[0121] “S303, the video generating system creating natural scene, natural character, natural animal, natural object and its attribute information (such as natural character/natural animal attribute, expression, movement and so on, or the position of the natural article, movement and so on)... S304, the video generating system according to the target material, generating natural video (such as movie product, video content and so on).”), wherein the target video comprises movie, short video and so on ([0059] “natural video, can refer to the natural scene and/or natural object and other real content of the video, such as movie, short video and so on.”).
SHEN does not expressly disclose the target video comprises at least a book promotion video and an episodic video of the book.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DONG discloses wherein the target video comprises at least a book promotion video ([0052] “Optionally, the short video object corresponding to the electronic book page may include short video corresponding to the content of the electronic book page generated in at least one of the following: … corresponding to the electronic book in the video clip highlight segments generated.”).
QIAO discloses wherein the target video comprises an episodic video of the book ([0052] “autonomously generate plot characters, pictures, sounds, Video content (preferably these content are AIGC content), formed episode main line and/or episode branch line content for subsequent presentation of dialog form” Fig. 3 explicitly shows “episode 1” and “episode 2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of SHEN with the feature of generating a book promotion video and an episodic video of the book. The type of videos to be generated is a designer’s choice. As demonstrated by DONG and QIAO, generating promotion video and episodic video of a book is well-known in the art.
Regarding Claim 12, it recites similar limitations of claim 1. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 12.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites similar limitations of claim 1. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 17.
Claims 2, 3, 13, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN (CN 112819933 A), in view of DONG (CN 107562680 A) and QIAO (CN 118551766 A), further in view of Siagian (US 12026199 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, SHEN-DONG-QIAO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating a plot content summary for a plurality of video types based on key plot content in the text content to be converted comprises: generating a first plot content summary corresponding to the book promotion video based on highlight plot content or plot summary content in the text content to be converted (DONG [0052] “corresponding to the electronic book in the video clip highlight segments generated”); and generating a second plot content summary corresponding to the episodic video based on main thread plot content and an episodic division rule in the text content to be converted (QIAO [0052] “Video content (preferably these content are AIGC content), formed episode main line and/or episode branch line content for subsequent presentation of dialog form”).
SHEN-DONG-QIAO does not expressly disclose an episodic division rule.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Siagian discloses generating a second plot content summary based on main thread plot content and an episodic division rule in the text content to be converted (Siagian, Col 19 Line 26 “Alternatively, or additionally, in some other examples, a rule regarding the generation of a chapter may be based on the content of one or more segments… Any rule relating to size, duration, content or others may be defined and used to divide a set of text into n chapters in accordance with implementations of the present disclosure.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of SHEN-DONG-QIAO with the feature of generating a second plot content summary based on an episodic division rule. Doing so could facilitate further steps of video processing.
Regarding Claim 3, SHEN-DONG-QIAO-Siagian discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the generating a first plot content summary corresponding to the book promotion video based on highlight plot content or plot summary content in the text content to be converted comprises: calling a first text generation model to process the highlight plot content or the plot summary content, to generate the first plot content summary corresponding to the book promotion video (SHEN [0075] “In some possible embodiments, the video generating system can adopt AI technology and/or NLP training to obtain the analysis network, then the S102 may include: inputting the script into the trained analysis network; obtaining the element information output by the analysis network.”).
Regarding Claim 13, it recites similar limitations of claim 2. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, it recites similar limitations of claim 3. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 14.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites similar limitations of claim 2. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites similar limitations of claim 3. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bordenet (US 10055494 B1) – this reference teaches providing plotline information associated with media content. An example method may include receiving a request from a customer via an interface for plotline information stored on a data store. The plotline information may be included in media content where the plotline information may include a plurality of plotlines featured in the narrative of the media content. The plotline information may then be identified in the data store, and a graphical visualization of the plotline information included in the media content may be generated, where the graphical visualization may display the plotline information as corresponding to the narrative of the media content.
/CHONG WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613