DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S PG Pub. 2016/0083019A1 to Takada et al. in view of U.S PG Pub. 2023/0117169A1 to Ishizuka et al.
Regarding claim 1 Takada et al discloses a vehicle front hood structure for a vehicle, the vehicle front hood structure comprising:
a hood outer panel of a front hood of the vehicle; (A bonnet that comprises an outer panel 25 which forms an outer face of the bonnet; Par. [0045])
a hood inner panel that is joined to an inner surface of the hood outer panel such that a gap is formed between the hood inner panel and the inner surface of the hood outer panel; (The bonnet further comprises an inner panel 26 which is arranged inside of the outer panel; Par. [0045] The outer and inner panel are provided to face each other with a gap between them; Par. [0045])
a striker bracket that is provided on the hood inner panel and to which a striker configured to lock a front part of a front hood to a vehicle body of the vehicle is fixed; (A striker attachment portion is provided at the front end portion of the bonnet inner panel Par. [0025], a striker 71 is locked provided on a vehicle-body side when the bonnet 10 is closed, provided at a front portion 26F of a central portion of the inner panel 26 in a state in which it projects downward Par. [0058])
and a hood lock reinforcement that is disposed in the gap, faces the striker bracket from above (A stiffener 60 comprised with a body portion 65 is provided above the striker attachment portion 72 with a specified distance facing the striker attachment portion 72 Par. [0143].)
wherein the hood lock reinforcement comprises an upper surface part that covers an entire upper surface of the striker bracket, a leg that is provided at a front part of the upper surface part and is joined to the hood inner panel, a beam that extends from a front end to a rear end of the upper surface part, is provided on a portion facing the striker and is continuous with the leg. (A stiffener 60 comprised with a body portion 65 is arranged in a position that faces the striker reinforcement 50 located below with a specified distance and also the outer panel 25 located above Par. [0143] (Fig. 5A. & Fig. 6), The front leg portions 67f are joined to the inner panel 26 (Par. [0143]), Fig 4., Front Legs 67F, Rear Legs 67R, See marke Fig. below.)
However, Takada does not disclose a hood lock reinforcement joined to the inner surface of the hood outer panel and a hood lock reinforcement comprised with an upper surface that is joined to the hood outer panel.
Nevertheless, Ishizuka teaches a stiffener 40 with a reinforcing surface section 41 that is joined to the outer panel 10 [Par. 0040].
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the apparatus of Takada to have the stiffener and the reinforcing section be joined to the outer panel as taught by Ishizuka, in order to reduce the reaction force generated with a colliding object (Ishizuka [Par. 003]).
Regarding claim 2, the primary reference, Takada, discloses wherein openings are provided in the upper surface part on left and right sides in a vehicle width direction, and the beam is provided between the openings. (The stiffener has openings (62) that extend in the vehicle width direction; Par. [0079], see marked up Fig. above.)
Regarding claim 3, Takada does not disclose wherein a bead is provided on the beam, the bead extending along the beam.
Nevertheless, Ishizuka teaches a bead 44 is provided on a reinforcement feature 41, the bead 44 extending along the reinforcement feature 41 (Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the apparatus of Takada to incorporate a bead along the beam and to extend the bead along the beam, in order to improve the reinforcement features and flexural rigidity.
Regarding claim 4, Ishizuka teaches a bead 44, 42e continuously formed on reinforcement feature 41 and a leg 42c, and the bead 44, 42e extends along the reinforcement feature 41 and the leg 42 (Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the apparatus of Takada to incorporate a bead continuously formed on the beam and the leg and have the bead extending along the beam and leg, in order to improve the reinforcement features of the hood lock reinforcement and improve flexural rigidity of the reinforcement.
Regarding claims 5 -8, Takada discloses a beam provided on the upper surface part is continuously form on the rear extension. (See annotated Fig. above)
However, Takada does not disclose wherein a rear extension is provided that is integrated with the rear end of the upper surface part, and the rear extension is joined to the inner surface of the hood outer panel.
Nevertheless, Ishizuka teaches a rear extending section 42a that is integrated with the rear end of the surface section 41, and the rear extending section is joined to the inner surface of the outer panel (Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the apparatus of Takada to incorporate a rear extension that is integrated with the rear end of the upper surface part, and to join rear extension to the inner surface of the hood outer panel, as taught by Ishizuka, in order to improve the rigidity of the rear extending section (Ishizuka [Par 0046]).
Conclusion
/LUCILLE D LONGHURST/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617