DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s filing filed on 10/29/2024. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 10/29/2026 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The specification submitted on 10/29/2026 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by King et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0182084, hereinafter, “King”).
Regarding claim 1, King teaches a radio frequency circuit comprising (see figure 10A, RF front end 310, [0152]):
a first switch having a first selection terminal and a second selection terminal (see figure 10A, first switch 710, switching between filters 706 and 708, [0154-0155]);
a second switch (see figure 10A, second switch 712, [0154-0155]);
a first filter connected to the first selection terminal (see figure 10A, select the first filter 706, [0154-0155]);
a second filter connected to the second selection terminal (see figure 10A, select the second filter 708, [0154-0155]); and
a third filter (see figure 10A, third filter 716, [0154-0155]),
wherein the second switch is connected in series to and between the third filter and a path connecting the second selection terminal and the second filter (see figure 10A, second switch 712 select the third filter 716, first switch 710 select the second filter 708, [0154-0155]).
Regarding claim 11, King teaches a radio frequency circuit comprising (see figure 10A, RF front end 310, [0152]):
a first switch having a first selection terminal and a second selection terminal (see figure 10A, first switch 710, switching between filters 706 and 708, [0154-0155]);
a second switch (see figure 10A, second switch 712, [0154-0155]);
a first filter connected to the first selection terminal (see figure 10A, select the first filter 706, [0154-0155]);
a second filter connected to the second selection terminal (see figure 10A, select the second filter 708, [0154-0155]); and
an external connection terminal (see figures 1 and 10A, front end 803 or 310, it is clearly seen that the front end 803 connect to external transceiver 802),
wherein the second switch is connected in series to and between the external connection terminal and a path connecting the second selection terminal and the second filter (see figures 1 and 10A, front end 803 or 310).
Regarding claims 14-15, King further teaches a radio frequency (RF) signal processing circuit that processes a radio frequency signal transmitted through the radio frequency circuit (see figure 3, BB 841, [0097]).
Regarding claim 16, King further teaches the first switch has a common terminal and is capable of performing switching between connection between the common terminal and the first selection terminal and connection between the common terminal and the second selection terminal, and wherein the second switch is configured to conduct at a time of the connection between the common terminal and the second selection terminal (see figure 10A, first switch 710, [0154-0155]).
Regarding claim 17, King further teaches a fourth filter having an end connected to a path connecting the second switch and the third filter (see figure 10A, fourth filter 718, [0154-0155]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 12-13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0182084, hereinafter, “King”) in view of See (US Pub. No.: 2013/0273861).
Regarding claim 2, King disclosed invention, but fails to teach the third filter has a pass band including a supplementary downlink (SDL) band. However, See teaches the third filter has a pass band including a supplementary downlink (SDL) band (see figure 12, supplementary downlink (SDL) filter on SD Rx 1222e, [0052, 0126-0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of See into view of King in order to provide capacity boost, cost efficiency, coverage extension and unpaired spectrum utilization.
Regarding claim 3, King further teaches the first switch has a common terminal and is capable of performing switching between connection between the common terminal and the first selection terminal and connection between the common terminal and the second selection terminal, and wherein the second switch is configured to conduct at a time of the connection between the common terminal and the second selection terminal (see figure 10A, first switch 710, second switch 712, [0052, 0154-0155]).
Regarding claim 4, King further teaches a fourth filter having an end connected to a path connecting the second switch and the third filter (see figure 10A, fourth filter 718, second switch 712, third filter 716, [0052, 0154-0157]).
Regarding claim 5, See further teaches the first filter has a pass band including a first downlink operating band, and wherein the second filter has a pass band including a second downlink operating band different from the first downlink operating band, the radio frequency circuit further comprising: a first sending filter that has an end connected to the first selection terminal and that has a pass band including a first uplink operating band; and a second sending filter that has an end connected to the second selection terminal and that has a pass band including a second uplink operating band (see figure 12, plurality of TX filters and RX filters).
Regarding claim 7, See further teaches the third filter has a pass band including a third downlink operating band, the radio frequency circuit further comprising: a third sending filter that has an end connected to a terminal of the second switch on a second filter side of the second switch and that includes a third uplink operating band (see figure 12, plurality of TX filters and RX filters).
Regarding claim 12, King teaches a radio frequency circuit comprising (see figure 10A, RF front end 310, [0152]):
a first switch having a first selection terminal and a second selection terminal (see figure 10A, first switch 710, switching between filters 706 and 708, [0154-0155]);
a second switch (see figure 10A, second switch 712, [0154-0155]);
a first filter connected to the first selection terminal (see figure 10A, select the first filter 706, [0154-0155]);
a second filter connected to the second selection terminal (see figure 10A, select the second filter 708, [0154-0155]); and
a third filter (see figure 10A, third filter 716, [0154-0155]),
wherein the second switch is connected in series to and between the third filter and a path connecting the second selection terminal and the second filter (see figure 10A, second switch 712 select the third filter 716, first switch 710 select the second filter 708, [0154-0155]).
It should be noticed that King fails to teach the third filter has a pass band including a supplementary downlink (SDL) band. However, See teaches the third filter has a pass band including a supplementary downlink (SDL) band (see figure 12, supplementary downlink (SDL) filter on SD Rx 1222e, [0052, 0126-0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of See into view of King in order to provide capacity boost, cost efficiency, coverage extension and unpaired spectrum utilization.
Regarding claims 13, King further teaches a radio frequency (RF) signal processing circuit that processes a radio frequency signal transmitted through the radio frequency circuit (see figure 3, BB 841, [0097]).
Regarding claim 18, King further teaches a fourth filter having an end connected to a path connecting the second switch and the third filter (see figure 10A, fourth filter 718, [0154-0155]).
Claim(s) 8 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0182084, hereinafter, “King”) in view of See (US Pub. No.: 2013/0273861) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pehlke (US Pub. No.: 2018/0205530).
Regarding claim 8 and 19-20, King and See, in combination, fails to teach the first switch has the common terminal and is capable of performing the switching between the connection between the common terminal and the first selection terminal and the connection between the common terminal and the second selection terminal, the radio frequency circuit further comprising: a third switch having a third selection terminal and a fourth selection terminal; and a fifth filter connected to the third selection terminal, wherein the common terminal is connected to the fourth selection terminal. However, Pehlke teaches the first switch has the common terminal and is capable of performing the switching between the connection between the common terminal and the first selection terminal and the connection between the common terminal and the second selection terminal, the radio frequency circuit further comprising: a third switch having a third selection terminal and a fourth selection terminal; and a fifth filter connected to the third selection terminal, wherein the common terminal is connected to the fourth selection terminal (see figure 6C, 3rd switch 608A, first switch 606C, [0013-0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Pehlke into view of King and See in order to support multi-mode operation.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0182084, hereinafter, “King”) in view of See (US Pub. No.: 2013/0273861) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Srivastava et al. (US Patent No.: 12,628,030, hereinafter, “Srivastava”).
Regarding claim 6, King and See, in combination, fails to teach the third filter has a pass band including a supplementary uplink (SUL) band. However, Srivastava teaches the third filter has a pass band including a supplementary uplink (SUL) band (see col.11, ln.5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Srivastava into view of King and See in order to provide capacity boost, cost efficiency, coverage extension and unpaired spectrum utilization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of a fourth switch; and a sixth filter, wherein the fourth switch is connected in series to and between the sixth filter and a path connecting the third selection terminal and the fifth filter.
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649