DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments that the reference to Vicet does not disclose the junction as claimed, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Attention is brought to Figures 1-5, wherein “fastening branches (1201-1204)” are shown as being a part of the supporting branches (508, 510, 512). Further, the fastening branches (120) are shown in Figures 2 and 4, as twisting about an axis between the fastening blocks (112). Additionally, the configuration of the supporting branches and fastening blocks shown in Figure 5, create a “lever effect” which amplifies the movement of the distal ends on the sensor elements (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17). Therefore, the prior art is understood to continue to read on the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11,852,580 to Vicet et al., in view of US Publication 2019/0204205 to Hentz et al.
In regards to claim 1, Vicet discloses and shows in Figures 1-6, a photoacoustic spectroscopy system and method (100, 500) comprising:
a mechanical sensor (104, 502) comprising a capacitive sensor (108, 504) (applicant’s sensor element) (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17), the sensor element having an upper face extending mainly into a plane called longitudinal plane (XY) when the system is at rest (Figures 1-5) (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17), the mechanical sensor being intended to receive an acoustic wave to vibrate the sensor element at a vibration frequency (col. 8, ll. 15-19; col. 10, ll. 21-58),
wherein the sensor element is moved along a direction called transverse direction (Z) substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal plane (XY) when it vibrates (Figures 1-5) (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17), the mechanical sensor further comprising a sensor element (106) (applicant’s receiving element) intended to receive the acoustic wave and vibrated by the acoustic wave at the vibration frequency, the mechanical sensor being configured, such that the receiving element vibrates the sensor element at the vibration frequency when it is vibrated by the wave at the vibration frequency (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17), the receiving element (106) and the sensor element (108, 504) being connected by a plurality of supporting branches (508, 510, 512, 120) (applicant’s junction) (Figures 1-5) (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17), the junction being connected to a substrate (102) through anchoring points (112) (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17);
the junction comprising a beam (120) connected at two ends thereof to respective ones of the anchoring points (112) and configured to twist about a coupling axis extending between the anchoring points (Figures 2 and 4; wherein fastening branches (120) are part of the supporting branches and are shown to twist about the axis between the anchor points, when the sensor element is deflected), the receiving element, the junction, and the sensor element forming a mechanism that amplifies mechanical vibration such that an amplitude of movement of the sensor element along the transverse direction (Z) is greater than an amplitude of movement of the receiving element along the transverse direction (Z) (col. 6, ll. 65 to col. 7, ll. 60; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 10, ll. 17; wherein the branching elements (508, 510, 512, 120) and fastening blocks (112) are arranged to create “a lever effect” to amplify the mechanical movement of the distal end of the electrodes (506) compared to the sensor element (106)).
Vicet differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system further comprising:
an optomechanical system and method for transducing an optical phase shift movement further comprising:
an optical detector capable of guiding a light radiation substantially parallel to the longitudinal plane (XY), the optical detector having an evanescent field, wherein the vibration of the sensor element modifies the evanescent field of the optical detector.
However, Hentz discloses and shows in Figures 1-8d, an optomechanical system (Figures 5a-b, 8d) and method for transducing an optical phase shift movement comprising:
a platform (4) comprising a sensing edge (4.2, 4.5) (par. 93, 121), the sensor element having an upper face extending mainly into a plane called longitudinal plane (XY) when the system is at rest (Figures 5a-b, 8d) (par. 44-49), the mechanical sensor being intended to receive a wave to vibrate the sensor element at a vibration frequency (par. 41, 49, 94), and
a means for detecting (10) the displacement of the platform (4) (par. 49);
wherein the means for detection may be an optical resonator (20) capable of guiding a light radiation substantially parallel to the longitudinal plane (XY), the optical resonator having an evanescent field (par. 91-95), and wherein the vibration of the sensor element modifies the evanescent field of the optical detector (par. 93).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Vicet to include the optical detection means discussed above for the advantage of performing photoacoustic spectroscopy with improved resolution and accuracy, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 2, Vicet teaches and shows in Figures 1-6, a photoacoustic system and sensor (100), wherein a mechanical resonator (104) and a sensor element (106), are fabricated from a substrate (102), which extends generally in the XY direction so that the mechanical resonator and substrate face each other and share a common plane; further the substrate has an opening (114) to allow air to circulate therethrough and avoid movement dampening (col.7, ll. 22-29).
In regards to claims 3-4, Vicet differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the apparatus:
[claim 3] wherein the sensor element and the optical detector are disposed side-by-side projecting into the longitudinal plane (XY); and
[claim 4] wherein the sensor element and the optical detector are disposed facing one another along the transverse direction (Z).
However, Hentz teaches and shows in Figures 5a-5b and 8d, an optomechanical system (Figures 5a-b, 8d) and method for transducing an optical phase shift movement comprising:
[claim 3] wherein the sensor element (4, 4.2, 4.5) and the optical detector (20) are disposed side-by-side projecting into the longitudinal plane (XY) (Figure 5a, 8d) (par. 91-95);
[claim 4] wherein the sensor element (504) and the optical detector (20) are disposed facing one another along the transverse direction (Z) (Figure 5b) (par. 131-132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Vicet to include the optomechanical configuration discussed above for the advantage of obtaining an architecture that is compact and forms integrated components (Vicet; col. 2, ll. 26-30), with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 5, Vicet discloses and shows in Figures 1-6, a photoacoustic system and sensor (100, 500) comprising: a mechanical resonator (104, 502) (applicant’s mechanical sensor), a sensor element (106) (applicant’s receiving element), a plurality of capacitive electrodes (504) (applicant’s sensor element) and a plurality of supporting branches (508, 510, 512) (applicant’s junction) are aligned along a first direction (x); wherein the dimensions of the capacitive electrodes (504) are larger than half of the sensor element (106) (applicant’s L110,X ≥ 0.42*L120,X) (col. 7, ll. 30-38; col. 9, ll. 52 to col. 17) (Figures 1-5; wherein the various element lengths are shown and available for comparison), for the advantage of creating a lever effect to amplify mechanical movement of the sensor element (col. 10, ll. 9-17).
In regards to claim 6, Vicet discloses and shows in Figures 1-6, a photoacoustic system and sensor (100, 500), wherein the mechanical sensor comprises a second capacitive sensor (5062) (applicant’s second sensor element) separated from the first capacitive sensor (5061) (applicant’s sensor element) by the sensor element (106) (applicant’s receiving element), the second sensor element and the receiving element being connected by a plurality of supporting branches (5082, 5102, 5122) (applicant’s second junction), the second junction being connected to the substrate through anchoring points (112), the second sensor element, the second junction, the receiving element, the junction and the sensor element being aligned along the first direction (X) (Figure 5), the system having a symmetry plane perpendicular to the first direction (X) (Figure 5), and wherein the ratio of: twice the length of the capacitive sensors to the overall length of the mechanical sensor is greater than or equal to 0.46 (applicant’s 2L110,X/L100,X≥0.46) (Figures 1-5, wherein the various element lengths are shown and available for comparison).
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vicet and Hentz, and in further view of US Publication 2019/0257796 to Duraffourg et al.
In regards to claim 7, Vicet discloses and shows in Figures 1-6, a photoacoustic system and sensor (600) further comprising:
wherein a laser source (604) irradiates a gaseous environment (608), wherein the laser source is absorbed by the gas and emits a sound wave (610) which is detected by a sensor (602) (col. 10, ll. 21-60).
Vicet differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system further comprising:
a cavity configured to accommodate at least one gas, the cavity comprising:
an optomechanical system and optical sensor;
a first light source configured to inject a detection radiation into an input of the optical detector of the optomechanical system,
detection means capable of detecting the power of the detection radiation at an output of the optical detector.
However, Hentz teaches and shows in Figures 1-8b, an optomechanical system (Figures 5a-b, 8d) and method for transducing an optical phase shift movement comprising:
an optical detection means (20) that includes a waveguide (18) and a laser source to inject detection radiation into an input of the waveguide, which is propagated through the resonator (20) (par. 91-95); and
a spectrometer means for obtaining an output measurement (par. 91-95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Vicet to include the optical detection means discussed above for the advantage of performing photoacoustic spectroscopy with improved resolution and accuracy, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Vicet and Hentz, differ from the limitations in that it is silent to the apparatus further comprising:
a cavity to accommodate at least one gas.
However, Duraffourg teaches and shows in Figures 1 and 10, a photoacoustic sensor with optomechanical coupling, wherein a measurement chamber (110) is utilized to accommodate a gaseous medium (par. 57-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Vicet and Hentz to include the measurement chamber discussed above for the advantage of containing a gaseous medium for performing photoacoustic spectroscopy, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 8, Vicet and Hentz, differ from the limitations in that it is silent to the apparatus further comprising:
wherein the second light source is a laser source and wherein the excitation radiation is a laser radiation having a main wavelength greater than 700nm.
However, Duraffourg teaches and shows in Figures 1 and 10, a photoacoustic sensor with optomechanical coupling, wherein a pulsed emission source (130) is utilized to emit a laser beam in the Mid-IR range (1000 nm to 1500 nm) (par. 64-68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Vicet and Hentz to include the excitation source discussed above for the advantage of obtaining a desired laser absorption for performing photoacoustic spectroscopy, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 9, Vicet and Hentz, differ from the limitations in that it is silent to the apparatus further comprising:
wherein the cavity further comprises a conduit configured to bring the acoustic wave towards the mechanical sensor.
However, Duraffourg teaches and shows in Figures 1 and 10, a photoacoustic sensor with optomechanical coupling, wherein a measurement chamber (110) is utilized to accommodate a gaseous medium, and propagate a pressure wave towards an optomechanical sensor (par. 57-63, 69) (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Vicet and Hentz to include the measurement chamber discussed above for the advantage of containing a gaseous medium and pressure wave for performing photoacoustic spectroscopy, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
JONATHAN M. HANSEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/JONATHAN M HANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877