DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acceptor” in claim 3.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
acceptor – Paragraphs 22 and 44
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 11 identifies the uniquely distinct features inter alia “when a printer of the same model as the engine information and the controller information included in first color management setting information exists in the network after the first color management setting information is stored in the storage, the hardware processor creates second color management setting information including engine information and controller information related to the printer of the same model by diverting the first color management setting information.” In particular, the concept of determining the model and generating a new color profile based on the same model while diverting the color management setting in view of the additional limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiyama (US 2023/0168846).
Regarding Claim 1, Sugiyama teaches an external control apparatus of a printer (Paragraph 24), wherein:
the printer includes an engine that performs printing on a sheet and a controller that generates raster data to be provided to the engine (Paragraphs 24 and 35, wherein the data has to be generated, rasterized, to print. There is a print engine, paragraph 61), and
the external control apparatus comprises:
a hardware processor that controls, from an outside of the printer, a color management and adjustment function of the engine and a color management and adjustment function of the controller (Paragraphs 59-71, wherein the DFE controls the color management and adjustment corresponding to the engine and the control of processing the image data).
Regarding Claim 2, Sugiyama further teaches a storage that stores color management setting information in which color management target setting, sheet print setting information, and printer information including engine information indicating the engine and controller information indicating the controller are associated with each other (Paragraphs 25 and 59, wherein the information is stored in the DFE),
wherein the hardware processor controls a color management and adjustment function of the engine and a color management and adjustment function of the controller on a basis of the color management setting information (Paragraphs 59-71, wherein the DFE controls the color management and adjustment corresponding to the engine and the control of processing the image data).
Regarding Claim 3, Sugiyama further teaches an acceptor that accepts specification of sheet print setting information included in the color management setting information stored in the storage (Paragraph 60, wherein the color profile and the medium type information are associated with each other),
wherein the hardware processor controls the color management and adjustment function of the engine and the color management and adjustment function of the controller on the basis of the color management target setting associated with the specified sheet print setting information (Paragraphs 59-71, wherein the DFE controls the color management and adjustment corresponding to the engine and the control of processing the image data).
Regarding Claim 4, Sugiyama further teaches wherein the hardware processor acquires, from the controller, sheet information managed by the controller, and updates the acquired sheet information as a part of printer information including controller information indicating the controller stored in the storage (Paragraph 60, wherein the medium information is registered).
Regarding Claim 5, Sugiyama further teaches wherein
when the hardware processor fails to acquire sheet information managed by the controller from the controller, the hardware processor acquires sheet information managed by the engine from the engine, and updates the acquired sheet information as a part of printer information including engine information indicating the engine stored in the storage (Paragraph 60, wherein the medium information is registered).
Regarding Claim 6, Sugiyama further teaches wherein
the hardware processor acquires sheet information related to the printer from an external apparatus other than the engine and the controller, and updates the acquired sheet information as a part of printer information including engine information indicating the engine or controller information indicating the controller that is stored in the storage (Paragraph 64, wherein the medium type information can be associated with the engine state).
Regarding Claim 9, Sugiyama further teaches wherein
the color management and adjustment function of the engine includes an adjustment function related to a maximum density of an image printed by the engine, an adjustment function related to density balance, or an adjustment function related to a density (Paragraph 63, wherein density is taken into consideration), and
the color management and adjustment function of the controller includes an adjustment function related to a density of an image to be printed by the engine corresponding to the controller for each sheet type, or a profile creation function (Paragraph 63, wherein density is taken into consideration).
Regarding Claim 12, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 2023/0168846) in view of Morales (US 2025/0013408).
Regarding Claim 7, Sugiyama does not teach wherein
the hardware processor acquires latest sheet information from the engine or the controller immediately before the color management and adjustment of the engine or the color management and adjustment of the controller, and in a case where a sheet to be subjected to the color management and adjustment is not set in any sheet feed tray of the printer, the hardware processor stops execution of the color management and adjustment and issues an error notification indicating that the sheet to be subjected to the color management and adjustment is not set.
Morales ‘408 does teach the hardware processor acquires latest sheet information from the engine or the controller immediately before the color management and adjustment of the engine or the color management and adjustment of the controller, and in a case where a sheet to be subjected to the color management and adjustment is not set in any sheet feed tray of the printer, the hardware processor stops execution of the color management and adjustment and issues an error notification indicating that the sheet to be subjected to the color management and adjustment is not set (Paragraph 151 and 167, wherein an error can be issued if the tray needs to be reconfigured or adjusted for the paper type).
Sugiyama and Morales ‘408 are combinable because they both deal with color profiles for printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sugiyama with the teachings of Morales ‘408 for the purpose of avoiding conflicts for printing (Morales ‘408: Paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 2023/0168846) in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 8, Sugiyama does not teach wherein the sheet information includes a list of sheet feed trays, and information indicating a sheet type and a sheet passing direction for each of the sheet feed trays.
Official notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a list of the sheet media information. It is known to display a list of available media information to be able to help the user make an informed decision when selecting media.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sugiyama with the teachings of displaying a list of media choices to ensure the proper selection is made.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 2023/0168846) in view of Morales (US 11,323,593).
Regarding Claim 10, Sugiyama does not teach wherein the hardware processor automatically executes a color verification function after the color management and adjustment of the engine or the color management and adjustment of the controller is completed.
Morales ‘593 does teach wherein the hardware processor automatically executes a color verification function after the color management and adjustment of the engine or the color management and adjustment of the controller is completed (Column 16, lines 43-50, wherein there is a verification process being performed).
Sugiyama and Morales ‘593 are combinable because they both deal with color profiles for printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sugiyama with the teachings of Morales ‘593 for the purpose of ensuring proper recalibration (Morales ‘593: Column 9, lines 35-48).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of A, C, and E-H relate to adjusting the color profile for printing.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699