DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 10/1/25. Claims 1-11 are pending and have been considered below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art of record fails to disclose receiving second input set which either grants or denies request for access to data of the first type or second type, and thereby granting or not the access to the data to the research study, in combination with other limitations recited within the claimed context. The claims present a combination of limitations that differ from the cited art, and there is no reasonable combination of references that would teach it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (20180033110) in view of Nag (20160267238.)
Claim 1, 10, 11: Sanchez discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a display device (Fig. 1: computers with display devices, par. 72);
one or more input devices (par. 72, smartphone, laptop, tablet, etc.);
one or more processors (Fig. 1: Processor 114B); and
memory (par. 376, memory) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a user interface (Fig. 11: 334, user details entry page, par. 179-180);
while displaying the interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a set of one or more inputs that includes a first input corresponding to a request to initiate a process for enrollment (Fig. 11: 380, pressing CONTINUE for onward transfer; par. 202-203);
in response to receiving the set of one or more inputs, initiating the process for enrollment (the process or verification, par. 202-203, Fig. 10a-b, Fig. 12, S378-S476); and
during the process for enrollment, displaying, via the display device, a data access request user interface (Fig. 440, 442, 444, a request to upload a proof of ID document), wherein displaying the data access request user interface includes displaying a first request for access to data of a first type (Fig. 13: Proof of ID document-type) that corresponds to respective data associated with a user of the electronic device (Fig. 13, the ID document is associated with the user of the device.)
However, Sanchez does not explicitly disclose:
displaying, via the display device, a research study user interface that is associated with a first research study.
Nag discloses a similar device for entering user information, including:
displaying, via the display device, a research study user interface that is associated with a first research study (Fig. 3; Fig. 4, study selection input / surveys; Fig. 5-12i inputting information for the research study by the user; par. 40, this allows the user to be recruited and enrolled without any in-person contact or periodic visits to a research facility.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sanchez with Nag so as to allow the user to be recruited and enrolled without any in-person contact or periodic visits to a research facility (Nag par. 40.)
Claim 2: Sanchez and Nag disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein displaying the data access request user interface includes displaying, concurrently with the first request for access to data of the first type, a second request for access to data of a second type that is different from the first type (Sanchez Fig. 13: 450, 454, 456: Proof of address document-type.)
Claim 3: Sanchez and Nag disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the data of the second type is demographic data or medical information data (Nag par. 43, In one aspect, while the manager 104 (also known as the framework for Health Data Tracking) may only allow a portion of its health data to be shared within the Research Application framework, in general, any sensor data of health information obtained through the Research Application Framework is automatically uploaded to the Health Data Tracking 104.)
Claim 4: Sanchez and Nag disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the data of the first type is sensor data and/or usage data of the electronic device (Nag Fig. 6C: sensors built into the iPhone; claim 5, wherein the input comprises a user input entered by the user on the graphical user interface of the device or an output of one or more sensors associated with the portable computing device.)
Claim 5: Sanchez and Nag disclose the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the sensor data is collected via one or more physiological sensors and/or motion sensors of the electronic device (Nag par. 89-90, a heart rate collector, a motion activity collector, a step collector, and so on.)
Claim 6: Sanchez and Nag disclose the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the usage data corresponds to call data, messaging data, and/or email data associated with the electronic device (par. 8, Such sensors may be configured for detecting any of: activity level, activity tracking, respiration, body temperature, heart wellness data, hydration levels, perspiration, blood glucose, salinity, sleep cycles, posture, O.sub.2 levels, muscle engagement, or any combination thereof. Examples of such sensors includes accelerometers, gyroscopes, microphone/audio sensors, a camera/CCD, a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor or any combination thereof; par. 81, the participant is asked to make some kind of sound with their voice, and the audio data is collected.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Delly (20180218387) feedback system on an online community.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
7/23/26