DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification (paragraph [0043] filed on 10/28/2024) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: the is not concluded with a period ‘.’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickel (Nickel; US 2023/0184922).
As per claim 1, Nickel teaches chip-enabled raised pavement marker (CERPM) comprising:
a transceiver, wherein said transceiver is capable of transmitting the location of the CERPM to a vehicle (one or more antennas, 440 for example [para. [0062]], to output RFID navigational signals from a pavement marker 130; see e.g. para. [0032], [0034-35]) wherein said CERPM is capable of being fixed on a roadway surface (the pavement marker 130 is fixed on a road surface 120; see e.g. para. [0021-22]).
Even though Nickel does not explicitly teach that pavement marker has dimensions of standard raised pavement markers, Nickel teaches that the disclosed pavement marker 130 can be a raised pavement marker such as Bott’s dots, raised pavement cat eyes and delineators. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that raised pavement cat eyes have a standard dimension (100x100 mm as known in the art of raised pavement cat eyes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Nickel to arrive at the claimed invention for the purpose of meeting a road safety standard which enables wider deployment and faster adaptation, thereby increasing associated revenue.
As per claim 4, the CERPM of claim 1 as taught by Nickle, wherein the location of the CERPM is indicated with location coordinates (encoded road information comprising GPS position of the pavement marker, see e.g. [0035], wherein GPS position is GPS coordinates as known in the art).
As per claim 5, the CERPM of claim 4 as taught by Nickle, wherein the location coordinates are GPS coordinates (as discussed earlier, encoded road information comprising GPS position of the pavement marker, see e.g. [0035], wherein GPS position is GPS coordinates as known in the art).
As per claim 6, The CERPM of claim 1 as taught by Nickle, wherein the CERPM is capable of transmitting said location to a vehicle using radio transmission (radio frequency communication between the vehicle and pavement markers; see e.g. para. [0103] and [0118]).
As per claim 7, the CERPM of claim 1 as taught by Nickle, wherein the CERPM further comprises a reflective upper surface capable of aiding in visual detection by vehicle drivers and/or cameras or other visual sensors in autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles (reflective upper surface for alerting oncoming drivers, see e.g. para. [0048], of semi-automated vehicles; see e.g. para. [0033]).
Claims 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickel in view of Brooks (Brooks; US 2023/0362581).
As per claim 2, the CERPM of claim 1 as taught by Nickle, wherein said transceiver is capable of transmitting location of the CERPM to a vehicle as discussed in analysis of merits of claim 1 but fails to teach using a low-power wide-area network (LPWAN).
Brooks, however, teaches a transceiver capable of transmitting using a low-power wide-area network (LPWAN), a signal between one or more devices can be exchanged using LPWAN; see e.g. para. [0053]. Nickle, Nespolo and Brooks are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine their teachings for the purpose of the inherent benefits of LPWAN, i.e. long-range communication, low power consumption, security and so forth.
As per claim 3, the CERPM of claim 2 as taught by Nickle and Brooks, wherein said LPWAN uses LoRA, NB-Iot, SigFox, Telensa, and/or Ingenu RPMA (the LPWAN uses LoRA; see e.g. para. [0053] of Brooks).
Claims 8, 10-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickel in view of Nespolo et al. (Nespolo; US 2015/0314783).
As per claim 8, Nickel teaches a method for guiding an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle, comprising:
using an on-board receiver to receive transmissions from a chip-enabled raised pavement marker (CERPM) (one or more vehicle antennas, 532 for example [see e.g. para. [0099-100]], to capture RFID navigational signals transmitted from a pavement marker 130; see e.g. para. [0021], [0099] and FIGS. 3A, 5), wherein the transmissions comprise the location of the CERPM to the receiver (the navigational signals may be encoded with road information, see e.g. para. [0034], including GPS [location coordinate] information of the pavement marker; see e.g. para. [0035]);
determining the position of the vehicle relative to lane lines, edges of the drivable surface and/or obstacles based on the transmitted CERPM signal (the motor vehicle, using one or more onboard modules, uses the transmitted navigational signals to determine lateral distances from lane lines; see e.g. see e.g. para. [0032] and [0034-35]).
Nickel does not teach indicating the position of the vehicle related to lane lines.
Nespolo, however, teaches indicating position of a vehicle related to lane lines (a right lane marker 88A and a left lane marker 88B and indicating position of vehicle 82 related to the lane markers; see e.g. FIG. 3 and para. [0059]). Similarly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to indicate a position of a vehicle with respect to the disclosed pavement markers of Nickle.
Nickel and Nespolo are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine their teachings for the purpose of improved driver awareness with respect to lane of travel which in turn may reduce accidents.
As per claim 10, the method of claim 8 Nickle and Nespolo, wherein the location of the CERPM is indicated with location coordinates (encoded road information comprising GPS position of the pavement marker, see e.g. [0035], wherein GPS position is GPS coordinates as known in the art).
As per claim 11, the method of claim 8 as taught by Nickle and Nespolo, wherein indicating the position of the vehicle based on the transmitted CERPM signal further includes combining CERPM location data with onboard sensor data to indicate the relative position of the vehicle (using one or more data from onboard sensors, determining relative position of the vehicle, see e.g. para. [0033-35] and [0098]) such that computing the relative position of the vehicle is less computationally intense than using onboard sensor data alone (it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the computation load would be reduced if one or more information are determined and communicated to the vehicle, GPS coordinates, as discussed, for example).
As per claim 12, the method of claim 11 as taught by Nickle and Nespolo, wherein the onboard sensor includes one or more cameras (one or more sensors including cameras; see e.g. para. [0114]).
As per claim 13, the method of claim 11 as taught by Nickle and Nespolo, where the onboard sensor includes radar sensors (sensors including radar; see e.g. para. [0098]).
As per claim 14, Nickel teaches a system for guiding an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle, comprising:
an on-board receiver to receive transmissions from a chip-enabled raised pavement marker (CERPM) (one or more vehicle antennas, 532 for example [see e.g. para. [0099-100]], to capture RFID navigational signals from a pavement marker 130; see e.g. para. [0021], [0099] and FIGS. 3A, 5), wherein the transmissions comprise the location of the CERPM to the receiver (the navigational signals may be encoded with road information, see e.g. para. [0034], including GPS [location coordinate] information of the pavement marker; see e.g. para. [0035]); and
an onboard module capable of determining the position of the vehicle relative to lane lines, edges of the drivable surface and/or obstacles based on the transmitted CERPM signal (the motor vehicle, using one or more onboard modules, uses the transmitted navigational signals to determine lateral distances from lane lines; see e.g. see e.g. para. [0032]).
Nickel does not teach indicating the position of the vehicle related to lane lines.
Nespolo, however, teaches indicating position of a vehicle related to lane lines (a right lane marker 88A and a left lane marker 88B and indicating position of vehicle 82 related to the lane markers; see e.g. FIG. 3 and para. [0059]). Similarly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to indicate a position of a vehicle with respect to the disclosed pavement markers of Nickle.
Nickel and Nespolo are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine their teachings for the purpose of improved driver awareness with respect to lane of travel which in turn may reduce accidents.
As per claim 16, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 10.
As per claim 17, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 11.
As per claim 18, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 12.
As per claim 19, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 13.
As per claim 20, the system of claim 14 as taught by Nickel and Nespolo, further comprising a chip-enabled raised pavement marker (CERPM) (see e.g. para. [0014] and [0073]) including: a transceiver, wherein said transceiver is capable of transmitting the location of the CERPM to a vehicle (Nickel teaches one or more antennas, 440 for example [para. [0062]], to output RFID navigational signals from a pavement marker 130; see e.g. para. [0032], [0034-35]) wherein said CERPM is capable of being fixed on a roadway surface (Nickel further teaches the pavement marker 130 is fixed on a road surface 120; see e.g. para. [0021-22]).
Even though Nickel does not explicitly teach that pavement marker has dimensions of standard raised pavement markers, Nickel teaches that the disclosed pavement marker 130 can be a raised pavement marker such as Bott’s dots, raised pavement cat eyes and delineators. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that raised pavement cat eyes have a standard dimension (100x100 mm for example). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Nickel to arrive at the claimed invention for the purpose of meeting a road safety standard which enables wider deployment and faster adaptation, thereby increasing associated revenue.
Claims 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickel in view of Nespolo and further in view of Brooks.
As per claim 9, the method of claim 8 as taught by Nickel and Nespolo, wherein the receiver communicates to the CERPM using a low-power wide-area network (LPWAN).
Brooks, however, teaches a receiver capable of transmitting using a low-power wide-area network (LPWAN), a signal between one or more devices can be exchanged using LPWAN; see e.g. para. [0053]. Nickle, Nespolo and Brooks are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine their teachings for the purpose of the inherent benefits of LPWAN, i.e. long-range communication, low power consumption, security and so forth.
As per claim 15, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 9.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD ADNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688