DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (“Jeong”, US 2013/0050230) in view of Xu et al. (“Xu”, US 2017/0090845) and further in view of Underwood et al. (US 2015/0113411).
As per claim 1, Jeong teaches a display system, comprising:
a first mobile device, comprising a first computing device and a first display device, wherein the first computing device is electrically connected to the first display device (Jeong, Fig.1, para.28, 32, portable terminal with display 50 and controller 10);
a second mobile device, comprising a second computing device and a second display device, wherein the second computing device is electrically connected to the second display device (Jeong, Fig.2, para.33, 35, 37, Nth devices 230/250); and
a display apparatus, communicatively connected to the first mobile device and the second mobile device through a network (Jeong, Fig.2, connected thru AP 200; para.30, 33, display apparatus 220/240), wherein
the first computing device is configured to select a first file from at least one file according to a first user command (Jeong, para.39, executes application at user’s request), obtain a first layer1 and first layer2 from the first file, and transmit the first layer1 and the first layer2 to the display apparatus (Jeong, para.50, transmit layers to other devices), wherein
the display apparatus is configured to forward the first layer2 to the second computing device of the second mobile device, and
the first display device of the first mobile device is configured to display the first layer1, the display apparatus is configured to display the first layer1, and the second display device of the second mobile device is configured to display the first layer2 (Jeong, para.62, 65, Fig.7-8, transmit each layer to different devices).
However, Jeong does not teach to select a first presentation file from at least one presentation file, obtain a first slide and first speaker notes corresponding to the first slide from the first presentation file. Xu teaches a system of presenting slides to multiple devices that includes selecting a first presentation file from at least one presentation file, obtain a first slide and first speaker notes corresponding to the first slide from the first presentation file (Xu, para.66-67, 77, slide with associated notes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Xu’s teaching with Jeong’s system in order to control presentations across multiple devices.
Furthermore, the system of Jeong and Xu does not teach to transmit the first slide and the first speaker notes to the display apparatus, wherein the display apparatus is configured to forward the first speaker notes to the second computing device of the second mobile device, and the first display device of the first mobile device is configured to display the first slide, the display apparatus is configured to display the first slide, and the second display device of the second mobile device is configured to display the first speaker notes. Underwood teaches a system of configuring multiple displays for slide presentations that includes transmitting the first slide and the first speaker notes to the display apparatus, wherein the display apparatus is configured to forward the first speaker notes to the second computing device of the second mobile device, and the first display device of the first mobile device is configured to display the first slide, the display apparatus is configured to display the first slide, and the second display device of the second mobile device is configured to display the first speaker notes (Underwood, Fig.10, para.47-48, configure devices to select which information to show: slide, notes, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Underwood’s teaching with the system of Jeong and Xu in order to aid the presenter in an effective presentation (Underwood, para.49).
As per claim 2, the system of Jeong, Xu and Underwood teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the first computing device is configured to obtain a second slide and a second speaker notes corresponding to the second slide from the first presentation file, wherein the first computing device is configured to switch the first slide displayed on the display apparatus to the second slide and switch the first speaker notes displayed on the second display device to the second speaker notes according to a second user command (Jeong, para.67-69, 71, 73-74, updated layers; Xu, para.28, 89, notes synchronized with slides).
As per claim 3, the system of Jeong, Xu and Underwood teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the first computing device is configured to determine whether the display apparatus and the first mobile device are in the same network, wherein in response to the display apparatus and the first mobile device being in the same network, the first mobile device is communicatively connected to the display apparatus (Jeong, para.52-53, 55, Fig.6A-6C, found surrounding devices 620/650).
As per claim 4, the system of Jeong, Xu and Underwood teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the display apparatus is configured to determine whether the second mobile device and the display apparatus are in the same network, wherein in response to the second mobile device and the display apparatus being in the same network, the display apparatus is communicatively connected to the second mobile device (Jeong, para.52-53, 55, Fig.6A-6C, found surrounding devices 620/650).
As per claim 5, the system of Jeong, Xu and Underwood teaches the display system according to claim 4, wherein the display apparatus is configured to receive a second user command from the first computing device, and select the second mobile device from at least one mobile device in the network according to the second user command (Jeong, para.54, 56, Fig.6A-6C, drag input or menu input to display layer in selected surrounding device).
Claim 6 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 7 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2015/0119008) teaches a method of displaying contents in a first and a second device connected to a network.
Lee (US 2012/0050183) teaches a method of displaying part of an interface in an external display and part of an interface in a mobile device.
Falchuk et al. (US 8,849,900) teaches a method of supporting mobile coalitions.
Anders et al. (US 2019/0158586) teaches a method of aggregating devices to provide a synchronized presentation.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174