DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 09/19/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of KR10-2024-0126442 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1–4 in the reply filed on 07/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a grade determining unit configured to determine a grade” (emphasis added) in claim 1; “a filtering unit configured to filter out,” “a Fourier transform unit configured to perform Fourier transform” (emphasis added) in claim 3; and “a carbon emission calculating unit configured to calculate carbon emission” (emphasis added) in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kishimoto et al. (U.S. 12,330,190 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kishimoto discloses a recycled metal processing system using artificial intelligence (AI), comprising:
a vision camera installed above metal scrap that is crushed, the vision camera being configured to obtain a captured image by capturing an image of an upper part of the metal scrap; and (Per Fig. 1, Kishimoto’s scrap determination system 1 comprises camera(s) 10 to acquire an image of an iron scrap. Kishimoto col. 3 line 45 – col. 4 line 2. A camera image is an image of iron scrap taken when the iron scrap has been moved to a yard after being transported by a truck.)
a grade determining unit configured to determine a grade of the metal scrap according to a preset quality criterion, by analyzing the captured image based on an AI model. (Per Fig. 1, Kishimoto discloses a scrap determination model 221 where a grade of scrap is analyzed based on the scrap image. Ibid. col. 4 lines 32–64. The first scrap determination model 221 is a learning model for determining each grade of scrap included in a camera image and the ratio of the grade based on the camera image.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto in view of Gao et al. "An RGB-D-based thickness feature descriptor and its application on scrap steel grading." IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement 72 (2023): 1-14. (Year: 2023).
Regarding claim 2, Kishimoto fails to specifically disclose the recycled metal processing system using AI, wherein, according to the quality criterion, a grade is classified into a plurality of grades according to whether the metal scrap corresponds to a vehicle outer skin, whether the metal scrap has a thickness of 3 mm or less, and whether the metal scrap has a thickness of 3 mm or less and is surface-plated, wherein the grade determining unit is configured to classify a grade of the metal scrap based on the quality criterion.
In related art, Gao discloses the recycled metal processing system using AI, wherein, according to the quality criterion, a grade is classified into a plurality of grades according to whether the metal scrap corresponds to a vehicle outer skin, whether the metal scrap has a thickness of 3 mm or less, and whether the metal scrap has a thickness of 3 mm or less and is surface-plated, wherein the grade determining unit is configured to classify a grade of the metal scrap based on the quality criterion. (Per Fig. 16, Gao discloses thickness evaluation corresponding to a position of scrap steel. Gao p. 10, D. Thickness Feature Extraction Results. We determine whether the extracted thickness feature is valid by measuring
the corresponding position of scrap steel using vernier calipers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gao into the teachings of Kishimoto to provide efficient and simple feature extraction method in terms of 3D dataset. Ibid. p. 12, VI. Conclusion.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto in view of Guan (CN 115222958 A).
Regarding claim 3, Kishimoto fails to specifically disclose the recycled metal processing system, wherein the grade determining unit comprises:
a filtering unit configured to filter out shadow noise formed by lighting, a thermal noise component, and a dust noise component formed by scattering dust in the obtained captured image; and a Fourier transform unit configured to perform Fourier transform on the filtered captured image.
In related art, Guan discloses the recycled metal processing system, wherein the grade determining unit comprises:
a filtering unit configured to filter out shadow noise formed by lighting, a thermal noise component, and a dust noise component formed by scattering dust in the obtained captured image; and (Guan eliminates noise of object texture applying Gaussian pyramid decomposition. Guan Spec. ¶99. [t]o obtain the local feature saliency map of the fabric pilling image, eliminating noise such as fabric texture and uneven lighting.)
a Fourier transform unit configured to perform Fourier transform on the filtered captured image. (Guan discloses Fourier transform to reconstruct related images. Ibid. By performing Fourier transform on the grayscale image of the original image, inverse Fourier transform is performed on the spectral residual and phase spectrum and reconstructed to obtain the global feature saliency map of the fabric pilling image,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Guan into the teachings of Kishimoto to establish machine learning model correlated to evaluating material surface status. Ibid. ¶7.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto in view of Lee (TW 202420217 A).
Regarding claim 4, Kishimoto fails to specifically disclose the recycled metal processing system, further comprising a carbon emission calculating unit configured to calculate carbon emissions generated in a processing process of the metal scrap and a grade determination result for the metal scrap, generate a grade report on recycled metal based on the carbon emissions, and provide the grade report to a management terminal.
In related art, Lee discloses the recycled metal processing system, further comprising a carbon emission calculating unit configured to calculate carbon emissions generated in a processing process of the metal scrap and a grade determination result for the metal scrap, generate a grade report on recycled metal based on the carbon emissions, and provide the grade report to a management terminal. (Per Fig. 1, Lee discloses how much carbon emissions are consumed during aluminum shavings in a standard package 70. Lee Spec. ¶23. [t]he carbon emissions consumed by the aluminum shavings in the standard package 70 from generation, recycling and transportation to warehousing can be notarized and effectively recorded in its carbon data report.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Kishimoto in order that the image capturing device 50 records process of metal package. Ibid. ¶18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar et al. (U.S. 10,710,119 B2) discloses a material sorting system.
Contact
/BENEDICT E LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665
1 Examiner referred to Applicant’s Spec. ¶31 where he discloses that his recycled metal processing system consist of a vision camera, a grade determining unit, and a carbon emission calculating unit.