DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment, claim(s) 1 is/are amended. Claims 11-20 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1-10 are now pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the amendment to claim 1 requiring “a distal tapered surface that tapers distally from a midpoint and a proximal tapered surface that tapers proximally from the midpoint” overcomes the previous rejections as written. However, a new grounds of rejection is presented in view of Barry.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive assembly” in claim 9.
Claim 9 recites the limitation of a “drive assembly”. The term “assembly” is used as a substitute for “means” and is modified by functional language “adapted to translate relative to the advancer assembly”. There is no corresponding structure in the claim, therefore invoking 112(f). Based on the specification, the corresponding structure for “drive assembly” is “a motor, rubber feet, control electronics, drive circuitry, etc.” (Paragraph 0043; 0048) or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barry (US 20020151917 A1) (noted on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Barry discloses an atherectomy burr (28) adapted for use in an atherectomy system (20) (Figure 4-5), the atherectomy burr comprising:
an atherectomy burr body adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (26) (Figure 4-5; Paragraph 0028);
the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface defining a distal tapered surface (42) that tapers distally from a midpoint (62) and a proximal tapered surface (44) that tapers proximally from the midpoint (Figure 2; Paragraph 0029; 0031);
the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (58) adapted for anterograde ablation (Figure 4-5; Paragraph 0031); and
the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness (60) adapted for retrograde ablation (Figure 4-5; Paragraph 0031; 0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry in view of Dillard et al. (US 6569177 B1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 2, Barry discloses the atherectomy burr of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose the first abrasiveness is greater than the second abrasiveness.
However, Dillard is directed to an atherectomy burr and teaches an atherectomy burr (200) body adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (20) (Figure 3; Col 4, line 37-39); the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface defining a distal tapered surface (240) and a proximal tapered surface (230) (Figure 3; Col 4, line 37-39); the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (abrasiveness of 240) adapted for anterograde ablation (Col 4, lines 46-62); and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness (abrasiveness of 230) adapted for retrograde ablation (Col 4, lines 46-62) and the first abrasiveness is greater than the second abrasiveness (Col 4, lines 46-62).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Barry such that the first abrasiveness is greater than the second abrasiveness, as taught by Dillard, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to atherectomy burrs. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barry with the teachings of Dillard by incorporating the first abrasiveness is greater than the second abrasiveness in order to allow for varying degrees of aggression while abrading (Dillard Col 5, line 15-17).
Regarding claim 3, Barry discloses the atherectomy burr of claim 1, but fails to exclusively disclose wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a first average particle size and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a second average particle size smaller than the first average particle size.
However, Dillard teaches an atherectomy burr (200) body adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (20) (Figure 3; Col 4, line 37-39); the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface defining a distal tapered surface (240) and a proximal tapered surface (230) (Figure 3; Col 4, line 37-39); the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (abrasiveness of 240) adapted for anterograde ablation (Col 4, lines 46-62); and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness (abrasiveness of 230) adapted for retrograde ablation (Col 4, lines 46-62) and the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (241) having a first average particle size and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (231) having a second average particle size smaller than the first average particle size (Col 4, lines 46-62).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barry with the teachings of Dillard by incorporating the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a first average particle size and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a second average particle size smaller than the first average particle size in order to allow for varying degrees of aggression while abrading (Dillard Col 5, line 15-17).
Regarding claim 4, Barry discloses the atherectomy burr of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a first average exposed particle height and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a second average exposed particle height that is less than the first average exposed particle height.
However, Dillard teaches an atherectomy burr (200) body adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (20) (Figure 3; Col 4, line 37-39); the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface defining a distal tapered surface (240) and a proximal tapered surface (230) (Figure 3; Col 4, line 37-39); the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (abrasiveness of 240) adapted for anterograde ablation (Col 4, lines 46-62); and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness (abrasiveness of 230) adapted for retrograde ablation (Col 4, lines 46-62) and wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (241) having a first average exposed particle height and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (231) having a second average exposed particle height that is less than the first average exposed particle height (Col 4, lines 46-62).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barry with the teachings of Dillard by incorporating wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a first average exposed particle height and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a second average exposed particle height that is less than the first average exposed particle height in order to allow for varying degrees of aggression while abrading (Dillard Col 5, line 15-17).
Regarding claim 5, Barry as modified by Dillard discloses the atherectomy burr of claim 4, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distal surface comprises abrasive particles having an average diameter embedded in a first thickness of overcoat and the proximal surface comprises abrasive particles having the same average diameter embedded in a second thickness of overcoat that is thicker than the first thickness of overcoat.
However, an alternative embodiment of Dillard (Fig 7) teaches wherein the distal surface (330) comprises abrasive particles (141) having an average diameter embedded in a first thickness of overcoat (342) and the proximal surface (340) comprises abrasive particles (141) having the same average diameter embedded in a second thickness of overcoat that is thicker than the first thickness of overcoat (Figure 7; Col 6, line 2-13).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barry as modified by Dillard by incorporating wherein the distal surface comprises abrasive particles having an average diameter embedded in a first thickness of overcoat and the proximal surface comprises abrasive particles having the same average diameter embedded in a second thickness of overcoat that is thicker than the first thickness of overcoat in order to form a less abrasive surface (Col 6, line 2-13).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry as modified by Dillard, as applied to claim 4 above, in view of Lee (EP 0486308 A2) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 6, Barry as modified by Dillard teaches the atherectomy burr of claim 4, wherein the distal surface comprises abrasive particles (241) having a first average diameter (Col 4, lines 46-62) and the proximal surface comprises abrasive particles (231) having a second average diameter (Col 4, lines 46-62) , where the second average diameter is less than the first average diameter (Col 4, lines 46-62).
However, Lee is directed to an abrasive (20) and teaches coating abrasive particles (24) with an overcoat (28) (Page 3 line 17-24). As a result of the modification to Dillard, the distal surface would comprise abrasive particles embedded in a thickness of overcoat and the proximal surface comprising abrasive particles embedded in the same thickness of overcoat.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Barry as modified by Dillard such that the abrasive particles are embedded in an overcoat, as taught by Lee, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to abrasive devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barry as modified by Dillard with the teachings of Lee by incorporating abrasive particles embedded in an overcoat in order to decrease friction between the abrasive grains and the workpiece being abraded and increase the lifespan of the abraded surface (Page 4 line 38, 42).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry in view of Barry et al. (US 6270509 B1) (noted on IDS) (herein after referred to as Barry ‘509).
Regarding claim 7, Barry discloses the atherectomy burr of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a first particle density value and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a second particle density value that is less than the first particle density value.
However, Barry ‘509 discloses an atherectomy burr (14) adapted for use in an atherectomy system, the atherectomy burr comprising: an atherectomy burr body (14) adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (Figure 1; Col 7, line 9-13); the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface (18+22) defining a distal tapered surface (18) and a proximal tapered surface (22) (Figure 1; the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (19) adapted for anterograde ablation (Figure 1; Col 7, line 47-51); and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness (21) adapted for retrograde ablation (Figure 1; Col 8, line 4-6) (the dimples 21 are fully capable of providing at least some abrasiveness and would be fully capable of retrograde ablation); and wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (19) having a first particle density value and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (21) having a second particle density value that is less than the first particle density value (Figure 1; Col 7, line 47-51; Col 8, line 4-6).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Barry such that wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a first particle density value and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a second particle density value that is less than the first particle density value, as taught by Barry ‘509, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to atherectomy burrs. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barry with the teachings of Barry ‘509 by incorporating wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a first particle density value and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles having a second particle density value that is less than the first particle density value in order to allow for varying levels of abrasion.
Regarding claim 8, Barry discloses the atherectomy burr of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles laid out in a constant pattern and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles laid out in a discontinuous pattern.
However, Barry ‘509 discloses an atherectomy burr (14) adapted for use in an atherectomy system, the atherectomy burr comprising: an atherectomy burr body (14) adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (Figure 1; Col 7, line 9-13); the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface (18+22) defining a distal tapered surface (18) and a proximal tapered surface (22) (Figure 1; the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (19) adapted for anterograde ablation (Figure 1; Col 7, line 47-51); and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness (21) adapted for retrograde ablation (Figure 1; Col 8, line 4-6) (the dimples 21 are fully capable of providing at least some abrasiveness and would be fully capable of retrograde ablation); and wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (19) laid out in a constant pattern and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles (21) laid out in a discontinuous pattern (there is visibly space between consecutive dimples 21 whereas the grit 19 is closely packed together) (Figure 1).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barry with the teachings of Barry ‘509 by incorporating wherein the distal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles laid out in a constant pattern and the proximal tapered surface comprises abrasive particles laid out in a discontinuous pattern in order to allow for varying degrees of abrasion as needed, and Barry is silent to the patten of the abrasive grit.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prudnikov (US 20090105736 A1) (previously of record) in view of Barry.
Regarding claim 9, Prudnikov discloses an atherectomy system, comprising:
an advancer assembly (10) (as disclosed in Applicant’s spec, the advancer assembly can be a housing, which is consistent with handle 10 of Prudnikov) (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031);
a drive assembly (turbine) adapted to translate relative to the advancer assembly (Paragraph 0032) (As indicated above, the limitation “drive assembly” invokes 112(f). The corresponding structure in Prudnikov is a turbine, which is equivalent to a motor, as disclosed in the present disclosure.);
a knob (11) extending from the drive assembly such that translating the knob results in the drive assembly translating relative to the advancer assembly (Paragraph 0032);
a driveshaft (15+20) operably coupled with the drive assembly, the driveshaft translating relative to the advancer assembly as the drive assembly translates relative to the advancer assembly (Figure 1, 2; Paragraph 0032); and
an atherectomy burr (28); the atherectomy burr comprising:
an atherectomy burr body (28) adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (20) (Figure 1, 4; Paragraph 0033; 0035);
the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface defining a distal tapered surface (35+40) and a proximal tapered surface (30) (Figure 3; Paragraph 0033); and
the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (37) adapted for anterograde ablation (Paragraph 0033).
Prudnikov fails to explicitly disclose the atherectomy burr of claim 1 such that a distal tapered surface that tapers distally from a midpoint and a proximal tapered surface that tapers proximally from the midpoint and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness adapted for retrograde ablation.
However, Barry teaches an atherectomy burr (28) adapted for use in an atherectomy system (20) (Figure 4-5), the atherectomy burr comprising: an atherectomy burr body adapted to be secured to a driveshaft (26) (Figure 4-5; Paragraph 0028); the atherectomy burr body having an outer surface defining a distal tapered surface (42) that tapers distally from a midpoint (62) and a proximal tapered surface (44) that tapers proximally from the midpoint (Figure 2; Paragraph 0029; 0031); the distal tapered surface having a first abrasiveness (58) adapted for anterograde ablation (Figure 4-5; Paragraph 0031); and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness (60) adapted for retrograde ablation (Figure 4-5; Paragraph 0031; 0037).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Prudnikov such that a distal tapered surface that tapers distally from a midpoint and a proximal tapered surface that tapers proximally from the midpoint and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness adapted for retrograde ablation, as taught by Barry, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to atherectomy systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Prudnikov with the teachings of Barry by incorporating a distal tapered surface that tapers distally from a midpoint and a proximal tapered surface that tapers proximally from the midpoint and the proximal tapered surface having a second abrasiveness adapted for retrograde ablation in order to allow ablation of particles on either side of the burr and allow for easier aspiration (Barry Paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 10, Prudnikov further discloses wherein the atherectomy burr body defines an axially extending void (25) into which the driveshaft is adapted to be secured (Figure 2; Paragraph 0033; 0035).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/KATHERINE H SCHWIKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771